River Redhorse

Moxostoma carinatum

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The River Redhorse (Moxostoma carinatum) is a large sucker in the family Catostomidae. It has also been referred to as the Big-sawed Sucker, River Mullet, Greater Redhorse, Redfin Redhorse and Redhorse Sucker. River Redhorse has the following characteristics:

  • large, laterally compressed body;
  • adults measure between 500 and 700 mm in length;
  • subterminal mouth and heavy pharyngeal arch with molariform teeth;
  • deeply folded lips without transverse ridges or papillae (bumps);
  • straight or slightly concave single dorsal fin and a forked caudal fin
  • red-tinted caudal and dorsal fins, and orange to reddish lower fins;
  • white belly, brown or olive green back and brassy, yellowish-green or coppery sides;
  • dark, crescent-shaped spots on each scale;
  • tubercles present on the snout, anal and caudal fins of spawning males; and
  • caudal peduncle scale count is usually 12, while the count along the lateral line is 42 to 47.

Habitat

The River Redhorse occurs throughout the central and eastern Mississippi River system and the Gulf Slope from Florida to Louisiana. In Canada, its distribution is characterized by disjunct populations in southern and eastern Ontario and southern and southwestern Quebec. This species has declined considerably over much of its range in the last 100 years. In Ontario, populations still occur in the Grand, Trent, Thames, Mississippi, Madawaska rivers and the Bay of Quinte, and recent data suggest a wider distribution in the Ottawa River watershed than previously documented. In Quebec, it also occurs in the Colounge, Gatineau, Noire and Richelieu river systems into Quebec. This fish appears to no longer exist in the Ausable, Châteauguay and Yamaska rivers.

In Canada, the River Redhorse lives in medium- to large-sized rivers. In the late spring, fish migrate from pool habitats with slow currents and abundant vegetation to shallow areas with moderate to swift flow, riffle-run habitats and coarse (gravel, cobble) substrates. Spawning occurs at temperatures between 17 and 20ºC and ritualized spawning displays have been observed. Fertilized eggs hatch within five to six days depending on the temperature. Larvae are dispersed by drifting to suitable rearing habitats. The age at maturity is older than in southern populations, ranging between five and ten years. Maximum age is 28 years in Canada.

Threats

Due to its narrow range of habitat preferences, spawning requirements and intolerance of high turbidity, siltation and pollution, the River Redhorse is susceptible to a number of threats. Habitat fragmentation can alter habitat conditions, resulting in restricted movements of individual fish and limited gene flow between populations. Also, changes in flow regime and siltation of spawning habitats may reduce recruitment. Agricultural, industrial and municipal activities that affect water quality (increased sediment load, excessive nutrients) also adversely impact this species. Other suspected threats include the effects of climate change, invasive species, disease and incidental harvest.

Further Information

For more information, visit the SARA Registry.

River Redhorse

River Redhorse

Moxostoma carinatum
Illustration © J. R. Tomelleri

Scientific Name: Moxostoma carinatum
SARA Status: Special Concern
COSEWIC Status: Special Concern
Region: Ontario and Quebec

Map showing distribution of River Redhorse, in Canada, as described in the following paragraph

Distribution of River Redhorse, in Canada.

Did You Know?

The diet of the River Redhorse consists of crayfishes, insect larvae and other benthic invertebrates. It also feeds extensively on molluscs. Its large teeth allow it to crush the shells of these organisms.

