Codes of conduct: Shark encounters

Table of contents

Background

Shark populations are generally vulnerable to the threat of fishing induced mortality, including incidental capture and entanglement. Life history characteristics such as longevity, late age-at-maturity and low fecundity make it difficult for shark populations to recover in abundance after depletion. Of the fourteen species of sharks that utilize Canadian Pacific waters, three are listed under the Canadian Species at Risk Act. The Basking Shark (Cetorhinus maximus) is listed as “Endangered”, and the Bluntnose Sixgill Shark (Hexanchus griseus) and Tope Shark (Galeorhinus galeus) (Figure 1) are listed as species of “Special Concern”. Note that Species at Risk Act prohibitions only apply to species listed as extirpated, endangered or threatened; thus, they do not apply to species of special concern. The primary threats to these shark species have been identified as bycatch and entanglement. The other eleven Canadian Pacific shark species are also vulnerable to these threats. In order to address the conservation concerns with shark species within Canadian Pacific waters, it is important that measures are taken to reduce the mortality of sharks resulting from bycatch and entanglement in Canadian waters.

Currently, there is no directed commercial fishery for shark species other than the North Pacific Spiny Dogfish (Squalus suckleyi) in Canadian Pacific waters, and only North Pacific Spiny Dogfish and Salmon Shark (Lamna ditropis) are permitted to be retained in the recreational fishery. Commercial fisheries are no longer permitted to retain Species at Risk Act listed shark species − all bycatch for these species is to be released at sea with the least possible harm. Catch limits for the recreational fishery have been reduced to “no fishing” for all species listed under the Species at Risk Act, and “zero retention” (catch and release) for all other shark species except Salmon Shark and North Pacific Spiny Dogfish Footnote 1.

This Code of Conduct for Shark Encounters has been developed to reduce the mortality of Canadian Pacific shark species, such as Bluntnose Sixgill and Tope Shark Footnote 2, as well as all other species resulting from entanglement and bycatch in commercial, aquaculture and recreational fisheries. However, it does not apply to Basking Shark, for which a separate Code of Conduct has been developed. Although the handling guidelines may be useful for fishers wishing to release Salmon Shark and North Pacific Spiny Dogfish, the Code of Conduct does not apply to the directed fisheries for those species.

Diagrams of a Bluntnose Sixgill Shark and Tope Shark

Figure 1.

Diagram of a (A) Bluntnose Sixgill Shark (Hexanchus griseus) and (B) Tope Shark (Galeorhinus galeus). Total length is measured as a straight-line distance from the tip of the snout to the tip of the upper lobe of the caudal (tail) fin. Maximum total lengths for each species are indicated. Illustration by Jennifer Stone.

Diagram of the ventral side of a shark

Figure 2.

Diagram of the ventral side of a shark, showing the location of the paired claspers (reproductive organs) in male sharks.

Codes of Conduct

All aquaculture operators, recreational fishers, and commercial fishers that unintentionally encounter Bluntnose Sixgill Shark, Tope Shark, or any other shark species (with the exception of North Pacific Spiny Dogfish, Salmon Shark and Basking Shark) are encouraged to follow the steps listed below to reduce mortality or harm and increase the chances of survival of captured sharks.

Document and report all encounters.

  • 1) Document - Document as many details of the encounter as possible.
    • Photograph the shark, where possible without negatively impacting the shark. Good quality photographs of dorsal fins can be used for species identification and identification of individual sharks.
    • If you are on a commercial vessel and there are Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) staff or an observer onboard, inform them immediately of the interaction. They will assess whether biological samples can be safely taken and may attempt to take biological samples from the shark.
  • 2) Report - Report all Bluntnose Sixgill, Tope Shark, or other shark encounters with the following details:
    • Photograph(s) or video of the shark, including the dorsal fin;
    • Date of the encounter and time of day;
    • Location (as specific as possible, e.g. positional GPS data);
    • Estimates of the total length and sex (males have claspers, see Figure 2) of the shark(s);
    • Any distinguishing features (e.g. colour, scars), behaviours, visible wounds, and the swimming ability of the shark post-release (see below for more details); and
    • Your name and contact information (voluntary).
  • Commercial fishers: Report all shark encounters in your fishing logbook by species as per the commercial fishing conditions of license. Report the above-listed details in your logbook, where possible, for all sharks other than North Pacific Spiny Dogfish.
  • Recreational fishers and aquaculture operators: Report all shark encounters (other than North Pacific Spiny Dogfish) to the local Fisheries Officer or e-mail your report to sharks@dfo-mpo.gc.ca with “shark encounter” in the subject heading. Please refer to above background section for catch restrictions and limits in recreational fisheries.

