Language selection

Search

Golden Star Tunicate in Newfoundland and Labrador Waters

Golden Star Tunicate in Newfoundland and Labrador Waters

Golden Star Tunicate in Newfoundland and Labrador Waters (PDF, 2.56 MB)

Tunicates are aquatic animais with a sac-like body protected by a coat or 'tunic'. They may live in large colonies and feed by filtering sea water through their bodies. Researchers think that tunicates first appeared over 500 million years ago.

Tunicates are found on ail continents except Antarctica, and it is believed that the golden star tunicate (Botryllus schlosseri) likely originated in the Mediterranean Sea. It was discovered in North America around 1870, and was first identified in Newfoundland and Labrador in 1975 (see map).

Golden star tunicate colonies often grow up to 10 cm in diameter. They can be distinguished from other types of tunicates by the star-shaped arrangement of individuals within a clear, firm, coat or tunic. Despite their name, they can be many different colours and patterns. Colonies are typically densely packed into a mat that covers the underlying surface. Where space is limited, they may grow in lobes, with single layers of individuals folding over one another.

The golden star tunicate reproduces in two ways: when fragments of a colony break off and bud elsewhere, and by the production of eggs that hatch into free-swimming larvae. Both fragments and larvae settle and grow on a range of artificial surfaces such as buoys, boat hulls, rope, wharf pilings, and floating docks as well as on natural surfaces such as rocks, mussels and kelp.

Larvae released into the water column settle within 24 to 48 hours, and only travel over small distances. Colony fragments may reproduce for up to 40 days and may disperse over much greater distances.

Colonies grow once water temperatures exceed 6° C. Egg production, larval development, and growth start at water temperatures greater than 12 C. During the winter, when water temperatures drop below 6° C, colonies may enter a resting phase, reduce in size or die.

Different colours of golden star tunicate on mussels. Photo credit: Ocean Sciences Centre, MUN.

Different colours of golden star tunicate on mussels. Photo credit: Ocean Sciences Centre, MUN.

Golden star tunicate growing on articial surfaces. Photo credit: Ocean Sciences Centre, MUN.

Golden star tunicate growing on articial surfaces. Photo credit: Ocean Sciences Centre, MUN.

Environmental Impact of Golden Star Tunicate

Golden star tunicate is a filter feeder, getting nutrients from phytoplankton (algae), bacteria and other small organic things that float in the sea. In large numbers, the tunicate competes for food with other filter feeders, such as mussels and scallops.

Golden star tunicate is mostly composed of water. It grows rapidly and may cover surrounding plants and animais, depriving them of sunlight or food. Golden star tunicate may even suffocate smaller organisms such as juvenile mollusks, and may cause organisms that attach to marine surfaces to be more vulnerable to being moved by water currents. All of this makes the golden star tunicate disruptive to shellfish harvesters, aquaculture farmers, and aquatic organisms that live on the bottom of the ocean.

Discovery and Survey Findings

Golden star tunicate was first reported in Bonne Bay, on the west coast of Newfoundland and Labrador, around 1975. Approximately 30 years later, this species was confirmed at a number of sites along the south coast of insular Newfoundland. Fortunately, this species has not yet been reported in local mussel farms, but it has been seen growing well on wharf structures, ship hulls, plastic buoys, kelp, and wild mussels.

As the ocean grows warmer, it is important to continue to monitor any changes in the golden star tunicate's distribution and range expansion. Titis will help to prevent and manage its spread.

Golden Star Tunicate Distribution in Newfoundland Waters

AIS Survey 2006-2010

  • Argentia: Placentia Bay
  • Arnolds Cove: Placentia Bay
  • Baine Harbour: Placentia Bay
  • Bonne Bay: Bonne Bay
  • Codroy: Southwest Coast
  • Fox Harbour: Placentia Bay
  • Foxtra: Conception Bay
  • Garden Cove: Placentia Bay
  • Harbour Breton: Fortune Bay
  • Hermitage: Hermitage Bay
  • Kingwell: Placentia Bay
  • Lamaline: Placentia Bay
  • Little Bay: Placentia Bay
  • Little St Lawrence: Placentia Bay
  • Long Harbour: Placentia Bay
  • Long Pond: Conception Bay
  • Northeast Arm Placentia: Placentia Bay
  • North Harbour: Placentia Bay
  • North Tilt Island: Placentia Bay
  • Southeast Arm Placentia: Placentia Bay
  • Spencers Cove: Placentia Bay
  • St. Pauls Inlet: Northern Peninsula West
  • Swift Current: Placentia Bay

Methods to Control the Spread of Golden Star Tunicate

Tunicates can spread through the movement of fishing gear, shellfish, and recreational and commercial vessels. To control the spread of golden star tunicate, boat hulls and fishing gear should be visually inspected and cleaned when necessary.