Related information

Chevalier de rivière

Moxostoma carinatum

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le chevalier de rivière (Moxostoma carinatum) est un meunier de grande taille appartenant à la famille des catostomidés. Il est également désigné sous le nom de suceur ballot, carpe ballot, moxostome ballot et ballot. Le chevalier de rivière présente les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • une grande taille et un corps comprimé latéralement;
  • une longueur de 500 à 700 mm chez les adultes;
  • une bouche subterminale et un arc pharyngien massif muni de dents molariformes;
  • des lèvres profondément plissées sans stries transversales ni papilles (bosses);
  • une nageoire dorsale droite ou légèrement concave et une nageoire caudale fourchue;
  • des nageoires caudale et dorsale de couleur rouge, et des nageoires inférieures oranges à rougeâtres;
  • une face ventrale blanche, une face dorsale brune ou vert olive et des flancs de couleur laiton, cuivre ou vert jaunâtre;
  • des points foncés en forme de croissant sur chaque écaille;
  • des tubercules sur le museau et sur les nageoires anale et caudale chez les mâles en parure nuptiale;
  • habituellement 12 écailles autour du pédoncule caudal et de 42 à 47 le long de la ligne latérale.

Habitat

Le chevalier de rivière est présent dans tout le centre et l'est du réseau du Mississippi et dans le versant du golfe, de la Floride à la Louisiane. Au Canada, on trouve plusieurs populations isolées de chevalier de rivière dans le sud et l'est de l'Ontario et le sud et sud-ouest du Québec. Cette espèce a connu des déclins considérables dans la majeure partie de son aire de répartition depuis les 100 dernières années. En Ontario, des populations fréquentent toujours les rivières Grand, Trent, Thames, Mississippi, Madawaska, et la Baie de Quinte. Aussi, il y a des données récentes semblent indiquer une plus forte présence dans le bassin hydrographique de la rivière des Outaouais que ce que l'on croyait précédemment. Au Québec, elles fréquentent les rivières Colounge, Gatineau, Noire and Richelieu. Cependant, il semble que ce poisson ait disparu des bassins hydrographiques des rivières Ausable, Châteauguay et Yamaska.

Au Canada, le chevalier de rivière habite les cours d’eau de taille moyenne à grande. À la fin du printemps, les poissons migrent des habitats calmes où le courant est faible et la végétation abondante vers des habitats peu profonds faits de rapides ou de bancs où le courant est de modéré à rapide et le substrat, grossier (gravier, galets). Le frai a lieu à des températures variant entre 17 et 20° C, et un comportement rituel est observé. Les œufs fertilisés éclosent dans les cinq à six jours, selon la température. Les larves sont dispersées par dérive jusqu’à des habitats d’alevinage appropriés. La maturité est atteinte plus tard que chez les populations du sud, entre l’âge de cinq et dix ans. Au Canada, l’âge maximal est de 28 ans.

Menaces

En raison de la gamme limitée d’habitats de prédilection, des conditions de frai et de son intolérance aux niveaux élevés de turbidité, d’envasement et de pollution, le chevalier de rivière est exposé à un certain nombre de menaces. Les habitats, en se fragmentant, peuvent se modifier, ce qui restreint les déplacements des poissons et limite le flux génétique entre les populations. En outre, les changements du régime d’écoulement et l’envasement des habitats de frai peuvent réduire le recrutement. La mauvaise qualité de l’eau, qui se caractérise notamment par une présence accrue de sédiments et/ou de nutriments, a également un effet néfaste sur l’espèce. D'autres menaces présumées comprennent les effets du changement climatique, les espèces envahissantes, les maladies et les prises accidentelles.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour un complément d’information, consultez le Profil du Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Chevalier de rivière

Chevalier de rivière

Moxostoma carinatum
Illustration © J. R. Tomelleri

Nom scientifique : Moxostoma carinatum
Statut selon la LEP : Préoccupante
Statut selon COSEPAC : Préoccupante
Région : Ontario, Québec

Carte montrant la répartition du chevalier de rivière du secteur Supérieur au Canada telle que décrite dans les paragraphes suivants

Répartition du chevalier de rivière au Canada.

Le saviez-vous?

Le régime alimentaire du chevalier de rivière se compose d’écrevisses, de larves d’insectes et d’autres invertébrés benthiques. L’espèce consomme également beaucoup de mollusques. Ses grandes dents lui permettent de briser les coquilles de ces organismes.

Renseignements connexes