Threehorn Wartyback

Obliquaria reflexa

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Threehorn Wartyback (Obliquaria reflexa) is one of Canada’s 54 freshwater mussel species. It is a rare mussel, only found in North America and the only member of the genus Obliquaria found in Canada. It is characterized by the following features:

  • medium-sized mussel, with an average length of 4 cm;
  • thick shell is circular to triangular in shape;
  • front end of the shell (“anterior”) is rounded, while the back of the shell (“posterior”) is bluntly pointed;
  • a single row of 2–5 large knobs or “horns” across the tops of both shells;
  • raised part of the shell (“beak”) is finely sculptured and raised above the hinge line;
  • shell colour can be green, tan or brown;
  • numerous thin rays, or one wide green ray along its horns, may or may not be present; and
  • inside of the shell (“nacre”) is pearly white and shiny near the posterior.

Habitat

The Threehorn Wartyback is found only in North America, where it is broadly distributed from the Gulf of Mexico to the Great Lakes. In the United States, the Threehorn Wartyback is widely distributed across 21 central states throughout the Great Lakes, Mississippi River and Mobile River drainages. It is generally in decline throughout the Great Lakes drainage and possibly lost from Pennsylvania, imperiled in Ohio and vulnerable in Indiana and Wisconsin. In Canada, this mussel was historically known only in Ontario, in Lake St. Clair, the Detroit River, western Lake Erie and the Sydenham, Thames and Grand rivers. It is now believed to be lost from the Great Lakes, though small populations remain in the Sydenham, Thames and Grand rivers.

The Threehorn Wartyback prefers large river habitats with moderate currents and firm bottoms (substrates) of gravel, sand and mud. It is typically found at depths of up to 6-7 metres. This mussel is a moderately long-lived species, with some individuals living up to 18 years.

Considered a short-term brooder, Threehorn Wartyback mussels spawn in the spring and the larvae (glochidia) are released by the end of July. Like most other freshwater mussels, the glochidia are parasitic on fishes (i.e., the glochidia attach to the gills of a host fish until they reach their juvenile, free-living stage and drop off to burrow in the substrate below). Adult Threehorn Wartyback are essentially sessile and may move only a few meters along the substrate for the remainder of their lives.

Like all species of freshwater mussels, the Threehorn Wartyback filters its food from the water. Bacteria and algae are its primary food sources.

Remaining Threehorn Wartyback mussels are significantly threatened by pollution related to urban and agricultural activities. Specifically, it is the sediment loading that leads to the clogging of the mussel’s gill structures, while nutrient loading and contaminants degrade water quality and overall habitat. Infestations of aquatic invasive species also remain a threat. Specifically, the Zebra Mussel is largely responsible for the loss of Threehorn Wartyback populations within the Great Lakes and connecting channels. By attaching to the Threehorn Wartyback by the hundreds, Zebra Mussels interfere with the native mussel’s ability to feed, move, breathe and reproduce. The Zebra Mussel continues to similarly threaten the remaining riverine populations of the Threehorn Wartyback. Additionally, Round Gobies are currently impacting native fish communities, including fish hosts that support native mussels. Human recreational activities, such as driving all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) over fragile mussel beds in the Sydenham River, are also another known threat.

Further Information

If listed under the Species at Risk Act (SARA), a recovery strategy and action plan will be developed to prevent the loss of the Threehorn Wartyback in Canada, involving research, land and water stewardship, monitoring and awareness activities. Critical habitat for the Threehorn Wartyback will also be identified under SARA, allowing for greater protection and recovery of its habitat.

For more information, visit the SARA Registry.

Threehorn Wartyback

Threehorn Wartyback

Threehorn Wartyback

Scientific Name: Obliquaria reflexa
SARA Status: No Status
COSEWIC Status: Threatened
Region: Ontario

Image of inside and outside of the Threehorn Wartyback mussel shell

Image of inside and outside of the Threehorn Wartyback mussel shell.
Photo credit: Environment Canada

Did You Know?

The rare Threehorn Wartyback doesn’t resemble any other freshwater mussel species in North America.

And like most other freshwater mussels, the larvae (glochidia) of the Threehorn Wartyback are parasitic on fishes—the glochidia attach to the gills of a host fish until they reach their juvenile, free-living stage and drop off to burrow in the substrate below.

The most likely host fishes for this mussel species in Canada are the Common Shiner (Luxilus cornutus) and Longnose Dace (Rhinichthys cataractae).

Related information

Obliquaire à trois cornes

Obliquaria reflexa

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

L’obliquaire à trois cornes (Obliquaria reflexa) fait partie des 54 espèces de moules d’eau douce du Canada. C’est une moule rare que l’on retrouve uniquement en Amérique du Nord et est le seul membre du genre Obliquaire au Canada. Il présente les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • moule de taille moyenne, de longueur moyenne de 4 cm;
  • la coquille est épaisse, de forme circulaire ou triangulaire;
  • l’extrémité antérieure est arrondie, l’extrémité postérieure forme une pointe émoussée;
  • une seul rangée de 2 à 5 bourrelets ou « cornes » sur le dessus de la coquille;
  • la partie en relief sur le dessus de la coquille (le sommet ou le bec) est finement sculptée et élevée au-dessus de la ligne de charnière;
  • la couleur de la coquille peut être le vert, le beige ou le brun;
  • de nombreuses rayures fines ou une seule rayure vert foncé large le long des cormes peuvent ou non être présentes;
  • l’intérieur de la coquille (la nacre) est blanc perle et brille près de l’extrémité postérieure.