Important Notes

Limit Encounters

  • Avoid unintentional interactions with sharks by conducting fishing operations in areas and at times that minimize the chances of bycatch (e.g. avoid fishing in areas known to have high instances of shark interactions).
  • Do not dispose of offal or bait in locations where gear is to be deployed.
  • Suspend any fishing operation if there is a suspected (or confirmed) capture of a shark in order to minimize the duration of the interaction and allow for the safe release of the animal.

Be Prepared

  • Familiarize yourself and your crew with species of sharks in British Columbia waters.
  • Ensure that appropriate gear is readily on hand to aid in de-hooking or disentangling captured sharks (e.g. needle-nosed pliers, wire cutters, bolt cutters; see Appendix 1).

Assess the Situation

  • Remain calm. Safety comes first. Under NO circumstances should you enter the water. Do not attempt to bring a shark onboard if doing so pose danger to you, the crew or the shark. Use common sense and caution. Stay clear of the shark’s mouth and strong caudal (tail) fin.

Take Action

  • Time is a vital factor. Minimizing capture and handling times will decrease the chances of injury to the shark, and increase the likelihood of post-release survival (e.g. limit air exposure to 3-5 minutes if the shark is completely removed from the water; any longer and the gills may become damaged).
  • For all encounters, record any visible wounds and the shark’s swimming ability post-release (e.g. active with a strong caudal (tail) fin thrust, slow glide with some fin movement, no fin movement and shark inverted).

1) Handling Guidelines for Recreational Fishers

Please refer to the BC Tidal Waters Sport Fishing Guide for catch restrictions and limits in recreational fisheries. In the event of an accidental capture, proper handling and release procedures for sharks caught by recreational fishing gear vary with life state.

Assess the life state (alive/dead) and condition of the shark (good/poor) and proceed accordingly:

  1. Alive in good condition (e.g. active swimming, minimal wounds)
    1. Treat the shark as gently as possible. All sharks are highly susceptible to injury.
      1. Use your line or a dip net to manoeuvre the shark alongside the boat.
      2. Avoid the use of restraining devices such as straps, tail ropes, or gaffs.
      3. Do NOT hold the shark by its gills. This may cause serious injury.
    2. Evaluate whether the hook can be successfully removed with the shark in the water. Keeping the shark in the water will minimize stress to the shark.
    3. Attempt to remove the hook.
      1. If the shark has been hooked through the mouth with a barbed hook and the hook is visible and easily reached, invert and pull on the bend of the hook with a gaff while pulling on the fishing line simultaneously. This action should safely dislodge the shark.
      2. Alternatively, attempt to cut the hook below the barb with bolt cutters, so that the hook will slide out with minimal damage to the shark.
      3. If the shark has swallowed the hook or has been “foul hooked” (i.e. hooked any place but the jaw), do not try to retrieve the hook. Cut the leader as close to the shark as possible.
    4. If the hook cannot be successfully removed with the shark in the water, bring the shark onboard (this may not be possible with a large shark).
      1. Use a dip net for smaller sharks.
      2. If the shark is larger, make an attempt to support the shark’s weight by at least two points when lifting from the water (one point of contact being the line, and the other being a hand under the abdomen, posterior end of the body, or caudal fin).
      3. Lifting using only the line or tail can cause further injury to the shark.
      4. Bring the shark up and onto the boat in as horizontal a position as possible.
      5. Follow hook removal procedures in step C noted above.
      6. Lower the shark back into the water.
      7. Maintain two-point contact until release.
  2. Alive in poor condition (e.g. sluggish, visibly wounded)
    1. The shark should be detached from the gear without being brought on board, if possible. Keeping the shark in the water will decrease the likelihood of further injury and stress to the shark.
    2. Evaluate whether the hook is visible and can be removed. Holding the shark carefully at the surface, use pliers, bolt cutters or a long handled knife to twist the hook out or cut the hook or leader as close to the mouth as possible without further injuring the shark.
  3. Dead
    1. Dead Bluntnose Sixgill and Tope Sharks cannot be retained by recreational fishers, and should be disposed of as with other shark species not listed under the Species at Risk Act.
    2. Contact the local Fisheries Officer or e-mail your report to sharks@dfo-mpo.gc.ca with “shark encounter” in the subject heading.

