Sand tiger shark
Odontaspis taurus or Eugomphodus taurus or Carcharias taurus

Sand Tiger Shark

Sand Tiger Shark. Photos courtesy of Jim Stewart and Sandra Fazakas, 2009

Sand Tiger Shark

Photos courtesy of Jim Stewart and Sandra Fazakas, 2009

Description

The sand tiger shark has a stout body with two large dorsal fins that are almost equal in size, with the first dorsal fin placed far back on the trunk of the body. The tail has an elongated upper lobe and no caudal keel. This shark appears bronze from above but is increasingly pale below. Juveniles have reddish or yellow-brown spots on the tail and rear end of the body that fade with age. The gill slits are anterior to the origin of the pectoral fins. Large teeth are arranged in three rows on each side of the upper jaw midline. The teeth themselves have long smooth, narrow-edged cusps with one or two small lateral denticles. This shark is able to achieve neutral buoyancy and hover in the water by storing surface air in its stomach. While menacing in appearance, this shark is generally considered to be harmless.

Range

The sand tiger shark is found in the eastern and western Atlantic, the Pacific and Indian Oceans and in the Mediterranean and Adriatic Seas. In the North Atlantic it ranges from the Gulf of Maine to Florida and into the Gulf of Mexico. There have only been three reported sightings of the sand tiger shark in Canadian waters. These sightings were in the Minas Basin of Nova Scotia, near St. Andrews, New Brunswick and off Point Lepreau, New Brunswick.

Habitat

The sand tiger shark is often found in sandy coastal waters, shallow bays, estuaries and rocky or tropical reefs. Although most often found in shallow waters they also swim down to depths of 200 meters. They are sometimes seen resting on the bottom and have the ability to remain motionless while floating in the water column by use of buoyancy control.

Life History

The maximum length attained for the sand tiger shark is 3.2 meters (10.5 feet), although the usual size is between 1.2 and 2.7 meters in length. It is a migratory species, inhabiting shallow coastal waters in the summer and moving to deeper or southern waters in the winter.

Diet

Diet consists mainly of large and small bony fish, small sharks, rays, squid and crustaceans. It is a voracious eater and its teeth are adapted for eating small prey.

Reproduction

The sand tiger is ovoviviparous, bearing 2 live young after a gestation period of 9 to 12 months. Each pup is approximately 91-105 cm and is usually born in the winter. In each of the two separate uterine chambers the first embryo to hatch obtains its food by eating the other developing eggs. Females mature between 220 and 240cm

Interaction with People

Generally harmless unless provoked, it is not considered a threat but is often encountered by divers in other parts of the world. With its fierce look and ability to adapt to captivity it is a popular shark in many aquariums.

Distinguishing Characteristics

  • Often swims with mouth open
  • Two dorsal fins almost equal in size
  • Caudal fin with elongated upper lobe
    and prominent subterminal notch
  • Juveniles have yellow-brown spots.

Requin-taureau
Odontaspis taurus ou Eugomphodus taurus ou Carcharias taurus

Requin-taureau

Requin-taureau Image fournie par Jim Stewart et Sandra Fazakas (2009)

Requin-taureau

Image fournie par Jim Stewart et Sandra Fazakas (2009)

Description

Le requin-taureau est trapu; ses deux nageoires dorsales ont presque la même taille, et l'origine de la première dorsale est située très à l'arrière du tronc. La queue possède un lobe supérieur allongé, mais ne possède aucune carène caudale. Ce requin semble être de couleur bronze vu du dessus, mais sa livrée pâlit de plus en plus vers la face inférieure. Les juvéniles ont des taches rougeâtres ou brun jaunâtre sur la queue et l'extrémité postérieure du corps; ces taches s'estompent avec l'âge. Les fentes branchiales sont antérieures à l'origine des pectorales. Les grandes dents sont placées sur trois rangées, de chaque côté de la ligne médiane de la mâchoire supérieure. Les dents possèdent de longues cuspides aux bords lisses et étroits, avec un ou deux petits denticules latéraux. Ce requin peut atteindre une flottabilité neutre et dériver dans l'eau en emmagasinant de l'air dans son estomac. Bien qu'il semble menaçant, ce requin est généralement considéré comme étant inoffensif.

Aire de répartition

On trouve le requin-taureau dans l'est et l'ouest de l'Atlantique, dans le Pacifique et l'océan Indien et les mers Méditerranée et Adriatique. Dans l'Atlantique Nord, on le trouve du golfe du Maine à la Floride et dans le golfe du Mexique. Seulement trois observations de requins-taureaux sont enregistrées pour les eaux canadiennes. Elles ont eu lieu dans le bassin des Mines, en Nouvelle-Écosse, près de St. Andrews, au Nouveau-Brunswick et au large de la pointe Lepreau, au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Habitat

Le requin-taureau se trouve souvent dans les eaux côtières aux fonds sablonneux, dans les baies peu profondes, dans les estuaires, près des rochers et autour des récifs tropicaux. Même si la plupart des requins-taureaux habitent les eaux peu profondes, ils peuvent descendre jusqu'à 200 m de profondeur. On les voit parfois se reposer au fond de l'eau et ils ont la capacité de rester immobiles tout en flottant dans la colonne d'eau en contrôlant leur flottabilité.

Cycle biologique

La longueur maximale enregistrée pour un requin-taureau est de 3,2 m (10,5 pi), mais sa taille habituelle se situe entre 1,2 et 2,7 m. Il s'agit d'une espèce migratrice qui habite les eaux côtières peu profondes en été et qui rejoint les eaux méridionales ou plus profondes en hiver.

Régime alimentaire

Ce requin consomme principalement des gros et des petits poissons osseux, des petits requins, des raies, des encornets et des crustacés. Il est vorace et ses dents sont adaptées pour consommer de petites proies.

Reproduction

Ce requin est ovovipare. La femelle met bas deux petits tout formés après une période de gestation de neuf à douze mois; chaque petit mesure environ 91 à 105 cm de longueur et naît généralement en hiver. Dans chacune des deux cavités utérines, le premier embryon à éclore dévore les autres œufs présents. Les femelles atteignent leur maturité sexuelle entre 220 et 240 cm.

Interaction avec l'homme

Généralement inoffensif à moins d'être provoqué, il n'est pas considéré comme étant une menace, mais des plongeurs le rencontrent souvent dans d'autres parties du globe. Avec son regard féroce et sa capacité à s'adapter à la captivité, c'est un requin populaire dans de nombreux aquariums.

Caractéristiques particulières

  • Nage souvent la gueule ouverte
  • Les deux nageoires dorsales sont pratiquement de la même grandeur
  • Nageoire caudale avec lobe supérieur allongé
    et échancrure subterminale proéminente
  • Les juvéniles ont des taches brun jaunâtre.