Black dogfish
Centroscyllium fabricii

Black dogfish embryos

Black dogfish embryos (Courtesy of Einar Àsgeirsson and Ingibjörg Jónsdóttir, Iceland)

The tricuspid upper teeth of the black dogfish.

The tricuspid upper teeth of the black dogfish.

Description

The black dogfish is a small deep dwelling shark with a short and heavily set body. Both of the dorsal fins have white spines on the leading edge. The second dorsal fin is larger than the first and originates over the pelvic fins. As its name suggests, this shark is completely black with the exception of the white dorsal spines. Older individuals may be a dark chocolate brown. The tricuspid teeth are similar in both the upper and lower jaws with the middle cusp being the longest.

Range

This shark species occurs only in the Atlantic Ocean basin. In the northwestern Atlantic Ocean the black dogfish can be found off southern Greenland and Baffin Island, continuing to waters around Labrador, Newfoundland, on the Scotian Shelf, and Georges Bank. Its range continues down to Cape Hatteras and possibly to Florida and into the Gulf of Mexico. It is a common shark in deep waters of some areas, such as the Gulf of St. Lawrence.

Habitat

This is a deep water shark occurring at depths of 275 to 1600 meters (975 to 5,280 feet). However in its northern range in subarctic waters, the black dogfish may occur at the surface. Water temperatures where specimens have been obtained are commonly between 3.5 to 4.5 degrees Celsius.

Life History

Average size for this shark is about 60 to 75 cm with a maximum size of 84 cm. It is thought that the black dogfish may emit light (luminescent).

Diet

This shark feeds mainly upon cephalopods, pelagic crustaceans, jellyfish, and small redfish.

Reproduction

This shark is ovoviviparous; the fertilized eggs develop within the uterus.

Interaction with People

This shark is often caught on longlines or in deep-water trawls accidentally. It is sometimes captured near the surface through ice in the winter but otherwise is seldom seen by man.

Aiguillat noir
Centroscyllium fabricii

Embryons d'aiguillat noir

Embryons d'aiguillat noir (photo fournie par Einar Àsgeirsson et Ingibjörg Jónsdóttir, Islande)

Dents supérieures de l'aiguillat noir

Dents supérieures de l'aiguillat noir

Description

L'aiguillat noir est un petit requin habitant les profondeurs. Son corps est court et massif. Ses deux nageoires dorsales possèdent des épines blanches sur leur bord antérieur. La deuxième nageoire dorsale est plus grosse que la première et débute au-dessus des nageoires pelviennes. Comme son nom l'indique, ce requin est complètement noir à l'exception des épines dorsales blanches. Les individus plus vieux peuvent être marron-chocolat noir. Les dents tricuspides inférieures et supérieures sont semblables, la cuspide centrale étant la plus longue.

Aire de répartition

Ce requin ne se trouve que dans le bassin de l'océan Atlantique. Dans le nord-ouest de l'Atlantique, l'aiguillat noir vit au sud du Groenland et de l'île de Baffin, dans les eaux du Labrador et de Terre-Neuve, sur le plateau néo-écossais et sur le banc Georges. Son aire va jusqu'au cap Hatteras et peut-être même jusqu'en Floride et dans le golfe du Mexique. Il s'agit d'un requin commun dans les eaux profondes de certaines régions, telles que le golfe du Saint-Laurent.

Habitat

Ce requin vit en eau profonde, entre 275 et 1 600 mètres de profondeur (975 à 5 280 pieds). Cependant, à sa limite septentrionale, dans les eaux subarctiques, l'aiguillat noir peut se tenir en surface. La température de l'eau où les spécimens sont capturés se situe habituellement entre 3,5 et 4,5 oC.

Cycle biologique

Ce requin mesure en moyenne environ 60 à 75 cm et peut atteindre 84 cm. On pense que l'aiguillat noir peut émettre de la lumière (luminescent).

Régime alimentaire

Ce requin se nourrit principalement de céphalopodes, de crustacés pélagiques, de méduses et de petits sébastes.

Reproduction

Ce requin est ovovivipare; les œufs fécondés se développent dans l'utérus.

Interaction avec l'homme

Ce requin est souvent pris dans les palangres ou dans les chaluts en eau profonde accidentellement. Il est parfois capturé près de la surface à travers la glace en hiver, mais on l'observe rarement.