Tanner Crab

Tanner Crab
Latin Name

Chionoecetes bairdi/tanneri/angulatus

Group Name

Invertebrates

Taxonomy details

Habitat

There are three species of Tanner crab in British Columbia. Chionoecetes bairdi is the nearshore, relatively shallow water species, native to the Pacific coast of North America from Alaska to Oregon and is not generally found in the eastern Pacific, although there are reports of them occurring off Japan. Their major abundance in British Columbia appears to be the northern mainland inlets where they were fished commercially until 1993. There currently is no commercial fishery and recreational harvesters rarely encounter them because of their depth.

The other two species, Chionoecetes tanneri and Chionoecetes angulatus, are deepwater spider crabs (500 to 3000 metres) and are found along the continental slope from California, around the Aleutian chain, to Japan. Attempts to develop a commercial fishery for these two species in British Columbia have been unsuccessful.

Species Description

Tanner crabs are large, spider crabs with four pairs of slender, pointed walking legs and a pair of claws about the same size as their legs with two narrow, curved pincers. Their carapace (shell) is round and flattened, with two 'horns' on the front.

Chionoecetes bairdi - the shallowest of the three species - is brown in colour and has a rough, bumpy surface. Their undersides are pinkish orange to cream. These nearshore Tanner crabs grow to a maximum carapace width of about 140 millimetres in British Columbia, with males considerably larger than females. It is believed that they live up to 14 years.

The deepwater species, Chionoecetes tanneri (grooved Tanner crab) and Chionoecetes angulatus (angle Tanner crab) have bright orange shells with enlarged lobes over the gill region.

Tanner Crab (C. tanneri)

The deep water grooved tanner crab (Chionoecetes tanneri) is one of several species being considered for new fisheries off the coast of British Columbia. This proposal has been following the phased approach for new and developing fisheries. The program has been inactive since 2003 when the last experimental fishery took place. The fishery was not economically viable for the Tanner Crab Joint Venture Fishermen’s Association to continue.

The grooved tanner crab, Chionoecetes tanneri, is a large deep-water spider crab. Tanner crabs are Brachyuran crabs of the family Majidae, and genus Chionoecetes of which there are three species in B.C. Chionoecetes bairdi (Tanner crab), C. tanneri (Grooved Tanner crab) and C. angulatus (Angle Tanner crab).

This species resembles other spider crabs of the genus Chionoecetes, but is noted for its scarlet colour, deep chocolate eye colour, and the enlarged branchial lobes of the carapace with a deep groove between them (from which it derives its common name). The legs are longer and thinner than those of the Snow crab (Chionoecetes opilio) or the Alaskan Tanner (C. bairdi). It most closely resembles the other deep water crab of the same genus, C. angulatus or Angle Tanner.

Photo: Tanner with black spot growth (Photo: Jim Boutillier)

Photo: Tanner with black spot growth (Photo: Jim Boutillier)

Photo: Detail of one claw (Chionoecetes tanneri)

Photo: Detail of one claw (Chionoecetes tanneri)

Photo: Tanner crab with ruler (Chionoecetes tanneri)

Photo: Tanner crab with ruler (Chionoecetes tanneri)

C. tanneri are unique to the western Pacific where they occur from Mexico to the Gulf of Alaska at depths ranging from 53 - 1,944 m. In B.C., they are known from 458 - 1,784 m. Their theoretical bathymetric distribution is a narrow ribbon bounded by these depths along the continental slope.

Adult male distribution off Vancouver Island is between 580 and 670 m, while females occur deeper, between 670-720 m during most of the year. During late March to April however, it appears that females move shallower for the purpose of egg release and mating. Primiparous females, apparently, are not bred as softshell crabs as in other Chionoecetes, but as hardshell animals following a moult during the previous spring/summer period. It is likely that adult females are capable of producing at least 2 batches of eggs during their reproductive careers, although it is unclear whether they also use stored sperm to fertilize multiple egg clutches (as with most other majid crabs) or whether annual breeding is required.

Little is know about growth rates or the age structure for this species. Size distribution from samples taken off Vancouver Island are 100-174 mm for males and 94-138 mm for females. Data estimates of size at maturity are 112 mm carapace width (CW) for males and 88 mm CW for females. Detail of one claw (Chionoecetes tanneri) Tanner crab with ruler (Chionoecetes tanneri).

