Shark conservation

As a species group, sharks tend to be unproductive compared to other fishes. As a result, fishing effort must be maintained at a relatively low level if it is to be sustainable and if the shark populations are to be conserved. The Shark Research Laboratory and Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) are firmly committed to shark conservation. To meet this goal, the Shark Research Lab seeks to describe, understand and monitor the population dynamics of all shark species in Atlantic Canada. As new scientific results are obtained, they are incorporated into shark management to help insure that all shark fisheries are being managed sustainably. This process is ongoing, and usually takes place independently of, and before, any recommendations from outside agencies. A point in case is the porbeagle shark, whose catch quota was cut by 75%, and the Newfoundland mating grounds closed to fishing, to allow population recovery before any recommendations from outside of DFO.

The existing management of shark populations in Canadian waters is designed to maintain shark population numbers at healthy levels. Several restrictions make this possible:

  • All recreational fishing for sharks is restricted to catch and live release, with the exception of authorized shark derbies where DFO Science staff are present to collect scientific data on the sharks.
  • All commercial shark fishing quotas are set at levels which maintain or increase population numbers at healthy levels, based on the best available scientific information.
  • Sharks caught accidentally in fisheries targeting other species are to be released alive, if they are not landed.
  • The mating ground of porbeagle sharks has been closed to commercial fishing to encourage population recovery.

There are several national and international organizations which serve to make recommendations on the conservation of shark populations. As a country, Canada subscribes to FAO's International Plan of Action on Sharks and Rays. Canada released its National Plan of Action for the Conservation and Management of Sharks in 2007, although it has been applying the same shark conservation principles for many years. The 2012 Progress Report on the National Plan of Action summarizes the current status of shark conservation efforts in Canada. The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) reviews the population status of potentially endangered wildlife in Canada, then categorizes each population in terms of its relative abundance or health. These recommendations are then passed onto the Canadian government for possible action under the Species at Risk Act (SARA). If the population or species is listed under SARA, strict measures must be taken to aid in the conservation of the species. However, the government may elect not to list a species under SARA, even though it is listed under COSEWIC. In such a case, measures to protect the species and increase abundance are taken under existing, non-SARA measures.

The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) has reviewed the population health of several shark species to date. COSEWIC recommended that porbeagle sharks be designated as Endangered, based on the stock information summarized in Campana et al. (2003). To update and improve the available information on porbeagle, a comprehensive stock assessment was carried out in 2005 ( Gibson and Campana 2005), concluding that population numbers are low but have remained relatively stable since the reduction of catch quotas in 2002 ( Stock Assessment Report 2005). All analyses indicate that the population can recover, but that human-induced mortality needs to be kept below about 4% of vulnerable biomass (about 185 t per year) ( Recovery Assessment Report 2005). Since DFO is determined that the population recover, current and future management of this species will ensure that mortality is kept below the 4% level required for recovery. As such, the government has decided that porbeagle will not be listed as endangered under the Species At Risk Act (SARA). The most recent stock assessment indicates that population recovery has already begun ( Stock Assessment 2010) ( Stock Assessment 2012).

COSEWIC has also recommended that great white sharks be listed as Endangered, that shortfin makos be listed as Threatened, and that blue sharks be listed as Special Concern. Recovery Potential Assessments completed in 2006 are available for shortfin mako and white sharks. In 2011, the federal government listed the white shark as Endangered under SARA. COSEWIC has also looked at the status of spiny dogfish and basking shark, designating them as of Special Concern. Preliminary status reports for basking sharks and spiny dogfish are currently available.

The Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES) is an international agency which attempts to protect endangered species through trade regulations, such as restrictions on import and export. A decision to list under Appendix II would place trade restrictions in place, unless it could be demonstrated that the population was being managed sustainably. CITES currently lists two shark species found in Canadian waters under Appendix II: great white sharks and basking sharks. In May 2007 and again in March 2010, two other species were proposed for listing under Appendix II - porbeagle and spiny dogfish - but the proposals were not accepted.

