Depredation by whales

PDF Document

Pacific Marine Mammal Bulletin #2

Depredation (removal of fish from fishing gear) by toothed whales is a widespread problem in many oceans of the world. The negative impacts of depredation include economic losses to fishermen, increased pressure on fish stocks, and injury or mortality to whales caused by deterrent methods, entanglement, or accidental hooking.

Depredation in the Northeast Pacific

In Alaska, longline fishers have been faced with significant losses for many years from depredation by killer whales and sperm whales. Here in British Columbia, depredation by killer whales and sperm whales has been observed and appears to be increasing. Fisheries & Oceans Canada (DFO) and fishermen alike are concerned and looking for ways to prevent its expansion. Depredation has been reported by halibut, rockfish, and sablefish longliners, salmon trollers and recreational anglers. While hook and line fisheries appear to be most frequently targeted, other fisheries including pot fishing and trawl, contribute to the problem through release by discarding offal in the presence of whales. Cetaceans are highly intelligent, and once learned, these behaviours are very difficult to extinguish. Fishermen around the world have struggled to find universal solutions to this problem with little success. There is no gear modification, deterrent device or fishing strategy that has proved entirely successful at stopping depredation once established.

Depredation may also impact natural whale foraging behaviour and seasonal movement patterns.

Fishermen, Researchers and Managers Working Together

At the Depredation Workshop in 2006, presentations on current research on the nature of depredation and experiments to avoid or stop depredation were given. Workshop participants explored ideas for new research, strategies to avoid depredation and means of communicating on this issue. A website (http://www.depredation.org) has been established by the Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre to house the workshop results and host a forum where fishers here in B.C. and around the world can learn about depredation, and share their experiences and best practices.

An International Workshop

At an international workshop in 2006 in Vancouver, B.C., fishers, managers and researchers from around the world agreed that the most practical and cost effective way to limit depredation is to prevent it from becoming firmly established and widespread. It is critical that ALL fishers work together and agree to “not feed the whales”, as once these animals are trained to a new food source, the problem will continue to grow.

Report Depredation

Avoiding this problem will take the efforts and cooperation of fishers, researchers and managers. Doing your part to discourage depredation is essential and several suggestions are presented in this bulletin. Sharing information on when, where and how depredation occurs will allow other fishers to avoid problem areas and researchers to understand the problem better with the hope of finding solutions. A confidential reporting email address has been established by DFO at:  marinemammals@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Resources and Contacts

Depredation Reports
Vancouver Aquarium Depredation website
BC Commercial Fishing Industry Contacts
Sport Fishing Advisory Board and Sport Fishing Institute
DFO Marine Mammal Incident Response Network
  • Sick, Injured, or Dead Marine Mammals or Sea Turtles:  1-800-465-4336
BC Cetacean & Sea Turtle Sightings Network (to report a sighting)

Depredation: "The removal of fish from gear by whales."

The solution is prevention.

The consequences:

  • Reductions in catch
  • Additional fishing time, fuel, and costs
  • Gear damage and loss
  • Loss of productive fishing grounds
  • Risk to whales from ingested gear and entanglements
  • Loss of whales’ feeding cultures and behaviours

What you can do:

  • Don’t feed whales
  • Don’t discard fish or offal in the presence of whales
  • Don’t set or haul gear when whales are present
  • If hauling groundline gear, drop gear until whales leave
  • Fish in a different area
  • Report all depredation events (confidential)

“It is critical that all fishers work together and agree to “not feed the whales”, otherwise the problem will continue to grow.”

Date modified:

La déprédation des baleines

Bulletin no 2 sur les mammifères marins du Pacifique

La déprédation (retrait des poissons des engins de pêche) par les baleines à dents est un problème très répandu dans plusieurs océans du monde. Les impacts négatifs de la déprédation comprennent les pertes économiques pour les pêcheurs, des pressions croissantes sur les stocks et, chez baleines, des blessures ou la mort causées par les mesures de dissuasion, que ce soit l’emmêlement dans les filets de pêche ou l’ingurgitation accidentelle des hameçons.

