Atlantic sharpnose shark
Rhizoprionodon terraenovae

The triangular smooth edged teeth

The triangular smooth edged teeth are similar on both the upper and lower jaws.

Description

The Atlantic sharpnose shark has a long snout and labial folds around its mouth. The triangular smooth edged teeth are similar on both the upper and lower jaws. This shark can be brown, olive-gray or blue-gray turning to white on the underside. Adults may have some white spots and smaller individuals tend to have black edged dorsal and caudal fins.

Range

This small shark is more commonly found in the coastal waters of South Carolina, Florida and the Gulf of Mexico where it is a year round resident. Although its scientific name may suggest that it can be found off of Newfoundland, the Atlantic sharpnose has not been reported in those waters. Indeed, it is not a common shark anywhere in Canadian waters. Its most northerly distribution is in the Bay of Fundy and it is rare even in that area.

Habitat

The Atlantic sharpnose shark is found in coastal waters at depths of 12 meters (42 feet) or less during the summer months. During the winter this shark can be found at depths greater than 27 meters (90 feet).

Life history

The Atlantic sharpnose shark is a small shark that attains a maximum size of 1.2 meters (4 feet). Average size is about 95 cm.

Diet

This shark consumes shrimp, molluscs and small fishes.

Reproduction

Sexual maturity is reached when an individual is approximately 83 cm (33 in). The young are nourished within the female as development is viviparous. Litters of 4 to 7 pups are born in June in shallow waters or estuaries. The newborns are 22 to 35 cm (9 to 14 in) in length.

Interaction with People

The Atlantic sharpnose is a common nuisance to fishermen as it will take bait intended for other fish. It is a small shark and not considered dangerous to humans.

Distinguishing Characteristics

  • May have black edged dorsal and caudal fin
  • Long labial furrows around corners of mouth
  • Nictitating membrane over eye

Requin nez pointu
Rhizoprionodon terraenovae

Les dents triangulaires aux bords lisses

Les dents triangulaires aux bords lisses sont identiques sur les mâchoires supérieure et inférieure.

Description

Le requin à nez pointu a un museau long et des sillons labiaux qui entourent sa gueule. Les dents triangulaires aux bords lisses sont identiques sur les mâchoires supérieure et inférieure. La livrée du requin à nez pointu peut être brune, gris olive ou bleu gris, devenant blanche sur le ventre. Les adultes peuvent avoir quelques taches blanches, et chez les individus plus petits les bords des nageoires dorsales et de la nageoire caudale sont souvent noirs.

Aire de répartition

Ce petit requin se trouve plus couramment dans les eaux côtières de la Caroline du Sud, de la Floride et du golfe du Mexique, qu'il habite tout au long de l'année. Même si son nom scientifique indique qu'il vit au large de Terre-Neuve, le requin à nez pointu n'a pas été observé dans ces eaux. En réalité, cette espèce est peu commune dans les eaux canadiennes. Sa limite septentrionale est la baie de Fundy, mais même dans cette région ce requin est rare.

Habitat

Durant l'été le requin à nez pointu est commun dans les eaux côtières, à des profondeurs de 12 m (42 pi) ou moins. En hiver, il se trouve à des profondeurs de plus de 27 m (90 pi).

Cycle biologique

Le requin à nez pointu est un petit animal dont la longueur maximale est de 1,2 m (4 pi). Il mesure en moyenne 95 cm.

Régime alimentaire

Ce requin se nourrit de crevettes, de mollusques et de petits poissons.

Reproduction

Ce requin atteint la maturité sexuelle lorsqu'il mesure environ 83 cm de longueur (33 po). Les jeunes sont nourris dans l'utérus, car cette espèce est vivipare. Les portées de 4 à 7 petits naissent en juin, dans les eaux peu profondes ou les estuaires. Les nouveau-nés mesurent de 22 à 35 cm de longueur (9 à 14 po)

Interaction avec l'homme

Le requin à nez pointu est une nuisance courante pour les pêcheurs, car il mord aux appâts destinés aux autres poissons. Il s'agit d'un petit requin qui n'est pas considéré comme étant dangereux pour l'homme.

Caractéristiques particulières

  • Les bords des nageoires dorsales et caudale peuvent être noirs.
  • Longs sillons labiaux aux coins de la bouche.
  • Membrane nictitante sur l'œil