The 9th meeting of the Conference of the Parties of the United Nations Convention on the Conservation of Migratory Species of Wild Animals (CMS) listed porbeagle, mako (shortfin and longfin) and northern populations of spiny dogfish under Appendix II in Dec 2008. Appendix II "lists species suffering from unfavorable conservation status and would benefit from international cooperation". The listing was largely in response to heavy overfishing of the three species in European waters. Although a CMS listing is not legally binding, it often serves as the foundation from which legally binding treaties evolve.

The Shark Specialist Group of the International Union For Conservation of Nature (IUCN) provides information and guidance to governments and non-governmental organizations associated with the conservation of threatened shark species and populations. The SSG released their report on the Global Status of of Oceanic Pelagic Sharks and Rays in 2009. On-line access to the IUCN Red List is now available.

Conservation des requins

Comme groupe d'espèces, les requins ont tendance à être non productifs comparativement à d'autres poissons. Par conséquent, l'effort de pêche doit être maintenu à un niveau relativement bas s'il doit être durable et si les populations de requins doivent être conservées. Le Laboratoire de recherche sur les requins et Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) sont fermement déterminés à conserver les requins. Pour atteindre cet objectif, le Laboratoire de recherche sur les requins cherche à décrire, à comprendre et à surveiller la dynamique des populations de toutes les espèces de requins du Canada Atlantique. Au fur et à mesure que de nouveaux résultats scientifiques sont obtenus, ceux-ci sont intégrés à la gestion des requins pour s'assurer que toutes les pêches de requins sont gérées de façon durable. En général, ce processus continu se déroule indépendamment de toute recommandation formulée au préalable par des organismes extérieurs. Un bon exemple est le requin-taupe commun, dont le quota de capture a été réduit de 75 % et les lieux d'accouplement de Terre-Neuve ont été fermés à la pêche pour permettre le rétablissement de la population avant toute recommandation de l'extérieur du MPO.

La gestion existante des populations de requins dans les eaux canadiennes est conçue pour maintenir ces populations à des niveaux sains. Pour ce faire, plusieurs restrictions sont imposées :

  • Toute pêche récréative de requins est restreinte à la remise à l'eau de requins vivants, à l'exception des tournois de pêche au requin autorisés où des scientifiques du MPO sont présents pour recueillir des données scientifiques sur les requins.
  • Tous les quotas de la pêche des requins à des fins commerciales sont fixés à des niveaux pour maintenir ou accroître les populations à des niveaux sains, selon les meilleurs renseignements scientifiques disponibles.
  • Les requins capturés accidentellement dans des pêches visant d'autres espèces doivent être relâchés vivants, s'ils ne sont pas débarqués.
  • Les lieux d'accouplement du requin-taupe commun sont fermés à la pêche commerciale pour favoriser le rétablissement de la population.

Plusieurs organismes nationaux et internationaux ont pour mandat de faire des recommandations sur la conservation des populations de requins. Comme pays, le Canada souscrit au Plan d'action international visant les requins et les raies de l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture. En 2007, le Canada a présenté son Plan d'action national pour la conservation et la gestion des requins, bien qu'il applique les mêmes principes de conservation des requins depuis de nombreuses années. Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) étudie la situation des populations des espèces en péril au Canada, puis catégorise chaque population selon son niveau d'abondance ou de santé. Ces recommandations sont ensuite transmises au gouvernement du Canada pour des mesures éventuelles en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). Si la population ou l'espèce est inscrite sur la liste de la LEP, des mesures strictes doivent être prises pour aider à la conservation de l'espèce. Toutefois, même si une espèce figure sur la liste du COSEPAC, le gouvernement peut choisir de ne pas l'inscrire sur la liste en vertu de la LEP. Dans un tel cas, des mesures pour protéger l'espèce et accroître sa population sont prises sous le régime de mesures non visées par la LEP.

