Roughhead Grenadier

Macrourus berglax

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

Roughhead Grenadier (Macrourus berglax) is one of only four Macrourus species in the world and the only one found in the North Atlantic. It belongs to the family Macrouridae, a family commonly referred to as “rattails”. It has the following characteristics:

  • Elongated body with a long, tapering, pointed tail;
  • Large, fairly broad head with ridges on top bearing strong, small spines;
  • A ridge (below each eye) extending from the snout tip to a lower corner of the gill cover;
  • Prominent, pointed snout, and a small barbel on its chin;
  • Body is ash grey in colour with a slightly darker chest, and anal fin has a narrow dark edge;
  • Can grow to 110 cm in length; and
  • Females have been aged up to at least 25 years.

Habitat

Roughhead Grenadier is found in the North Atlantic Ocean in temperate to arctic waters along the continental slope. In the eastern North Atlantic, this species is found from the Irish Atlantic Slope north to the Faroe Islands, Norwegian coast to Spitzbergen, and into the Barents Sea. In Canadian waters, Roughhead Grenadier has a continuous distribution and is most commonly found along the slope of the Labrador and Northeast Newfoundland Shelves, the northeastern slope of the Grand Bank, and off of the Flemish Cap. It occurs less commonly north to Baffin Bay and south to Georges Bank.

Roughhead Grenadier is a deep-sea fish that inhabits open water at depths of 400–1,200 m, and sometimes as deep as 2,740 m. It has a specialized swim bladder that prevents the leakage of oxygen through the bladder wall when under high pressure in deep water. This species is typically found at water temperatures of 2–5.4 °C, and rarely slightly below 0°C. Roughhead Grenadier is slow-growing, matures late in life, and produces few eggs relative to other cod-like fish. Eggs are fertilized externally during a spawning event (known as “batch” spawning) offshore, which may extend over an entire year. Females mature at 13–15 years of age and can live to 25 years of age. Males have a shorter lifespan.

Threats

Fishing is the principal threat to Roughhead Grenadier, which can be a significant bycatch in deepwater fisheries such as those targeting Greenland Halibut (Reinhardtius hippoglossoides). Directed fishing of Roughhead Grenadier has been under moratorium in North Atlantic Fisheries Organization Subareas 0, 2, and 3 since 1997.

Roughhead Grenadier populations are very susceptible to mortality caused by humans, because of their life-history characteristics (long lifespan, slow growth rate, late maturity, and low fecundity) that limit this species' recovery after a disturbance.

Further Information

For more information, visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry Profile.

Text Sources:

COSEWIC. 2007.  COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Roughhead Grenadier Macrourus berglax in Canada.  Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Ottawa. vii + 40 pp.

Roughhead Grenadier

Illustration of a Roughhead Grenadier

Illustration of a Roughhead Grenadier viewed from the side.
(Illustration: Gary Taylor)

The Roughhead Grenadier is ash grey in colour. It has a large head (approximately 25% of the total length of the body) with large eyes and a moderately slender body, tapering uniformly to a pointed tail. The head is fairly broad with ridges on top bearing strong, small spines. It has a prominent pointed snout that is equal to eye height. A small chin barbel is present.

Scientific name: Macrourus berglax
SARA status: No Status
COSEWIC status: Special Concern (April 2007)
Regions: Newfoundland and Labrador, Nunavut, and Nova Scotia

Did You Know?

Common names for the Roughhead Grenadier include Rattail, Onion-Eye, and Smooth-Spined Rattail. Inuit refer to it as “ingminniset”, which means “it bellows when dying”.

This species is distinguished from other grenadiers in the North Atlantic by its prominent pointed snout, a ridge (below each eye) extending from the snout tip to a lower corner of the gill cover, and ridges with strong, small spines on top of its broad head. Like many deepwater species, young grenadiers feed mainly on small bivalves, starfish, shrimp, and marine worms, then gradually switch to eating fish, shrimp, and large bivalves as they grow in length. Female Roughhead Grenadiers grow larger and heavier than males and can live to at least 25 years of age. The male Roughhead Grenadier has two large, drumming muscles on the front part of its swim bladder.

Related information

Grenadier berglax

Macrourus berglax

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le grenadier berglax (Macrourus berglax) est l'une des quatre seules espèces Macrourus dans le monde et la seule espèce présente dans l'Atlantique Nord. Il appartient à la famille des Macrouridés. Il présente les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • un corps allongé avec une queue longue s'effilant en pointe;
  • une grosse tête assez large avec des arêtes sur le dessus portant de petites épines robustes;
  • une arête (sous chaque œil) allant de l'extrémité du museau à un coin inférieur de l'opercule;
  • un museau pointu proéminent et des petits barbillons sur le menton;
  • le corps est de couleur cendre, la région du thorax est légèrement plus foncée et la nageoire anale a une étroite bordure foncée;
  • les individus peuvent mesurer jusqu'à 110 cm de longueur;
  • les femelles peuvent vivre jusqu'à 25 ans.

