Frequently Asked Questions

A skate onboard a ship.

A skate onboard a ship.

Have you ever wondered how big or small skates and rays really get? Whether skates vomit and excrete? Whether skates and rays get cancer? Here are the answers to some weird and wonderful questions about skates and rays. Learn more about these fascinating creatures by clicking on the questions below.

How big (or small) do skates and rays get?

Answer:

Skates and rays range widely in size, from just a few centimeters in width to over 9 meters wide! The smallest rays in the world are the shortnosed electric rays (Family Narkidae), which are approximately the size of a pancake, measuring 10 cm across weighing only 0.5 kg. The biggest ray is the manta ray (Manta birostris), which can reach up to 900 cm in width and may weigh many tons (thousands of pounds)! The smallest skate in the world is the starry skate (Raja stellata) which only reaches a maximum total length of 76 cm. The common skate (Dipturus batis) is the largest skate in the world, reaching up to 250 cm in length.

How long have rays and skates existed?

Answer:

Skates and rays are among the oldest surviving group of jawed vertebrates, first appearing in the fossil record during the Lower Jurassic (about 150 million years ago). They are exceptionally resilient, having survived a number of major global extinctions. All of the major taxa are known by the Upper Cretaceous (approximately 100 million years ago) to the Paleocene (approximately 50 million years ago). However, the exact fossil record of skates and rays is difficult to determine given that all cartilaginous fishes leave little behind in the fossil record, with the exception of occasional teeth and scales.

Are electric rays really electric?

Answer:

Yes they are! All electric rays have a pair of specialized organs capable of producing an electric discharge, varying from 8 to 220 volts depending on the species, which is used to stun or kill prey. Each organ is composed of stacks of 500 to over 1,000 striated muscle plaques all enervated on the same side, so that when the muscles of the organ are contracted, a summed electrical shock is produced. For example, due in part to its large size, the electric organs of the Atlantic torpedo (Torpedo nobiliana) are capable of producing 220 volts of electricity! And interestingly, skates are also "electric", producing weak electric pulses with organs in their tails. The sensory system of skates - in turn - appears to be "tuned" to the appropriate stimulus. For example, the mean electrical pulse frequency produced by the electric organ of adult clearnose skates (Raja eglanteria) is 2.5 Hz, which is closely aligned with their peak electrical frequency sensitivity (2 - 3 Hz). This match may represent facilitate communication during social interaction and mating.

Do skates and rays have "enemies"?

Answer:

Although we generally tend to think of cartilaginous fishes mainly as predators (largely due to books and movies such as Jaws), many species of elasmobranch are important components in the diets of other species. For example, skate egg are eaten by animals ranging from carnivorous gastropods to sperm whales, and are likely a very important food source in temperate marine ecosystems around the world. Young and old skates and rays are also eaten by many predators, such as sharks, other skates and rays, and seals. However, since elasmobranchs lack bone and otoliths, hard remains of these fish are rarely found in stomach contents or feces of their predators, making accurate predictions of predation rates difficult to obtain. Occasionally though, dermal scutes of skates and spines of rays have been recorded in stomach contents and seal feces. Small rays have also been found whole in the stomachs of a number of dolphins and small toothed whales. In other areas of the world, predators have been observed actively preying upon ray species. For example, in tropical environments hammerhead sharks have been observed attacking and eating stingrays, and in New Zealand, killer whales have been observed preying upon both eagle rays and stingrays.

And ultimately, the greatest "enemy" of skates and rays is humans. Many species of skates and rays have declined significantly in abundance in the last few decades due in part to over-exploitation by direct and indirect fisheries. For more information on human uses and abuses of skates and rays, go to the Skate Conservation section of this website.

How do skates and rays avoid predators?

