Canadian Pacific Shark Research Lab

Elasmobranchs research program

Elasmobranchs are a class of fish comprised of sharks, skates and rays. These fish have cartilaginous skeletons, hard teeth and well developed jaws. Within British Columbia there are three species of ray, ten species of skates and fourteen shark species. Big skate (Raja binoculata), longnose skate (Bathyraja interrupta) and sixgill shark (Hexanchus griseus) are regularly taken as bycatch in British Columbia fisheries, while directed commercial fisheries for spiny dogfish (Squalus acanthias) have existed since the 1800s.

Ongoing research on elasmobranchs at the Pacific Biological Station includes:

Research is focused on the requirements for improved assessment and management. Researchers are working to determine the number and geographical limits of British Columbia elasmobranch populations and to obtain accurate life history parameters for those populations.

Stock Assessment

In 2001 an initial review of the biology and catch histories for elasmobranchs (excluding spiny dogfish) was produced for the Pacific Scientific Advice Review Committee (2001/129). The research document represents an initial phase in developing stock assessment advice and management scenarios for skates and sharks in British Columbia

Additional assessments:

2003/019 Maritimes: Proceedings of the Canada/US Information Session on Spiny Dogfish; 4 April 2003.

2008/009 Maritimes: Proceedings of the Maritimes Region Science Advisory Process on the Assessment of Spiny Dogfish (Squalus acanthias); 14-15 November 2007.

2011/071 Pacific: Proceedings of the Pacific Region Science Advisory Process for Spiny Dogfish (Squalus acanthius) in British Columbia, Canada; May 17, 2010

2015/061 Maritimes: Proceedings of the Regional Peer Review of the Northwest Atlantic Spiny Dogfish (Squalus acanthias) Framework and Assessment; January 20-21, 2014, and May 29, 2014

Looking for more information?

Photo: Spiny Dogfish

For more information about ongoing work on elasmobranchs at the Pacific Biological Station, please contact the Canadian Pacific Shark Research Lab.

Laboratoire de recherche sur le requin du Pacifique Canadien

Programme de recherche sur les élasmobranches

Les élasmobranches sont un groupe de poissons qui inclut les requins, les raies et les pocheteaux. Ces poissons ont un squelette cartilagineux, des dents dures et des mâchoires bien développées. En Colombie-Britannique il y a trois espèces de raies, dix espèces de pocheteaux et quatorze espèces de requins. La raie biocellée (Raja binoculata), le pocheteau long-nez ou raie rugueuse (Bathyraja interrupta) et le requin griset (Hexanchus griseus) sont une prise accessoire commune pour les pêcheurs de la Colombie-Britannique, alors que la pêche commerciale dirigée pour les aiguillats communs (Squalus acanthias) existe depuis les années 1800s.

La recherche en cours sur les élasmobranches à la Station biologique du Pacifique inclut:

La recherche se concentre sur les exigences en matière d'évaluation et de gestion améliorées. Les chercheurs tâchent de déterminer le nombre et les limites géographiques des populations d'élasmobranches de la Colombie- Britannique et d'obtenir des paramètres précis du cycle biologique de ces populations.

Évaluation des stocks

En 2001, un premier examen de la biologie et de l'historique des prises pour les élasmobranches (à l'exclusion de l'aiguillat commun) a été effectué pour le Comité d'examen des évaluations scientifiques du Pacifique (2001/129). Le document de recherche représente la phase initiale de l'élaboration de scénarios de conseil et de gestion en matière d'évaluation des stocks de pocheteaux et de requins en Colombie-Britannique.

Additional assessments:

 2003/019 Maritimes : Compte rendu de la séance d'information Canada-États-Unis sur l'aiguillat commun; le 4 avril 2003.

2008/009 Maritimes : Compte rendu de la réunion du Processus consultatif scientifique de la Région des Maritimes au sujet de l’évaluation de l’aiguillat commun (Squalus acanthias); les 14 et 15 novembre 2007

2011/071 Pacifique : Processus d'avis scientifique régional pour l'aiguillat commun (Squalus acanthius) en Colombie-Britannique, Canada ; 17 mai 2010

2015/061 Maritimes : Compte rendu de la réunion d'examen par les pairs liée à l'aiguillat commun (Squalus acanthias) dans l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest – Cadre et évaluation; les 20 et 21 janvier 2014 et le 29 mai 2014

Besoin de plus d'information?

Photo: Aiguillat commun du Pacifique

Pour plus d'information concernant la recherche sur les élasmobranches à la Station biologique du Pacifique, veuillez contacter le laboratoire de recherche sur le requin du Pacifique Canadien.