Shortnose Sturgeon

Acipenser brevirostrum

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The shortnose sturgeon (Acipenser brevirostrum) is an ancient and long lived species that occurs in only 1 river system in Canada - the Saint John River in New Brunswick. Its long cylindrical shape is said to be "armoured" with 5 rows of boney plates or "scutes". It has a thick leathery skin that is olive green to brown above and white below. A darker mottled chain pattern runs along the top of the head area. Shortnose sturgeon are very similar in appearance to the Atlantic sturgeon and since they inhabit the same areas, are often misidentified. Shortnose sturgeon have been recorded at lengths of over a meter and at ages in excess of 60 years.

Distribution and Population

There are 19 population segments of shortnose sturgeon along the east coast of North America from New Brunswick south to Florida. Its only known occurrence in Canada is in the Saint John River system, NB. The Saint John River shortnose sturgeon is the most northerly population of the species and evidence suggests that they may also be the most genetically distinct.

A population estimated at 18,000 adults was determined during 1973-1977 for the St. John River. Recent work in the Kennebecassis River (location of an overwintering ground), a tributary of the Saint John River, produced an estimate of 2,000 adults. However, there is no current estimate for the complete lower estuary of the Saint John River. Aboriginal knowledge suggests that there has been a decline since the Mactaquac Dam was constructed in 1967.

Habitat

The shortnose sturgeon spawns in fast flowing water over a boulder and gravel bottom. They generally over winter in the lower reaches of the Saint John River and in the spring migrate upstream as far as the Mactaquac Dam to spawn. Little is known about the juveniles, but the mean size of juveniles decreases upriver suggesting younger fish utilize more upstream habitats.

Biology

Shortnose sturgeon appear to be a social fish, exhibiting schooling (or shoaling) behaviour particularly in areas where there are strong currents. Feeding along the bottom, their preferred diet is small crustaceans and insects in particular, soft shelled clams.

Shortnose sturgeon males reach maturity at roughly 11 years of age and spawn every second year. Females mature later at approximately 13 years of age and spawn every 3 to 5 years, laying up to 200,000 eggs. The eggs sink and attach themselves to the rocks and gravel on the bottom of the river. After hatching, the larvae drift downstream.

Juvenile sturgeon usually migrate upstream in the summer and as the temperature in the river drops in the fall, move back downstream. It is thought that survival at the juvenile stage is critical to population abundance. Evidence suggests that shortnose sturgeon and Atlantic sturgeon compete for food and habitat.

Threats

This is an anadromous species restricted to a single river system in Canada where spawning fish require unhindered access to freshwater spawning sites; but the population may have been divided since 1967 by the Mactaquac Dam. These large, slow growing, late maturing fish are conservation dependent. There is thought to be some risk to the species through mortality from hydroelectric facilities, by-catch in commercial fisheries, and poaching. However, there is no immediate threat that would lead to elimination of the population in a very short period of time.

Saint John River shortnose sturgeon are susceptible to bycatch in commercial gaspereau and shad fisheries, and reportedly in the recreational angling fishery for smallmouth bass. Although they are required to be released unharmed in these fisheries, shortnose sturgeon are particularly vulnerable during their spawning run. Since a gaspereau fishery happens at the same time as the sturgeon are running, any catch and release from this fishery may interrupt or curtail shortnose sturgeon spawning.

Pollution from pulp mills, as well as farming and forestry activities along the Saint John River could also have negative consequences for this population.

Protection

Shortnose sturgeon currently receive protection through the federal Fisheries Act which prohibits the killing of fish by any means other than fishing and which provides protection against fish habitat alteration, disruption or destruction and pollution. Minimum size limits and gear restrictions in recreational sturgeon fisheries reduce the likelihood of this species being captured. The commercial fishery is managed through The Maritime Provinces Fishery Regulations (SOR /2001-452 s.28) made pursuant to the Fisheries Act. These regulations provide for gear and minimum fish size restrictions as well as seasonal closures. The recreational fishery is regulated under the New Brunswick Fish and Wildlife Act.

Shortnose sturgeon has been listed as Endangered by the Endangered Species Act in the United States since March 1967. It has had International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Red Book Status since 1996, when it was assessed as Vulnerable, and is listed on Appendix 1 of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES).

Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry Profile.

Shortnose Sturgeon

Shortnose Sturgeon

Credit: USFWS

Scientific name: Acipenser brevirostrum
Taxonomy: Fishes (marine & anadromous)
SARA Status: Special Concern
COSEWIC Status: Special Concern (May 2005)
Region: New Brunswick

Shortnose Sturgeon

Credit: Ellen Edmondson, New York Department of Conservation

Related information

Esturgeon à museau court

Acipenser brevirostrum

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

L’esturgeon à museau court (Acipenser brevirostrum) est un poisson ancien d’une grande longévité qui se trouve dans un seul réseau hydrographique au Canada – la rivière Saint-Jean, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Son corps allongé et cylindrique est recouvert d’une cuirasse composée de cinq rangées de plaques osseuses ou scutelles. La peau, épaisse et résistante, va du vert olive au brun sur le dos, alors que le ventre est blanc. Un motif tacheté foncé traverse la face dorsale de la tête. L’esturgeon à museau court ressemble beaucoup à l’esturgeon noir et, comme les deux espèces habitent les mêmes eaux, elles sont souvent confondues. L’esturgeon à museau court peut atteindre plus d’un mètre de longueur et 60 ans.

