Smooth dogfish
Mustelus canis

Photo modified from FishBase. 1998. FishBase 98 CD-ROM. ICLARM, Manila.

Description

The smooth dogfish has a slender body with an obvious spiracle behind the eye. The caudal fin has a rounded lower lobe and a larger top lobe. The teeth are very small, blunt, numerous and similar in both the upper and lower jaw. This shark is olive gray or brown on top and yellow or grayish white below. The smooth dogfish is able to change its colour slowly through contraction of melanophores (migratory pigment cells that through contraction or relaxation give the impression of a colour change). It is primarily nocturnal.

Range

This species of shark occurs in the western Atlantic Ocean. It ranges from the Bay of Fundy to Uruguay. It is a common shark in the waters off Cape Cod to Delaware Bay, and overwinters from Chesapeake Bay to South Carolina. It is rare in Canadian waters and the Bay of Fundy represents the northern most part of its range.

Habitat

This shark commonly lives in bays and inshore waters. It prefers waters less than 18 meters (60 feet) deep but has been found to a depth of 200 m.

Life History

This shark grows to 1.5 meters (5 feet) in length. Average size is about 122 cm (48 in). The smooth dogfish is a migratory species that moves north and south with the seasons.

Diet

This shark is a scavenger and opportunistic feeder, but regularly feeds upon crabs, lobster and shrimp as well as a variety of small teleosts.

Reproduction

The smooth dogfish is a viviparous shark giving birth to a litter of 3 to 18 pups. Gestation is 10-11 months long and the young are usually delivered in the late spring or early summer. The pups are 34 to 39 cm (13 to 15 in) at birth. Sexual maturity is reached when individuals reach 102 cm (40 in) for females age 4-5, 86 cm (33 in) in length for males age 2-3.

Interaction with People

This shark is very common, similar to the spiny dogfish, and routinely fowls up fishing gear. It is frequently caught by shrimp trawlers. It is considered harmless and is often used in aquaria.

Distinguishing Characteristics

  • Can change colour
  • No dorsal fin spines
  • Prominent spiracle behind eye
  • Numerous small blunt teeth in both jaws

Émissole douce
Mustelus canis

Photographie (modifiée) tirée de FishBase. 1998. FishBase 98 CD-ROM. ICLARM, Manila..

Description

Le corps de l'émissole douce est mince, et on remarque la présence d'un spiracle derrière l'œil. Le lobe inférieur de la nageoire caudale est arrondi et le lobe supérieur est plus grand que le lobe inférieur. Les dents sont très petites, nombreuses et semblables sur les deux mâchoires. La livrée de ce requin est gris olive ou brune sur le dos, et jaune ou blanc grisâtre sur le ventre. L'émissole douce peut changer lentement de couleur grâce à ses mélanophores (cellules pigmentaires voyageuses dont la dilatation ou la rétraction donne l'impression d'un changement de couleur). C'est une espèce principalement nocturne.

Aire de répartition

Ce requin se trouve dans l'ouest de l'Atlantique, de la baie de Fundy jusqu'en Uruguay. C'est un requin commun des eaux au large du cap Cod et de la baie du Delaware. Il hiverne depuis la baie de Chesapeake jusqu'en Caroline du Sud. Il atteint rarement les eaux canadiennes, et la baie de Fundy représente la limite septentrionale de son aire.

Habitat

Ce requin vit généralement dans les baies et les eaux côtières. Il préfère les eaux de moins de 18 m de profondeur (60 pi), mais on l'a déjà rencontré à une profondeur de 200 m.

Cycle biologique

Ce requin atteint une longueur de 1,5 m (5 pi). Il mesure en moyenne 122 cm (48 po). Il s'agit d'une espèce migratrice qui se déplace du nord au sud, et inversement, selon les saisons.

Régime alimentaire

Ce requin est nécrophage et c'est un prédateur opportuniste, mais il se nourrit régulièrement de crabe, de homard et de crevette, ainsi que d'une variété de petits téléostéens.

Reproduction

L'émissole douce est vivipare. La femelle met bas une portée de 3 à 18 petits après une période de gestation de 10 à 11 mois; les jeunes naissent habituellement à la fin de l'été ou au début du printemps. Ils mesurent de 34 à 39 cm de longueur (13 à 15 po) à la naissance et ils atteignent la maturité sexuelle à 102 cm (40 po) pour les femelles (4 à 5 ans) et à 86 cm (33 po) pour les mâles (2 à 3 ans).

Interaction avec l'homme

Ce requin est très courant, tout comme l'aiguillat commun, et se fait souvent prendre dans les engins de pêche. Il est prix fréquemment par les crevettiers. Il est considéré comme étant inoffensif et est souvent utilisé dans les aquariums.

Caractéristiques particulières

  • Peut changer de couleur
  • Aucune épine sur la nageoire dorsale
  • Spirale proéminente derrière l'œil
  • Nombreuses petites dents émoussées sur les deux mâchoires