Spotted Wolffish

Anarhichas minor

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Spotted Wolffish (Anarhichas minor) is a large marine fish from a family that was given the name “Wolffish” because of their powerful canine-like teeth. It is one of three wolffish species found in the Northwest Atlantic Ocean. Its head is large (relative to the body) with a large mouth and rounded snout, small eyes and a long, stout body with large pectoral fins, but no pelvic fins. Its colour is variable from pale olive to deep brown and its upper body is speckled with irregular blackish-brownish spots. The Spotted Wolffish can grow to 180 cm in length.

Habitat

The Spotted Wolffish is widely distributed on both sides of the North Atlantic and in the Arctic. In the northeastern Atlantic, it occurs from Greenland and Iceland to the coast of Norway. In the northwest Atlantic, it is found from Davis Strait to the Gulf of Maine. In Canadian waters, the Spotted Wolffish occurs in Davis Strait, off Baffin Island, in the Labrador Sea, in the Gulf of St. Lawrence, off the east coast of Newfoundland, on the Grand Banks, and on the Scotian Shelf. The central part of its range is located on the Labrador Shelf and off northeastern Newfoundland. It prefers colder water temperatures between –1 and +3.5˚C and is usually found at depths between 200 and 750 m. Its diet consists mainly of shrimp, brittlestars (a form of statrfish), sea urchins, and crabs.

Map displaying the approximate distribution of the Spotted Wolffish (adapted from the 2012 Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) assessment on the Spotted Wolffish Anarhichas minor in Canada).

Figure 1. Map displaying the approximate distribution of the Spotted Wolffish (adapted from the 2012 Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) assessment on the Spotted Wolffish Anarhichas minor in Canada).

Map displaying the distribution of the Spotted Wolffish. The extent of the map is 40 to 70 degrees North latitude. Spotted Wolffish are found in the waters off of Nova Scotia, in the Gulf of St. Lawrence, around the island of Newfoundland, and up the Labrador coast to Baffin Island. The map is adapted from the 2012 Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) assessment on the Spotted Wolffish (Anarhichas minor) in Canada.

Threats

The main threat to Spotted Wolffish is bycatch in fisheries targeting other species. Climate change could also affect the distribution and abundance of Spotted Wolffish.

Further Information

The Spotted Wolffish is listed as Threatened under the Species at Risk Act. A Recovery Strategy was published for Spotted Wolffish in 2008, with the main goal being to increase population levels and distribution of Spotted Wolffish such that long-term viability of the population is achieved. Some means to accomplish this are: to improve the knowledge of Spotted Wolffish biology and life history, to identify, conserve and protect their habitat, to mitigate human impacts on their habitat and survival, to promote their growth and recovery, and to develop and deliver educational programs to promote their conservation and recovery.

For more information, visit the Species at Risk Public Registry at www.sararegistry.gc.ca.

Spotted Wolffish

Illustration of a redfish

Illustration of a Spotted Wolffish viewed from the side. The Spotted Wolffish is greyish brown in colour, with several dark spots on its body. It has prominent, canine-like teeth in the front of the jaws and an elongated body. It also has a large head, a rounded snout, and the fin along the back (the dorsal fin) extends from the head all the way to the tail fin. The fin on the bottom of the fish (the anal fin) extends from the middle of the belly all the way to the tail fin. The tail fin is small relative to the body.

Scientific Name: Anarhichas minor
SARA Status: Threatened (2003)
COSEWIC Status: Threatened (May 2001; November 2012)
Regions: Newfoundland and Labrador, Nunavut, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island

Did You Know?

Strong, crushing teeth and powerful jaws allow Spotted Wolffish to eat shrimp, brittlestars, sea urchins, crabs, and other hard-shelled bottom-dwelling organisms. Their canine-like teeth led to the name “wolffish”; although they are also often called “catfish”.

Related information

Loup tacheté

Anarhichas minor

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le loup tacheté (Anarhichas minor) est un grand poisson marin d'une famille nommée « loup de mer » en raison de ses puissantes dents saillantes qui ressemblent à des canines. Il s'agit de l'une des trois espèces de loup de mer que l'on trouve dans l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest. Il a une grosse tête (par rapport à son corps), une grande bouche et un museau arrondi et de petits yeux. Son corps allongé et robuste est doté de grandes nageoires pectorales, mais est dépourvu de nageoires pelviennes. Sa couleur varie d'olive clair à brun foncé et la partie supérieure de son corps est parsemée de taches irrégulières brunâtres-noirâtres. Le loup tacheté peut mesurer jusqu'à 180 cm de long.