Déprédation dans le nord-est du Pacifique

En Alaska, les pêcheurs à la ligne doivent faire face, depuis plusieurs années, à des pertes importantes en raison de la déprédation des baleines et des grands cachalots. Ici, en C.-B., la déprédation par les épaulards et les cachalots a été observée et semble s’accroître. Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) et les pêcheurs sont inquiets et cherchent des solutions pour endiguer ce phénomène. On a rapporté la déprédation dans la pêche à la ligne de fond chez le flétan, le sébaste, la morue charbonnière, les ligneurs chez le saumonn et dans la pêche récréative. Si les hameçons et les lignes sont surtout visés, toutes les autres pêches (au casier, au chalut) contribuent au problème en rejetant à la mer les abats en présence des baleines. Les cétacées sont des animaux très intelligents et une fois qu’ils ont compris quelque chose, il est très difficile d’éliminer ce comportement. Les pêcheurs partout sur la planète se démènent pour trouver une solution à ce problème, mais en vain. Il n’existe pas d’engins différents ou de stratégie de pêche qui se soitt avérée une réussite totale pour arrêter la déprédation une fois qu’elle s’est installée.

La déprédation peut également avoir des conséquences sur le comportement naturel de recherche de nourriture des baleines et leurs déplacements saisonniers.

Pêcheurs, chercheurs et les gestionnaires collaborent ensemble

À l’atelier sur la déprédation, en 2006, on a présenté les recherches actuelles sur la nature de la déprédation et les expériences pour éviter ou arrêter cette pratique. Les participants à l’atelier ont exploré des idées de nouvelles recherches, stratégies pour éviter la déprédation et les moyens de communiquer sur cet enjeu. Un site Web a été créé par l’Aquarium de Vancouver pour recueillir les résultats de l’atelier et tenir un forum où les pêcheurs d’ici, en C.-B., et de partout dans le monde peuvent se renseigner sur la déprédation et partager l’expérience et les pratiques exemplaires.

Un atelier international

À l’occasion d’un atelier international en 2006 à Vancouver, C.-B., les pêcheurs, les gestionnaires du monde entier se sont entendus que la solution la plus pratique et la plus efficace sur le plan des coûts pour limiter la déprédation consistait à empêcher qu’elle s’établisse et s’étende. Il est essentiel que TOUS les pêcheurs travaillent ensemble et acceptent de « ne pas nourrir les baleines » parce que ces cétacés s’y habitueront et le problème ne fera qu’amplifier.

Rapport de déprédation

Pour éviter ce problème, il faudra les efforts et la collaboration des pêcheurs, chercheurs et gestionnaires. Faire votre part pour décourager la déprédation est primordial et plusieurs suggestions sont présentées dans ce bulletin. Partager l’information sur quand, où et comment la déprédation se produit permettra à d’autres pêcheurs d’éviter le secteur hasardeux et les chercheurs de comprendre mieux la problématique pour trouver des solutions. Une adresse courriel confidentielle a été créée par le MPO : marinemammals@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Ressources et Contacts

Rapports de déprédation
Site Web de déprédation de l’aquarium de Vancouver
Contacts de l’industrie de la pêche en C.-B.
Sport Fishing Advisory Board and Sport Fishing Institute
MPO Réseau de réponse aux incidents de mammifères marins
  • Mammifères marins ou tortues malades, blessés ou morts : 1-800-465-4336
Réseau d’observation de tortues de mer et de cétacés en C.-B. (pour rapporter une observation)

La déprédation des baleines

La déprédation des baleines (PDF, 144 KB)

Déprédation – « Vol des poissons pris dans les filets par les baleines. »

La solution : la prévention

Les conséquences

  • Réductions des prises
  • Hausse du temps à pêcher, du carburant et des frais
  • Dommages ou pertes des engins de pêche
  • Perte de secteurs de pêches productifs
  • Danger pour les baleines d’avaler les engins ou de s’emmêler dans les filets
  • Perte des comportements et des modes de nutrition des baleines

Que pouvez-vous faire?

  • Ne pas nourrir les baleines
  • Ne pas jeter à la mer des poissons ou des abats en présence des baleines
  • Ne pas poser ou retirer vos pièges en présence des baleines
  • Si vous remontez une ligne de fond, laissez aller l’engin jusqu’à ce que les baleines soient parties
  • Pêcher dans un autre secteur
  • Faire rapport de tout incident de déprédation (confidentiel)

« Il est essentiel que tous les pêcheurs travaillent ensemble et s’entendent pour ‘ne pas nourrir les baleines’, autrement le problème ne fera que s’amplifier. »

Date de modification :