Smooth hammerhead

Sphyrna zygaena

Description

The hammerhead sharks are easy to distinguish from other sharks because of the characteristic compressed head. The cephalophoil, or head, is a broad and flattened skull that gives this shark its distinguished shape. However, within the hammerhead family there are several species that are differentiated by subtle differences in the shape of the cephalophoil. The smooth hammerhead is the only one that appears in Canadian waters and is characterised by a head that lacks a central indentation, hence the name. This shark is white underneath turning to brownish gray or a deep olive colour on top. Occasionally they have dusky or black-tipped pectoral fins. The teeth, which are similar on both the upper and lower jaw, are triangular and smooth-edged.

Range

This shark can be found in the western and eastern North Atlantic and in the Indian Ocean. In the western Atlantic the smooth hammerhead ranges from Nova Scotia to Florida. This shark has been reported in Nova Scotian waters off Herring Cove, Sambro Light and Brier Island as well as in St. Margaret's Bay and on the northeast tip of Georges Bank.

Habitat

The smooth hammerhead shark is distributed worldwide. They occur in all warm temperate waters but are rare in tropical waters. It prefers inshore waters less than 20 meters (65 feet).

Life History

Adults of this species can attain lengths up to 3.7 to 4 meters (12 to 13 feet) and can weigh in excess of 400 kg (880 lbs). These sharks occur at the surface in the open ocean and often form enormous schools during migration along the east coast. They move northward to cooler latitudes during the summer months, returning south in the winter.

Diet

The smooth hammerhead feeds on schooling fish such as herring and menhaden. Skates and stingrays constitute a major part of their diet as well. Other animals in their diet include other sharks (its own species included), shrimp, crustaceans and cephalopods.

Reproduction

The smooth hammerhead is a viviparous species that gives birth to a large litter, between 20 to 40 pups. The pups are usually 50cm (20 inches) long at birth. Individuals become sexually mature at 2.3 meters (7.5 feet).

Interaction with People

This shark is rarely seen by fishermen in Canadian waters and is sometimes taken as a bycatch. It could potentially be dangerous to divers.

Distinguishing Characteristics

  • Hammer-shaped head that lacks a central indentation
Smooth hammerhead. Copyright Shutterstock

© Shutterstock

Photo modified from Sharks and Rays. TC Tricas, K Deacon, P Last, JE McCosker, TI Walker, L Taylor. 1997. Nature Company Guides, Time Life Book Series. Weldon Owen Pty Ltd San Francisco.

Smooth Hammerhead

Photo modified from Sharks and Rays. TC Tricas, K Deacon, P Last, JE McCosker, TI Walker, L Taylor. 1997. Nature Company Guides, Time Life Book Series. Weldon Owen Pty Ltd San Francisco.

Requin-marteau commun

Sphyrna zygaena

Description

Le requin-marteau commun est facile à distinguer des autres espèces de requins par la tête comprimée qui le caractérise. Son crâne, large et aplati, lui confère une forme singulière. Toutefois, dans la famille des requins-marteaux, la tête présente de légères différences d'une espèce à l'autre. La caractéristique qui permet de distinguer le requin-marteau commun (le seul de sa famille présent dans les eaux canadiennes) des autres espèces de requins-marteaux est l'absence d'échancrure au centre de la tête. La face inférieure de ce requin est blanche, et sa face supérieure est soit gris brunâtre, soit vert olive foncé. Parfois, leurs nageoires pectorales sont sombres ou ont le bout noir. Ses dents sont triangulaires et lisses, et il n'y a pas de différence entre la mâchoire supérieure et la mâchoire inférieure.

Aire de répartition

On rencontre cette espèce dans l'ouest et l'est de l'Atlantique Nord, ainsi que dans l'océan Indien. Dans l'ouest de l'Atlantique, son aire de répartition s'étend de la Nouvelle-Écosse jusqu'à la Floride. On a fait mention de sa présence en Nouvelle-Écosse au large de Herring Cove, du phare de Sambro et de l'île Brier, de même que dans la baie St. Margaret et à l'extrémité nord-est du banc Georges.

Habitat

Le requin-marteau commun est répandu partout dans le monde. Il est présent dans toutes les eaux chaudes des zones tempérées, mais très peu dans les eaux tropicales. Il préfère les eaux côtières de moins de 20 m (65 pi) de profondeur.

Cycle biologique

Les requins-marteaux communs adultes peuvent mesurer entre 3,7 et 4 m (12 et 13 pi) et peser plus de 400 kg (880 lb). Les requins-marteaux communs se tiennent à la surface en pleine mer et forment souvent d'énormes bancs durant la migration le long de la côte est. Ils migrent vers le nord vers des latitudes plus froides durant l'été et reviennent au sud en hiver.

Régime alimentaire

Le requin-marteau commun se nourrit de poissons se rassemblant en bancs, comme le hareng et l'alose tyran. Les raies et les pastenagues constituent également une grande partie de leur régime alimentaire. Il mange aussi d'autres animaux, par exemple d'autres requins (même de sa propre espèce), des crevettes, des raies, des crustacés et des céphalopodes.

Reproduction

Le requin-marteau commun est vivipare, et la femelle a des portées nombreuses, de 20 à 40 petits. Les petits mesurent habituellement 50 cm (20 po) à la naissance. Ils atteignent la maturité sexuelle à 2,3 m (7,5 pi).

Interaction avec l'homme

Les pêcheurs voient rarement ce requin dans les eaux canadiennes et il constitue souvent des prises accessoires. Il pourrait présenter un danger pour les plongeurs.

Caractéristiques particulières

  • Crâne large et aplati, non échancré au centre
Requin-marteau commun. Copyright Shutterstock.

© Shutterstock

Photographie (modifiée) tirée de Sharks and Rays. TC Tricas, K Deacon, P Last, JE McCosker, TI Walker, L Taylor. 1997. Nature Company Guides, Time Life Book Series. Weldon Owen Pty Ltd San Francisco

Requin-marteau commun

Photographie (modifiée) tirée de Sharks and Rays. TC Tricas, K Deacon, P Last, JE McCosker, TI Walker, L Taylor. 1997. Nature Company Guides, Time Life Book Series. Weldon Owen Pty Ltd San Francisco