Code of conduct: Basking Shark encounters

Table of contents

Background

The Pacific population of Basking Shark (Cetorhinus maximus) is listed as “Endangered” under the Species at Risk Act. It is therefore prohibited to kill, harm, harass, capture, take, possess, collect, buy, sell or trade any individual or any part or derivative of a Basking Shark.

The Basking Shark can be recognized by its extremely large size (up to 12.2 m or 40 feet), long gill slits, large mouth and extremely small teeth (Figure 1). They are filter-feeders, feeding primarily on zooplankton. Basking Sharks occurring in Canadian Pacific waters are considered to be part of a single population which migrates into British Columbia in spring and summer, and winters off the coast of California. Historically, Basking Sharks occurred throughout British Columbia waters and were regularly present in large numbers in Clayoquot Sound, Barkley Sound and Rivers Inlet.

The primary threats identified for this species include entanglement in commercial fishing gear, collision with vessels, and harassment from marine based activities. To ensure compliance with the Species at Risk Act, commercial fishing licences have been amended to include a Condition of Licence for Species at Risk, which specifies measures that must be taken to mitigate the threats to Basking Shark.

The following Codes of Conduct for Basking Shark encounters have been developed in support of the Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy for Basking Sharks. Part 1 introduces recommended boating practices for recreational boaters, ecotourism operators, and commercial and recreational fishers, to reduce mortality and harm during visual encounters. Part 2 provides recommended handling practices to increase the chances of survival of Basking Sharks during incidental entanglements. Part 3 provides details for reporting encounters to the Basking Shark Sightings Network.

Diagram of a Basking Shark

Figure 1.

Diagram of a Basking Shark (Cetorhinus maximus), showing the main distinguishing features and the location of the claspers (in male sharks). Total length is measured as a straight-line distance from the tip of the snout to the tip of the upper lobe of the caudal (tail) fin. Maximum total length is approximately 12.2 meters (40 feet). Illustration by Jennifer Stone.

Diagram of the ventral side of a shark

Figure 2.

Diagram of the ventral side of a shark, showing the location of the paired claspers (reproductive organs) in male sharks.

Part 1: Boat handling procedures during visual encounters with Basking Sharks

Basking Sharks occur in inlets, bays, and other highly productive areas, where they can be seen at the surface feeding on plankton. When a Basking Shark, or a group of Basking Sharks, is sighted from a vessel, follow the steps outlined below to reduce the likelihood of harm to the shark(s) and marine users.

  1. Be cautious and courteous. Approach areas of known or suspected Basking Shark activity (i.e. inlets, bays, areas of high plankton abundance) with extreme caution. Look in all directions before planning your approach or departure.
  2. Slow down. Reduce your vessel speed to less than 5 knots when a Basking Shark is sighted and avoid abrupt course changes.
  3. Keep clear of the Basking Shark’s path. If sharks are approaching you, cautiously move out of the way.
  4. Do NOT approach a Basking Shark from the front or from behind. Always approach and depart a shark from the side, moving in a direction parallel to the direction of the sharks. If a Basking Shark is sighted, avoid positioning your vessel closer than 100 metres to the shark.
  5. If the Basking Shark approaches your vessel to within 10 m, or is spotted within 10 m of your vessel, switch the engine to neutral to avoid injuring the shark.
  6. Limit your viewing time to minimize the impact.
  7. Do NOT swim with, touch or feed Basking Sharks.
  8. Provide maximum distance (e.g. 100m) when setting or hauling gear. The conditions of license for commercial fisheries require that fishing gear is not hauled or set when a Basking Shark is within 10 m of the vessel, and/or is visible at the water’s surface. However, in general practice, it is recommended that much greater distance (e.g. 100 m) be provided to the sharks.
  9. Notify Fisheries and Oceans Canada of the encounter through the Basking Shark Sightings Network (see Part 3 below).

Part 2: Best practices for handling Basking Sharks during entanglement encounters

Important Notes

Use Extreme Caution

  • Disentangling a Basking Shark from fishing gear requires extreme caution given their extremely large size (12.2m/ 40 ft).