C. tanneri Assessment Program

The deep water grooved tanner crab (Chionoecetes tanneri) is being investigated as one of several species proposed as new fisheries off the coast of British Columbia. Investigation of the fishery potential of this species has been following the Phased approach for the provision of scientific information for new and developing fisheries (Perry et al. 1999). The assessment of the possibility of a C. tanneri crab fishery is currently in the second phase.

Following the Phase 0 review a number of information gaps were identified. These included:

Phase 1 recommendations for C. tanneri included:

DFO Trawl Surveys

Trawl surveys were completed by the DFO from the research vessel CCGS W.E. RICKER between 1999 and 2003, with supplementary trap surveys in the first three years. Trawl surveys took place on the west coast of North Vancouver Island, Queen Charlotte Sound, and the west coast of North and South Queen Charlotte Island.

Industry Trap Surveys

Industry completed distributional trap surveys of West Coast Vancouver Island in 1999/2000 and completed surveys off West Coast Queen Charlotte Island in 2003.

Experimental Fishing

Industry has conducted experimental fisheries in Pacific Fisheries Management Areas (PFMA) 125 and 126 between 1999 and 2003. Detailed fishing location, catch information and biological data were collected from each set, during the experimental fishery. Objectives of the experimental fishery were to:

These questions need examining because female Tanner crabs account for the greatest by-catch.

Photo: Many C. tanneri harvested (photo: Ken Fong)

Photo: Many C. tanneri harvested (photo: Ken Fong)

Photo: Experimental fishery (photo: Ken Wong)

Photo: Experimental fishery (photo: Ken Wong)

Photo: C. tanneri being loaded (Photo: Ken Fong)

Photo: C. tanneri being loaded (Photo: Ken Fong)

Photo: Experimental fishery (photo: Ken Wong)

Photo: Experimental fishery (photo: Ken Wong)

Tanner Crab (C. bairdi)

Chionoecetes bairdi or inshore Tanner crab is one species that is considered to have potential for a new commercial fishery. This consideration follows a phased approach to new and developing fisheries to ensure that any eventual commercial activity is biologically sustainable. The Wuikinuxv (Oweekeno) First Nation in collaboration with DFO explored the opportunity of developing a fishery for inshore Tanner crab throughout the Rivers Inlet system.

Fong, K.H. and J.S. Dunham. 2005. A progress report on the development of a new fishery for inshore Tanner crabs (Chionoecetes bairdi Rathbun, 1924) in Rivers Inlet, British Columbia. PSARC Working Paper. 2005-06: 90p.

G. Krause, G. Workman, A. Phillips. 2001. A Phase '0' Review of the Biology and Fisheries of the Tanner Crab (Chionoecetes bairdi). ( PDF)

Tanner crabs are members of the Phylum Arthropoda; Subphylum Crustacea; Class Malacostraca; Subclass Eucarida; Order Decapoda; Family Majidae; and Genus Chionoecetes. Members of the Family Majidae or true crabs are noted for having 4 sets of walking legs and 2 claws unlike members of the Family Lithodidae or king crabs which have only 3 pairs of walking legs. Only three species of Chionoecetes crabs (C. bairdi, C. tanneri, and C. angulatus) are found in British Columbia waters.

Members of the genus Chionoecetes share many morphological, physiological and reproductive features. C. bairdi is recognized for its orange-brown colour dorsally, pink-cream colour ventrally and relatively flat branchial areas (unlike the grooved Tanner crab, C. tanneri, and angle Tanner crab, C. angulatus, which are bright orange and have enlarged branchial lobes).

Chionoecetes bairdi are distributed in the eastern Pacific Ocean from Oregon to Alaska in depths of 0-400 m. In British Columbia they are found throughout the coast in both coastal inlets and offshore. C. bairdi occurs in abundance from northern British Columbia though the Aleutian chain to the Sea of Okhotsk and the Sea of Japan. They supports a major commercial fishery in Alaska where they are known simply as Tanner crabs.

Photo: Several C. bairdi (Photo: Ken Fong)

Photo: Several C. bairdi (Photo: Ken Fong)

In Alaskan waters, female tanner crabs are reported to pass through 12 instars before undergoing a terminal moult in about 5 years. Meanwhile, male Tanner crabs are estimated to pass through as many as 18 instars in about 6 years when reaching maturity, although the presence of a terminal moult in males remains debatable among researchers. The frequency and timing of moulting is likely dependent on water temperature, food availability and breeding behaviour.

