Blue shark

Prionace glauca

  • Common
  • Surface waters
  • Length to 3 m (10 feet)
  • Dark indigo blue on back shading through clear bright blue on sides to white below
  • Notable for the long sabre-like pectoral fin
  • Well developed snout; slender body form

Research

For more information on blue shark research, please visit the blue shark research page.

Blue Shark

Image courtesy of Dan Doucette, Infotography

The upper teeth

The upper teeth (left) The upper teeth (left) are triangular and curved with serrated edges and overlapping bases.

The lower teeth

The lower teeth (right) are straighter and slender with finely serrated edges.

Photo: Blue shark

Blue Shark: Brooks Peninsula, August 2013. Photo by Wendy Szaniszlo

Photo: Blue shark

Description

The blue shark is one of the most easily recognized sharks. It has a distinct colouration, a deep indigo blue from above and a vibrant blue on its sides, changing to white underneath. The large pectoral fins are also easy to spot as they are as long as the distance between the tip of the snout to the last gill slit. The blue shark is a long slender shark, reaching 3.8 meters (13 feet) in length. It is likely the most prolific of the large shark species as it is abundant throughout its range. The blue shark has a weak keel on the caudal peduncle and the upper lobe of the caudal fin is larger than the lower. The teeth on both the lower and upper jaw have triangular cusps with smooth or finely serrated edges.

Blue sharks are recognizable for their exceptionally slender body and bright blue coloration. They are dark blue on the back, bright blue on the sides, and white on the underside. The colour quickly changes to a uniform dark grey if the shark is removed from the water. They have a long snout, large eyes, and narrow pointed pectoral fins. Adults range in size from about 2 – 3 m (6 – 10 feet). Blue sharks feed primarily on squid and pelagic schooling fishes such as herring, as well as on carcasses of whales and turtles. Blue sharks are equipped with gill rakers, generally characteristic of filter-feeding sharks, which allow them to feed on smaller pelagic invertebrates such as shrimp.

On the Pacific coast of Canada, researchers from the Pacific Biological Station have recently participated in an international tagging program for blue sharks with scientists from the United States National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS).

  • Surface waters
  • Length to 3 m (10 feet)
  • Dark indigo blue on back shading through clear bright blue on sides to white below
  • Notable for the long sabre-like pectoral fin
  • Well developed snout; slender body form

Range

The blue shark occurs in the Atlantic, Pacific and Indian Oceans in both inshore and offshore waters. This wide ranging species is found from 50º N latitude to 50ºS latitude. In the western Atlantic it can be found from Newfoundland and the Gulf of St. Lawrence to Argentina. In Canadian waters the blue shark has been found in southeastern Newfoundland, the Grand Banks, the Gulf of St. Lawrence, the Scotian Shelf and the Bay of Fundy. It is probably the most common large shark seen in Canadian waters.

Blue sharks are a wide ranging species, distributed globally in both temperate and tropical waters. They are present off both the Pacific and Atlantic coasts of Canada. They are a highly migratory species, and are considered one of the widest ranging sharks. In the summer, as warmer water moves northwards, blue sharks can be found off the west coast of Vancouver Island, Canada, within 40 nautical miles (70 km) of shore.

Habitat

In temperate waters the blue shark is a wide ranging pelagic species occurring near the surface where water depths are greater than 200 m. It prefers temperatures between 10 and 20 degrees Celsius. Blue sharks are commonly seen near the surface over deep waters off the coast of Nova Scotia and Newfoundland during the summer and fall.

Life History

The blue shark can grow to lengths of 383 cm but average size is usually around 180 to 240 cm and 30 to 52 kg in weight. Maximum lifespan is unknown at this time but they are thought to at least live to 20 years of age. Seasonal migrations of blue sharks are typically associated with changes in water temperature. As waters warm, blue sharks migrate northward and inshore with large females preceding smaller males and females. Larger males are found further offshore. The blue shark is highly migratory and has been known to make trans-Atlantic crossings.

Diet

The diet of this shark includes many types of fish and squid, and may sometimes eat seals. Although flatfishes make up part of the diet, blue sharks predominantly eat pelagic fishes such as herring, silver hake, white hake, red hake, cod, haddock, pollock, mackerel, butterfish , sea raven, tuna and swordfish. Fish caught on longlines during fishing are often attacked and consumed by blue sharks, who in turn often become ensnared in the fishing gear. They are opportunistic and have been known to feed on dead whales and porpoises as well.