2) Handling Guidelines for Commercial Fishers and Aquaculture Operators

The procedures to be followed for the proper handling and release of sharks caught in commercial fishing gear vary with gear type (e.g. hook-and-line, line, trawl net, gillnet, seine net, or aquaculture net).

  • For all captures, the life state (alive versus dead) and condition (good versus poor) of the shark should be assessed first.
  • If assessed as alive, the shark should be handled and returned to the water as gently and efficiently as possible, as all sharks are highly susceptible to injury.
  • Detailed handling and release procedures for live sharks for each gear type are described below.
  • Dead Bluntnose Sixgill Shark and Tope Shark cannot be retained by commercial fishers, and should be disposed of as with other shark species not listed under the Species at Risk Act. If an on-board observer has taken samples, please contact the local Fisheries Officer or e-mail your report to sharks@dfo-mpo.gc.ca with “shark for sampling” in the subject heading.

1. Hook-and-line caught

Alive in good condition (e.g. active swimming, minimal wounds)
  1. Use the line and leader to maneuver the shark alongside the boat.
    • Assess whether the hook can be successfully removed with the shark in the water. Keeping the shark in the water will minimize further stress and injury to the shark.
    • Avoid the use of restraining devices such as straps, tail ropes, or gaffs.
    • Do NOT hold the shark by its gills. This may cause serious injury.
  2. Attempt to remove the hook.
    • If the shark has been hooked through the mouth with a barbed hook and the hook is visible and easily reached, it can safely be dislodged by engaging the bend of the hook with a gaff, and inverting the hook with a simultaneous pull on the gaff and fishing line.
    • Alternatively, attempt to cut the hook below the barb with bolt cutters, so that the hook will slide out with minimal damage to the shark.
    • If the shark has swallowed the hook or has been “foul hooked” (i.e. hooked any place but the jaw), do not try to retrieve the hook. Cut the leader as close to the shark as possible.
Alive in poor condition (e.g. sluggish, visibly wounded)
  1. Keep the shark in the water and attempt to remove the hook (using the procedure described above).
  2. If the shark must be lifted onboard to successfully remove the hook or cut the leader, and the shark is small enough to be lifted onboard, do so carefully.
    • Do not lift the shark in the air by the line, as this will further tear the shark’s flesh and might result in fatal injuries.
    • Make an attempt to support the shark’s weight by at least two points when lifting from the water (one point of contact being the line, and the other being a hand under the abdomen, posterior end of the body, or caudal fin).
    • Lifting using only the line or tail can cause further injury to the shark. Bring the shark up and on the boat in as horizontal a position as possible. Lower the shark back into the water.
    • Maintain two-point contact until release.

2. Entangled in a crab pot or other line (e.g. long-, trap- or troll- line)

  1. For sharks in good or poor condition, maneuver your boat as close to the shark as possible without causing further injury or entanglement.
    • Turn off your engine (if possible) or switch the engine into neutral.
  2. Grapple the anchor line and bring the shark as close to the side of the boat as possible.
  3. Pull the line to restrict the shark’s movements, without further injuring the shark. Hold the shark firmly against the side of the boat. §
    • Avoid the use of restraining devices such as straps, tail ropes, gaffs etc.
    • Do NOT hold the shark by its gills. This may cause serious injury.
  4. Try to unwind the line without cutting it.
    • If you cannot untangle the line from the shark without cutting it, use a gaff to pull the line away from the shark before cutting the line free.
    • Before cutting the anchor line, make sure there is no other gear attached to the shark.
    • Note any visible wounds from the line, and the shark’s swimming ability post-release (e.g. active with a strong tail thrust, slow glide with some fin movement, no fin movement and shark inverted).

3. Net-caught

Disentangling a shark in good or poor from a net requires extreme caution. Proceed with safety of yourself and any crew as the main priority.