To prevent the spread of living fragments, water inside boats should be cleaned out and the boat should be allowed to dry for 24 hours. Also, because golden star tunicate can rapidly colonize and establish large, self-sustaining populations, it should be removed from wharves and surrounding structures.

When combined with surveys (see map), using genetic tools to find eggs and larvae of golden star tunicate will help target control and prevention efforts. Improving our understanding of its lifecycle will helps us to establish where and when to apply these efforts. Especially important is the removal of golden star tunicate before it reproduces each year. Recent work by Memorial University of Newfoundland and Fisheries and Oceans Canada at Amold's Cove indicate that the reproductive cycle starts in late July and continues through early October.

References

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, 2011
2011 DFO/2011-1720
Cat. No.: Fs23-555/2-2011E-PDF
ISBN: 978-1-100-18100-4

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Le botrylle étoilé dans les eaux de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Le botrylle étoilé dans les eaux de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Le botrylle étoilé dans les eaux de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (PDF, 2.81 MB)

Les tuniciers sont des animaux aquatiques dont le corps en forme de sac est protégé par un manteau ou tunique. Ils peuvent se former dans de grandes colonies et s'alimentent en filtrant l'eau de mer à travers leur corps. Les chercheurs pensent que les tuniciers sont apparus sur la Terre il y a plus de 500 millions d'années.

Les tuniciers sont présents sur tous les continents sauf l'Antarctique. On croit que le botrylle étoilé (Botryllus schlosseri) viendrait probablement de la mer Méditerranée. Découvert en Amérique du Nord vers 1870, il a été décelé pour la première fois à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador en 1975 (voir la carte).

Les colonies de botrylle étoilé atteignent souvent 10 cm de diamètre et se distinguent d'autres types de tuniciers par l'organisation de leurs individus en forme d'étoile dans une tunique ou manteau transparent et ferme. De couleurs variées, les colonies sont généralement densément regroupées, formant un tapis qui recouvre la surface sous-jacente. Lorsque l'espace est limité, il arrive qu'elles forment des lobes, les couches d'individus se repliant les unes sur les autres.

Le botrylle étoilé se reproduit de deux manières : par fragmentation d'une colonie et bourgeonnement du fragment ailleurs et par production d'œufs qui, à l'éclosion, libèrent des larves nageuses. Les fragments et les larves s'établissent et grossissent sur diverses surfaces artificielles (bouées, coques de bateaux, câbles, pieux de quai et quais flottants) ainsi que sur des surfaces naturelles (rochers, moules et algues).

Les larves libérées dans la colonne d'eau s'établissent dans les 24 à 48 heures et ne se dispersent que sur de courtes distances. Les fragments de colonie peuvent se reproduire pendant jusqu'à 40 jours et se disperser sur de bien plus grandes distances. Les colonies grossissent lorsque la température dépasse les 6°C.

La production d'œufs, le développement des larves et la croissance commencent à des températures supérieures à 12°C. Pendant l'hiver, lorsque la température baisse sous les 6°C, les colonies entrent dans une phase de repos, diminuent de taille ou meurent.

Botrylle étoilé de différentes couleurs sur des moules. Credit photo : Ocean Sciences Centre, MUN.

Botrylle étoilé de différentes couleurs sur des moules. Credit photo : Ocean Sciences Centre, MUN.

Botrylle étoilé poussant sur des surfaces artificielles. Credit photo : Ocean Sciences Centre, MUN.

Botrylle étoilé poussant sur des surfaces artificielles. Credit photo : Ocean Sciences Centre, MUN.