Be Prepared

  • Always have gear such as sharp knives, needle nosed pliers, wire cutters and bolt cutters onboard and at the ready to facilitate disentangling a Basking Shark.

Assess the Situation

  • Remain calm. Safety comes first. Under NO circumstances should you enter the water. Do not attempt to bring a Basking Shark onboard a vessel (unless it is unavoidable, as with trawl gear). Use common sense and extreme caution.

Take Action

  • Time is a vital factor. Minimizing capture and handling times will decrease the chances of injury, and increase the likelihood of post-release survival (i.e. limit air exposure to 3-5 minutes if the Basking Shark is completely removed from the water; any longer and the gills may become damaged).
  • For all entanglement encounters, document and report any visible wounds and the Basking Shark’s swimming ability post-release (e.g. active with a strong tail thrust, slow glide with some fin movement, no fin movement and shark inverted).

In the event of an incidental entanglement, every effort should be made to release a live Basking Shark with minimal injury and minimal gear remaining in or on the shark, while ensuring crew safety. The following steps will aid in preventing injury to the Basking Shark and to marine users, and may provide opportunity for trained, certified persons (under a Species at Risk Act permit) to collect useful information for fisheries science and management.

  1. Assess the life state (alive versus dead) and condition (good versus poor) of the Basking Shark. Proceed accordingly, and with extreme caution. Always avoid the strong caudal (tail) fin, which can cause injury by thrashing.

    Alive in good condition (e.g. active swimming, minimal wounds) or poor (e.g. sluggish, visibly wounded) condition
    • Attempt to disentangle the shark as quickly as possible, and in a manner that causes the least amount of harm to the animal.
    • The proper handling and release procedures for an entangled Basking Shark depend on the type of gear in which the shark is entangled.
    • Specific steps to take are listed below by gear type
    1. Entangled in fishing line (such as long-line, trap, or troll lines).
      • Maneuver your boat as close to the Basking Shark as possible without causing further injury or entanglement. Turn off your engine (if possible) or switch it into neutral.
      • Grapple the line, and bring the Basking Shark as close to the side of the boat as possible.
      • Pull the line to restrict the Basking Shark’s movement. Hold the Basking Shark firmly against the side of the boat, preventing it from thrashing further. Avoid the use of restraining devices such as straps, tail ropes, gaffs, etc. Do NOT hold the shark by its gills. This may cause serious injury.
      • Try to unwind the line without cutting it. If you cannot untangle the line from the Basking Shark without cutting it, use a gaff to pull the line away from the shark before cutting the line free Footnote 1.
    2. Entangled in a fishing net (such as a seine, gillnet, or aquaculture net).
      • Maneuver your boat as close to the Basking Shark as possible without causing further injury or entanglement. Turn off your engine (if possible) or switch it into neutral.
      • Bring the Basking Shark as close to the side of the boat as possible. Avoid the use of restraining devices such as straps, tail ropes, gaffs, etc. Do NOT hold the Basking Shark by its gills. This may cause serious injury.
      • Attempt to free the Basking Shark. This will be much easier with long bolt cutters onboard. Use a gaff to pull the net as far as possible from the points of contact with the Basking Shark, and carefully cut the net. It will likely take many cuts before the Basking Shark will be able to swim free.
    3. Entangled in a trawl net (and brought on-board the vessel).
      • Do not attempt to move the Basking Shark by the tail as this can result in injury to the shark’s vertebrae. Make an attempt to support the weight of the Basking Shark by at least two points when moving it. For example, to facilitate transport, place the Basking Shark on a tarp.
      • Attempt to free the Basking Shark. This will be much easier with long bolt cutters onboard. Use a gaff to pull the net as far as possible from the points of contact with the Basking Shark, and carefully cut the net. It will likely take many cuts before the Basking Shark will be free of the net.
      • Once freed of the net, release the Basking Shark down the stern ramp (using a tarp for on-deck transport).

