Witch Flounder

Witch Flounder
Latin Name

Glyptocephalus cynoglossus

Group Name

Groundfish

Taxonomy details

Habitat

Witch flounders are a species of flatfish found in the north Atlantic Ocean. In the western Atlantic, their range begins in Newfoundland and Labrador and ends in North Carolina. In Canada, they are found in the Gulf of Maine, the Scotian Shelf, the Gulf of St. Lawrence, and the Grand Banks. Witch flounders typically live at depths of 100 to 400 metres, though individuals have been found as deep as 1,600 metres. They prefer soft substrates such as sand, clay or mud.

Species Description

Witch flounders are strongly, dorsally compressed and oval in shape. Their head and mouth are very small and, like other flounders, they have both eyes on their upper side. A straight lateral line runs across their body length. Witch flounders are a dark greyish-brown on top and greyish-white on their underside, and have dark rims around their fins. They can grow to a maximum length of about 75 centimetres and a weight of about four kilograms.

Witch Flounder occur in the Northwest Atlantic from southern Labrador to Cape Hatteras, usually at 50-300m in water of 2 t 6°C. They occur most commonly in deep holes and channels and along the shelf slope on muddy bottom. There is no evidence that Witch undertake extensive migrations, but there are seasonal changes in concentration associated with spawning, and they may wander appreciable distances over the years by random dispersal. The spawning period is protracted, and on the Scotian Shelf is thought to occur from May to October with a peak in July-August. The post-larval, pelagic phase is unusually long, lasting up to one year, and it is thought that the first few years of demersal life are spent in much deeper water than the adults. Food consists primarily of worms supplemented by other benthic invertebrates such as small crustaceans and bivalve molluscs. Witch is a long-lived, slow-growing species; a maximum age of about 30 yrs and a maximum size of 78cm (weight of about 5 kg) have been recorded.

Stock structure of Witch Flounder is not known. Continuity in the distribution of Witch may extend beyond the Scotian Shelf and Bay of Fundy, east to the Gulf of St Lawrence and west to the Gulf of Maine.

Trends in abundance over the years appear similar across 4X and 4VW management areas. The abundance of fish over 32cm declined from the 1970's until 1992, but have been increasing since 1992. The increase is likely due to record-breaking recruitment pulses in both the mid-1990's and mid-2000's.

Declining weight at length between the 1970's and 1990's is a cause for concern. The same trend was observed with American Plaice, and was associated with declines in age and length at maturity. We do not have adequate data for Witch Flounder to determine if the same phenomenon holds true. A trend of increasing weight at length since the mid-1990's is promising.

Figure 6 - Witch flounder

Witch flounder

Figure 7 - Numbers per tow of Witch Flounder over 14 cm for 1993-1997 (Summer Surveys)

Numbers per tow of Witch Flounder over 14 cm for 1993-1997 (Summer Surveys)

Figure 8 - Witch Flounder catch chart

Witch Flounder catch chart

Figure 9 - Recruitment chart for Witch Flounder

Recruitment chart for Witch Flounder

Figure 10 - Witch 4VW 45cm

Witch 4VW 45cm

Plie grise

Plie grise
Nom latin

Glyptocephalus cynoglossus

Nom du groupe

poisson de fond

Information taxonomique (en anglais seulement)

Habitat

La plie grise est un poisson plat de l'Atlantique Nord. À l'ouest, son aire de répartition s'étend de Terre Neuve et Labrador à la Caroline du Nord. Au Canada, la plie grise se retrouve dans le golfe du Maine, sur le plateau néo écossais, dans le golfe du Saint Laurent et sur les Grands Bancs. Elle vit généralement à des profondeurs allant de 100 à 400 mètres, mais a déjà été observée à 1 600 mètres de profondeur. Elle préfère les substrats mous, comme le sable, l'argile ou la vase.

Description de l'espèce

La plie grise a un corps très comprimé de forme ovale. Sa tête et sa bouche sont très petites et, comme chez les autres plies, ses deux yeux se trouvent sur la face supérieure. Une ligne latérale droite est visible sur toute la longueur du corps. Le côté oculaire de la plie grise est brun grisâtre foncé et le côté aveugle est blanc grisâtre. Les nageoires sont caractérisées par des bordures foncées. La plie grise peut atteindre une longueur maximale d'environ 75 centimètres et un poids d'environ 4 kilogrammes.

La plie grise se trouve dans l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest du sud du Labrador au Cap Hatteras, habituellement de 50 à 300 m dans une eau de 2 à 6 °C. Elle vit le plus couramment dans des fosses et des chenaux profonds et le long du talus du plateau sur des fonds vaseux. Il n'existe aucune preuve que la plie grise entreprend de longues migrations. Toutefois, des changements saisonniers se produisent dans la concentration au moment du frai, et les plies grises peuvent parcourir des distances respectables au cours des années par une dispersion aléatoire. La période de frai est prolongée, et sur le plateau néo-écossais, elle se produirait de mai à octobre, avec un sommet en juillet et en août. La phase postlarvaire pélagique est exceptionnellement longue et peut durer jusqu'à un an, et la plie grise passerait les premières années de sa vie démersale à des profondeurs beaucoup plus grandes qu'à l'âge adulte. Elle se nourrit surtout de vers, mais aussi d'autres invertébrés benthiques comme de petits crustacés et mollusques bivalves. La plie grise est une espèce de grande longévité et à croissance lente; l'âge maximal signalé est de 30 ans et la taille maximale est de 78 cm (poids d'environ 5 kg).

La structure du stock de plie grise est inconnue. La continuité de la répartition de la plie grise peut s'étendre au-delà du plateau néo-écossais et de la baie de Fundy, à l'est du golfe du Saint-Laurent et à l'ouest du golfe du Maine.

Les tendances de l'abondance au cours des années paraissent semblables dans les zones de gestion 4X et 4VW. L'abondance de poissons de plus de 32 cm a diminué à partir des années 1970 jusqu'en 1992, mais augmente depuis. Cette augmentation est probablement due aux vagues de recrutement records au milieu des années 1990 et des années 2000.

Le déclin du poids par rapport à la taille entre les années 1970 et les années 1990 est une source de préoccupations. La même tendance a été observée chez la plie canadienne, et a été associée au déclin de l'âge et de la taille à la maturité. Nous n'avons pas les données adéquates en ce qui concerne la plie grise pour déterminer s'il s'agit du même phénomène. La tendance d'augmentation du poids depuis le milieu des années 1990 est encourageante.

Figure 6 - Plie grise

Plie grise

Figure 7 - Nombres par trait de plies grises de plus de 14 cm entre 1993 et 1997 (relevés d'été)

Nombres par trait de plies grises de plus de 14 cm entre 1993 et 1997 (relevés d'été)

Figure 8 - Graphique des prises de la plie grise

Graphique des prises de la plie grise

Figure 9 - Graphique du recrutement de la plie grise

Graphique du recrutement de la plie grise

Figure 10 - Plie grise de 45 cm dans 4VW (vignette)

Plie grise de 45 cm dans 4VW (vignette)