Yellowmouth Rockfish

Sebastes reedi

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Yellowmouth Rockfish is one of more than 35 rockfish species occurring in marine waters along the coast of British Columbia. It is similar to the Pacific Ocean Perch, and prior to the mid–1970s, both species were classified as “red rockfish” or “ocean perch”. Adults are primarily red, with black mottling on their backs, and the species is distinguished from other rockfish by characteristic yellow, red and black markings in its mouth.

Habitat

Yellowmouth Rockfish occur at depths of 100–430 m along the continental slope. Their range extends from the northern Gulf of Alaska to northern California. The species is most abundant between southeastern Alaska and Oregon, and in British Columbia the apparent area of highest concentration is in Queen Charlotte Sound. The area of occupancy of Yellowmouth Rockfish in Canadian waters is estimated to be 11,000 – 34,000 km2.

Based on the species’ apparent depth and substrate preferences, approximately 48,000 km2 of potential habitat is estimated to exist for Yellowmouth Rockfish in Canada.

Threats

Commercial fishing is the primary threat to Yellowmouth Rockfish. The species is caught mainly by bottom and mid–water trawls in British Columbia. Rockfish life history traits of slow growth, delayed maturity and longevity potentially make these fish vulnerable to overfishing, habitat loss from bottom trawling and adverse environmental changes.

Further Information

Several achievements contributing to the recovery of the species have been realized in recent years. Current management of the Yellowmouth fishery includes Individual Tradable Quotas (ITQs) and Total Allowable Catch (TAC), guided by scientific advice and the Sustainable Fisheries Framework (SFF). All vessels have mandatory 100% at-sea and dockside monitoring and accountability for all released and retained rockfish catch.

Fisheries protection and pollution prevention provisions of the Fisheries Act provide protection to this species. Yellowmouth likely receive partial protection from rockfish conservation areas and prohibitions on trawling in sections of their range.

To find out if this species is protected by provincial laws, consult the province’s website.

Yellowmouth Rockfish

Yellowmouth Rockfish

Scientific Name: Sebastes reedi
SARA Status: No Status
COSEWIC Status: Threatened
Region: British Columbia

Did You Know?

Yellowmouth Rockfish associate with several other groundfish species in mid–water assemblages, including Pacific Ocean Perch, Arrowtooth Flounder and Redstripe Rockfish.

Related information

Le sébaste à bouche jaune

Sebastes reedi

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le sébaste à bouche jaune est au nombre des 35 espèces de sébastes vivant dans les eaux marines le long de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique. Il ressemble au sébaste à longue mâchoire et, avant le milieu des années 1970, ces deux espèces étaient classées en anglais sous les noms « red rockfish » et « ocean perch ». Les adultes sont essentiellement rouges, avec des taches noires sur le dos, et l'espèce se distingue des autres espèces de sébastes par ses marques jaunes, rouges et noires dans la bouche.

Habitat

Le sébaste à bouche jaune vit le long de la pente continentale à des profondeurs comprises entre 100 et 430 m. L'aire de répartition du sébaste à bouche jaune s'étend du nord du golfe d'Alaska au nord de la Californie. L'espèce se trouve en abondance surtout entre le sud-est de l'Alaska et l'Oregon. En Colombie-Britannique, c'est dans le détroit de la Reine-Charlotte qu'il semble se concentrer le plus. On estime que la zone d'occupation du sébaste à bouche jaune dans les eaux canadiennes couvre une superficie variant entre 11 000 et 34 000 km2.

Compte tenu du fait que cette espèce a une nette préférence pour les profondeurs et les substrats rocheux, on estime la superficie de son habitat potentiel à 48 000 km2 au Canada.

Menaces

La pêche commerciale constitue la principale menace pour le sébaste à bouche jaune. L'espèce est essentiellement capturée par chalutage pélagique et chalutage par le fond en Colombie-Britannique. Les caractéristiques du cycle biologique du sébaste, c'est-à-dire une croissance lente, une grande longévité et une maturité sexuelle tardive, le rendent vulnérable à la surpêche, à la perte d'habitat causée par le chalutage de fond et aux changements environnementaux néfastes.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Au cours des dernières années, plusieurs réalisations ont contribué au rétablissement de l'espèce. Les mesures de gestion actuellement en place pour la pêche au sébaste à bouche jaune comprennent des quotas individuels transférables (QIT) et un total autorisé des captures (TAC). Ces mesures s'appuient sur des avis scientifiques et le Cadre pour la pêche durable (CPD). Tous les bateaux doivent faire l'objet d'une vérification complète en mer et à quai et rendre compte de tous les sébastes remis à l'eau et conservés.

Les dispositions de la Loi sur les pêches relatives à la prévention de la pollution et à la protection des pêches protègent cette espèce. Le sébaste à bouche jaune bénéficie probablement d'une protection partielle grâce aux aires de conservation du sébaste et aux interdictions de pêche au chalut dans certaines zones de son aire de répartition.

Pour savoir si cette espèce est protégée par des lois provinciales, consultez le site Web de la province.

Sébaste à bouche jaune

Sébaste à bouche jaune

Nom scientifique : Sebastes reedi
Statut selon la LEP : Aucun statut
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Menacée
Région : Colombie-Britannique

Le saviez-vous?

Le sébaste à bouche jaune s'associe à plusieurs autres espèces démersales dans des assemblages en moyenne profondeur, notamment le sébaste à longue mâchoire, la plie à grande bouche et le sébaste à raie rouge.

Related information