Juvenile males and females are found at similar depths throughout the year until they near the moult to puberty when the distribution patterns diverge. Pubescent female tanner crabs have been observed in shallow inshore waters while mature, multiparous females were generally found in deeper waters. As the animals grow, males take up residence over a much larger bathymetric range than females but it appears that the majority of adult (male and female) Tanner crabs migrate to water deeper than 100 m after reaching maturity and mating for the first time. The sexes in Chionoecetes tend to segregate by depth except during the mating season. The reasons for segregation are not clear but may be the result of intraspecific competition as there is a marked sexual dimorphism.

Adults tend to be found buried in mud-sand substrates, a common behavior to many crab species that live in soft bottoms. Females are nocturnally active, during daylight hours they remain buried in the substrate, presumably as a defense against predators. Juveniles of both sexes and males are suspected of burying, but to what extent is unknown.

There are at least three major pathogens identified in Chionoecetes crabs. Bitter crab disease (BCD) is caused by a dinoflagellate parasite (Hematodinium spp.) in the hemolymph which produces a wasting disease ultimately resulting in death of the host. The disease also creates a bitter taste to crab meat rendering it unusable. Black mat disease is an encrusting fungus infection caused by the ascomycete Trichomaris invadens. The fungus forms a thick tar-like mass on infected individuals from which the name is derived, but also invades the cuticle and various deeper tissues and may prevent moulting and eventually causes death of the host. Nemertean worm egg predators are known to cause egg loss in Red King crabs and Tanner crabs species.

C. bairdi Assessment Program

Photo : C. bairdi, female and male (Photo : Ken Fong)

Photo : C. bairdi, female and male (Photo : Ken Fong)

In 2001, the Pacific Scientific Advice Review Committee (PSARC) accepted a Phase 0 review of the biology of C. bairdi. The review identified several basic information requirements needed to support the sustainable development of a C. bairdi fishery in B.C in a precautionary, risk averse manner. These include stock distribution, population size and life history characteristics.

Fisheries & Oceans Canada and the Wuikinuxv Nation partnered in carrying out a Phase 1 assessment of C. bairdi populations in Rivers Inlet and portions of Fitz Hugh Sound located in the central coast region of British Columbia. Several structured trap and trawl surveys were carried-out between 2004 and 2005.

There didn’t appear to be a sufficient population of marketable size crabs that would make this fishery economically viable although there wasn’t enough information available to make generalized statements of local stock composition of Tanner crabs in other areas outside of Rivers Inlet.

Crab Publications

Below are some selected publications by the Crab program.

Citations may include abstracts (HTML) or the full document may be available for viewing as an Adobe Acrobat file (*.pdf).

C. tanneri Publications

C. bairdi Publications

Crabe des neiges (Pacifique)

Nom latin

Chionoecetes bairdi/tanneri/angulatus

Nom du groupe

invertébrés

Information taxonomique (en anglais seulement)

Habitat

Les eaux de la Colombie-Britannique abritent trois espèces de crabe des neiges. Chionoecetes bairdi, qui vit en eaux littorales relativement peu profondes, est indigène de la côte du Pacifique Est; son aire de répartition s'étend depuis l'Alaska jusqu'à l'Oregon. Il ne se trouve généralement pas dans le Pacifique Ouest, bien qu'il ait été signalé au large du Japon. En Colombie-Britannique, il semble être le plus abondant dans les inlets continentaux du nord de la province, où il a été l'objet d'une pêche commerciale jusqu'en 1993. Il n'est plus exploité commercialement, et les pêcheurs récréatifs le capturent rarement en raison de la profondeur où il vit.

Les deux autres espèces, Chionoecetes tanneri et Chionoecetes angulatus, se trouvent à de grandes profondeurs (de 500 à 3 000 m) le long du talus continental, depuis la Californie jusqu'aux îles Aléoutiennes et le Japon. Les tentatives de développement d'une pêche commerciale de ces deux espèces en Colombie-Britannique ont échoué.

Description de l'espèce

Ces crabes des neiges sont de grande taille. Ils possèdent huit pattes ambulatoires, effilées et pointues, et deux pinces, longues et courbées, de la même taille environ que les autres pattes. Leur carapace, arrondie et aplatie, porte deux « cornes » sur le front.

