Eastern Sand Darter (Quebec populations)

Ammocrypta pellucida

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The eastern sand darter is a translucent fish of a yellowish or silvery shade with a series of 10-14 dark lateral spots. It is partially covered with scales. Adults range in length from 45 to 70 mm.

In Quebec, the number of areas where eastern sand darters are found, as well as the range, extent and quality of their habitats are declining. The species still occurs in about ten sites.

Habitat

The global range of eastern sand darters is limited to North America. Their main range is located in eastern central United States to the southernmost part of Ontario, while a smaller area is mainly located in Quebec and includes a few tributaries in eastern Ontario and in Vermont and New York.

In Quebec, eastern sand darter populations occur in the St. Lawrence River and its tributaries, from Lac des Deux Montagnes to the west to Leclerville, downstream from Lac Saint-Pierre, to the east.

Eastern sand darters are insectivorous with a well developed burrowing behaviour, and feed mainly on midge and black fly larvae. They are usually found in sandy areas downstream from meanders in rivers and streams and on the sandy shoals of lakes.

Threats

The eastern sand darter cannot tolerate pollution and has very specific requirements in terms of habitat. Thus, it is very vulnerable to any activity that could alter its habitat. These characteristics make the species a very good indicator of the quality of watercourses it inhabits.

In Quebec, the survival and recovery of the eastern sand darter are primarily threatened by the disruption and deterioration of aquatic habitats caused by intensive agricultural activities. Other human activities such as commercial or recreational navigation, dam management, biting fly control, forestry activities, vacationing, stream channelization, fishing and industrial activities can negatively impact eastern sand darters or their habitat.

Further Information

Since June 2003, the eastern sand darter is protected under the Species at Risk Act, which prohibits harming, killing or capturing individuals.

A recovery strategy has been developed in collaboration with the recovery team (Équipe de rétablissement des cyprinidés et petits percidés), which includes representatives from Fisheries and Oceans Canada, the Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune du Québec, watershed organizations and Hydro-Québec.

Several recovery measures have already been implemented. For example, ichthyologic surveys have confirmed the use of some sites by the eastern sand darter, have helped discover new watercourses where they occur, and have improved the knowledge about habitat characteristics.

Various stewardship projects have also been implemented, notably to restore and protect certain habitats used by the species and to raise public awareness for people who use these areas. To inform fishermen and shoreline residents of the importance of protecting the eastern sand darter and its habitat, an awareness-raising information sheet was developed by Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Species at Risk Public Registry Profile

Eastern Sand Darter (Quebec populations)

Eastern sand darter (Quebec populations)

Eastern Sand Darter in its habitat
Al Dextrase (Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry)

Scientific Name: Ammocrypta pellucida
SARA Status: Threatened
COSEWIC Status: Threatened
Region: Quebec

Documented observations of eastern sand darters in Quebec

Documented observations of eastern sand darters in Quebec
Gilles Fortin, DFO

Did You Know?

Since the publication of the recovery strategy in 2014, sand darters were captured in new rivers in Quebec : Champlain River, Nicolet River, Nicolet Sud-Ouest River, Rivière du Loup, and Noire River, a tributary of the Yamaska River.

Related information

Dard de sable (populations du Québec)

Ammocrypta pellucida

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le dard de sable est un poisson translucide à la teinte jaunâtre ou argentée, orné d’une série de 10 à 14 taches latérales foncées et partiellement recouvert d’écailles. Adulte, il mesure habituellement entre 45 et 70 mm.

Au Québec, le nombre d’endroits fréquentés par le dard de sable ainsi que la superficie, l’étendue et la qualité des habitats qu’il utilise sont en déclin. Une dizaine de sites seraient encore occupés par l’espèce.

Habitat

La répartition mondiale du dard de sable est limitée à l’Amérique du Nord. L’aire de répartition principale se trouve dans le centre-est des États-Unis, jusqu’à l’extrême sud de l’Ontario, alors qu’une aire plus petite est principalement localisée au Québec et inclut quelques tributaires situés dans l’est de l’Ontario et dans les États du Vermont et de New York.

Au Québec, des populations de dards de sable sont présentes dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent et ses affluents, entre le lac des Deux-Montagnes à l’ouest et Leclerville, en aval du lac Saint-Pierre, à l’est.

Le dard de sable est un poisson insectivore au comportement fouisseur bien développé, qui s'alimente principalement de larves de moucherons et de mouches noires. Il fréquente habituellement les aires sablonneuses en aval des méandres des ruisseaux et des rivières, ainsi que les hauts-fonds sablonneux des lacs.

Menaces

Le dard de sable ne tolère pas la pollution et a des exigences très spécifiques en matière d’habitat. Il est donc très vulnérable à toute activité qui pourrait modifier son habitat. Ces caractéristiques en font un très bon indicateur de la qualité des cours d’eau qu’il fréquente.

Au Québec, la survie et le rétablissement du dard de sable sont menacés principalement par la perturbation et la détérioration des milieux aquatiques causées par les activités agricoles intensives. D’autres activités humaines telles que la navigation commerciale ou de plaisance, l’opération de barrages, le contrôle des insectes piqueurs, les activités forestières, la villégiature, la canalisation des cours d’eau, la pêche ainsi que les activités industrielles peuvent affecter négativement le dard de sable ou son habitat.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Depuis juin 2003, le dard de sable est protégé par la Loi sur les espèces en péril, laquelle interdit de nuire aux individus de l’espèce, de les tuer ou de les capturer.

Un programme de rétablissement a été développé en collaboration avec l’Équipe de rétablissement des cyprinidés et petits percidés, qui inclut des représentants de Pêches et Océans Canada, du ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune du Québec, d’organismes de bassins versants et d’Hydro-Québec.

Plusieurs mesures de rétablissement ont déjà été mises en place. Par exemple, des inventaires ichtyologiques ont permis de confirmer l’utilisation de certains sites par le dard de sable, de découvrir de nouveaux cours d’eau qu’il fréquente, et d’approfondir les connaissances sur les caractéristiques de son habitat.

Différents projets touchant l’intendance ont été aussi réalisés, notamment en vue de restaurer et de protéger certains habitats fréquentés par l’espèce et de sensibiliser les utilisateurs de ces milieux. Afin d’informer les pêcheurs et les riverains sur l’importance de protéger le dard de sable et son habitat, une fiche de sensibilisation a été développée par Pêches et Océans Canada.

Profil du Registre public des espèces en péril

Dard de sable (populations du Québec)

dard de sable

Dard de sable dans son habitat
Al Dextrase (Ministère des Richesses naturelles et des Forêts de l'Ontario)

Nom scientifique : Ammocrypta pellucida
Statut selon la LEP : Menacée
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Menacée
Région : Québec

Présences confirmées du dard de sable au Québec

Présences confirmées du dard de sable au Québec
Gilles Fortin, MPO

Le saviez-vous?

Depuis la publication du programme de rétablissement en 2014, des dards de sable ont été capturés dans de nouvelles rivières au Québec, soit les rivières Champlain, Nicolet, Nicolet Sud-Ouest, du Loup et la rivière Noire, un tributaire de la rivière Yamaska.

Renseignements connexes