Dead

  • Basking Sharks cannot be retained and must be disentangled from the fishing gear and discarded at-sea.
  • Persons permitted by a Species at Risk Act license may collect biosamples for further analysis.
  1. Document all entanglement encounters.
    • Commercial fishers are required report all encounters with Basking Sharks in the fishing logbook. If DFO staff or a certified observer is on board the vessel, inform them immediately of the encounter. They will assess whether biological samples can be safely taken and may attempt to take biological samples from the Basking Shark. Please note that only DFO staff or certified observers are permitted (Species at Risk Act scientific research permit) to take biological samples; do not attempt to take samples without proper permits
  2. Notify Fisheries and Oceans Canada of the encounter through the Basking Shark Sightings Network (see Part 3 below).

Part 3: Basking shark sightings network

Fisheries and Oceans Canada encourages all who work or play on or near the water to keep a lookout for Basking Sharks and to report all sightings and other encounters as soon as possible through the Basking Shark Sightings Network. This information will help to rebuild the Basking Shark population off the west coast of British Columbia. To report a Basking Shark encounter, please use our online form or contact the Basking Shark Sightings Network directly at:

BASKING SHARK SIGHTINGS
Pacific Biological Station
3190 Hammond Bay Road
Nanaimo, BC V9T 1T3
Web
E-mail: Sharks@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Toll free: 1-877-50-SHARK

Please include the following details in your report:

  • Photograph or video (if possible)
  • Date of encounter and time of day
  • Location (as specific as possible, such as positional GPS data)
  • Details (e.g. number of sharks, estimated total length, sex, estimated height of the dorsal fin(s), distinguishing features)
  • Any behaviours, visible wounds, and swimming ability post-release
  • Your name and contact information (to confirm the sighting)

Disclaimer

Although every effort has been made to prepare these instructions in a manner that takes into account the safety of the fish harvesters, the circumstances surrounding any disentanglement or de-hooking operation are variable. Thus, harvesters are encouraged to vary these instructions so as to take into account the factors present during any disentanglement or de-hooking operation, including (but not limited to) weather conditions, sea conditions, and the size of the vessel. The Government of Canada, the federal Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, and/or any of their employees shall not be liable for any loss or damages suffered as a result of any reliance upon the information contained this document.

Code de conduite : rencontres avec les requins-pèlerins

Table des matières

Renseignements généraux

La population de requins-pèlerins (Cetorhinus maximus) du Pacifique est inscrite comme espèce en voie de disparition en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Il est par conséquent interdit de tuer, blesser, harceler, capturer, prendre, posséder, collectionner, acheter, vendre ou échanger un individu, une partie d'un individu ou un produit provenant d'un pèlerin.

On peut reconnaître le pèlerin par sa très grande taille (jusqu'à 12,2 m ou 40 pi), ses longues fentes branchiales, sa grande bouche et ses dents extrêmement petites (figure 1). Il s'agit d'un organisme filtreur qui s'alimente principalement de zooplancton. On estime que les pèlerins qui sont présents dans les eaux du Pacifique canadien font partie d'une population qui migre vers la Colombie-Britannique au printemps et passe les hivers au large des côtés de la Californie. Par le passé, les pèlerins étaient présents partout dans les eaux de la Colombie-Britannique et fréquentaient en grand nombre les baies Clayoquot et Barkley ainsi que le bras de mer Rivers.

Il a été déterminé que les principales menaces qui pesaient sur l'espèce étaient l'enchevêtrement dans les engins de pêche commerciale, les collisions avec des navires et le harcèlement lié aux activités maritimes. Pour se conformer à la Loi sur les espèces en péril, les permis de pêche commerciale ont été modifiés et comportent désormais une condition de permis pour les espèces en péril, qui précise les mesures à prendre pour atténuer les menaces à l'endroit du pèlerin.