La carapace de Chionoecetes bairdi - celle des trois espèces de crabes des neiges du Pacifique qui se trouve en eau moins profonde - est brune et couverte de bosses. La face ventrale est orange rosé à crème. En Colombie-Britannique, ce crabe atteint une largeur maximum de carapace de 140 mm environ; les mâles sont beaucoup plus gros que les femelles. On croit qu'il peut vivre jusqu'à 14 ans

La carapace des espèces des profondeurs, Chionoecetes tanneri et Chionoecetes angulatus, est orange vif et forme de grands lobes au dessus de la région des ouïes.

Le crabe des neiges du Pacifique (C. tanneri)

Le crabe des neiges du Pacifique Chionoecetes tanneri qui vit en eau profonde est une espèce parmi plusieurs considérées pour de nouvelles pêches au large de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique. Cette proposition suit l'approche par étape pour pêches nouvelles et émergentes. Le programme est inactif depuis 2003, année durant laquelle la dernière pêche expérimentale a eu lieu. Parce que la pêche n'était pas économiquement viable, le Tanner Crab Joint Venture Fishermen’s Association n’as pas continué.

Le crabe Chionoecetes tanneri est une grosse araignée de mer qui vit en eau profonde. Ces crabes sont des brachyoures de la famille Majidae, et du genre Chionoecetes dont il existe trois espèces en C.-B.: Chionoecetes bairdi (crabe des neiges), C. tanneri et C. angulatus (crabe des neiges du Pacifique).

Cette espèce ressemble aux autres araignées de mer du genre Chionoecetes et on la reconnaît à sa couleur écarlate, à la couleur brune foncée de ses yeux et à ses lobes branchiaux élargis de la carapace séparés par une fente profonde (de laquelle son nom commun est dérivé). Ses pattes sont plus longues et plus fines que celles du crabe des neiges (Chionoecetes opilio) ou du crabe des neiges d’Alaska (C. bairdi). Il ressemble le plus à l’autre crabe d’eau profonde du même genre, C. angulatus.

On retrouve le C. tanneri exclusivement dans le Pacifique ouest, du Mexique au Golfe de l'Alaska, à des profondeurs allant de 53 à 1944 m. En C.-B., on les trouve à des profondeurs entre 458 et 1784 m. Leur répartition bathymétrique théorique est une bande étroite limitée par ces profondeurs le long de la pente continentale.

La répartition des males adultes au large de l'île de Vancouver est entre 580 et 670 m, alors que les femelles se trouvent à de plus grandes profondeurs, entre 670 et 720 m pendant la majeure partie de l'année. Par contre, entre la fin mars et avril, il semble que les femelles migrent dans des eaux moins profondes afin de déposer leurs oeufs et de s’accoupler. Apparemment, les femelles primipares ne se reproduisent pas comme les crabes à carapace molle comme le font les autres Chionoecetes, mais comme un crabe à carapace dure, après une mue durant le printemps/été précédent. Il est probable que les femelles adultes puissent produire au moins 2 pontes d'oeufs au cours de leur vie reproductrice, bien qu'il soit incertain qu’elles utilisent également le sperme entreposé pour féconder les pontes multiples d'oeufs (comme la plupart des autres crabes appartenant à la famille Majidés) ou que la reproduction annuelle est requise.

On connaît peu de chose des taux de croissance ou de la structure par âge de cette espèce. La répartition par taille d’échantillons obtenus au large de l'île de Vancouver est de 100 à 174 mm pour les mâles et de 94 à 138 mm pour les femelles. Les estimations de la taille à maturité provenant de données se situent à 112 mm pour la largeur de carapace (LC) des mâles et à 88 mm LC pour les femelles.

Photo : Chionoecetes tanneri avec tâches noires (Photo: Jim Boutillier)

Photo : Chionoecetes tanneri avec tâches noires (Photo: Jim Boutillier)

Photo : Vue détaillée d’une pince (Chionoecetes tanneri)

Photo : Vue détaillée d’une pince (Chionoecetes tanneri)

Photo : Chionoecetes tanneri à coté d’une règle

Photo : Chionoecetes tanneri à coté d’une règle

Programme d’évaluation du C. tanneri

Le crabe des neiges du Pacifique qui vit en eau profonde (Chionoecetes tanneri) est une espèce parmi plusieurs considérées pour de nouvelles pêches au large de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique. L'examen du potentiel de pêche de ce crabe se fait selon l'approche par étape de la prestation de renseignement scientifique sur les pêches nouvelles et émergentes (Perry et al. 1999). L'évaluation de la possibilité d'une pêche de C. tanneri est présentement dans la deuxième phase.