Répartition et population

Il existe 19 segments de population d’esturgeons à museau court le long de la côte Est de l’Amérique du Nord, du Nouveau-Brunswick à la Floride. La population de la rivière Saint-Jean, au Nouveau-Brunswick, représente la seule occurrence de l’esturgeon à museau court au Canada et la population la plus septentrionale de l’espèce. En outre, les données suggèrent qu’elle est la plus distincte sur le plan génétique.

Une population estimée à 18 000 adultes a été identifiée entre 1973 et 1977 dans la rivière Saint-Jean. On a estimé à 2 000 adultes l’effectif observé lors de travaux récents dans la rivière Kennebecassis, un affluent de la rivière Saint-Jean où se trouve un site d’hivernage. Cependant, aucune estimation récente ne couvre l’ensemble du bas-estuaire de la Saint-Jean. Le savoir autochtone permet de penser que la population connaît un déclin depuis l’érection du barrage Mactaquac en 1967.

Habitat

L’esturgeon à museau court fraye dans les eaux vives sur fond de rochers et de gravier. Les adultes passent généralement l’hiver dans le cours inférieur de la rivière Saint-Jean et, au printemps, migrent aussi loin en amont que le barrage Mactaquac pour frayer. Les juvéniles sont mal connus; leur taille moyenne décroît vers l’amont, ce qui porte à croire que les jeunes individus fréquentent des habitats situés plus en amont que ceux des adultes.

Biologie

Les esturgeons à museau court semblent être des poissons sociaux. Ils se rassemblent en bancs, en particulier aux endroits où le courant est fort. Ce sont des poissons qui se nourrissent sur le fond, principalement de petits crustacés et d’insectes, ainsi que de myes.

Les mâles atteignent la maturité sexuelle à 11 ans et frayent aux deux ans. Les femelles atteignent la maturité plus tard, à 13 ans environ, et frayent une fois tous les trois à cinq ans. Elles produisent jusqu’à 200 000 oeufs. Les œufs s’enfoncent et adhèrent aux roches et au gravier tapissant le fond. À l’éclosion, les larves dérivent vers l’aval.

Les juvéniles se déplacent généralement vers l’amont en été et vers l’aval en automne, à mesure que la température de l’eau baisse. On croit que les effectifs de la population dépendent de la survie des juvéniles. Il est possible que les esturgeons à museau court et les esturgeons noirs entrent en compétition pour la nourriture et l’habitat.

Menaces

Il s’agit d’une espèce anadrome limitée à un seul réseau hydrographique au Canada où le poisson frayant nécessite un accès libre aux frayères d’eau douce. Cependant, la population pourrait avoir été divisée depuis 1967 en raison du barrage de Mactaquac. Ce grand poisson à croissance lente et à maturation tardive est dépendant de mesures de conservation. Il existe certains risques de mortalité attribuables aux installations hydroélectriques, aux prises accessoires de pêches commerciales ainsi qu’au braconnage. Toutefois, il n’existe aucune menace immédiate pouvant mener à l’élimination de la population dans une très courte période de temps.

L’esturgeon à museau court de la rivière Saint-Jean est vulnérable à la prise accessoire dans le cadre des pêches commerciales du gaspareau et de l’alose, et supposément de la pêche récréative de l’achigan à petite bouche à la ligne. Bien qu’il doit être relâché indemne, il est hautement vulnérable à la capture lors de la migration de fraie. Étant donné qu’elle coïncide à la saison de pêche du gaspareau, la capture avec remise à l’eau peut interrompre la fraye et provoquer l’abandon de la migration.

La pollution attribuable aux activités des fabriques de pâtes et papiers, de l’agriculture et de la foresterie le long de la rivière Saint-Jean pourrait aussi avoir des conséquences désastreuses pour cette population.

Protection

L’esturgeon à museau court reçoit une protection par l’intermédiaire de la Loi sur les pêches du gouvernement du Canada, qui interdit de causer la mort du poisson par des moyens autres que la pêche, ainsi que de causer la détérioration, la destruction, la perturbation ou la pollution de l’habitat du poisson. L’imposition de limites de taille minimale et de restrictions sur les engins pour la pêche récréative de l’esturgeon permet de réduire la possibilité de capture de l’espèce. La pêche commerciale est gérée par le biais du Règlement de pêche des provinces maritimes (DORS/2001-452, art. 28), pris en application de la Loi sur les pêches. Le Règlement prescrit des restrictions sur les engins et la taille minimale des prises, ainsi que des fermetures saisonnières. La pêche récréative est gérée par le biais de la Loi sur le poisson et la faune du Nouveau-Brunswick.

L’esturgeon à museau court est désigné en péril (« Endangered ») en vertu de l’Endangered Species Act des États-Unis depuis mars 1967. Il est inscrit sur la liste rouge de l’Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN) depuis 1996, où il a le statut d’espèce vulnérable, et il est inscrit à l’annexe 1 de la Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d’extinction (CITES).

Profil du Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Esturgeon à museau court

Esturgeon à museau court

Crédit: USFWS

Nom scientifique : Acipenser brevirostrum
Taxonomie : Poisson (marin)
Statut d’après la LEP : espèce préoccupante
Statut d'après la COSEPAC : espèce préoccupante (mai 2005)
Région : Nouveau-Brunswick

Esturgeon à museau court

Crédit: Ellen Edmondson, New York Department of Conservation

Renseignements connexes