Habitat

Le grenadier berglax est présent dans les eaux tempérées à arctiques de l'Atlantique Nord, le long du plateau continental. Dans l'est de l'Atlantique Nord, cette espèce est observée depuis le talus atlantique de l'Irlande au nord des îles Féroé, de la côte norvégienne jusqu'à Spitzbergen et dans la mer de Barents. Dans les eaux canadiennes, le grenadier berglax affiche une répartition continue et est observé le plus souvent le long du talus des plateaux du Labrador et du nord-est de Terre-Neuve et du talus nord-est du Grand Banc ainsi qu'au large du Bonnet Flamand. Son occurrence est moindre au nord, jusqu'à la baie de Baffin, et au sud, jusqu'au banc Georges.

Le grenadier berglax est un poisson de profondeur qui vit dans des zones d'eau libre, à des profondeurs variant entre 400 et 1 200 m, et parfois jusqu'à une profondeur de 2 740 m. Il possède une vessie natatoire spécialisée qui, en profondeur, empêche la diffusion de l'oxygène à travers la paroi de la vessie dans des conditions de haute pression. On observe d'ordinaire ce poisson à des températures d'eau se situant entre 2 et 5,4 °C, et rarement à des températures légèrement inférieures à 0 °C. Le grenadier berglax a une croissance lente, atteint la maturité à un âge avancé et produit peu d'œufs par rapport à d'autres espèces apparentées à la morue. La fertilisation des œufs est externe et se fait au large des côtes pendant une période de fraie qui peut durer jusqu'à un an. Les femelles arrivent à maturité entre 13 et 15 ans et peuvent vivre jusqu'à 25 ans. Les mâles vivent moins longtemps.

Menaces

La pêche est la principale menace pesant sur le grenadier berglax, qui peut représenter une partie importante des prises accessoires dans les pêches en eau profonde telles que celles du flétan du Groenland (Reinhardtius hippoglossoides). La pêche dirigée au grenadier berglax fait l'objet d'un moratoire dans les sous-zones 0, 2 et 3 de l'Organisation des pêches de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest depuis 1997.

Les populations de grenadier berglax sont très vulnérables à la mortalité causée par les humains, en raison des caractéristiques de leur cycle biologique (longue durée de vie, rythme de croissance lent, maturité tardive et faible taux de fécondité) qui limitent le rétablissement de l'espèce après une perturbation.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez Profil du Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Sources :

COSEPAC. 2007. Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le grenadier berglax Macrourus berglaxau Canada. Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada. Ottawa. vii + 40 p.

Grenadier berglax

Illustration d'un grenadier berglax

Illustration d'un grenadier berglax vu de profil.
(Illustration : Gary Taylor)

Le grenadier berglax est de couleur cendre. Il possède une grosse tête (qui représente environ 25 % de la longueur totale du corps) avec de gros yeux et un corps relativement étroit qui s'amincit uniformément pour se terminer en une queue pointue. Sa tête est assez large et possède des arêtes sur le dessus portant de petites épines robustes. Le grenadier berglax a un museau pointu proéminent qui équivaut à la hauteur des yeux. On perçoit de petits barbillons sur le menton.

Nom scientifique : Macrourus berglax
Statut selon la LEP : Aucun statut
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Préoccupante (avril 2007)
Région : Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, Nunavut et Nouvelle-Écosse

Le saviez-vous?

Les Inuits l'appellent « ingminniset », ce qui signifie « il beugle en mourant ».

Le grenadier berglax se distingue des autres grenadiers de l'Atlantique Nord par son museau pointu proéminent, une arête (sous chaque œil) allant de l'extrémité du museau à un coin inférieur de l'opercule, et des arêtes portant de petites épines robustes au-dessus de sa grosse tête. Comme de nombreuses espèces d'eau profonde, les jeunes grenadiers se nourrissent principalement de petits bivalves, d'étoiles de mer, de crevettes et de vers marins, puis se nourrissent ensuite de poissons, de crevettes et gros bivalves lorsqu'ils grandissent. Les femelles deviennent plus grosses et plus lourdes que les mâles, et peuvent vivre jusqu'à 25 ans au moins. Les mâles ont deux gros muscles en tambour sur la partie antérieure de leur vessie natatoire.

Renseignements connexes