Westslope Cutthroat Trout (Alberta Population)

Oncorhynchus clarkii lewisi

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Westslope Cutthroat Trout (Oncorhynchus clarkii lewisi) is a subspecies of the Cutthroat Trout (Oncorhynchus clarkii). This subspecies has been further divided into two populations, the Alberta and British Columbia populations. The Westslope Cutthroat Trout is a member of the Salmonidae family and has the following characteristics:

  • Streamlined body shape;
  • Generally trout-like in appearance with small, irregularly shaped dark spots, which form an arc from the anal fin to the pectoral fin;
  • Series of small basibranchial teeth at the back of the throat;
  • Colouration ranges from silver to yellow green with red on the front and sides of the head;
  • Spawning fish often develop a bright red colouration over the entire body; and
  • Typically small in size at 150 to 230 mm (28 to 142 g); larger individuals rarely exceed 460 mm (1400 g).

Habitat

The Westslope Cutthroat Trout has a disjunct distribution on both sides of the Rocky Mountains. In the United States, it occurs in drainages in Montana, Idaho, Washington, Oregon and Wyoming. In Canada, it is restricted to the upper Kootenay, upper Columbia and South Thompson drainages in British Columbia. The native Alberta population occurs in the Bow and Oldman drainages of the South Saskatchewan River. Although it has been recorded in the Milk River (upper Missouri River drainage), its current status there is unknown. The Westslope Cutthroat Trout has also been widely introduced in many naturally fishless lakes and rivers.

Westslope Cutthroat Trout are found in a wide range of habitats but do best in cold, clean, moving water with various forms of cover such as undercut banks, pool-riffle habitat and riparian vegetation. Spawning generally takes place in small natal streams in redds on bottoms of fine gravel. It occurs between May and August (depending on the location) at water depths of 20 to 50 cm and at 6° to 17ºC. Eggs incubate for six to seven weeks and once hatched, alevins remain in the gravel until their yolk sacs are absorbed. Young-of-the-year fry disperse to shallow riffles or backwater habitat. Juveniles may reside in natal streams from one to four years. Following spawning, older fish may or may not need to move to summer habitat for feeding. In late summer and early fall, fish migrate to suitable overwintering habitat.

Threats

The greatest threats to the Westslope Cutthroat Trout in Alberta include habitat loss, overharvesting and the introduction of non-native species. Habitat degradation and loss due to timber extraction, mining and hydroelectric developments have been directly responsible for loss of habitat and the decline of several populations. In addition, the resulting network of roads impacts remote, small streams and leads to greater off-road vehicular traffic. This further degrades sensitive habitat and increases angling pressure on this already popular sportfish. Stocking of non-native species may lead to displacement, replacement and/or hybridization of native Westslope Cutthroat Trout populations.

Further Information

A recovery strategy has been developed in collaboration with the recovery team, which includes representatives from Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Province of Alberta (Alberta Environment and Sustainable Resource Development, Public Lands, Fish and Wildlife and Alberta Tourism and Recreation), Environmental Non-Governmental Organization Coalition, Spray Lake Sawmills, TransAlta Corporation, Trout Unlimited Canada, University of Calgary and Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers. The Government of Alberta has completed the  Alberta Westslope Cutthroat Trout Recovery Plan 2012-2017 . The federal Minister of the Fisheries and Oceans and Minister of the Environment, as competent ministers under the Species at Risk Act, have adopted the Alberta recovery plan as part of the federal recovery strategy.

Several recovery measures have already been implemented. For example, the genetic integrity of Westslope Cutthroat Trout in the Cascade River watershed, Banff National Park, is being restored following their hybridization with Rainbow Trout. A multi-year project has begun to remove the Rainbow Trout and hybrids. A second location in Banff National Park is also be being restored. The creek contains exclusively Brook Trout, however, their removal and replacement with pure Westslope Cutthroat Trout will secure an additional population of Westslope Cutthroat Trout in Banff National Park.

For further information, visit the SARA Registry.

Westslope Cutthroat Trout (Alberta Population)

Image of a male Westslope Cutthroat Trout (© 	Joseph R. Tomelleri)

Macrhybopsis storeriana
© J. R. Tomelleri

Scientific name: Oncorhynchus clarkii lewisi
SARA Status: Threatened
COSEWIC Status: Threatened
Region: Alberta

Historical distribution of the Western Cutthroat Trout (Alberta population) as described in the following paragraphs

Map showing the distribution of the Western Cutthroat Trout (Alberta population).

Did You Know?

Cutthroat Trout generally tend to have a larger mouth than the Rainbow Trout (O. mykiss) with a longer maxillary. They are generally trout-like in appearance with small, irregularly shaped dark spots, which form an arc from the anal fin to the pectoral fin.

The Westslope Cutthroat Trout (Alberta Population)

The Westslope Cutthroat Trout (Alberta Population)

Related information

Truite fardée versant de l’ouest (population de l’Alberta)

Oncorhynchus clarkii lewisi

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

La truite fardée versant de l’ouest (Oncorhynchus clarkii lewisi) est une sous-espèce de la truite fardée (Oncorhynchus clarkii). Cette sous-espèce a été encore divisée en deux populations, soit celle de l’Alberta et celle de la Colombie-Britannique. La truite fardée versant de l’ouest est un membre de la famille des salmonidés et elle présente les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • Corps profile;
  • Apparence rappelant généralement celle de la truite avec petites taches foncées de forme irrégulière qui décrivent un arc depuis la nageoire anale jusqu’à la nageoire pectorale;
  • Série de petites dents brasibranchiales à l’arrière de la gorge;
  • La coloration varie de l’argent au vert jaunâtre avec du rouge sur le devant et les côtés de la tête;
  • Les poissons frayants développent souvent une coloration rouge vif sur tout le corps; et
  • Taille habituellement petite de 150 à 230 mm (28 à 142 g); les exemplaires plus gros dépassent rarement 460 mm (1,400 g).