Habitat

L’obliquaire à trois cornes est présent uniquement en Amérique du Nord; son aire de répartition est vaste, s’étendant du golfe du Mexique au bassin des Grands Lacs. Aux États-Unis, il semble que l’obliquaire à trois cornes soit largement répandu dans 21 États du centre, partout dans les Grands Lacs et dans les bassins versants de la rivière Mississippi et de la rivière Mobile. Il est en déclin général partout dans les bassins versants des Grands Lacs et a peut-être disparu de la Pennsylvanie, est en danger en Ohio et vulnérable en Indiana et au Wisconsin. Au Canada, par le passé, cette moule se trouvait uniquement en Ontario, dans le lac Sainte-Claire, dans la rivière Détroit, dans l’Ouest du Lac Érié et dans les rivières Sydenham, Thames et Grand. On croit qu’elle a disparu des Grands Lacs, mais il en reste quelques petites populations dans les rivières Sydenham, Thames et Grand.

L’obliquaire à trois cornes préfère les habitats des grandes rivières où s’écoulent des courants modérés et où les substrats de gravier, de sable et de boue sont fins. On le trouve en général à des profondeurs de 6 à 7 mètres. Cette moule a une espérance de vie modérément longue, certains individus pouvant vivre jusqu’à 18 ans.

On considère l’obliquaire à trois cornes comme un reproducteur à court terme, il fraie au printemps et les larves, les glochidies, sont libérées vers la fin juillet. Comme c’est le cas pour la plupart des autres moules d’eau douce, les glochidies mènent une vie parasitaire sur les poissons, elles s’accrochent aux branchies de l’hôte et y demeurent jusqu’à ce qu’elles deviennent des juvéniles autonomes, après quoi elles se détachent pour s’enfouir dans le substrat. Les obliquaires à trois cornes sont essentiellement sessiles et peuvent se déplacer uniquement de quelques mètres le long du substrat tout au long de leur vie.

Comme toutes les espèces de moules d’eau douce, l’obliquaire à trois cornes filtre la nourriture présente dans l’eau. Les bactéries et les algues constituent ses sources primaires de nourriture.

Menaces

Les obliquaires à trois cornes qui restent sont sérieusement menacés par la pollution des activités urbaines et agricoles. Plus précisément, c’est la charge de sédiments qui mène à l’engorgement de la structure des branchies de la moule, tandis que la charge de nutriments et les contaminants dégradent la qualité de l’eau et des habitats en général. Les infestations par les espèces aquatiques envahissantes demeurent aussi une menace. Plus particulièrement, la moule zébrée est largement responsable de la disparition des populations d’obliquaires à trois cornes dans les Grands Lacs et les chenaux de communication. En s’accrochant par centaines à l’obliquaire à trois cornes, la moule zébrée nuit à la capacité de la moule indigène de se nourrir, de se déplacer, de respirer et de se reproduire. La moule zébrée continue de menacer de la même façon les populations fluviales d’obliquaires à trois cornes qui restent. De plus, les gobies à taches noires ont actuellement de sérieuses répercussions sur les populations de poissons indigènes, y compris les poissons hôtes qui soutiennent les moules indigènes. Une autre menace bien connue est l’activité récréative humaine, comme la conduite de véhicules tout-terrain (VTT) sur les fragiles moulières de la rivière Sydenham.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Si l'espèce est inscrite en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP), un programme de rétablissement ainsi que des plans d'action seront élaborés pour prévenir la disparition de l’obliquaire à trois cornes au Canada, au moyen notamment de la recherche, de l'intendance des ressources terrestres et hydriques, de la surveillance et des activités de sensibilisation. L'habitat essentiel de l’obliquaire à trois cornes sera également désigné en vertu de la LEP, permettant ainsi une meilleure protection et un meilleur rétablissement de l'habitat de cette espèce.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Obliquaire à trois cornes

obliquaire à trois cornes

obliquaire à trois cornes

Nom scientifique : Obliquaria reflexa
Statut selon la LEP : Aucun statut
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Menacée
Région : Ontario

Image de l’intérieur et l’extérieur de la coquille de l’obliquaire à trois cornes

Image de l’intérieur et l’extérieur de la coquille de l’obliquaire à trois cornes
Crédit photo : Environnement Canada

Le saviez-vous?

L’obliquaire à trois cornes ne ressemble à aucune autre espèce de moule en Amérique du Nord.

Comme c’est le cas pour la plupart des autres moules d’eau douce, les glochidies de l’obliquaire à trois cornes mènent une vie parasitaire sur les poissons, elles s’accrochent aux branchies de l’hôte et y demeurent jusqu’à ce qu’elles deviennent des juvéniles autonomes, après quoi elles se détachent pour s’enfouir dans le substrat.

Les poissons les plus susceptibles d’être des hôtes pour cette espèce sont le méné des ruisseaux (Luxilus cornutus) et le naseux des rapides (Rhinichthys cataractae).

Renseignements connexes