Jusqu'à ce jour, le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a examiné la santé de la population de plusieurs espèces de requins. Il a recommandé que le requin-taupe commun soit désigné comme espèce en voie de disparition, selon les renseignements sur les stocks résumés dans Campana et al. (2003). Pour mettre à jour et améliorer les renseignements disponibles sur le requin-taupe commun, une évaluation exhaustive des stocks a été effectuée en 2005 (Gibson et Campana 2005), concluant que les niveaux de population étaient faibles, mais qu'ils étaient demeurés relativement stables depuis la réduction des quotas de prises en 2002 (évaluation du stock 2005). Toutes les analyses indiquent que le rétablissement de la population est possible, mais que le taux de mortalité liée à l'activité humaine doit être maintenu à moins de 4 % environ de la biomasse vulnérable (environ 185 tonnes par année) ( rapport d'évaluation du rétablissement 2005). Puisque le MPO est déterminé à rétablir la population, la gestion actuelle et future de cette espèce veillera à ce que le taux de mortalité soit maintenu à un niveau inférieur au 4 % requis pour le rétablissement. Ainsi, le gouvernement a décidé que le requin-taupe commun ne sera pas inscrit sur la liste des espèces en voie de disparition en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). La plus récente évaluation du stock indique que le rétablissement de la population a déjà commencé ( évaluation du stock 2010) (évaluation du stock 2012).

Le COSEPAC a également recommandé que le grand requin blanc soit inscrit comme espèce en voie de disparition, le requin-taupe bleu, comme espèce menacée et le requin bleu, comme espèce préoccupante. Les évaluations du potentiel de rétablissement effectuées en 2006 sont disponibles pour le requin-taupe bleu (en anglais seulement) et le  requin blanc (en anglais seulement). En 2011, le gouvernement fédéral a inscrit le requin blanc comme une espèce en voie de disparition en vertu de la LEP. Le COSEPAC a également examiné l'état de l'aiguillat commun et du requin-pèlerin, et il les a désignés comme des espèces préoccupantes. Des rapports préliminaires sur l'état du  requin-pèlerin (en anglais seulement) et de  l'aiguillat commun (en anglais seulement) sont actuellement disponibles.

La Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d'extinction (CITES) est un organisme international qui tente de protéger les espèces en voie de disparition au moyen de règlements commerciaux, tels que des restrictions sur l'importation et l'exportation. Une décision d'inscription à l'annexe II entraînerait la mise en place de restrictions commerciales, à moins qu'il ne soit démontré que la population a été gérée de façon durable. À l'heure actuelle, deux espèces de requins que l'on trouve dans les eaux canadiennes sont inscrites sur la liste de l'annexe II de la CITES : le grand requin blanc et le requin-pèlerin. En mai 2007 et de nouveau en mars 2010, l'inscription de deux autres espèces a été proposée à l'annexe II - le requin-taupe commun et l'aiguillat commun - mais elle n'a pas été acceptée.

La neuvième Conférence des Parties de la Convention sur la conservation des espèces migratrices appartenant à la faune sauvage des Nations Unies a donné lieu à l'inscription du requin-taupe commun, du requin bleu (à nageoires courtes et longues) et des populations nordiques de l'aiguillat commun à l'annexe II en décembre 2008. L'annexe II comprend la liste des espèces dont l'état de conservation est défavorable et qui pourraient bénéficier d'une coopération internationale. L'inscription découle en grande partie de la surpêche extrême des trois espèces dans les eaux européennes. Même si une inscription en vertu de la Convention sur la conservation des espèces migratrices appartenant à la faune sauvage n'a pas force exécutoire, elle sert souvent de fondement à des traités juridiquement contraignants.

Le groupe d'experts des requins de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (IUCN) fournit des renseignements et des conseils aux gouvernements et aux organismes non gouvernementaux associés à la conservation des espèces et populations de requins menacées. Le groupe a publié son rapport sur la situation mondiale des requins pélagiques et des raies dans les eaux océaniques en 2009. L'accès en ligne à la Liste rouge de l'IUCN est maintenant disponible.