Tiger shark
Galeocerdo cuvier

Tiger shark teeth

Tiger shark teeth (photo courtesy of Lisa J. Natanson).

Description

The tiger shark has many distinctive characteristics making it easy to distinguish from other requiem sharks. It has a broad, flat head with a snout shorter than the width of the mouth, long labial furrows, and a slender body. The caudal fin is long and pointed with reinforcing ridges and its teeth have curved cusps with serrated edges and a deep notch on the outer margin. Juvenile tigers up to 150-180 cm in length have a distinctive mottled pattern on their dorsal surface. Striped tiger-like patterns or bars appearing on adult specimens are from spots fusing together. These bars tend to become faded as the shark ages but remain apparent on the flanks and caudal region. Color can vary from bluish or greenish gray to black above and light gray to dirty yellow or white below.

Range

The tiger shark is a common large shark found worldwide. Off North America, it is usually found on the east coast from Cape Cod to Florida and in the Gulf of Mexico and on the west coast from California southward. It is commonly found off the Carolinas, Georgia and Florida and is one of the most abundant large sharks found in the Caribbean. Tiger sharks have been known to stray far outside their normal habitat range and are occasionally encountered by offshore fishermen in Canadian waters during the summer months. They are typically caught by Canadian fishermen while fishing for tuna and swordfish in or near the Gulf Stream.

Habitat

The tiger shark is often found in tropical and warm temperate waters. It inhabits both oceanic waters (up to 140 m) as well as shallow coastal waters. They seem to prefer turbid coastal areas where fresh water runoff occurs as different prey species may congregate to feed in these areas. They have not been reported inshore in Canadian waters.

Life History

Specimens between 300 and 425 cm and 380 to 640 kg are commonly taken and the largest specimens are believed to exceed 5.5 meters. Lifespan is believed to be about 27 years

Diet

The tiger shark is a non-selective feeder and a voracious predator. It has been known to consume a wide variety of marine prey and even some terrestrial animals. Common prey include crabs, shellfish, lobsters, squid, bony fish, small sharks, skates, rays, porpoises, turtles, marine birds and mammals. A large number of inorganic artifacts and garbage associated with humans have been found in the stomachs of tiger sharks as well. With such a diverse range of prey, the tiger shark is considered the most adaptable of all shark species.

Reproduction

The tiger shark is ovoviviparous; bearing 35 to 55 pups in a single litter. Gestation is believed to last just over 12 months. Pups are generally 68 to 85 cm long at birth. The males and females mature between 4 to 7 years.

Interaction with People

The tiger shark is considered to be one of the most dangerous and aggressive shark species, becoming very active when stimulated by food.

Distinguishing Characteristics

  • Distinctive mottled pattern in juveniles, striped tiger-like pattern in adults
  • Cockscomb-shaped curved serrated teeth with deep notches on the outer margin
  • Snout shorter than the width of the mouth, large head and slender body
  • Long and pointed caudal fin with reinforcing ridges

Requin-tigre
Galeocerdo cuvier

Dents de requin-tigre

Dents de requin-tigre (photo fournie par Lisa J. Natanson).

Description

Le requin-tigre possède de nombreuses caractéristiques particulières, qui permettent de le différencier facilement des autres mangeurs d'hommes. Il présente une tête plate et large, un museau plus court que la largeur de sa bouche, de longs sillons labiaux et un corps élancé. Sa nageoire caudale est longue et pointue, et elle comporte des nervures de renfort. Les dents au bord dentelé ont des cuspides incurvées et sont profondément crantées sur leur côté externe. Les requins-tigres juvéniles, dont la longueur peut atteindre 150 à 180 cm, présentent des taches caractéristiques sur leur surface dorsale. Les zébrures qui apparaissent chez les adultes proviennent de la fusion des taches. Ces marques s'estompent progressivement avec l'âge, mais elles restent apparentes sur les flancs et la partie caudale de l'animal. La couleur du requin-tigre peut varier du gris bleuté ou gris verdâtre au noir sur le haut du corps et du gris clair au jaune sale ou au blanc sur le ventre.

Aire de répartition

Le requin-tigre est un grand requin commun dans le monde entier. Au large de l'Amérique du Nord, il est habituellement présent sur la côte est de Cape Cod à la Floride et dans le golfe du Mexique, tandis que sur la côte ouest, on le trouve à partir de la Californie vers le sud. Il est courant au large des Caroline, de la Géorgie et de la Floride, et c'est un des grands requins les plus abondants aux Antilles. On sait que le requin-tigre s'éloigne parfois beaucoup de son aire de répartition normale et il arrive que des pêcheurs locaux le rencontrent dans les eaux canadiennes en été. Il est régulièrement capturé par les pêcheurs canadiens qui pêchent le thon et l'espadon dans le Gulf Stream ou dans ses alentours.

Habitat

Le requin-tigre est souvent présent dans les eaux aux températures chaudes et tropicales. Il évolue à la fois dans les eaux océaniques (jusqu'à des profondeurs de 140 m) et dans les eaux côtières peu profondes. Il semble préférer les eaux côtières turbides qui reçoivent un écoulement d'eau douce et où sont susceptibles de converger diverses proies pour se nourrir. Ils ont été signalés dans les eaux côtières canadiennes.

Cycle biologique

Il est courant de capturer des requins-tigres qui mesurent de 300 à 425 cm et pèsent de 380 à 640 kg. On pense que les plus gros spécimens font plus de 5,5 mètres. On pense qu'ils peuvent vivre jusqu'à 27 ans.

Régime alimentaire

Le requin-tigre est un omnivore et un prédateur vorace. On sait qu'il consomme toutes sortes de proies marines et même certains animaux terrestres. Il se nourrit couramment de crabes, de mollusques, de homards, d'encornet, de poissons osseux, de petits requins, de raies, de marsouins, de tortues, d'oiseaux de mer et de mammifères marins. On trouve de nombreuses matières inorganiques et déchets associés aux humains dans les estomacs des requins-tigres. Compte tenu de la diversité de ses proies, le requin-tigre est considéré comme le requin qui possède la plus grande capacité d'adaptation.

Reproduction

Le requin-tigre est ovovivipare et produit en une seule portée de 35 à 55 petits, qui mesurent de 68 à 85 cm à leur naissance. On estime que la gestation dure juste un peu plus de 12 mois. Les mâles et les femelles atteignent la maturité sexuelle entre 4 et 7 ans.

Interaction avec l'homme

Le requin-tigre est considéré comme une des espèces de requin les plus dangereuses et les plus agressives, qui devient très active quand elle est stimulée par la nourriture.

Caractéristiques particulières

  • Taches distinctives chez les juvéniles et zébrures chez les requins-tigres adultes
  • Dents en crête de coq au bord dentelé, profondément crantées sur le côté externe
  • Museau plus court que la largeur de la bouche, large tête et corps élancé
  • Nageoire caudale longue et pointue, comportant des nervures de renfort