Reproduction

The blue shark is a viviparous species, nourishing the young in the uterus and giving birth to live pups. The new-born pups measure 40 to 51 cm (16 to 20 inches) in length and litters usually consist of between 25 to 50 individuals. Litters of up to 135 pups have been reported. Females reach sexual maturity at a size of 2.2 to 3.2 meters (7 to 11 feet), while for males it is achieved at lengths of 1.8 to 2.8 meters (6 to 9 feet), about 6 years old. After copulation the females may retain and nourish the spermatozoa in the oviducal gland for months or even years while she awaits ovulation. Once the eggs have been fertilized there is a gestation period of between 9 and 12 months.

Interaction with People

The blue shark has been the subject of considerable research in our laboratory. This shark is sometimes seen by open water divers and is an active gamefish for recreational fishermen. It is considered a nuisance in the commercial fishery because it has low commercial value and it destroys fishing gear and catches. The blue shark has also been implicated in attacks on victims of air and sea disasters. Once plentiful, they are now fewer in numbers as a result of bycatch and overfishing. Mortality due to discarding from pelagic longlines can be substantial ( Campana et al. 2009; Campana et al. 2009c). A recent stock assessment for blue sharks in Canadian waters is now available. ICCAT (the agency responsible for management of large pelagic fishes in the Atlantic Ocean) has completed a preliminary stock assessment ( ICCAT report) for blue sharks in the entire North Atlantic, but the findings were equivocal. COSEWIC reviewed the status of blue shark in Canada in 2006, noting them to be of Special Concern, but otherwise not requiring special protection.

Distinguishing Characteristics

  • Long slender body
  • Dark blue colour on top, bright blue colour
    on the sides and white underneath
  • Very long pectoral fins
  • Nictitating membrane over eye

Video clip of a blue shark swimming off the coast of Halifax, Nova Scotia (taken by Dr. Chris Harvey-Clark, Dalhousie University, on a Shark Research Lab charter).

Fishery and Conservation Concerns

Off the west coast of Canada, there is currently no targeted commercial or sports fishery for blue sharks. They may be caught incidentally in longline or trawl fisheries. Off the east coast of Canada blue sharks are the target of sports fishing, mainly through annual derbies. Worldwide, they are usually caught with pelagic longlines but also by hook and lines, pelagic trawls, and even bottom trawls near coasts. Blue sharks are a very common bycatch in high-seas longline and driftnet fisheries. They are not a very valuable shark, so unreported discard rates are likely high, and generally only the fins are taken. However, there are some countries that readily consume blue sharks such as Spain, Brazil, Italy, and France. Blue sharks are utilized fresh, smoked, and dried salted for human consumption; the hides are used for leather; fins for shark-fin soup base; and also for fishmeal and liver oil.

There are no reliable statistics for the catches (directed or incidental) of blue sharks around the world and this makes difficult to understand the impact of fisheries on the stocks. Catches have been estimated at around six million pieces annually. The high abundance and worldwide distribution of this species offers a relative buffer against extinction. However, some discrete stocks might become threatened in the future if bycatch in high seas fisheries does not come under strict monitoring and control. The IUCN Red List classifies blue shark as a Lower Risk/Near Threatened species at the world level.

Reference

Compagno, Leonard J. V. 1984. Sharks of the World: An annotated and illustrated catalogue of shark species known to date. Part 2 – Carcharhiniformes. FAO species catalogue Vol.4. pp. 521-524. Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.

FAO Fisheries and Aquaculture Department. 2008. Species Fact Sheets: Prionace glauca. Downloaded on 06 March 2008.

Ferrari, Andrea, and Ferrari, Antonella. 2002. Sharks: a Firefly guide. Firefly Books Ltd, Toronto.

Requin bleu

Prionace glauca

  • Fréquent
  • Eaux de surface
  • Jusqu’à 3 m (10 pi) de longueur
  • Bleu indigo foncé sur le dos; dégradation vers le bleu clairéclatant sur les côtés et le blanc sur le dessous
  • Remarquable par sa grande nageoire pectorale arquée
  • Museau bien développé; corps élancé

Recherche

Pour les renseignements sur la recherche des requins bleus, visitez la page recherche sur les requins bleus.

Requin bleu

Image fournie par Dan Doucette, Infotography

Les dents de la mâchoire supérieure

Les dents de la mâchoire supérieure (à gauche) sont triangulaires et courbées, leurs extrémités sont dentelées et elles se chevauchent à la base.

Celles de la mâchoire inférieure

Celles de la mâchoire inférieure (à droite) sont plus droites et plus minces, et leurs extrémités sont finement dentelées.