À la suite de la revue phase 0, certaines lacunes de l'information disponible ont été identifiées. Celles-ci incluent :

Recommandations basées sur les travaux sur le C. tanneri réalisés au cours de la Phase 1 incluent :

Relevés au chalut effectués par le MPO

Des relevés au chalut ont été effectués par le MPO à partir du navire de recherche CCGS W.E. RICKER, entre 1999 et 2003, avec des relevés supplémentaires au casier durant les trois premières années. Les relevés au chalut ont été réalisés sur la côte ouest du nord de l’île de Vancouver, dans le détroit de la Reine-Charlotte et sur la côte ouest des îles de la Reine-Charlotte.

Relevés au casier effectués par l’industrie

L’industrie a complété des relevés au casier sur la côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver en 1999/2000 ainsi que des relevés au large de la côte ouest des îles de la Reine-Charlotte en 2003.

Pêche expérimentale

L'industrie a effectué des pêches expérimentales dans les secteurs d'exploitation des pêcheries du Pacifique (PFMA) 125 et 126 entre 1999 et 2003. De l’information détaillée sur les lieux de pêche, les prises ainsi que des données biologiques ont été rassemblées pour chaque ensemble, pendant la pêche expérimentale. Les objectifs de la pêche expérimentale étaient :

Ces questions ont besoin d’être abordées parce que les crabes Chionoecetes tanneri femelles constituent la plus grande partie de la capture accessoire.

Photo: Récolte de plusieurs C. tanneri (photo : Ken Wong)

Photo: Récolte de plusieurs C. tanneri (photo : Ken Wong)

Photo: Pêche expérimentale - Côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver

Photo: Pêche expérimentale - Côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver

 Photo: Chargement de C. tanneri  (Photo: Ken Fong)

Photo: Chargement de C. tanneri (Photo: Ken Fong)

Photo: Pêche expérimentale - Côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver

Photo: Pêche expérimentale - Côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver

Crabe des neiges du Pacifique (C. bairdi)

Chionoecetes bairdi, ou crabe des neiges du Pacifique côtier, est une espèce avec potentiel pour une nouvelle pêche commerciale. Cette considération suit une approche par étape des pêches nouvelles et émergentes faite pour s'assurer que l’activité commerciale en question soit biologiquement durable. La Première Nation de Wuikinuxv (Oweekeno), en collaboration avec le MPO, a exploré la possibilité de développer une pêche pour le crabe des neiges du Pacifique côtier dans le bassin du bras de mer Rivers.

Les crabes des neiges du Pacifique font partie du phylum Arthropoda; sous-phylum Crustacea; classe Malacostraca; sous-classe Eucarida; ordre Decapoda; famille Majidae; et genre Chionoecetes. Les crabes appartenant à la famille Majidae, ou vrai crabe, se distinguent par leurs 4 paires de pattes locomotrices et 2 pinces à la différence de ceux de la famille Lithodidae, ou crabes royaux, qui n’ont seulement que 3 paires de pattes locomotrices. Seulement trois espèces de crabe Chionoecetes (C. bairdi, C. tanneri, and C. angulatus) se trouvent dans les eaux de la Colombie-Britannique.

Les crabes qui font partie du genre Chionoecetes ont en commun plusieurs caractéristiques morphologiques, physiologiques et reproductives. C. bairdi est connu pour la couleur orange-brun de sa partie dorsale, la couleur rose-crème de sa partie ventrale et une région branchiale plus ou moins plate (à la différence des crabes des neiges C. tanneri, et de C. angulatus qui ont une couleur orange vif et des lobes branchiaux élargis.

Photo : Plusieurs  C. bairdi (Photo: Ken Fong)

Photo : Plusieurs C. bairdi (Photo: Ken Fong)

On retrouve Chionoecetes bairdi dans l’est de l’océan Pacifique, de l’Oregon jusqu’au Golfe de l'Alaska, à des profondeurs allant de 0 à 400m. En Colombie Britannique, on les retrouve le long de la côte, dans les bras de mer côtiers ainsi qu’au large. C. bairdi est abondant du nord de la Colombie-Britannique, en passant par l’archipel des Aléoutiennes jusqu’à la mer d’Okhotsk et la mer du Japon. Ils font l’objet d’une pêche commerciale importante en Alaska où on les appelle communément crabe des neiges.

