Program overview, objectives and expected results

Overview

The protection of species at risk in Canada depends upon a meaningful collaboration with IndigenousFootnote 1 Peoples and organizations. The Aboriginal Fund for Species at Risk (AFSAR), established in 2004, supports the development of Indigenous capacity to participate actively in the implementation of the Species at Risk Act (SARA). The Act recognizes the important role that Indigenous Peoples play in wildlife conservation and the need to consider Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge (ATK) in the assessment of which species may be at risk, as well as in the development and implementation of relevant protection and recovery measures.

Along with the Habitat Stewardship Program (HSP) for Species at Risk and the Interdepartmental Recovery Fund (IRF), the AFSAR is one of three main federal funding programs that focus on the protection and recovery of species at risk. It allocates approximately $4.5 million a year to Indigenous-led projects that address SARA Schedule 1 listed species with a status of Endangered, Threatened or of Special Concern, as well unlisted species that have received a corresponding assessment from the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC).

Funding is delivered through two distinct platforms:

  1. AFSAR terrestrial programming focuses on terrestrial and migratory bird species at risk, and is delivered by Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC);
  2. AFSAR aquatic programming focuses on aquatic species at risk and is delivered by Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO).

To guide the effective use of limited resources, national and regional planning partners establish annual priorities that inform the development of regionally specific project proposals. Activities that respond to these priorities are reviewed and recommended for funding in the following regions: Pacific and Yukon (PYR), Prairies and North (PNR), Ontario (ON), Quebec (QC), Gulf (GLF), Maritimes (MAR), and Newfoundland and Labrador (NFLD).

Objectives

Promoting the conservation and recovery of species at risk and their habitats is central to the AFSAR program’s objectives. Between its inception in 2004 and the end of March 2017, the AFSAR has contributed approximately $40 million to more than 900 Indigenous-led projects, leveraging nearly $30 million in matching contributions from project partners and yielding a total investment of almost $70 million in the conservation and recovery of species at risk.

The AFSAR program also seeks to support Indigenous organizations and communities across Canada as they continue developing the capacity to lead in the stewardship of species at risk. This can include program related investments in: training and professional/skills development; local employment through project activities; the acquisition of appropriate technical resources, equipment and capital assets; community outreach and education, and; community-led documentation and management of Indigenous KnowledgeFootnote 2 (IK).

Expected Results

To support its overarching objectives, the AFSAR aquatic program expects the projects and activities it supports to achieve the following results:

Date modified:

Aperçu, objectifs et résultats escomptés du programme

Aperçu

La protection des espèces en péril au Canada dépend d’une collaboration concrète avec les peuples et les organisations autochtonesNote de bas de page 1. Créé en 2004, le Fonds autochtone pour les espèces en péril (FAEP) appuie le renforcement de la capacité des Autochtones à participer de façon active à la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). La Loi reconnaît l’importance du rôle que jouent les peuples autochtones dans la conservation de la faune et la nécessité de prendre en compte les connaissances traditionnelles des peuples autochtones dans l’évaluation des espèces susceptibles d’être en péril, de même que dans l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre des mesures de protection et de rétablissement pertinentes.

Avec le Programme d’intendance de l’habitat (PIH) des espèces en péril et le Fonds interministériel pour le rétablissement (FIR), le FAEP est l’un des trois principaux programmes de financement fédéraux consacrés à la protection et au rétablissement des espèces en péril. Il alloue environ 4,5 millions de dollars par an à des projets autochtones visant des espèces figurant à l’annexe 1 de la LEP à titre d’espèces en voie de disparition, menacées ou préoccupantes, ainsi qu’à celles qui ne sont pas inscrites, mais qui ont reçu une évaluation de situation correspondante de la part du Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC).

Le financement est accordé par deux plateformes distinctes :

  1. Le volet terrestre du FAEP porte sur les espèces terrestres et d’oiseaux migrateurs en péril et est exécuté par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC);
  2. Le volet aquatique du FAEP porte sur les espèces aquatiques en péril et est exécuté par Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO).

Afin d’orienter l’utilisation efficace des ressources limitées, les partenaires de la planification nationale et régionale définissent les priorités annuelles sur lesquelles repose l’élaboration des propositions de projets propres à chaque région. Les activités visant ces priorités sont examinées et recommandées aux fins de financement dans les régions suivantes : Pacifique et Yukon (PYR), Prairies et Nord (PRN), Ontario (ON), Québec (QC), Golfe (GLF), Maritimes (MAR) et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (T.-N.-L.).

Objectifs

La promotion de la conservation et du rétablissement des espèces en péril et de leurs habitats sont au cœur des objectifs du programme du FAEP. Entre son lancement en 2004 et la fin du mois de mars 2017, le FAEP a versé environ 40 millions de dollars à plus de 900 projets dirigés par des groupes autochtones, mettant à profit près de 30 millions de dollars en contributions de contrepartie auprès des partenaires des projets et produisant un investissement total de presque 70 millions de dollars dans la conservation et le rétablissement des espèces en péril.

Le programme du FAEP vise aussi à soutenir des organisations et communautés autochtones dans tout le pays en les aidant à continuer de renforcer leurs capacités à diriger l’intendance des espèces en péril. Ce terme général peut englober des investissements liés au programme dans des domaines tels que : la formation et le perfectionnement professionnel/des compétences; l’emploi local dans le cadre d’activités du projet; l’acquisition des ressources techniques, de l’équipement et des immobilisations requis; l’éducation et la sensibilisation de la communauté; la documentation et la gestion par les communautés du savoir autochtone Note de bas de page 2.

Résultats escomptés

À l’appui de ses objectifs généraux, le volet aquatique du FAEP attend des projets et activités qu’il soutient qu’ils produisent les résultats suivants :

Date de modification :