Black Redhorse

Moxostoma duquesnei

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

This species has been identified as Threatened by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC). It has been considered for listing under the federal Species at Risk Act (SARA). It will not be listed under the SARA. Protection is, however, afforded through the federal Fisheries Act.

General Description

The Black Redhorse (Moxostoma duquesnei) is a member of the Sucker family (Catostomidae) and has the following characteristics:

  • Laterally compressed body;
  • Long rounded snout which overhangs inferior mouth;
  • Narrow upper lip and thick, slightly concave lower lip;
  • Has 43 to 51 lateral line scales;
  • Club-shaped pharyngeal teeth;
  • Dorsal surface and upper sides are grey or olive brown with a silver-blue overtone; sides are lighter and usually silvery blue; ventral surface is silver to milky white;
  • All fins are slate grey;
  • Scale edges are dark;
  • Females show little or no spawning colour, males have bold longitudinal stripes of black and colour (orange to pink) along their sides; and
  • Maximum known length is 66 cm; maximum weight is 3.2 kg.

Distribution

The Black Redhorse has a wide, but disjunct, distribution in eastern North America. It is found from Alabama and Mississippi in the south to Ontario and Michigan in the north, and from New York in the east to Oklahoma and Minnesota in the west. In Canada, it is limited to southwestern Ontario where it occurs in only six watersheds. In the Lake Huron drainage, it is found in the Bayfield River, Maitland River and Ausable River watersheds. In the Lake Erie drainage, it is known from the Catfish Creek (extirpated) and Grand River watersheds. It is also present in the Thames River watershed in the Lake St. Clair drainage.

Habitat and Life History

The Black Redhorse usually lives in moderately sized rivers and streams, 25 to 130 m wide, up to 1.8 m in depth, and with generally moderate to fast currents. It is rarely found associated with aquatic vegetation. Substrates include rubble, gravel, sand, boulders and silt. In summer, they generally prefer pools and overwinter in deeper pools. In the spring, Black Redhorse migrate to spawning habitats. Spring spawning has been observed in riffle habitats at water temperatures between 15° and 21ºC, and over a variety of substrates from fine gravel to large cobble. Eggs are nonadhesive and range in size from 2.6 to 2.9 mm. The age at maturity is between two and six years. Lifespan increases with latitude and some individuals reach 16 years of age.

Diet

Adult Black Redhorse are bottom feeders and eat crustaceans and insects. The younger fish (less than 65 mm) are thought to prefer plankton.

Threats

The availability of suitable habitat limits the distribution of the Black Redhorse in Canada, rendering its distribution highly fragmented. Habitat may be altered or impaired through urbanization and agricultural activities that increase siltation, turbidity, and change flow regimes. Its restricted spawning habitat preferences make recruitment vulnerable to changes in flow regime. Dams and impoundment of riverine habitats also restrict movements of fish. Incidental catches of Black Redhorse by sport fishers have been reported and may impact populations.

Similar Species

There are a total of seven Redhorse species in Canada, and the Black Redhorse is distinguishable based on a combination of tail colour, lip morphology and lateral line scale count. Black and Golden (M. erythrurum) Redhorses are extremely difficult to distinguish from each other.

For more information, visit the SARA Registry Website.

Black Redhorse

Black Redhorse (Moxostoma duquesnei) (© J. R. Tomelleri)

Moxostoma duquesnei
© J. R. Tomelleri

Scientific name: Moxostoma duquesnei
SARA Status: No Status
COSEWIC Status: Threatened (May 2005)
Region: Ontario

Black Redhorse Distribution as described in the following paragraph

Black Redhorse Distribution

Did You Know?

A New Summer Suit

Every year between May and June, the sides of a male black redhorse darken to a greenish-black, and a pink stripe runs the length of its body. After spawning season is over, this colouration on the males’ sides fades to a bluish-silver.

Related information

Le chevalier noir

Moxostoma duquesnei

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Cette espèce a été désignée comme une espèce menacée par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC). Elle a été évaluée en vue de son inclusion sur la liste des espèces en péril de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) du gouvernement fédéral. Cette espèce ne sera pas inscrite selon la LEP. Cependant, une protection est accordée par le biais de la Loi sur les pêches du gouvernement fédéral.