Answer:

Skates and rays have many ways to avoiding predators, with some examples described below:

  1. The most common strategies employed by skates and rays are probably deterrence, defense, and flight. Skates have thorny discs for deterring predators, and many ray species have venomous spines capable of inflicting serious wounds. They are also capable of moving quickly in short bursts.
  2. Another very common predator avoidance strategy used by skates and rays is hiding (or crypsis). Skates and rays frequently bury themselves in the substrate to avoid detection, and many species have dorsal surfaces that are the colour of the substrate, providing camouflage.
  3. Skates and rays can also change their habitat use to avoid predators. For example, cowtail rays (Pastinachus sephen) in Shark Bay, Western Australia have been observed resting in extremely shallow waters with sand bottoms that are free of predatory hammerhead and tiger sharks.
  4. Skates and rays can vary their activity levels and patterns to coincide with times when predators are fewer/more numerous. For example, Hawaiian stingrays (Dasyatis lata) exhibit lower activity rates during the day when predators are more likely to see them.
  5. Lastly, group formation might be another way that skates and rays avoid predators; however, it has not been observed commonly in the wild. One possible example of a species that practices group formation is the cowtail ray (Pastinachus sephen) in Shark Bay, Western Australia. This species forms groups when predator risk is high (i.e. when light levels are low and the water is more turbid), presumably to increase vigilance.
Do skates vomit, excrete, and urinate?

Answer:

Yes they do! Vomiting is common among elasmobranchs, but it is rarely observed in the wild. Under laboratory conditions, a vomiting reflex has been induced in rays, skates and dogfish. In other shark species, vomiting is achieved through a complete eversion of the stomach. Fishermen that catch sharks with line and/or net have reported stomach eversions for species ranging from the blue shark (Prionace glauca) to the tiger shark (Galeocerdo cuvier), and anecdotal evidence suggests that stomach eversion and subsequent re-swallowing occurs naturally in almost all carcharhinid shark species. This type of regurgitation and eversion, however, has not been observed in any batoid species to date.

Excretion and urination are essential elements in the digestive process of skates and rays. In other words, a portion of the food that is consumed by skates and rays is not absorbed by the digestive tract, and is egested as feces or excreted as nitrogenous waste in urine. Few studies have been carried out on the digestive efficiency elasmobranchs; however studies on some species of elasmobranchs (such as the lemon shark Negaprion brevirostris) have reported that food remains in the digestive tract of elasmobranchs for long periods of time (i.e. up to 18 days) relative to teleosts. A study on digestion in the little skate (Leucoraja erinacea) in the laboratory found that evacuation rates varied between prey types, depending on the composition of the prey surface integument, the fat content of the tissue, and the internal skeletal structure of the prey species. Krill and clam foot/tissue were digested faster than polychaetes and sand lance.

Do skates and rays live only in the ocean? Or are there freshwater skates and rays?

Answer:

Elasmobranchs are primarily marine fishes. However a few species live in brackish bays and estuaries, and about 3% of the species (approx. 30 species) are permanently restricted to freshwater. For example, South American stingrays of the Family Potamotrygonidae are the quintessential freshwater elasmobranchs, residing entirely in freshwater. Many species of elasmobanch that reside in freshwater are in decline due to pollution and destruction of their restricted habitats. For example, in 2004 the Australian government added the Maugean skate (Raja sp. L) - the only non-marine skate known of the 400 or so skates throughout the world - to its threatened species list. This species was recently discovered in Tasmania in 1988, and is confined to the upper reaches of two biologically unique estuarine systems characterized by low nutrient and low salinity waters.

How have humans used skates and rays in the past?

Answer:

Skates and rays have been used in many different ways by maritime societies around the world, due in part to their historical prevalence in the marine environment. Along the northwest coast of North America, for example, a variety of skates and sharks were caught for food, but also played an important role in myths and legends. Preserved vertebral centra, teeth, spines, and dermal denticles have been found in many Pacific coast archaeological sites. Unfortunately, estimating the actual significance of skates and rays in prehistoric economies from archeological sites is often difficult because the remains of cartilaginous fish preserve relatively poorly compared to those of bony fishes.

