Oceanic whitetip shark
Carcharhinus longimanus

Oceanic Whitetip Shark

Photo modified from Sharks, History and Biology of the Lords of the Sea. A. Mojetta. 1997. Swan Hill Press.

Description

The oceanic whitetip shark is a stocky and heavy set animal, up to 4 meters (13 feet) in length, with an enlarged rounded first dorsal fin and large paddle like pectoral fins. The tips of the dorsal fins, caudal lobes and pectoral fins are mottled white on adults while juveniles may also have black marks. However the amount of pigmentation on the fin tips varies and is occasionally completely absent. The rest of the body is dark gray or olive gray in colour. The upper teeth are broad and triangular with serrated edges while the lower teeth have narrow serrated cusps and broad bases.

Range

This shark species is found in the oceanic waters of the Atlantic, Pacific and Indian Oceans. In the Atlantic it occurs from northeastern Georges Bank, south to the Caribbean Sea and the Gulf of Mexico to Argentina. The specimens found occasionally in and around Canadian waters are at the northernmost point of their range.

Habitat

The oceanic whitetip shark is generally found far from shore, from the surface down to a depth of 150 meters (500 feet). This pelagic species is found in water temperatures of 22 degrees Celsius or above.

Life History

Average size for the oceanic whitetip is 150 to 250 cm (59-98 in) and 35 to 70 kg (80-150 lb). They may reach a maximum size of 350 cm or greater. The present view of lifespan is about 12 years for males and 16 years for females.

Diet

This species of shark feeds mainly upon fast moving fishes such as tuna, barracuda and white marlin. However it also consumes squid, turtles, seabirds and even garbage that has been disposed of at sea.

Reproduction

The oceanic whitetip shark is viviparous with litters of 5 to 15 pups which are born at a length of 65 to 75 cm (26 to 30 in). It is believed that litter size increases with the size of the mother. Sexual maturity is reached at approximately 1.8 to 1.9 meters (5.8 feet) in both sexes (6-7 year old individuals).

Interaction with People

The oceanic whitetip is rarely encountered as it inhabits oceanic waters. It is usually only seen if caught by fishermen or around disasters (plane crashes, ships sinking). It is an aggressive shark opportunistically feeding on almost anything it encounters and will not hesitate to approach swimmers or small boats.

Distinguishing Characteristics

  • White tipped fins
  • Broad rounded first dorsal fin
  • Large paddle like pectoral fins
  • Nictitating membrane over eye

Rameur
Carcharhinus longimanus

Rameur

Photo (modifiée) tirée de Sharks, History and Biology of the Lords of the Sea. A. Mojetta. 1997. Swan Hill Press.

Description

Le rameur est un requin lourd et massif qui mesure jusqu'à 4 m (13 pi) de longueur. Sa première nageoire dorsale est large et ses nageoires pectorales sont grandes, en forme de spatule. L'extrémité des nageoires dorsales, les lobes de la caudale et les nageoires pectorales des adultes sont blanc tacheté, tandis que chez les juvéniles, ils peuvent aussi présenter des taches noires. Cependant, l'intensité de la pigmentation à l'extrémité des nageoires varie, et parfois la pigmentation est complètement absente. Le reste du corps est gris foncé ou gris olive. Les dents de la mâchoire supérieure sont larges, triangulaires et présentent des bords dentelés, tandis que les dents de la mâchoire inférieure ont une base large et des cuspides étroites et dentelées.

Aire de répartition

Il est répandu dans les océans Atlantique, Pacifique et Indien. Dans l'océan Atlantique, son aire de répartition s'étend du nord-est du banc Georges à la mer des Caraïbes, dans le golfe du Mexique et jusqu'à l'Argentine. Les spécimens rencontrés à l'intérieur et autour des eaux canadiennes étaient au point le plus septentrional de leur aire de répartition.

Habitat

On rencontre généralement ce requin pélagique loin des côtes, entre la surface et 150 m (500 pi) de profondeur. Il vit à des températures d'au moins 22 oC.

Cycle biologique

Il mesure en moyenne de 150 à 250 cm (59 à 98 po) et pèse de 35 à 70 kg (80 à 150 lb). Il peut atteindre une taille maximale de 350 cm, voire plus. La longévité actuelle est d'environ 12 ans pour les mâles et 16 ans pour les femelles.

Régime alimentaire

Ce requin se nourrit principalement de poissons rapides, comme le thon, le barracuda et le marlin blanc, mais il consomme aussi des calmars, des tortues, des oiseaux marins et même des déchets jetés à la mer.

Reproduction

Le rameur est vivipare, et la femelle a des portées de 5 à 15 petits, qui mesurent de 65 à 75 cm (26 à 30 po) à la naissance. Il semble que le nombre de petits par portée augmente selon la grosseur de la mère. Le rameur atteint la maturité sexuelle lorsqu'il mesure environ 1,8 m à 1.9 m (5,8 pi) de longueur (individus de 6 à 7 ans).

Interaction avec l'homme

On le rencontre rarement étant donné qu'il habite dans les eaux océaniques. En général, on ne le rencontre que lorsqu'il est capturé par des pêcheurs ou à proximité de catastrophes (écrasement d'avion, naufrage de bateau). Il s'agit d'un requin agressif qui profite de la moindre occasion pour se nourrir de tout ce qu'il trouve, et qui n'hésitera pas à s'approcher de nageurs ou de petites embarcations.

Caractéristiques particulières

  • Blancheur de l'extrémité des nageoires
  • Première nageoire dorsale de grande taille
  • Grandes nageoires pectorales en forme de spatule
  • Membrane nictitante sur l'œil