Habitat

La truite fardée versant de l’ouest fait l’objet d’une répartition discontinue sur les deux flancs des Rocheuses. Aux États-Unis, elle se trouve dans les bassins de drainage du Montana, de l’Idaho, de Washington, de l’Oregon et du Wyoming. Au Canada, elle est limitée aux bassins de drainage de la rivière Kootenay supérieure, du fleuve Columbia supérieur et de la rivière South Thompson en Colombie-Britannique. La population indigène de l’Alberta se trouve dans les bassins de drainage Bow et Oldman de la rivière South Saskatchewan. Bien qu’on ait enregistré sa présence dans la rivière Milk (bassin de drainage de la rivière Missouri supérieure), sa situation actuelle à cet endroit est inconnue. Par ailleurs, ce poisson a été introduit à grande échelle dans de nombreux lacs et rivières naturellement sans poissons.

On trouve la truite fardée versant de l’ouest dans un vaste éventail d’habitats, mais celle-ci préfère l’eau vive froide et propre offrant diverses formes d’abris tels que des rives surplombantes, des fosses et radiers et de la végétation riveraine. Le frai a généralement lieu dans les petites frayères natales des nids de frai sur fonds de gravier fin, entre mai et août (selon l’emplacement) à des profondeurs de 20 à 50 cm et des températures de 6° à 17ºC. Les oeufs couvent pendant six à sept semaines et une fois éclos, les alevins restent dans le gravier jusqu’à ce que leur vitellus soit absorbé. Les jeunes de l’année se dispersent vers les radiers peu profonds ou les bras abandonnés. Les juvéniles peuvent habiter les frayères natales pendant un à quatre ans. Après le frai, les poissons plus âgés peuvent devoir se déplacer ou non vers un habitat estival pour se nourrir.

Menaces

Les plus grandes menaces pour ce poisson en Alberta comprennent la perte d’habitat, la récolte excessive et l’introduction d’espèces étrangères. La dégradation et la perte d’habitat attribuables à la récolte de bois, à l’exploitation minière et aux aménagements hydroélectriques sont directement responsables du déclin de plusieurs populations. En outre, le réseau routier qui en résulte a une incidence sur les petits cours d’eau éloignés et entraîne une plus grande circulation de véhicules tout terrain. Ceci dégrade davantage l’habitat sensible et augmente la pression qu’exerce la pêche à la ligne sur ce poisson-gibier déjà très prisé. L’ensemencement d’espèces étrangères peut donner lieu au déplacement, au remplacement ou à l’hybridation des populations indigènes.

Complément d’information

Une stratégie de rétablissement a été faite en collaboration avec l'équipe de rétablissement, qui comprend des représentants de Pêches et Océans Canada et de l'Alberta (les divisions Public Lands et Fish and Wildlife du ministère de l'Environnement et du Développement durable des ressources de l'Alberta et l'Alberta Tourism and Recreation), et des représentants d'un consortium de groupes non gouvernementaux de protection de l'environnement, des entreprises Spray Lake Sawmills, TransAlta Corporation, Trout Unlimited Canada, de l'Université de Calgary et de l'Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers. Le gouvernement de l'Alberta a rédigé la version définitive du  Plan de rétablissement de la truite fardée versant de l'ouest en Alberta : 2012-2017. Le ministre fédéral des Pêches et des Océans et le ministre de l'Environnement, en tant que ministres compétents aux termes de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, ont adopté le plan de rétablissement de l'Alberta au programme de rétablissement fédéral.

Plusieurs mesures de rétablissement ont déjà été mises en œuvre. Par exemple, l'intégrité génétique de la truite fardée versant de l'ouest dans le bassin hydrographique de la rivière Cascade, dans Parc national du Canada Banff est en cours de rétablissement à la suite de son hybridation avec la truite arc-en-ciel. Un projet pluriannuel a été entrepris pour éliminer la truite arc-en-ciel et les hybrides.  Un second emplacement dans le Parc national du Canada Banff est en voie d'être remis dans son état d'origine. Le ruisseau abrite exclusivement l'omble de fontaine, cependant l'élimination de cette espèce et son remplacement par la truite fardée versant de l'ouest protégera une autre population de truites fardées versant de l'ouest dans le Parc national du Canada Banff.

Pour un complément d’information, consultez le site Web du Registre de la LEP.

Truite fardée versant de l’ouest (population de l’Alberta)

Truite fardée versant de l'ouest (population de l'Alberta) mâle (© J. R. Tomelleri)

Macrhybopsis storeriana
© J. R. Tomelleri

Nom scientifique : Oncorhynchus clarkii lewisi
Statut selon la LEP : Menacée
Statut selon COSEPAC : Menacée
Région : Alberta

Répartition historique de la truite fardée versant de l'ouest (population de l'Alberta) telle que décrite dans les paragraphes suivants

Répartition historique de la truite fardée versant de l'ouest (population de l'Alberta).

Le saviez-vous?

La truite fardée a généralement une bouche plus grande que celle de la truite arc-en-ciel (O. mykiss), et un os maxillaire plus long. L’apparence rappelant généralement celle de la truite avec petites taches foncées de forme irrégulière qui décrivent un arc depuis la nageoire anale jusqu’à la nageoire pectorale.

La truite fardée versant de l'ouest (population de l'Alberta)

La truite fardée versant de l'ouest (population de l'Alberta)

Renseignements connexes