On dit que, dans les eaux alaskiennes, le crabe des neiges femelle passe par 12 stades larvaires avant d’atteindre une mue terminale après environ 5 ans. D’autre part, on estime que le crabe des neiges mâle passe jusqu’à 18 stades larvaires en environ 6 ans avant d’atteindre la maturité, bien que l’existence d'une mue terminale pour les mâles soit sujette à discussion parmi les chercheurs. La fréquence et la synchronisation de la mue dépendent probablement de la température de l'eau, de la disponibilité de nourriture et du comportement de reproduction.

On retrouve les mâles et femelles juvéniles aux mêmes profondeurs tout au long de l'année jusqu'au moment de la mue de puberté, lorsque leur répartition change. On a observé des crabes des neiges femelles pubescents dans les eaux côtières peu profondes tandis que les femelles matures multipares étaient généralement trouvées dans les eaux plus profondes. Pendant la croissance des crabes, les mâles résident sur une gamme bathymétrique beaucoup plus étendue que celle des femelles mais il semble que la majorité des crabes des neiges adultes (mâle et femelle) migrent à des profondeurs de plus de 100 m après avoir atteint la maturité et le premier accouplement. Chez les Chionoecetes, les sexes ont tendance à vivre à des profondeurs distinctes, sauf pendant la période de reproduction. Les raisons pour cette ségrégation ne sont pas évidentes mais pourraient être le résultat de la concurrence intraspécifique car il y a un dimorphisme sexuel marqué.

On trouve souvent les adultes enterrés dans les substrats de boue et de sable, un comportement commun à plusieurs espèces de crabe qui habitent les substrats meubles. Les femelles sont actives la nuit et restent enterrées dans le substrat pendant le jour, probablement comme défense contre les prédateurs. On pense que les juvéniles des deux sexes et les mâles s’enterrent, mais sans savoir dans quelle mesure.

Il y a au moins trois agents pathogènes principaux identifiés dans les crabes Chionoecetes. La maladie du crabe amer (MCA) est causée par un dinoflagellé parasite (Hematodinium spp.) dans la hémolymphe qui engendre une maladie débilitante causant la mort de l’hôte. La maladie donne aussi un goût amer à la chair de crabe, la rendant ainsi inutilisable. Le syndrome de nattage noir est une infection fongueuse incrustante provoquée par l’ascomycète Trichomaris invadens. Le fongus forme une masse épaisse, ressemblant le goudron, sur les individus infectés de laquelle le nom est dérivé, mais pénètrent aussi la cuticule et divers tissus plus profonds et peut empêcher la mue et par la suite causer la mort de l’espèce hôte. On sait que les prédateurs némertiens des oeufs causent la perte d'oeuf chez les espèces du crabe royale et du crabe des neiges.

Programme d’évaluation du C. bairdi

Photo : C. bairdi, femelle et mâle (Photo : Ken Fong)

Photo : C. bairdi, femelle et mâle (Photo : Ken Fong)

En 2001, le Comité d'examen des évaluations scientifiques du Pacifique (CEESP) a accepté un examen de phase 0 de la biologie du C. bairdi. L’étude a identifié plusieurs besoins d’information de base requis pour soutenir le développement durable d'une pêche au C. bairdi en C.-B., d’une manière prudente. Ceux-ci incluent la distribution des stocks, la taille de la population et les caractéristiques du cycle biologique.

Le Ministère des Pêches et des Océans, en collaboration avec la Première Nation de Wuikinuxv, a effectué une évaluation de phase 1 des populations C. bairdi dans le bras de mer Rivers et dans certaines parties du détroit Fitz Hugh situé dans la région centrale de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique. Plusieurs relevés systématiques au casier et au chalut ont été réalisés entre 2004 et 2005.

Il ne semble pas y avoir suffisamment de crabes de taille commerciale pour rendre cette pêche économiquement viable bien que l'information disponible n’est pas suffisante pour supporter des déclarations généralisées concernant la composition du stock de crabe des neiges du Pacifique dans les secteurs autres que le bras de mer Rivers.

Publications sur le crabe

Une liste de publications sélectionnées du programme crabe se trouve ci-dessous.

Publications sur le C. tanneri

Publications sur le C. bairdi