Thresher shark
Alopias vulpinus

Thresher Shark head

Thresher head

Thresher Shark head

Both the upper and lower teeth are small, curved and sharp without basal cusps or serrations.

Description

The thresher shark is easily recognizable by its large upper caudal fin. This tail fin may often be 50 percent of the total length of the shark. It has a short snout and large eyes placed forward on the head. The second dorsal fin is much smaller than the first. The thresher is a strong swimmer and can leap clear of the water. The jaws are small with small, curved sharp teeth without basal cusps or serration. Colour varies from brown to black with metallic hues from above and irregular white markings on the underside.

Range

The thresher ranges through all warm and temperate areas of the world's oceans. Its northernmost range in the western Atlantic is eastern Newfoundland and it ranges all the way down the Atlantic to the West Indies and northern South America. The thresher shark is a summer visitor to the Canadian Atlantic region. They have been captured from July to November, but most frequently during August and September.

Habitat

The thresher often swims at the surface of coastal waters. However it can also occur at depths of 350 meters (1,150 feet) or more. The young may be found inshore in shallow water. They prefer temperate to tropical waters.

Life History

In Canadian waters sizes have ranged from 3.3 to 5.5 meters (10.8 to 18 feet) long. The maximum size recorded for this species is 6.1 meters (20 feet), however they are generally between 2 to 5 meters (10 to 16.5 feet) in length. Maximum lifespan is about 45 to 50 years. They are seasonally migratory with no evidence of transoceanic migrations.

Diet

The thresher shark eats schooling fish, such as herring and mackerel, and cephalopods such as squid. The large caudal fin is used to slap the surface of the water forcing fish to form tighter schools; the tail can then be used as a whip to stun or kill the prey.

Reproduction

This shark is ovoviviparous, with the eggs being hatched inside the female, and 2 to 6 live pups being delivered at a size of 1.5 meters (5 feet) long. During development the young may cannibalize their siblings within the uterine chamber. They apparently use inshore areas as nursery grounds. This shark matures between 3 and 8 years of age with males maturing at 3.3 m and females at 4.2 m. Gestation lasts for about 9 months with birth occurring in the spring.

Interaction with People

Mainly sought after as a sport fish, the thresher poses little threat to people. It is not considered harmful but can be a nuisance to mackerel fishermen.

Distinguishing Characteristics

  • Extremely large caudal fin that may be up to 50 percent of the body length
  • Relatively large eyes
  • Relatively small teeth and jaw

Renard marin
Alopias vulpinus

Tête de renard marin

Tête de renard marin

Tête de renard marin

Les dents du haut et du bas sont petites, acérées et recourbées et les cuspides ont les bords lisses.

Description

Le renard marin est caractérisé par la longueur de sa nageoire caudale qui peut souvent atteindre 50 % de la longueur totale de l'animal. Le museau est court et ses grands yeux sont situés à l'avant de la tête. La deuxième nageoire dorsale est beaucoup plus petite que la première. Le renard marin est un puissant nageur et il peut sauter hors de l'eau. Ses petites mâchoires portent de petites dents acérées et recourbées dont les cuspides ont les bords lisses. La livrée varie entre le brun et le noir sur le dos, avec des reflets métalliques quand on observe le requin de dessus, et des marques blanches irrégulières parsèment le ventre.

Aire de répartition

Le renard marin habite dans toutes les régions chaudes et tempérées des océans. Sa limite septentrionale dans l'ouest de l'Atlantique est l'est de Terre-Neuve, et il se retrouve tout le long de l'Atlantique, jusqu'aux Antilles et au nord de l'Amérique du Sud. Le renard marin est un visiteur estival de la région du Canada atlantique. Les captures ont lieu de juillet à novembre, mais sont plus fréquentes en août et septembre.

Habitat

Le renard marin nage souvent à la surface dans les eaux côtières. Cependant, il peut aussi vivre jusqu'à 350 m de profondeur (1 150 pi) ou plus. On peut trouver les jeunes requins dans les eaux côtières peu profondes. Ils préfèrent les eaux tempérées à tropicales.

Cycle biologique

Dans les eaux canadiennes, la taille varie de 3,3 à 5,5 m de longueur (10,8 à 18 pi). La longueur maximale enregistrée pour cette espèce est de 6,1 m (20 pi); cependant, la longueur habituelle est de 2 à 5 m de longueur (10 à 16,5 pi). Sa longévité maximale est d'environ 45 à 50 ans. Ils migrent selon les saisons et il n'y a aucune trace de migration transocéanique.

Régime alimentaire

Le renard marin se nourrit de poissons vivant en banc, comme le hareng et le maquereau, et de céphalopodes comme l'encornet. Ce requin utilise sa longue nageoire caudale pour frapper sur l'eau, ce qui oblige les bancs de poissons à se resserrer; ensuite le renard marin se sert de sa queue comme un fouet pour assommer ou tuer ses proies.

Reproduction

Ce requin est ovovivipare; les œufs éclosent dans la femelle, et les petits (de 2 à 6) naissent tout formés. Ils mesurent alors 1,5 m de longueur (5 pi). Durant leur croissance utérine, les jeunes peuvent manger leurs frères et sœurs dans la chambre utérine. Apparemment, les zones côtières leur servent de nurserie. Ce requin atteint sa maturité entre 3 et 8 ans; les mâles atteignent 3,3 mètres et les femelles 4,2 mètres. La période de gestation est d'environ 9 mois et la naissance a lieu au printemps.

Interaction avec l'homme

On le trouve principalement dans le cadre de la pêche sportive. Il ne présente qu'une faible menace pour l'homme. Il n'est pas considéré comme étant nuisible, mais il peut l'être pour les pêcheurs de maquereau.

Caractéristiques particulières

  • Nageoire caudale extrêmement longue pouvant atteindre 50 % de la longueur totale
  • Yeux relativement gros
  • Mâchoires et dents relativement petites