The ancient Greeks and Romans also used batoids. In particular, physicians prescribed electric discharge from electric rays as a treatment for many illnesses. Scribonius Largus, a Roman physician, was the first to record the use of torpedo fish "shock therapy" for treatment of headache and gout. Electric rays were also used by the ancient Greeks during operations and childbirth as a kind of anesthetic, with the electricity supposedly acting to numb the pain. In fact, the word 'narcotic' stems from narke which is the Greek word for these types of rays.

Do skates and rays get cancer?

Answer:

In recent years, crude shark cartilage extract had been promoted as an alternative cure for cancer. This belief is based on the misconception that sharks do not develop cancer. In actual fact, sharks, skates and rays do develop cancerous tumors. A study conducted in 2004 examined the occurrence of tumors among members of the class Chondrichthyes. Although actual cancer rates were not determined, forty-two cases of malignant or benign tumors were found in the literature, including cases in 16 skates or rays, including the thorny skate (Amblyraja radiata) in the North Atlantic. Other batoid species that were found to have cancerous cells were the gray skate (Dipturus batis) - which had cutaneous fibrosarcoma - and the thornback skate (Raja radiata), a number of which were found with melanomas. Rays with tumors were from the Family Dasyatidae (whiptail stingrays). Unfortunately, the alleged lack of cancer in sharks has contributed to at least two significant negative outcomes: 1) a dramatic decline in shark populations worldwide, and 2) the diversion of patients away from effective cancer treatments.

What is the "stingray shuffle"?

Answer:

The "stingray shuffle" is a way in which people can avoid being stung by stingrays when wading in shallow water close to the beach. To do the "stingray shuffle", slowly slide (or shuffle) your feet in the sand. This gives any stingrays in the vicinity warning of your approach so that they are able to swim out of your way. Also, polarized glasses are the proper attire for the "stingray shuffle", as they will assist you in spotting and avoiding stepping on stingrays in shallow waters.

Foire aux Questions

Raie à bord d'un navire.

Raie à bord d'un navire.

Vous êtes-vous déjà demandé quelle taille peuvent atteindre certaines raies? Les raies peuvent-elles vomir et excréter? Peuvent-elles avoir le cancer? Voici les réponses à quelques questions étranges et intrigantes sur les raies. Apprenez-en davantage sur ces créatures fascinantes en cliquant sur les questions ci-dessous.

Quelle taille (petite ou grande) les raies peuvent-elles atteindre?

Réponse:

La taille des raies varie beaucoup, de seulement quelques centimètres de largeur à plus de 9 m d'envergure! Les plus petites raies au monde (ordre des Myliobatiformes) sont les raies électriques (famille des Narkidae), qui ont environ la taille d'une crêpe, c'est-à-dire 10 cm d'envergure pour un poids d'à peine 500 g. La plus grande raie (du même ordre) est la mante atlantique (Manta birostris), qui peut atteindre jusqu'à 900 cm d'envergure et pèse quelques tonnes (des milliers de kilogrammes)! La plus petite raie du monde (ordre des Rajiformes) est la raie étoilée (Raja stellata), qui atteint une longueur totale maximale de 76 cm. Le pocheteau gris (Dipturus batis) est la plus grande raie au monde (ordre des Rajiformes) : il peut atteindre jusqu'à 250 cm de longueur.

Depuis quand les raies existent-elles?

Réponse:

Les raies font partie du plus vieux groupe de vertébrés à mâchoires encore vivants. Les premiers fossiles remontent au Jurassique inférieur (il y a environ 150 millions d'années). Elles sont exceptionnellement résistantes puisqu'elles ont survécu à un certain nombre d'extinctions mondiales importantes. On sait que tous les principaux taxons sont apparus entre le Crétacé supérieur (il y a environ 100 millions d'années) et le Paléocène (il y a environ 50 millions d'années). Toutefois, il est difficile de déterminer l'âge exact des fossiles de raies, car les poissons cartilagineux laissent peu de traces fossiles derrière eux, à l'exception de quelques dents et écailles.

