Rocky Mountain Sculpin (Westslope populations)

Cottus sp.

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Rocky Mountain Sculpin is a member of the Cottidae family. Similar to other sculpins, it has a large head, large pectoral fins, and a tapered body from head to tail and an overall small size (maximum 11cm). This species has variable colouring, but typically exhibits a dark green or brown back, and pale lower flanks. Breeding males will develop a yellow or orange edge on their first dorsal fin, and often a black body as well. Non-breeding adults have two dark spots on their first dorsal fin. They are distinguishable from other sculpins by a relatively short head marked by small “bumps,” and a lack of “prickles” on the body.

Habitat

The Rocky Mountain Sculpin is present in both Canada and the United States on each side of the Continental Divide. In Canada, “Westslope” populations are found in nine known locations along the lower 28 km of the Flathead River in southeastern British Columbia (“Eastslope” populations are found in Alberta).

Based largely on data from other populations, this sedentary, nocturnal species is thought to prefer riffle and run habitats with shallow, slow flowing water and rock, rubble, and boulder substrates. Little is known about nocturnal or winter habitats. Nests in other populations of the species are typically found in holes underneath rocks deeper than 40 cm.

Threats

The primary threat to the Rocky Mountain Sculpin is sedimentation from road construction and maintenance, and motorized recreational traffic. Other potential threats include habitat degradation or destruction, including impacts to water flow and water quality from potential infrastructure and resource extraction projects.

Further Information

More information about SARA, including how it protects individual species, is available on the Species at Risk Public Registry.

To find out if this species is protected by provincial laws, consult the Province of British Columbia's website.

Rocky Mountain Sculpin (Westslope populations)

Rocky Mountain Sculpin<br>© J. R. Tomelleri

Illustration of a Rocky Mountain Sculpin - © J. R. Tomelleri

Scientific name: Cottus sp.
SARA Status: Special Concern
COSEWIC Status: Special Concern
Region: British Columbia

Did You Know?

Courtship rituals are thought to involve rapid changes in male colour and acoustic signals.

Image of a Rocky Mountain Sculpin (DFO)

Image of a Rocky Mountain Sculpin (DFO)

Related information

Chabot des montagnes Rocheuses (population du versant ouest)

Cottus sp.

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le chabot des montagnes Rocheuses est un membre de la famille des cottidés. Comme les autres chabots, il a une grosse tête, de grandes nageoires pectorales et un corps fuselé (vers la queue). Il est de petite taille (maximum 11 cm). Ce poisson présente diverses colorations, mais il a habituellement le dos vert foncé ou brun et les flancs pâles. Le bord de la première nageoire dorsale des mâles reproducteurs est jaune ou orange, et leur corps est souvent noir. Les adultes non reproducteurs ont deux taches foncées sur leur première nageoire dorsale. Ils se distinguent par leur tête relativement petite, qui présente de petites « bosses », et l'absence de « piquants » sur le corps.

Habitat

Le chabot des montagnes Rocheuses est présent au Canada et aux États-Unis, de chaque côté de la ligne continentale de partage des eaux. Au Canada, les populations du versant ouest se trouvent à neuf endroits connus dans le bras inférieur de 28 km de la rivière Flathead, au sud-est de la Colombie-Britannique (les populations du versant est sont en Alberta).

À la lumière des données recueillies sur les autres populations, on suppose que cette espèce sédentaire et nocturne préfère les habitats constitués de rapides, où il y a aussi des eaux peu profondes à plus faible débit avec des pierres, des rochers ou un substrat de blocs rocheux. On sait peu de choses sur les habitats nocturnes ou d'hivernage. Les nids des autres populations de l'espèce se trouvent habituellement dans des trous sous les rochers, à une profondeur de plus de 40 cm.

Menaces

Les principales menaces pour le chabot des montagnes Rocheuses sont la sédimentation attribuable aux travaux routiers (construction et entretien) et la circulation des embarcations de plaisance motorisées. Les autres menaces possibles sont la dégradation et la destruction de l'habitat, notamment les répercussions sur le débit d'eau et la qualité de l'eau découlant des projets d'infrastructure et d'extraction des ressources.

Renseignements supplémentaires

De plus amples renseignements sur la LEP, y compris comment elle protège chaque espèce, sont disponibles dans le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Pour savoir si cette espèce est protégée par des lois provinciales, consultez le site Web de la province de la Colombie-Britannique.

Chabot des montagnes Rocheuses (population du versant est)

Illustration d'un chabot des montagnes Rocheuses - © J. R. Tomelleri

Illustration d'un chabot des montagnes Rocheuses - © J. R. Tomelleri

Nom scientifique : Cottus sp.
Statut selon la LEP : Préoccupante
Statut selon COSEPAC : Préoccupante
Région : Colombie-Britannique

Le saviez-vous?

On pense que les parades nuptiales s'accompagnent de changements rapides de couleur chez les mâles et de l'émission de signaux acoustiques.

Image d'un chabot des montagnes Rocheuses

Image d'un chabot des montagnes Rocheuses

Renseignements connexes