Photo : Requin bleu

Un requin bleu : péninsule Brooks, août 2013. Photo : Wendy Szaniszlo

Photo: Requin Bleu

Description

Le requin bleu est l'un des requins les plus facilement reconnaissables. Sa coloration est remarquable; le dos est indigo foncé, les flancs d'un bleu brillant et la face inférieure, blanche. Les grandes nageoires pectorales sont aussi faciles à reconnaître, car elles sont aussi longues que la distance entre le bout du museau et la dernière fente branchiale. Le corps du requin bleu est mince et fusiforme, atteignant 3,8 mètres de longueur (13 pieds). C'est possiblement un des grands requins les plus prolifiques, car il abonde sur l'ensemble de son aire de répartition. Le requin bleu possède une petite carène sur le pédoncule caudal, et le lobe supérieur de la nageoire caudale est plus long que le lobe inférieur. Les dents des mâchoires supérieure et inférieure ont des cuspides triangulaires avec des bords lisses ou finement dentelés.

On les reconnaît par leur corps particulièrement svelte et leur coloration bleue vif. Leur dos est de couleur bleu foncé, changeant au bleu vif sur les côtés et au blanc sur le ventre. Sa couleur change rapidement à un gris foncé uniforme lorsqu'il est hors de l'eau. Il a un long museau, de grands yeux et des nageoires pectorales pointues et étroites. La taille des adultes varie d'environ 2 - 3 m (6 - 10 pieds). Le requin bleu s'alimente principalement de calmars et de poissons pélagiques en bancs tels que le hareng, aussi bien que de carcasses de baleines et de tortues. Le requin bleu est muni de branchicténies, généralement caractéristiques des requins filtreurs, ce qui lui permet de s'alimenter de plus petits invertébrés pélagiques tels que la crevette.

Sur la côte Pacifique du Canada, les chercheurs de la Station biologique du Pacifique ont récemment participé à un programme international d'étiquetage des requins bleus avec des scientifiques du United States National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS).

  • Eaux de surface
  • Jusqu'à 3 m (10 pi) de longueur
  • Bleu indigo foncé sur le dos; dégradation vers le bleu clair éclatant sur les côtés et le blanc sur le dessous
  • Remarquable par sa grande nageoire pectorale arquée
  • Museau bien développé; corps élancé

Aire de répartition

Le requin bleu habite l'Atlantique, le Pacifique et l'océan Indien, dans les eaux des côtes et du large. Son aire de distribution se situe entre 50 o de latitude nord et 50 o de latitude sud. Dans l'ouest de l'Atlantique, on le retrouve de Terre-Neuve et du golfe du Saint-Laurent jusqu'en Argentine. Dans les eaux canadiennes, le requin bleu a été observé au sud-est de Terre-Neuve, sur les Grands Bancs, dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, sur le plateau néo-écossais et dans la baie de Fundy. Il s'agit probablement du grand requin le plus rencontré dans les eaux canadiennes.

L'aire de répartition du requin bleu est étendue et on le retrouve globalement dans les eaux tempérées et tropicales. Il est présent au large des côtes Atlantique et Pacifique du Canada. Cette espèce est fortement migratrice et il est un des requins ayant une aire de répartition la plus étendue. En été, lorsque l'eau plus chaude se déplace vers le nord, on peut trouver le requin bleu au large de la côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver au Canada, jusqu'à 40 miles marins (70 km) du rivage.

Habitat

Dans les eaux tempérées, le requin bleu est une espèce pélagique vagabonde qui vit à la surface où les eaux atteignent des profondeurs supérieures à 200 mètres. Il préfère une température de l'eau située entre 10 et 20 oC. On le voit souvent près de la surface des eaux profondes au large des côtes de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador en été et en automne.

Cycle biologique

Le requin bleu peut atteindre 383 cm, mais il mesure en moyenne entre 180 et 240 cm et pèse 30 à 52 kg. On ne sait pas jusqu'à quel âge il peut vivre pour l'instant, mais on pense qu'il peut vivre jusqu'à 20 ans. Les migrations saisonnières des requins bleus sont souvent associées aux changements de la température de l'eau. Lorsque les eaux se réchauffent, le requin bleu migre vers le nord et les eaux côtières; les grandes femelles précèdent les mâles et les femelles plus petits. On trouve les grands mâles plus au large. Le requin bleu est une espèce très migratrice et fait des traversées transatlantiques.

Régime alimentaire

Ce requin consomme plusieurs sortes de poisson et d'encornet, et il peut parfois manger des phoques. Même si les poissons plats font partie de son menu, le requin bleu se nourrit principalement de poissons pélagiques, comme le hareng, le merlu argenté, la merluche blanche, la merluche rouge, la morue, l'aiglefin, la goberge, le maquereau, le stromatée à fossettes, l'hémitriptère atlantique, le thon et l'espadon. Les poissons capturés à la palangre sont souvent attaqués et mangés par les requins bleus qui, à leur tour, restent prisonniers de l'engin de pêche. Ils sont opportunistes et se nourrissent de baleines mortes et de marsouins.

