Shortnose Cisco

Coregonus reighardi

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Shortnose Cisco (Coregonus reighardi) is one of 10 cisco species found in Canada. It is a member of the Salmonidae family and has the following characteristics:

  • Short head;
  • Small eye;
  • Small snout with distinctly dark pigmentation;
  • Small terminal mouth with lower jaw included in the upper jaw;
  • Gill raker count of 32 to 42;
  • Silvery in appearance;
  • Maximum weight 420 g; and
  • Total average length of 265 mm.

Habitat

Historically found in Lake Huron, Lake Michigan and Lake Ontario, it is believed that the Shortnose Cisco may now be extinct. It has not been recorded in Lake Ontario since 1964, Lake Michigan since 1984 nor Lake Huron since 1985.

Very little is known about the habitat preferences and life history of the Shortnose Cisco. It was a deepwater fish, considered one of the ‘chub’ species, which lived in clear, cold-water environments all year long. It has been collected in water depths ranging from 22 to 110 m. The Shortnose Cisco was the only known spring-spawning cisco in the lakes where it occurred and likely migrated to deep water for spawning. There is some evidence that fall spawning may have also taken place. Sexual maturity was reached at two to three years. The maximum age was eleven years for females and nine years for males. It was prey for Burbot (Lota lota) and deepwater forms of Lake Trout (Salvelinus namaycush).

Threats

Overfishing, ecosystem changes and interbreeding (hybridization) with other ciscoes have all been implicated in the decline of the Shortnose Cisco. Commercial overfishing, starting in the late 1800s, had the most immediate and profound effect on the Great Lakes cisco populations, leading to the collapse of the chub fishery by the 1930s. The introduction of non-native species into the Great Lakes may have furthered the decline of the Shortnose Cisco, along with other native fish stocks. In particular, competition and/or predation from Sea Lamprey (Petromyzon marinus), Alewife (Alosa pseudoharengus), Rainbow Smelt (Osmerus mordax) and more recently Zebra and Quagga mussels (Dreissena spp.) have either contributed to the decline of the Shortnose Cisco, or have impeded its re-establishment. Hybridization between the Shortnose Cisco and other deepwater cisco species is also suggested as hastening its decline.

Further Information

For further information, visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry Profile.

Shortnose Cisco

shortnose cisco

© Illustration Paul Vescei

Scientific name: Coregonus reighardi
SARA Status: Endangered
COSEWIC Status:
Endangered
Region: Central & Arctic

map

Distribution of Shortnose Cisco in Canada.

Did You Know?

The Shortnose Cisco was endemic to lakes Huron, Michigan and Ontario. However, it has not been recorded since 1964 in Lake Ontario, 1982 in Lake Michigan and 1985 in Lake Huron. It will be considered extinct only after 50 years has passed since it was last recorded.

Shortnose Cisco

Shortnose Cisco

Related information

Cisco à museau court

Coregonus reighardi

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le cisco à museau court (Coregonus reighardi) était une des 10 espèces de ciscos trouvées au Canada. C’était un membre de la famille des salmonidés qui présentaient les caractéristiques suivantes:

  • petite tête;
  • petits yeux;
  • petit museau avec pigmentation nettement foncée;
  • petite bouche terminale avec insertion de la mâchoire inférieure dans la mâchoire supérieure;
  • nombre de branchiospines variant de 32 à 42;
  • aspect argenté;
  • poids maximum et longueur totale de 420 g et 265 mm, respectivement.

Habitat

Autrefois présent dans les lacs Huron, Michigan et Ontario, on présume que le cisco à museau court pourrait avoir disparu du pays. Aucune observation n’a été déclarée dans le lac Ontario depuis 1964, dans le lac Michigan depuis 1984 et dans le lac Huron depuis 1985.

On en sait très peu sur les préférences en matière d’habitat et le cycle biologique du cisco à museau court. C’était un poisson d’eau profonde, faisant partie du groupe des corégones, qui occupait des eaux claires et froides toute l’année. On l’a recueilli dans des eaux d’une profondeur variant de 22 à 110 m. Le cisco à museau court était la seule espèce connue de cisco frayant au printemps dans les lacs où il se trouvait et il migrait probablement vers des eaux profondes pour frayer. Certaines preuves permettent de penser que le frai avait également lieu à l’automne. Il atteignait la maturité sexuelle à deux ou trois ans. L’âge maximum était de 11 ans chez les femelles et de neuf ans chez les mâles. Il était une proie pour la lotte (Lota lota) et les formes d’eau profonde du touladi (Salvelinus namaycush).

Menaces

La surpêche, les changements survenus dans l’écosystème et les croisements (hybridation) avec d’autres ciscos ont joué un rôle dans le déclin du cisco à museau court. La surpêche commerciale, à partir de la fin des années 1800, a eu l’effet le plus immédiat et profond sur les populations de ciscos des Grands Lacs, ce qui a conduit à la fermeture des pêches de ce type d’espèce dès les années 1930. L’introduction d’espèces étrangères dans les Grands Lacs pourrait avoir accéléré le déclin du cisco à museau court, et d’autres stocks d’espèces indigènes. Plus précisément, la concurrence et la prédation exercées par la lamproie marine (Petromyzon marinus), le gaspareau (Alosa pseudoharengus), l’éperlan (Osmerus mordax) et plus récemment par les moules zébrée et quagga (espèces Dreissena) ont soit contribué au déclin du cisco à museau court ou ont nui à son rétablissement. L’hybridation entre le cisco à museau court et d’autres espèces de ciscos de profondeur a sans doute contribué à accélérer son déclin.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour un complément d'information, consultez le Profil du Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Cisco à museau court

cisco à museau court

© Illustration Paul Vescei

Nom scientifique : Coregonus reighardi
Statut selon la LEP : En voie de disparition
Statut selon le COSEPAC : En voie de disparition
Région : Centre et Arctique

carte

Répartition du cisco à museau court.

Le saviez-vous?

Le cisco à museau court était endémique des lacs Huron, Michigan et Ontario. Cependant, comme il n’a pas été observé depuis 1964 dans le lac Ontario, depuis 1982 dans le lac Michigan et depuis 1985 dans le lac Huron. Il sera considéré comme étant disparu seulement lorsque 50 ans se seront écoulés depuis la dernière observation consignée.

Le cisco à museau court

Le cisco à museau court

Renseignements connexes