Les codes de conduite suivants pour les rencontres avec les pèlerins viennent soutenir le programme de rétablissement du pèlerin en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. La partie 1 introduit les pratiques de navigation recommandées à l'intention des plaisanciers, des entreprises touristiques ainsi que des pêcheurs commerciaux et récréatifs dans le but de réduire la mortalité et les blessures lors de rencontres visuelles. La partie 2 contient les pratiques de manipulation recommandées afin d'augmenter les chances de survie des pèlerins en cas d'enchevêtrement accidentel. La partie 3 explique comment signaler les rencontres au Réseau d'observation de requins-pèlerins.

Illustration d'un pèlerin

Figure 1.

Illustration d'un pèlerin (Cetorhinus maximus) et de ses caractéristiques distinctives, y compris l'emplacement des ptérygopodes (chez les mâles). On mesure la longueur totale en ligne droite du bout du museau au bout du lobe supérieur de la nageoire caudale (queue). Ils peuvent atteindre une longueur totale maximale de 12,2 m (40 pi). Illustration par Jennifer Stone.

Illustration d'un ventre de requin

Figure 2.

Illustration d'un ventre de requin et de la paire de ptérygopodes (organes reproducteurs) que présente le requin mâle.

Partie I : procédures de manœuvre d'embarcations en cas de rencontre visuelle avec des pèlerins

Les pèlerins sont présents dans les bras de mer, les baies et d'autres zones de productivité élevée, où l'on peut les observer pendant qu'ils s'alimentent de plancton à la surface. Si vous êtes à bord d'un bateau et apercevez un pèlerin ou un groupe de ces requins, il faut procéder comme suit afin de réduire les risques de dommages pour le(s) requin(s) et les utilisateurs maritimes.

  1. Soyez prudent et respectueux. Soyez extrêmement prudent lorsque vous vous approchez de zones où les pèlerins sont présents ou pourraient l'être (p. ex., bras de mer, baies, zones à grande abondance de plancton). Regardez dans toutes les directions avant de planifier votre approche ou votre départ.
  2. Ralentissez. Réduisez votre vitesse (maximum 5 noeuds) dès que vous apercevez un pèlerin et évitez de changer de cap brusquement.
  3. Ne vous mettez pas sur le chemin des pèlerins. S'ils vous approchent, éloignez-vous prudemment.
  4. Évitez de vous approcher de pèlerins de face ou par derrière. Il faut plutôt les approcher et s'en éloigner de côté, en se déplaçant parallèlement à leur trajectoire. Si vous apercevez un pèlerin, évitez de rapprocher votre embarcation à moins de 100 mètres du requin.
  5. Si le pèlerin arrive à moins de 10 m de votre embarcation ou vous l'apercevez à moins de 10 m de l'embarcation, mettez le moteur au point mort pour ne pas blesser l'animal.
  6. Limitez le temps d'observation pour réduire au minimum l'impact.
  7. Ne nagez pas en compagnie des pèlerins, ne les touchez pas et ne les nourrissez pas.
  8. Prévoyez la distance maximale (p. ex., 100 m) lorsque vous déployez ou que vous hissez les engins de pêche. D'après les conditions des permis de pêche commerciale, vous n'êtes pas censé hisser ou déployer des engins de pêche si un pèlerin se trouve à moins de 10 m du navire ou est visible à la surface. Cependant, en pratique, on recommande de se tenir à une distance beaucoup plus importante (p. ex., 100 m).
  9. Signalez la rencontre à Pêches et Océans Canada par l'intermédiaire du Réseau d'observation de requins-pèlerins (voir partie 3 ci-dessous).

Partie II : pratiques exemplaires pour la manipulation de pèlerins en cas d'enchevêtrement

Remarques importantes

Faites preuve d'une extrême prudence

  • Pour libérer un pèlerin d'un engin de pêche, il faut faire preuve d'une extrême prudence en raison de leur taille énorme (12,2 m/40 pi).
Soyez prêt
  • Il vous faut toujours avoir à bord et à portée de main les outils nécessaires (couteaux tranchants, pinces à bec effilé, coupe-fils, pinces coupantes) pour libérer des pèlerins.