Trawl net
  1. Once onboard, do NOT attempt to move the shark by the caudal (tail) fin as this can result in injury to the shark’s vertebrae.
  2. Avoid the use of potentially harmful gear such as gaffs or tail ropes when moving the shark.
    • If the shark is small, make an attempt to support its weight by at least two points (i.e. one point of contact being the midsection, and the other being the posterior end of the body, or caudal fin).
    • If the shark is large, place it on a tarp to move it.
  3. Attempt to free the shark. This will be much easier with long bolt cutters onboard.
    • Use a gaff to pull the net as far as possible from the points of contact with the shark, carefully cutting the net using the bolt cutters.
    • It will likely take many cuts before the shark will be free of the net.
  4. When freed of the net, release the shark down the stern ramp, maintaining the two-point contact or pulling to the ramp on the tarp.
Gillnet, seine, or aquaculture net
  1. Maneuver your boat as close to the shark as possible without causing further injury or entanglement. Turn off your engine (if possible) or switch it into neutral.
  2. Attempt to free the shark. This will be much easier with long bolt cutters onboard.
    • Use a gaff to pull the net as far as possible from the points of contact with the shark, carefully cutting the net using the bolt cutters.
    • It will likely take many cuts before the shark will be able to swim free.

Disclaimer

Although every effort has been made to prepare these instructions in a manner that takes into account the safety of the fish harvesters, the circumstances surrounding any disentanglement or de-hooking operation are variable. Thus, harvesters are encouraged to vary these instructions so as to take into account the factors present during any disentanglement or de-hooking operation, including (but not limited to) weather conditions, sea conditions, and the size of the vessel. The Government of Canada, the federal Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, and/or any of their employees shall not be liable for any loss or damages suffered as a result of any reliance upon the information contained this document.

Codes de conduites : rencontres avec les requins

Table des matières

Renseignements généraux

En règle générale, les populations de requins sont vulnérables à la pêche, notamment à la pêche accidentelle et à l'enchevêtrement dans les engins de pêche, qui sont des causes de mortalité. Les caractéristiques de leur cycle biologique, telles que leur longévité, leur maturité tardive et leur faible fécondité, font obstacle au rétablissement de l'abondance des populations de requins après leur déclin. Parmi les quatorze espèces de requins qui fréquentent les eaux canadiennes du Pacifique, trois sont inscrites à la liste de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Le pèlerin ( Cetorhinus maximus) est inscrit comme « espèce en voie de disparition » tandis que le requin griset (Hexanchus griseus) et le milandre (Galeorhinus galeus figure 1) sont inscrits comme « espèces préoccupantes ». Il convient de noter que les interdictions en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril s'appliquent aux espèces disparues, en voie de disparition et menacées, mais pas aux espèces préoccupantes. La pêche accidentelle et l'enchevêtrement dans les engins de pêche seraient les principales menaces qui pèsent sur ces espèces de requins. Les onze autres espèces de requins du Pacifique canadien sont également vulnérables à cette menace. Afin de veiller à la conservation des espèces de requins dans les eaux canadiennes du Pacifique, il est important d'adopter des mesures visant à réduire la mortalité des requins liée à la pêche accidentelle et à l'enchevêtrement.

À l'heure actuelle, la pêche commerciale dirigée des espèces de requins ne vise que l'aiguillat commun du Pacifique Nord (Squalus suckleyi) dans les eaux canadiennes du Pacifique. Pour ce qui est de la pêche récréative, on ne peut conserver que les prises d'aiguillat commun du Pacifique Nord et de taupe du Pacifique (Lamna ditropis). Dans le cadre de la pêche commerciale, il n'est plus possible de conserver des espèces de requins inscrites sur la liste de la Loi sur les espèces en péril; on doit remettre à l'eau les prises accidentelles de ces espèces en les blessant le moins possible. Dans le cas de la pêche récréative, on est passé d'une limite de prises à une interdiction de pêche pour toutes les espèces inscrites en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril et l'on ne peut plus conserver aucune prise de toutes les autres espèces de requin (il faut les remettre à l'eau) à l'exception des taupes du Pacifique et de l'aiguillat commun du Pacifique Nord Footnote 1.

