Dusky shark
Carcharhinus obscurus

Dusky Shark

Dusky Shark. Photo courtesy of Lee Surette.

Description

The dusky shark has a long streamlined body that is brown or gray above and white below. There is a faint lateral stripe that extends to the pelvic fin. Juveniles have a dark colouration on the tip of the caudal fin and the underside of the pectoral fins that is less pronounced in adults. The first dorsal fin is much larger than the second with a dermal ridge found between the two dorsal fins. The upper lobe of the caudal fin is larger than the lower lobe. The pectoral fins are long and curved on the trailing edge. The upper teeth of the dusky shark are broad and triangular with a serrated edge, but while the front teeth are virtually erect, the others are slightly oblique. The lower teeth differ since they have narrow, erect cusps with more finely serrated edges than the upper teeth.

Range

This shark is found in the Atlantic, Pacific and Indian Oceans. They continue to be found southward to the Caribbean Sea, the Gulf of Mexico and through to Brazil. It is rare in Canadian waters as its northernmost range is Georges Bank where it is occasionally caught by fishermen.

Habitat

The dusky shark is one of the larger species living in warm temperate continental waters. It is found from inshore waters out to the edge of the continental shelf. The specimens captured in Canadian waters were found at a water temperature of 19 degrees Celsius.

Life History

The dusky shark can grow to 364 cm in length. Average size is 305 cm and 160 to 180 kg. Studies have shown this shark is long lived and slow growing. They are believed to live more than 30 years.

Diet

The diet of this shark includes small schooling fish such as sardines and anchovies, as well as larger fish like tuna, mackerel, flatfish and eels. The dusky shark also eats dogfish, catsharks, skates and rays.

Reproduction

Females become sexually mature at about 3.0 meters (10 feet, 17-22 years), while males become sexually mature at 2.9 meters (9.5 feet, 20-23 years). They are viviparous and females give birth to a litter of 6 to 14 pups. After 16 months gestation the pups are delivered at a size of approximately 95 cm (3 feet).

Interaction with People

This shark is exploited by commercial fisheries throughout much of its range, but is mainly exploited by longline fisheries for shark, tuna and swordfish. Population abundance has declined by 60-80%. It is considered dangerous to swimmers and divers due to its size and proximity to shore.

Distinguishing Characteristics

  • Dermal ridge between the first and
    second dorsal fin
  • Upper and lower teeth nearly erect
  • Nictitating membrane over eye

Requin obscur
Carcharhinus obscurus

Requin obscur

Requin obscur. Photo fournie par Lee Surette.

Description

Long et hydrodynamique, le corps du requin obscur est brun ou gris sur le dos et blanc sur le ventre. Une rayure latérale faiblement marquée s'étend jusqu'à la nageoire pelvienne. La coloration foncée que portent les juvéniles à l'extrémité de la nageoire caudale et au revers des nageoires pectorales est moins prononcée chez les adultes. La première nageoire dorsale est beaucoup plus grande que la seconde, et une crête dermique sépare ces deux nageoires. Le lobe supérieur de la nageoire caudale est plus grand que le lobe inférieur. Les nageoires pectorales sont longues et incurvées postérieurement. Les dents supérieures sont larges, triangulaires et dentelées, et, tandis que les dents du devant sont pratiquement droites, les autres sont légèrement obliques. Les dents inférieures se distinguent des dents supérieures par la présence d'étroites cuspides érigées et elles sont plus finement.

Aire de répartition

Cette espèce de requin vit dans les océans Atlantique, Pacifique et Indien. On les trouve encore au sud de la mer des Caraïbes, du golfe du Mexique et jusqu'au Brésil. On le rencontre rarement dans les eaux canadiennes, car le point le plus septentrional de son aire de répartition est le banc George où il est parfois capturé par des pêcheurs.

Habitat

Le requin obscur est l'une des plus grandes espèces vivant dans les eaux continentales tempérées chaudes. On le trouve dans les eaux côtières jusqu'à l'extrémité du plateau continental. En territoire canadien, l'eau dans laquelle les exemplaires ont été capturés était à 19 oC.

Cycle biologique

Il peut mesurer jusqu'à 364 cm de long. Sa taille moyenne est de 305 cm et il peut peser de 160 à 180 kg. Des études ont montré que ce requin vit longtemps et grandit lentement. On pense qu'ils vivent plus de 30 ans.

Régime alimentaire

Le requin obscur se nourrit de petits poissons se rassemblant en bancs (comme les sardines et les anchois), ainsi que de plus gros poissons (thon, maquereau, anguille et poissons plats). Ce requin mange aussi des aiguillats, des roussettes et des raies.

Reproduction

Les femelles atteignent la maturité sexuelle lorsqu'elles mesurent environ 3 m (10 pi, 17 à 22 ans), tandis que les mâles l'atteignent à 2,9 m (9,5 pi, 20 à 23 ans). Ce sont des vivipares, et la femelle a une portée de 6 à 14 petits. La période de gestation est de 16 mois. Les petits mesurent environ 95 cm (3 pi) à la naissance.

Interaction avec l'homme

Ce requin est exploité dans le cadre de pêches commerciales dans la plupart de son aire de répartition, mais il est exploité le plus souvent dans le cadre de pêches à la palangre pour capturer des requins, des thons et des espadons. L'abondance de la population a diminué de 60 à 80 %. Il est considéré comme étant dangereux pour les nageurs et les plongeurs en raison de sa taille et de sa proximité aux côtes.

Caractéristiques particulières

  • Présence de crête dermique entre les deux premières
    nageoires dorsales.
  • Dents supérieures et inférieures pratiquement droites.
  • Membrane nictitante sur l'œil