Description générale

Le chevalier noir (Moxostoma duquesnei) est un membre de la famille des catostomidés qui présente les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • Corps comprimé latéralement;
  • Long museau arrondi qui surplombe la bouche inférieure;
  • Lèvre supérieure étroite et lèvre inférieure épaisse et légèrement concave;
  • De 43 à 51 écailles à la ligne latérale;
  • Dents pharyngiennes claviformes;
  • La face dorsale et les flancs supérieurs sont gris ou brun olive, avec une nuance bleu argent; les flancs sont plus pâles et ordinairement bleu argent; la face ventrale va de l’argent au blanc laiteux;
  • Toutes les nageoires sont gris ardoise;
  • Les écailles sont foncées en bordure;
  • La coloration des femelles change peu sinon pas du tout, les mâles arborent des bandes latérales noires et les flancs varient de l’orange au rose;
  • La longueur maximum connue est de 66 cm, le poids maximum est de 3.2 kg.

Répartition

L’aire de répartition du chevalier noir est vaste, mais disjointe, dans l’est de l’Amérique du Nord. On le trouve depuis l’Alabama et le Mississippi au sud jusqu’en Ontario et au Michigan au nord, et depuis New York à l’est jusqu’en Oklahoma et au Minnesota à l’ouest. Au Canada, le chevalier noir est confiné au sud-ouest de l’Ontario où il se trouve dans seulement six bassins versants. Dans le bassin de drainage du lac Huron, on le trouve dans les bassins versants des rivières Bayfield, Maitland et Ausable. Dans le bassin de drainage du lac Érié, on l’a observé dans le ruisseau Catfish (duquel il est disparu) et dans le bassin versant de la rivière Grand. Il est également présent dans le bassin versant de la rivière Thames dans le bassin de drainage du lac Sainte-Claire.

Habitat et cycle biologique

Le chevalier noir fréquente habituellement les cours d’eau et les rivières de taille moyenne, de 25 à 130 m de largeur, d’une profondeur allant jusqu’à 1.8 m et aux débits généralement modérés à rapides. On le trouve rarement dans un habitat associé à la végétation aquatique. Les substrats sont de cailloux, de gravier, de sable, de blocs rocheux et de limon. L’été, il préfère généralement les fosses et il passe l’hiver dans des fosses plus profondes. Au printemps, le chevalier noir migre vers les habitats de frai. On a observé le frai au printemps dans des radiers dont la température de l’eau variait entre 15° et 21ºC, et sur des substrats variant du gravier fin au gros galet. Les oeufs ne sont pas collants et leur taille varie de 2.6 à 2.9 mm. L’âge à la maturité varie entre deux et six ans. L’espérance de vie s’accroît en fonction de la latitude et certains exemplaires vivent jusqu’à 16 ans.

Régime alimentaire

Les chevaliers noirs adultes se nourrissent sur le fond de crustacés et d’insectes. Les poissons juvéniles (de moins de 65 mm) préfèreraient les planctons.

Menaces

La disponibilité d’habitats adéquats limite la répartition du chevalier noir au Canada, et celle-ci est donc très fragmentée. L’habitat peut être touché par l’urbanisation et l’agriculture qui accroissent l’envasement et la turbidité et qui modifient les régimes d’écoulement. Ses préférences restreintes en matière d’habitat de frai font en sorte que le recrutement est sensible aux changements dans le régime d’écoulement. Les barrages et les retenues des habitats riverains restreignent également les déplacements du poisson. Des prises accessoires de chevalier noir par des pêcheurs sportifs ont été signalées et peuvent avoir une incidence sur les populations.

Espèces similaires

On compte un total de sept espèces de chevaliers au Canada, et le chevalier noir se distingue grâce à la combinaison de la couleur de sa queue, de la morphologie de ses lèvres et du nombre d’écailles de sa ligne latérale. Le chevalier noir et le chevalier doré (M. erythrurum) sont très difficiles à distinguer l’un de l’autre.

Sources du texte : Rapport de situation du COSEPAC 2005.

Pour un complément d'information, consultez le site Web du Registre de la LEP.

Le chevalier noir

Chevalier noir (Moxostoma duquesnei) (© J. R. Tomelleri)

Moxostoma duquesnei
© J. R. Tomelleri

Nom scientifique : Moxostoma duquesnei
Statut selon la LEP : Aucun statut
Statut selon COSEPAC: Menacée (mai 2005)
Région : Ontario

Répartition du chevalier noir telle que décrite dans le paragraphe suivant

Répartition du chevalier noir

Le saviez-vous?

De nouvelles fringues estivales

Chaque année, entre mai et juin, les côtés du chevalier noir prennent une couleur sombre, un noir verdâtre, tandis qu’une bande latérale d’une teinte rosée parcourt le long de son corps. Après la saison du frai, la coloration des côtés passe au bleu argenté.

Renseignements connexes