Le présent Code de conduite en cas de rencontre avec des requins a été élaboré dans le but de réduire la mortalité des espèces de requins (p. ex., le requin griset et la taupe du Pacifique Footnote 2), ou de toute autre espèce, causée par l'enchevêtrement et les prises accidentelles dans le cadre de la pêche commerciale et récréative ou l'aquaculture. Cependant, le présent code ne s'applique pas au pèlerin, pour lequel on a élaboré un autre code de conduite. Bien que les lignes directrices sur la manipulation puissent être utiles pour les pêcheurs souhaitant remettre à l'eau les taupes du Pacifique ou l'aiguillat commun du Pacifique Nord, le présent Code de conduite ne s'applique pas à la pêche dirigée pour ces espèces.

Illustration d'un requin griset et d'une taupe du Pacifique

Figure 1.

Illustration d'un (A) requin griset (Hexanchus griseus) et d'une (B) taupe du Pacifique (Galeorhinus galeus). On mesure la longueur totale en ligne droite du bout du museau au bout du lobe supérieur de la nageoire caudale (queue). Les longueurs totales maximales sont indiquées. Illustration par Jennifer Stone.

Illustration d'un ventre de requin

Figure 2.

Illustration d'un ventre de requin et de la paire de ptérygopodes (organes reproducteurs) que présente le requin mâle.

Codes de conduite

Tous les exploitants aquacoles ainsi que les pêcheurs commerciaux et récréatifs qui rencontrent involontairement un requin griset, un milandre, ou toute autre espèce de requin (à l'exception de l'aiguillat commun du Pacifique Nord, de la taupe du Pacifique et du pèlerin) sont invités à procéder comme suit pour réduire la mortalité ou le risque de blessures et augmenter les chances de survie des requins capturés.

Veuillez consigner et signaler toutes les rencontres.

  • 1) Consignez - Consignez tous les détails de la rencontre.
    • Photographiez le requin, dans la mesure du possible, sans le déranger. Des photos de bonne qualité des nageoires dorsales peuvent aider à identifier l'espèce et des individus concrets.
    • Si l'on se trouve à bord d'un navire commercial où du personnel ou des observateurs de Pêches et Océans Canada sont présents, on doit les informer de la rencontre. Ils décideront si des échantillons biologiques peuvent être prélevés dans de bonnes conditions et ils pourraient essayer de le faire.
  • 2) Signalez - Signalez toutes les rencontres avec des requins grisets, des milandres ou toute autre espèce de requin en fournissant les éléments suivants :
    • Photographie(s) ou vidéo du requin, y compris de la nageoire dorsale;
    • Date de la rencontre et moment de la journée;
    • Lieu (avec le plus de précision possible, p.ex., données de position GPS);
    • Estimation de la longueur totale et détermination du sexe du requin (les mâles sont pourvus de ptérygopodes, voir figure 2).
    • Caractéristiques distinctives (p. ex., couleurs, cicatrices), comportements, blessures visibles et capacité natatoire du requin après sa remise à l'eau (plus de précisions ci-dessous);
    • Votre nom et vos coordonnées (volontaire)
  • Pêcheurs commerciaux : Toutes les rencontres avec des requins doivent être signalées dans le registre de pêche, par espèce, conformément aux conditions de permis de pêche commerciale. Les renseignements susmentionnés doivent être consignés dans le registre, dans la mesure du possible, pour toutes les espèces de requins à l'exception de l'aiguillat commun du Pacifique Nord.
  • Pêcheurs récréatifs et exploitants aquacoles: Toutes les rencontres avec des requins (autres que l'aiguillat commun du Pacifique Nord) doivent être signalées à l'agent des pêches local ou communiquées par un courriel ayant « rencontre avec requin » pour objet à l'adresse sharks@dfo-mpo.gc.ca. Se reporter à la section « Renseignements généraux » ci-dessus pour les restrictions et les limites en matière de prises de la pêche récréative.

Remarques importantes

Limiter les rencontres

  • Évitez les interactions involontaires avec des requins en pratiquant les activités de pêche dans des zones et à des moments où les risques de pêche accidentelle sont plus faibles (p. ex., évitez de pêcher dans des zones où les rencontres avec des requins sont fréquentes).
  • Ne jetez pas des déchets ni d'appâts dans les lieux où vous comptez déployer les engins.
  • Suspendez les activités de pêche en cas de capture soupçonnée (ou confirmée) de requin afin de réduire au minimum la durée de l'interaction et de permettre sa remise à l'eau dans de bonnes conditions.