Habitat

L'espèce est largement répandue dans tout l'Atlantique Nord et dans l'Arctique. Dans l'est de l'Atlantique Nord, elle est présente du Groenland et de l'Islande jusqu'à la côte de la Norvège. Dans l'ouest de l'Atlantique Nord, elle est présente du détroit de Davis jusqu'au golfe du Maine. Dans les eaux canadiennes, on trouve le loup tacheté dans le détroit de Davis, au large de l'île de Baffin, dans la mer du Labrador, dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, au large de la côte est de Terre-Neuve, sur les Grands Bancs de Terre-Neuve et sur le plateau néo-écossais. La partie centrale de son aire de répartition se situe sur le plateau continental du Labrador et au large du nord-est de Terre-Neuve. Il préfère les eaux plus froides (entre -1 et +3,5˚C) et se trouve souvent à des profondeurs entre 200 et 750 mètres. Le loup tacheté s'alimente essentiellement de crevettes, d'ophiures (un type d'étoile de mer), d'oursins et de crabes.

Carte de la répartition approximative du loup tacheté (adaptée de l'évaluation du Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada [COSEPAC] sur le loup tacheté Anarhichas minor< au Canada, 2012).

Figure 1. Carte de la répartition approximative du loup tacheté (adaptée de l'évaluation du Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada [COSEPAC] sur le loup tacheté Anarhichas minor au Canada, 2012).

Carte de la répartition du loup tacheté. La carte s’étend du 40e degré au 70e degré de latitude Nord. Le loup tacheté se trouve dans les eaux au large de la Nouvelle-Écosse, dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, autour de l’île de Terre-Neuve, le long de la côte du Labrador jusqu’à l’île de Baffin. Cette carte est adaptée de l’évaluation du Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) sur le loup tacheté [Anarhichas minor] au Canada, 2012.

Menaces

La principale menace qui pèse sur le loup tacheté est la prise accessoire dans les pêches visant d'autres espèces. Le changement climatique pourrait également avoir une incidence sur la répartition et l'abondance du loup tacheté.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Le loup tacheté est inscrit en tant qu'espèce menacée en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Un programme de rétablissement a été publié pour le loup tacheté en 2008 avec comme objectif principal d'augmenter les niveaux de population et la répartition de l'espèce, de sorte à atteindre la viabilité à long terme de la population. Parmi les moyens pour y parvenir, il y a l'amélioration des connaissances de la biologie et du cycle biologique du loup atlantique; des façons de déterminer, conserver et de protéger son habitat, ainsi que des façons d'atténuer les répercussions humaines sur son habitat et sa survie; des façons de promouvoir la croissance et le rétablissement de la population; et l'élaboration et le lancement de programmes éducatifs afin de promouvoir sa conservation et son rétablissement.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez le Registre public des espèces en péril à l'adresse www.registrelep.gc.ca.

Loup tacheté

Illustration of a redfish

Illustration d’un loup tacheté vu de profil. Le loup tacheté est un poisson de couleur brun grisâtre dont le corps est parsemé de nombreuses taches foncées. Ses dents proéminentes, situées à l’avant de ses mâchoires, ressemblent à des canines; il a le corps allongé, une grosse tête et un museau arrondi. Sa nageoire dorsale (sur le dos) s’étend de la tête jusqu’à sa nageoire caudale (qui fait suite à sa queue). Sa nageoire anale (sur son ventre) s’étend à partir du milieu de son ventre jusqu’à la nageoire caudale. Sa nageoire caudale est petite par rapport à son corps.

Nom scientifique : Anarhichas minor
Statut selon la LEP : Menacée (2003)
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Menacée (mai 2001; novembre 2012)
Régions: Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, Nunavut, Québec, Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse, Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Le saviez-vous?

Les mâchoires puissantes et les dents broyeuses du loup tacheté lui permettent de s'alimenter de crevettes, d'ophiures, d'oursins et de crabes ainsi que d'autres organismes benthiques à carapace. Ses dents qui ressemblent à des canines lui ont valu le nom de « loup de mer ».

Renseignements connexes