Incidences environnementales du botrylle étoilé

Le botrylle étoilé se nourrit de phytoplancton (minuscules algues), de bactéries et d'autres petites particules organiques qu'il tire de l'eau par filtration. Lorsque présent en grand nombre, il concurrence pour sa nourriture d'autres animaux filtreurs, comme les moules et les pétoncles.

Le botrylle étoilé est presque entièrement composé d'eau. Il grossit rapidement et peut recouvrir les plantes et les animaux environnants, les privant de lumière ou de nourriture. Il peut même étouffer des organismes plus petits, comme de jeunes mollusques. Cet envahisseur peut empêcher d'autres organismes marins de se fixer solidement à une surface en mer de sorte qu'ils deviennent vulnérables à l'arrachement par les courants. Tous ces facteurs font du botrylle étoilé une nuisance pour les cueilleurs de coquillages, les aquaculteurs et les organismes qui vivent au fond de la mer.

Découverte et résultats des relevés

Le botrylle étoilé a été signalé pour la première fois dans la baie Bonne, sur la côte ouest de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, vers 1975. Environ 30 ans plus tard, sa présence a été confirmée dans un certain nombre d'endroits le long de la côte sud de l'île de Terre-Neuve. Heureusement, cet envahisseur n'a pas encore décelé dans les installations mytilicoles locales, mais il pousse bien sur les structures des quais, les coques de bateaux, les bouées de plastique, les algues brunes et les moules sauvage.

Compte tenu du réchauffement de l'océan, il est important de poursuivre la surveillance de tout changement futur dans la distribution et l'expansion de l'aire de répartition du botrylle étoilé. Ces efforts aideront à prévenir et à gérer sa propagation.

Répartition du botrylle étoilé dans les eaux de Terre-Neuve

Zones visées par les relevés aquatiques de 2006 à 2010

  • Argentia : Baie Placentia
  • Arnolds Cove : Baie Placentia
  • Baine Harbour : Baie Placentia
  • Bonne Baie : Bonne Baie
  • Codroy : Côte Sud-Ouest 
  • Fox Harbour : Baie Placentia
  • Foxtra : Baie Conception
  • Garden Cove : Baie Placentia
  • Harbour Breton : Baie Fortune
  • Hermitage : Baie Hermitage
  • Kingwell : Baie Placentia
  • Lamaline : Baie Placentia
  • Little Bay : Baie Placentia
  • Little St Lawrence : Baie Placentia
  • Long Harbour : Baie Placentia
  • Long Pond : Baie Conception
  • Northeast Arm Placentia : Baie Placentia
  • North Harbour : Baie Placentia
  • North Tilt Island : Baie Placentia
  • Southeast Arm Placentia : Baie Placentia
  • Spencers Cove : Baie Placentia
  • St. Pauls Inlet : péninsule Northern Ouest
  • Swift Current : Baie Placentia

Méthodes de lutte contre la propagation du botrylle étoilé

Les tuniciers peuvent se propager par le déplacement d'engins de pêche, de mollusques ainsi que de bateaux de pêche récréative et commerciale. Afin de limiter la propagation du botrylle étoilé, il faut faire une inspection visuelle des coques de bateau et des engins de pêche et les nettoyer au besoin.

Pour éviter la propagation de fragments vivants, il faut enlever l'eau accumulée dans le fond des bateaux et les laisser sécher pendant 24 heures. De plus, parce que le botrylle étoilé peut rapidement former des colonies et établir de grandes populations autosuffisantes, il devrait être enlevé des quais et des structures environnantes.

Combinée aux relevés (voir la carte), la détection des œufs et des larves de botrylle étoilé au moyen d'outils génétiques nous aidera à cibler nos efforts de lutte et de prévention. Une meilleure compréhension du cycle de vie de cet organisme nous aidera à établir où et quand cibler ces efforts. Il est particulièrement important d'éliminer cet envahisseur avant qu'il se reproduise chaque année. De récents travaux menés à Amold's Cove par l'Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve et Pêches et Océans Canada indiquent que son cycle de reproduction débute à la fin juillet et se poursuit jusqu'au début octobre.

Références

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, 2011
MPO/2011-1720
N° cat. : Fs23-555/2-2011F-PDF
ISBN : 978-1-100-96835-3

Date de modification :