What we heard report

A summary of comments from the Ministerial Roundtable on North Atlantic Right Whales

Introduction

The Honourable Dominic LeBlanc, Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard, hosted a Roundtable on North Atlantic Right Whales in Moncton, New Brunswick on November 9, 2017. It was an opportunity for the Minister to listen to a wide variety of stakeholders and to find solutions to protect the North Atlantic Right Whale, a critically endangered species.

The Minister’s roundtable was attended by representatives of: fishers and fishing organizations; marine transportation industries; cruise lines; ferry associations; Indigenous peoples; whale experts and scientists; and the provinces of New Brunswick, Quebec, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland and Labrador; and the United States National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. All came together to have an open dialogue on how to protect the North Atlantic Right Whale (NARW).

The collective expertise, feedback and ideas gathered will help the Government of Canada develop and implement measures that aim to reduce the impact of human activity on right whales in 2018 and beyond. This roundtable is one part of a comprehensive approach to ensure these marine mammals are protected for future generations.

The following objectives were set for the Ministerial Roundtable:

Date modified:

Ce que nous avons entendu

Synthèse des commentaires exprimés à la table ronde du ministre sur les baleines noires de l'Atlantique Nord

Introduction

L'honorable Dominic LeBlanc, ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne a animé une table ronde sur les baleines noires de l'Atlantique Nord qui s'est tenue à Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick) le 9 novembre 2017. À cette occasion, le Ministre a pu mobiliser une large palette d'intervenants, et les écouter, afin de travailler ensemble et de trouver des solutions concernant la protection de la baleine noire de l'Atlantique Nord.

Cette réunion a rassemblé des représentants du Nouveau-Brunswick, du Québec, de la Nouvelle-Écosse, de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, des pêcheurs et de leurs organisations, des industries du transport maritime, des compagnies de croisières, des associations de traversiers, des peuples autochtones, des scientifiques et des experts spécialistes des baleines, ainsi que des membres de la National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration des États-Unis. Toutes ces personnes se sont réunies pour entamer un dialogue ouvert sur la façon de protéger la baleine noire de l'Atlantique Nord.

Cette expertise collective de même que les commentaires et les idées recueillis aideront le gouvernement du Canada à définir et à mettre en œuvre des mesures visant à réduire l'incidence des activités humaines sur les baleines noires en 2018 et au-delà. Cette table ronde fait partie d'une approche exhaustive visant à assurer la protection de ces mammifères marins sur plusieurs générations.

Les objectifs suivants ont été fixés pour la table ronde ministérielle :

Date de modification :