Évaluez la situation

  • Restez calme. La sécurité doit primer. Il ne faut en AUCUN cas entrer dans l'eau. N'essayez pas de hisser un pèlerin à bord d'une embarcation (à moins que ce soit inévitable, s'il s'agit par exemple d'un chalut). Faites preuve de bon sens et d'une prudence extrême.

Agissez

  • Le facteur temps est primordial. En réduisant au minimum le temps de capture et de manipulation, les risques de blessure pour les requins diminueront tandis que leurs chances de survie après leur remise à l'eau augmenteront (il faut limiter l'exposition à l'air à entre 3 et 5 minutes si le requin est sorti complètement de l'eau; une exposition plus longue pourrait endommager les branchies).
  • Pour tous les cas d'enchevêtrement, il faut consigner et signaler toute blessure visible et la capacité natatoire du pèlerin après sa remise à l'eau (p. ex., requin actif et poussée puissante de la queue, lenteur dans le mouvement des nageoires, aucun mouvement des nageoires et requin retourné).

En cas d'enchevêtrement accidentel, il faut tout faire pour libérer le requin et réduire au minimum les blessures et les restes d'engins accrochés au pèlerin tout en garantissant la sécurité de l'équipage. Les procédures ci-dessous devraient permettre de prévenir les blessures aux pèlerins et aux utilisateurs maritimes, et donner l'occasion à des personnes dûment formées et accréditées (en possession d'un permis délivré en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril) de recueillir des données utiles pour la recherche et la gestion des pêches.

  1. Déterminez si le requin est mort ou vivant et évaluez son état de santé (bon ou mauvais). Agissez en conséquence et en faisant preuve d'une prudence extrême. Faites toujours attention à la puissante nageoire caudale (queue), qui peut causer des blessures si le requin l'agite.

    Requin vivant et en bon état (capacité natatoire normale, blessures minimes, etc.) ou en mauvais état (léthargique, visiblement blessé, etc.)
    • Essayez de libérer le pèlerin le plus rapidement possible et en le blessant le moins possible.
    • Les procédures de manipulation et de libération appropriées dépendent du type d'engin dans lequel le pèlerin est pris.
    • Voici les différentes procédures en fonction du type d'engin
    1. Enchevêtrement dans des lignes de pêche (palangre, ligne de casiers, ligne de traîne)
      • Rapprochez votre bateau du pèlerin autant que possible sans provoquer de blessures ni d'enchevêtrement additionnels. Éteignez le moteur (si possible) ou mettez-le au point mort.
      • Saisissez la ligne et rapprochez le requin le plus possible du côté du bateau.
      • Tirez sur la ligne pour limiter les mouvements du pèlerin. Maintenez le requin fermement contre le côté de l'embarcation pour éviter qu'il s'agite davantage. Évitez d'utiliser des dispositifs de retenue tels que des courroies, des cordes, des gaffes, etc. Ne saisissez pas le requin par les branchies. Cela pourrait lui causer des blessures graves.
      • Essayez de démêler la ligne sans la couper. Si vous n'arrivez pas à le faire, utilisez une gaffe pour écarter la ligne du requin avant de la couper Footnote 1.
    2. Enchevêtrement dans un filet de pêche (filet maillant, senne, filet d'aquaculture, etc.)
      • Rapprochez votre bateau du pèlerin autant que possible sans provoquer de blessures ni d'enchevêtrement additionnels. Éteignez le moteur (si possible) ou mettez-le au point mort.
      • Rapprochez le requin le plus possible du côté du bateau. Évitez d'utiliser des dispositifs de retenue tels que des courroies, des cordes, des gaffes, etc. Ne saisissez pas le requin par les branchies. Cela pourrait lui causer des blessures graves.
      • Tentez de libérer le pèlerin. La tâche sera bien plus aisée si vous disposez à bord de longues pinces coupantes. Utilisez une gaffe pour écarter le filet le plus possible du corps du pèlerin et sectionnez le filet soigneusement. Il vous faudra probablement couper le filet plusieurs fois pour libérer le requin.
    3. Enchevêtrement dans un chalut de fond (pèlerin hissé à bord du bateau).
      • Ne saisissez pas le requin par la queue pour le déplacer, car vous pouvez le blesser aux vertèbres. Pour le déplacer, essayez de soutenir le poids du pèlerin à au moins deux endroits. Vous pouvez aussi placer le requin sur une bâche pour faciliter le transport.
      • Tentez de libérer le pèlerin. La tâche sera bien plus aisée si vous disposez à bord de longues pinces coupantes. Utilisez une gaffe pour écarter le filet le plus possible du corps du pèlerin et sectionnez le filet soigneusement. Il vous faudra probablement couper plusieurs fois pour libérer le requin du filet.
      • Une fois libéré du filet, descendez le requin le long de la rampe arrière (servez-vous de la bâche pour le déplacer sur le pont).