Soyez prêt

  • Les membres de l'équipage doivent se familiariser avec les espèces de requins des eaux de la Colombie-Britannique.
  • Veillez à ce que le matériel nécessaire pour retirer les hameçons ou libérer les requins capturés (pinces demi-rondes, coupe-fils, pinces coupantes; voir annexe 1) soit à portée de main.

Évaluez la situation

  • Restez calme. La sécurité doit primer. Il ne faut en AUCUN cas entrer dans l'eau. N'essayez pas de hisser le requin à bord si cela représente un danger pour vous, l'équipage ou le requin. Faites preuve de bon sens et de prudence. Tenez-vous loin de la gueule du requin et de sa puissante nageoire caudale (queue).

Agissez

  • Le facteur temps est primordial. En réduisant au minimum le temps de capture et de manipulation, les risques de blessure pour les requins diminueront tandis que leurs chances de survie après leur remise à l'eau augmenteront (il faut limiter l'exposition à l'air à entre 3 et 5 minutes si le requin est sorti complètement de l'eau; une exposition plus longue pourrait endommager les branchies).
  • Pour toutes les rencontres, il faut consigner toute blessure visible et la capacité natatoire du requin après sa remise à l'eau (p. ex., requin actif et poussée puissante de la nageoire caudale [queue], lenteur dans le mouvement des nageoires, aucun mouvement des nageoires et requin retourné).

1) Lignes directrices sur la manipulation à l'intention des pêcheurs récréatifs

Se reporter au Guide de la pêche sportive dans les eaux à marées de la Colombie-Britannique pour les restrictions et les limites en matière de prises de la pêche récréative. En cas de pêche accidentelle, les procédures de manipulation et de remise à l'eau des requins pris dans les engins de pêche récréative varient en fonction de l'état du requin.

Il faut déterminer si le requin est mort ou vivant, évaluer son état de santé (bon/mauvais) et agir en conséquence

  1. Requin vivant et en bon état (capacité natatoire normale, blessures minimes)
    1. Manipulez le requin avec soin. Les requins sont très vulnérables aux blessures.
      1. Utilisez votre ligne ou votre épuisette pour manoeuvrer le requin le long du bateau.
      2. Évitez d'utiliser des dispositifs de retenue tels que des courroies, des cordes et des gaffes.
      3. Ne saisissez pas le requin par les branchies. Cela pourrait lui causer des blessures graves.
    2. Évaluez si l'on peut retirer l'hameçon du requin sans le sortir de l'eau. En gardant le requin dans l'eau, on réduit au minimum le stress qu'il ressent.
    3. Tentez de retirer l'hameçon.
      1. Si l'hameçon à ardillon s'accroche à la gueule et est visible et facile à atteindre, retournez-le et tirez simultanément de la courbure de l'hameçon au moyen d'une gaffe et de la ligne de pêche. Cela devrait permettre de libérer le requin sans danger.
      2. Vous pouvez aussi couper l'hameçon à la base de l'ardillon avec des pinces coupantes pour retirer l'hameçon sans provoquer de blessure importante.
      3. Si le requin a avalé l'hameçon ou qu'il a été « casaqué » (c.-à-d., piqué ailleurs qu'à la mâchoire), n'essayez pas de retirer l'hameçon. Coupez l'avançon aussi près du requin que possible.
    4. S'il n'est pas possible de retirer l'hameçon sans sortir le requin de l'eau, hissez-le à bord (ce qui n'est peut-être pas possible si le requin est trop grand).
      1. Utilisez une épuisette pour les requins plus petits.
      2. Si le requin est plus grand, essayez de le hisser hors de l'eau en le soulevant à deux endroits, à l'aide de la ligne et d'une main passée sous l'abdomen, l'extrémité postérieure du corps ou la nageoire caudale.
      3. Si vous hissez le requin en tirant uniquement par la ligne ou la queue, vous pouvez lui causer des blessures.
      4. Hissez l'animal à bord du bateau en le maintenant dans une position horizontale.
      5. Suivez la procédure de retrait de l'hameçon décrite ci-dessus à l'étape C.
      6. Remettez le requin à l'eau.
      7. Descendez-le en le soutenant à deux endroits jusqu'à sa libération.
  2. Requin vivant, mais en mauvais état (p. ex., léthargique, visiblement blessé)
    1. Dans la mesure du possible, il faut dégager le requin de l'engin sans le hisser à bord. En gardant le requin dans l'eau, on réduit les risques de blessure et de stress.
    2. Évaluez si l'hameçon est visible et peut être retiré. Tout en le maintenant soigneusement à la surface, servez-vous de pinces, de pinces coupantes ou d'un couteau à manche long pour retirer l'hameçon en le tournant ou pour sectionner l'avançon le plus près possible de la gueule du requin sans le blesser l'animal.
  3. Mort
    1. Les pêcheurs récréatifs n'ont pas le droit de conserver des requins grisets et des milandres, dont il faut donc se débarrasser comme des autres espèces de requins non inscrites en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril.
    2. Veuillez communiquer avec l'agent des pêches local ou envoyer un courriel ayant « rencontre avec requin » pour objet à l'adresse sharks@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