Les raies électriques produisent-elles vraiment de l'électricité?

Réponse:

Tout à fait! Toutes les raies électriques sont munies d'organes spécialisés capables de produire une décharge électrique variant entre 8 et 220 volts selon l'espèce et qui leur servent à assommer ou à tuer leurs proies. Chaque organe est composé de 500 à plus de 1 000 électroplaques (muscles aux fibres striées) toutes énervées du même côté, de sorte que lorsque les muscles de l'organe se contractent, ils produisent tous ensemble un choc électrique. Par exemple, en partie à cause de sa grande taille, les organes électriques de la torpille noire (Torpedo nobiliana) peuvent produire un choc de 220 volts! Fait intéressant, d'autres raies (ordre des Rajiformes) sont aussi « électriques » : elles produisent de faibles impulsions électriques au moyen d'organes situés dans leur queue. Le système sensoriel des raies, quant à lui, semble être « réglé » au stimulus approprié. Par exemple, la fréquence moyenne de l'impulsion électrique produite par l'organe électrique des Raja eglanteria adultes est de 2,5 Hz, ce qui se rapproche le plus de la fréquence la plus élevée de leur sensibilité à l'électricité (2-3 Hz). Ce phénomène facilite peut-être la communication en cas d'interaction sociale ou lors de la reproduction.

Les raies ont-elles des « ennemis »?

Réponse:

Bien que l'on tende à penser que les poissons cartilagineux sont essentiellement des prédateurs (surtout à cause des romans et des films comme Les dents de la mer), de nombreuses espèces d'élasmobranches constituent des proies importantes pour d'autres espèces. Par exemple, les œufs de raie se font manger par divers animaux, des gastéropodes carnivores aux cachalots, et ils représentent une importante source de nourriture dans les écosystèmes marins tempérés partout dans le monde. Les raies, jeunes et âgées, sont les proies de nombreux prédateurs, comme des requins, d'autres raies et des phoques. Cependant, comme les élasmobranches sont dépourvus d'os et d'otolithes, on trouve rarement des restes solides de ces poissons dans le contenu stomacal ou les fèces de leurs prédateurs, ce qui rend difficile d'établir des prévisions précises quant aux taux de prédation. Il arrive parfois que l'on trouve des plaques osseuses et des épines de raies dans le contenu stomacal et les fèces de phoques. On a également déjà trouvé de petites raies encore entières dans l'estomac d'un certain nombre de dauphins et de petits odontocètes. Dans certaines régions du monde, on a aperçu des prédateurs en train de chasser certaines espèces de raies. Par exemple, dans les milieux tropicaux, on a observé des requins-marteaux attaquer et manger des pastenagues, et en Nouvelle-Zélande, on a vu des épaulards chasser des aigles de mer et des pastenagues.

Enfin, le plus grand « ennemi » des raies est l'être humain. L'abondance de nombreuses espèces de raies a chuté de façon considérable au cours des dernières décennies, en partie à cause de la surexploitation associée aux pêches directes et indirectes. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'utilisation et la surutilisation des raies par les humains, veuillez consulter la section Conservation des raies du site Web.

Comment les raies évitent-elles leurs prédateurs?

Réponse:

Voici quelques-unes des nombreuses méthodes utilisées par les raies pour éviter leurs prédateurs.