Mort

  • Il est interdit de conserver les pèlerins; il faut les libérer des engins de pêche dans lesquels ils sont pris et les jeter à la mer.
  • Les personnes autorisées conformément à un permis délivré en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril peuvent prélever des échantillons biologiques pour des analyses.
  1. Consignez tous les cas d'enchevêtrement.
    • Les pêcheurs commerciaux sont tenus de signaler toutes les rencontres avec des pèlerins dans leurs registres de pêche. Si des employés du MPO ou un observateur agréé se trouvent à bord, veuillez les informer tout de suite de la rencontre. Ils décideront si des échantillons biologiques peuvent être prélevés dans de bonnes conditions et ils pourraient essayer de le faire. Il convient de signaler que seuls le personnel du MPO ou les observateurs agréés ont l'autorisation (grâce à un permis de recherche scientifique en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril) de prélever des échantillons biologiques; n'essayez pas de prélever des échantillons sans les permis appropriés.
  2. Signalez la rencontre à Pêches et Océans Canada par l'intermédiaire du Réseau d'observation de requins-pèlerins (voir partie 3 ci-dessous).

Partie III : réseau d'observation de requins-pèlerins

Pêches et Océans Canada invite tous ceux qui travaillent ou se divertissent dans l'eau ou à proximité de rester aux aguets et de signaler toute observation ou autre rencontre de pèlerins dès que possible par l'intermédiaire du Réseau d'observation de requins-pèlerins. Ces renseignements contribueront à rétablir la population de pèlerins au large des côtes de la Colombie-Britannique. Pour signaler une rencontre avec un pèlerin, veuillez utiliser notre formulaire en ligne ou contacter directement le Réseau d'observation de requins-pèlerins à l'adresse suivante :

OBSERVATIONS DE REQUINS-PÈLERINS
Station biologique du Pacifique
3190, chemin Hammond Bay
Nanaimo (Colombie-Britannique) V9T 1T3
Site Web
Adresse de courriel : Sharks@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Numéro sans frais : 1-877-50-SHARK

Veuillez fournir les éléments suivants dans votre signalement :

  • Photographie ou vidéo (si possible);
  • Date de la rencontre et moment de la journée;
  • Lieu (avec le plus de précision possible, p.ex., données de position GPS);
  • Précisions (p. ex., nombre de requins, longueur totale estimée, sexe, taille estimée des nageoires dorsales, caractéristiques distinctives);
  • Comportement, blessures visibles et capacité natatoire des pèlerins après leur remise à l'eau;
  • Votre nom et vos coordonnées (pour confirmer l'observation).

Avertissement

Dans la mesure du possible, ces instructions ont été préparées en tenant compte de la sécurité des pêcheurs. Toutefois, les circonstances qui entourent les opérations de libération des requins ou de retrait des hameçons varient. Par conséquent, les pêcheurs sont priés de modifier ces instructions au besoin pour tenir compte de ces facteurs, qui comprennent notamment les conditions météorologiques, l'état de la mer et la taille du navire. Ni le gouvernement du Canada, ni le ministre des Pêches et des Océans du Canada ni aucun de ses employés ne peuvent être tenus responsables des pertes ou des dommages subis découlant des renseignements contenus dans le présent document.