Reproduction

Le requin bleu est une espèce vivipare; les jeunes se nourrissent dans l'utérus et la femelle accouche de petits vivants. Les jeunes mesurent entre 40 et 51 centimètres de longueur (16 à 20 pouces) à la naissance, et la femelle met au monde 25 à 50 individus; on signale même qu'un requin bleu a accouché de 135 petits. Les femelles atteignent la maturité sexuelle lorsqu'elles mesurent entre 2,2 et 3,2 m de longueur (7 à 11 pi), alors que les mâles l'atteignent entre 1,8 et 2,8 m de longueur (6 à 9 pi), soit à environ 6 ans. Après la copulation, les femelles gardent et nourrissent les spermatozoïdes dans la glande de l'oviducte pendant des mois, et même des années, en attendant l'ovulation. Après la fécondation des œufs, la période de gestation dure entre 9 et 12 mois.

Interaction avec l'homme

Des plongeurs en eaux libres observent parfois des requins bleus. C'est un poisson sportif actif pour les pêcheurs récréatifs. Il est considéré comme étant une nuisance pour la pêche commerciale en raison de sa faible valeur commerciale, et il détruit les engins de pêche et les prises. Le requin bleu a déjà été impliqué dans des attaques sur des victimes de catastrophes aériennes et maritimes. Ils étaient très nombreux, mais il n'en reste plus beaucoup en raison des prises accessoires et de la surpêche. La mortalité due au rejet issu de palangres pélagiques peut être importante ( Campana et al. 2009; Campana et al. 2009c). Une récente évaluation du stock de requins bleus dans les eaux canadiennes est maintenant disponible. La Commission internationale pour la conservation des thonidés de l'Atlantique (l'organisme responsable de la gestion des grands poissons pélagiques dans l'océan Atlantique) a effectué une évaluation préliminaire des stocks (rapport de la CICTA) de requins bleus dans tout l'Atlantique Nord, mais les conclusions étaient équivoques. Le COSEPAC a examiné le statut du requin bleu au Canada en 2006 et l'a inscrit comme espèce préoccupante, mais aucune protection particulière n'est nécessaire.

Caractéristiques particulières

  • Corps long et mince
  • Le dos est bleu foncé, les flancs sont bleu brillant et la face inférieure, blanche.
  • Nageoires pectorales très longues
  • Membrane nictitante sur l'œil

Un requin bleu nageant au large des côtes de Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse) (prise par M. Chris Harvey-Clark, Université Dalhousie, sur un laboratoire de recherche affrété sur le requin).

Inquiétudes liées à la pêche et à la conservation

Au large de la côte ouest du Canada, il n'y a pas de pêche dirigée sportive ou commerciale du requin bleu. Il peut cependant être capturé dans les prises accessoires de la pêche à la palangre ou au chalut. Au large de la côte est du Canada, on pratique la pêche sportive au requin bleu, surtout lors de tournois annuels. Au niveau mondial, ils sont habituellement capturés par la pêche pélagique à la palangre mais également à la ligne, au chalut pélagique, et même au chalut de fond près des côtes. On les attrape aussi comme prise accessoire dans la pêche à la palangre et au filet dérivant en haute mer. Le requin bleu ayant peu de valeur commerciale, les taux de prises rejetées en mer sans être déclarées sont probablement élevés et généralement seulement les nageoires sont prises. Toutefois, il y a quelques pays qui consomment avec enthousiasme le requin bleu tels que l'Espagne, le Brésil, l'Italie et la France. Les requins bleus sont utilisés pour la consommation humaine à l'état frais, fumé, salé-séché; la peau est utilisée par l'industrie du cuir; les nageoires sont consommées en potage d'aileron de requin; et en tant qu'huile de foie et de farine de poisson.

Il n'existe aucune statistique fiable sur les captures (dirigées ou fortuites) du requin bleu dans le monde et ceci rend difficile à comprendre l'impact de la pêche sur les stocks. Les captures ont été estimées à environ six millions par année. L'abondance élevée et la distribution globale de cette espèce ont un effet tampon relatif contre l'extinction. Cependant, certains stocks pourraient devenir menacés si la capture accessoire de pêche en haute mer n'est pas soumise à une étroite surveillance et à un contrôle strict. Le requin bleu est inscrit sur la liste rouge de l'UICN en tant qu'espèce à faible risque/quasi menacée à l'échelle mondiale.

Références

Compagno, Leonard J. V. 1984. Sharks of the World: An annotated and illustrated catalogue of shark species known to date. Part 2 – Carcharhiniformes. FAO species catalogue Vol.4. pp. 521-524. Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.

FAO Fisheries and Aquaculture Department. 2008. Species Fact Sheets: Prionace glauca. Downloaded on 06 March 2008.

Ferrari, Andrea, and Ferrari, Antonella. 2002. Sharks: a Firefly guide. Firefly Books Ltd, Toronto.