  1. Les stratégies dont se servent les raies le plus fréquemment sont probablement la dissuasion, la défense et l'envol. Les raies sont dotées de disques épineux afin de dissuader les prédateurs, et de nombreuses espèces sont dotées d'épines venimeuses capables d'infliger de sérieuses blessures. Elles peuvent également se déplacer rapidement, par de brefs à-coups.
  2. Pour éviter leurs prédateurs, les raies se cachent ou se camouflent fréquemment. Elles s'enfouissent souvent dans le substrat pour ne pas être vues, et le dos de nombreuses espèces se confond avec le substrat, ce qui les aide à se camoufler.
  3. Les raies peuvent également modifier leur utilisation de l'habitat pour éviter les prédateurs. Par exemple, on a observé un spécimen de raie pastenague à plume (Pastinachus sephen) dans la baie Shark, en Australie-Occidentale, se reposer dans des eaux très peu profondes sur des fonds sablonneux exemptes de requins prédateurs, tels le requin-marteau et le requin-tigre.
  4. Les raies peuvent modifier leurs niveaux d'activité et leurs habitudes afin de s'assurer qu'elles rencontreront le moins de prédateurs possible. Par exemple, Dasyatis lata est moins active le jour, quand les prédateurs sont plus susceptibles de la voir.
  5. En dernier lieu, la formation de groupes peut aussi servir à éviter les prédateurs; cependant, ce comportement n'a pas été observé souvent chez les raies à l'état sauvage. Pastinachus sephen qui réside dans la baie Shark, en Australie-Occidentale, est un exemple d'espèce qui forme des groupes. Les individus de cette espèce se regroupent lorsque le risque lié aux prédateurs est élevé (c.-à-d. lorsque la luminosité est faible ou l'eau plus turbide), probablement pour renforcer la vigilance.
Les raies peuvent-elles vomir, excréter et uriner?

Réponse:

Tout à fait! Beaucoup d'élasmobranches vomissent, mais ce phénomène est rarement observé chez les individus à l'état sauvage. En laboratoire, un réflexe de vomissement a été induit chez des raies et des chiens de mer. Chez d'autres espèces de requins, le vomissement implique l'éversion complète de l'estomac. Certains pêcheurs qui ont attrapé des requins à la ligne ou au filet ont signalé des cas d'éversion de l'estomac chez des espèces comme le requin bleu (Prionace glauca) et le requin-tigre (Galeocerdo cuvier), et des données empiriques laissent entendre que l'éversion de l'estomac, suivie d'une déglutition, se produit naturellement chez presque toutes les espèces de requins de la famille des Carcharnihidae. Ce type de régurgitation et d'éversion n'a toutefois jamais été observé chez les batoïdes à ce jour.

L'excrétion et la miction sont des éléments essentiels du processus digestif des raies. En d'autres termes, une partie de la nourriture consommée par les raies n'est pas absorbée par le tube digestif et est donc expulsée sous forme de fèces ou excrétée sous forme de déchets azotés dans l'urine. Peu d'études ont été menées sur l'efficacité de la digestion des élasmobranches; toutefois, les études portant sur certaines espèces d'élasmobranches (comme le requin citron Negaprion brevirostris) ont permis de constater que la nourriture reste dans le tube digestif des élasmobranches pendant longtemps (c.-à-d. jusqu'à 18 jours) comparativement aux poissons téléostéens. Une étude sur la digestion de la raie hérisson (Leucoraja erinacea) menée en laboratoire indique que les taux d'évacuation varient selon le type de proies, la composition du tégument externe de la proie, la teneur en graisse des tissus ainsi que la structure osseuse interne de la proie. Les tissus et les pieds des pétoncles et des euphausiacés sont digérés plus rapidement que les polychètes et les lançons.

Les raies vivent-elles seulement dans l'océan? Ou existe-t-il des espèces d'eau douce?