2) Lignes directrices sur la manipulation à l'intention des pêcheurs commerciaux et des exploitants aquacoles

Les procédures de manipulation et de remise à l'eau de requins pris dans les engins de pêche commerciale varient en fonction du type d'engin (p. ex., lignes à hameçons, ligne, chalut de fond, filet maillant, senne ou filet d'aquaculture).

  • En cas de prise, il faut toujours déterminer si le requin est mort ou vivant, et évaluer son état de santé (bon ou mauvais).
  • S'il est vivant, il faut le manipuler et le remettre à l'eau avec soin, car les requins peuvent se blesser facilement.
  • Les procédures de manipulation et de remise à l'eau pour les requins vivants et les différents types d'engin sont décrites en détail ci-dessous.
  • Les pêcheurs commerciaux n'ont pas le droit de conserver les requins grisets et les milandres et doivent s'en débarrasser, comme ils le font avec les autres espèces de requins non inscrites en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Si un observateur à bord a prélevé des échantillons, veuillez communiquer avec l'agent des pêches local ou envoyer un courriel ayant « rencontre avec requin » pour objet à l'adresse sharks@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

1. Pêche à la ligne

Requin vivant et en bon état (capacité natatoire normale, blessures minimes)
  1. Utilisez la ligne et l'avançon pour manoeuvrer le requin le long du bateau.
    • Évaluez si l'on peut retirer l'hameçon du requin sans le sortir de l'eau. En gardant le requin dans l'eau, on réduit les risques de blessures et de stress.
    • Évitez d'utiliser des dispositifs de retenue tels que des courroies, des cordes et des gaffes.
    • Ne saisissez pas le requin par les branchies. Cela pourrait lui causer des blessures graves.
  2. Tentez de retirer l'hameçon.
    • Si l'hameçon à ardillon s'accroche à la gueule et qu'il est visible et facile à atteindre, on peut le dégager sans danger : il suffit de glisser la courbure de l'hameçon à l'aide d'une gaffe et de le retourner en tirant simultanément sur la gaffe et sur la ligne de pêche.
    • Vous pouvez aussi couper l'hameçon à la base de l'ardillon avec des pinces coupantes pour retirer l'hameçon sans provoquer de blessure importante.
    • Si le requin a avalé l'hameçon ou qu'il a été « casaqué » (c.-à-d., piqué ailleurs qu'à la mâchoire), n'essayez pas de retirer l'hameçon. Coupez l'avançon aussi près du requin que possible.
Requin vivant, mais en mauvais état (p. ex., léthargique, visiblement blessé)
  1. Essayez de retirer l'hameçon sans le sortir de l'eau (à l'aide de la procédure décrite ci-dessus).
  2. S'il faut hisser le requin à bord pour retirer l'hameçon et couper l'avançon, et que le requin n'est pas trop grand, hissez-le soigneusement.
    • Ne le soulevez pas en l'air au moyen de la ligne, car vous pourriez déchirer la chair du requin et lui causer des blessures mortelles.
    • Essayez de le hisser hors de l'eau en le soulevant à deux endroits, à l'aide de la ligne et d'une main passée sous l'abdomen, l'extrémité postérieure du corps ou la nageoire caudale).
    • Si vous hissez le requin en tirant uniquement par la ligne ou la queue, vous pouvez lui causer des blessures. Hissez l'animal à bord du bateau en le maintenant dans une position horizontale. Remettez le requin à l'eau.
    • Descendez-le en le soutenant à deux endroits jusqu'à sa libération.

2. Requin pris dans une ligne de casier à crabe ou autre (p. ex., palangre, ligne de traîne)

  1. Pour tous les requins, en bon ou en mauvais état, rapprochez votre bateau du requin autant que possible sans provoquer de blessures ni d'enchevêtrement additionnels.
    • Éteignez le moteur (si possible) ou mettez-le au point mort.
  2. Saisissez la ligne d'ancre et rapprochez le requin le plus possible du côté du bateau.
  3. Tirez sur la ligne pour restreindre les mouvements du requin sans le blesser. Maintenez le requin fermement contre le côté de l'embarcation.
    • Évitez d'utiliser des dispositifs de retenue tels que des courroies, des cordes, des gaffes, etc.
    • Ne saisissez pas le requin par les branchies. Cela pourrait lui causer des blessures graves.
  4. Essayez de démêler la ligne sans la couper.
    • Si vous n'arrivez pas à le faire, utilisez une gaffe pour écarter la ligne du requin avant de la couper.
    • Avant de couper la ligne d'ancrage, assurez-vous qu'aucune autre ligne n'est attachée au requin.
    • Consigner toute blessure visible causée par la ligne et la capacité natatoire du requin après sa remise à l'eau (p. ex., requin actif et poussée puissante de la nageoire caudale [queue], lenteur dans le mouvement des nageoires, aucun mouvement des nageoires et requin retourné).

3. Requin pris dans des filets

Libérer un requin, blessé ou non, d'un filet demande une prudence extrême. Veillez à votre sécurité et à celle de l'équipage.

Chalut
  1. Une fois hissé à bord, ne saisissez pas le requin par la nageoire caudale (queue) pour le déplacer, car vous pouvez le blesser aux vertèbres.
  2. Évitez de vous servir d'outils potentiellement dangereux, comme des gaffes ou des cordes, lorsque vous déplacez le requin.
    • Si le requin est petit, essayez de le hisser hors de l'eau en le soulevant à deux endroits, la partie du milieu et l'extrémité postérieure du corps ou la nageoire caudale).
    • S'il s'agit d'un grand requin, placez-le sur bâche pour le déplacer.
  3. Tentez de libérer le requin. La tâche sera bien plus aisée si vous disposez à bord de longues pinces coupantes.
    • Utilisez une gaffe pour écarter le filet le plus possible du corps du requin et sectionnez le filet soigneusement à l'aide de pinces coupantes.
    • Il vous faudra probablement couper plusieurs fois pour libérer le requin du filet.
  4. Une fois libéré, descendez le requin le long de la rampe arrière, en le soutenant toujours à deux endroits ou en vous servant de la bâche.
Filet maillant, senne ou filet d'aquaculture
  1. Rapprochez votre bateau du requin autant que possible sans provoquer de blessures ni d'enchevêtrement additionnels. Éteignez le moteur (si possible) ou mettez-le au point mort.
  2. Tentez de libérer le requin. La tâche sera bien plus aisée si vous disposez à bord de longues pinces coupantes.
    • Utilisez une gaffe pour écarter le filet le plus possible du corps du requin et sectionnez soigneusement le filet à l'aide de pinces coupantes.
    • Il vous faudra probablement couper le filet plusieurs fois pour libérer le requin.

Avertissement

Dans la mesure du possible, ces instructions ont été préparées en tenant compte de la sécurité des pêcheurs. Toutefois, les circonstances qui entourent les opérations de libération des requins ou de retrait des hameçons varient. Par conséquent, les pêcheurs sont priés de modifier ces instructions au besoin pour tenir compte de ces facteurs, qui comprennent notamment les conditions météorologiques, l'état de la mer et la taille du navire. Ni le gouvernement du Canada, ni le ministre des Pêches et des Océans du Canada ni aucun de ses employés ne peuvent être tenus responsables des pertes ou des dommages subis découlant des renseignements contenus dans le présent document.