Réponse:

Les élasmobranches sont essentiellement des poissons marins. Cependant, quelques espèces vivent dans des estuaires et des baies d'eau saumâtre, et 3 % des espèces (environ 30 espèces) ne vivent qu'en eau douce. Par exemple, en Amérique du Sud, les raies de la famille des Potamotrygonidae sont un parfait exemple d'élasmobranches d'eau douce, car elles ne vivent qu'en eau douce. De nombreuses espèces d'élasmobranches vivant dans l'eau douce connaissent un déclin attribuable à la pollution et à la destruction de leurs habitats restreints. Par exemple, en 2004, le gouvernement australien a ajouté Zearaja maugeana – la seule espèce de raie non marine connue sur les quelque 400 espèces de raies de l'ordre des Rajiformes dans le monde – à sa liste d'espèces menacées. Cette espèce a été découverte en 1988 en Tasmanie, et elle est confinée aux tronçons supérieurs de deux systèmes estuariens biologiquement uniques caractérisés par une eau présentant de faibles concentrations en nutriments et une faible salinité.

Quelle était l'utilité des raies pour les humains par le passé?

Réponse:

Les raies ont été utilisées à diverses fins par les sociétés maritimes partout dans le monde, en partie à cause de leur prévalence historique dans les milieux marins. Le long de la côte nord-ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, par exemple, différentes espèces de raies étaient pêchées à des fins alimentaires, mais elles jouaient aussi un rôle important dans les mythes et les légendes. Des cordes neurales, des dents, des épines et des denticules cutanés bien préservés ont été trouvés dans de nombreux sites archéologiques sur la côte du Pacifique. Malheureusement, il est souvent difficile d'estimer l'importance réelle des raies dans le cadre de l'économie préhistorique d'après les sites archéologiques puisque les restes des poissons cartilagineux se conservent relativement mal par rapport aux restes des poissons osseux.

Les Romains et les Grecs de l'Antiquité trouvaient eux aussi une utilité aux batoïdes. Plus particulièrement, les médecins prescrivaient des décharges électriques de raies électriques pour traiter de nombreuses maladies. Scribonius Largus, un physicien romain, a été le premier à consigner le recours aux chocs électriques d'une torpille pour traiter les maux de tête et la goutte. Les raies électriques étaient aussi utilisées par les Grecs de l'Antiquité comme anesthésique durant les opérations et les accouchements, l'électricité étant censée endormir la douleur. En fait, le terme « narcotique » est dérivé de narke, le terme grec désignant ce type de raies.

Les raies peuvent-elles avoir le cancer?

Réponse:

Au cours des dernières années, on a fait la promotion de l'extrait de cartilage brut de requin comme remède contre le cancer. Cette croyance est attribuable à une fausse idée selon laquelle les requins ne peuvent pas avoir le cancer. En vérité, les requins et les raies peuvent développer des tumeurs cancéreuses. Une étude menée en 2004 a examiné la présence de tumeurs chez des membres de la classe des chondrichthyens. Même si les taux réels de cancer n'ont pas été déterminés, on a trouvé 42 cas de tumeurs bénignes ou malignes dans des publications, notamment chez 16 raies, dont la raie épineuse (Amblyraja radiata) dans l'Atlantique Nord. D'autres espèces de batoïdes présentaient aussi des cellules cancéreuses, par exemple un pocheteau gris (Dipturus batis) qui avait un fibrosarcome cutané, et la raie épineuse (Raja radiata), dont un certain nombre d'individus avaient des mélanomes. Les raies ayant des tumeurs faisaient partie de la famille des Dasyatidae. Malheureusement, les cancers présumés chez les requins ont contribué à au moins deux importants résultats négatifs : 1) une chute marquée des populations de requins partout dans le monde; 2) l'attrait de patients vers d'autres traitements non éprouvés contre le cancer.

Comment éviter de marcher sur une pastenague?

Réponse:

Pour éviter de se faire piquer par une pastenague dans une eau peu profonde près de la plage, il convient de faire glisser lentement ses pieds sur le sable. Cela avertit toutes les pastenagues présentes dans les environs que quelqu'un approche et les éloigne. De plus, les lunettes polarisées sont fort utiles pour détecter les pastenagues et ainsi éviter de leur marcher dessus dans les eaux peu profondes.