Rayed Bean

Villosa fabalis (I.Lea, 1838)

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

This species has been identified as Endangered by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC). It is listed under the federal Species at Risk Act (SARA) and is afforded protectionunder the SARA as of June 2004. Additional protection is afforded through the federal Fisheries Act. Under the SARA, a recovery strategy must be developed for this species.

General Description

The Rayed Bean (Villosa fabalis) has the following characteristics:

  • Shell is very small, thick and subelliptical in shape;
  • Midanterior shell wall thickness of 2.5 mm;
  • Females tend to be more inflated and more broadly rounded posteriorly than males;
  • Outside of shell is normally light or dark green with crowded, wavy, darker green rays;
  • Inside of shell is silvery white and iridescent;
  • Narrow beak (raised part at the top of the shell), slightly elevated above the hinge line and not excavated;
  • Fine beak sculpture with five crowded double- looped ridges; and
  • Hinge teeth are very heavy with serrated triangular teeth and shorter, elongated teeth.

Distribution

The Rayed Bean was historically known from 11 states and the Province of Ontario. In Canada, this species was known from western Lake Erie, the Detroit River, and the Sydenham and Thames rivers in the Lake St. Clair drainage. However, it is now restricted to the middle reach of the Sydenham River.

Habitat and Life History

The Rayed Bean is usually found in or near riffle areas of headwater and small tributaries of river systems. It is typically found deeply buried in the sand and gravel substrate among the roots of aquatic vegetation, generally in low flow areas.

The Rayed Bean is a moderately long-lived, sexually-dimorphic species with a lifespan of at least 10 years. It is believed that spawning occurs in late summer and the glochidia (larvae) are released the following spring.

Host

The host fishes for this species in Canada are the Greenside Darter (Etheostoma blennioides), Mottled Sculpin (Cottus bairdi), Rainbow Darter (Etheostoma caeruleum) and Largemouth Bass (Micropterus salmoides).

Diet

Like all species of freshwater mussels, the Rayed Bean uses bacteria and algae as its primary food source.

Threats

The Rayed Bean is sensitive to pollution from municipal, industrial and agricultural sources. Siltation, habitat perturbation and impoundment of rivers have also likely destroyed much of the habitat for this species over the last century. More recently, the Zebra Mussel (Dreissena polymorpha) has devastated some Rayed Bean populations in the Great Lakes. Access to suitable host species may also threaten this species.

Similar Species

Rainbow (Villosa iris); Kidneyshell (Ptychobranchus fasciolaris) (young specimens); Spike (Elliptio dilatata) (juveniles)

Text Sources: West et al. 2000.

For more information, visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry Profile.

Rayed Bean

Rayed Bean (Villosa fabalis - I.Lea, 1838)

Villosa fabalis (I.Lea, 1838)
Photo by E. Pip (University of Winnipeg)

Scientific name: Villosa fabalis (I.Lea, 1838)
SARA Status: Endangered (June 2003)
COSEWIC Status: Endangered (May 2000; April 2010)
Region: Ontario

Rayed Bean Distribution: Current and Historical Records as described in the following paragraph

Rayed Bean Distribution: Current and Historical Records

Did You Know?

The Rayed Bean was historically known from 11 states and the Province of Ontario. In Canada, this species was known from western Lake Erie, the Detroit River, and the Sydenham and Thames rivers in the Lake St. Clair drainage. However, it is now restricted to the middle reach of the Sydenham River. The Zebra Mussel (Dreissena polymorpha) has devastated some Rayed Bean populations in the Great Lakes.

Female Rayed Beans brood their young in their gills, supporting them from eggs through to larvae. These larvae, which are called glochidia, are then ejected into the water and must find a fish host right away. While attached to a host, they finish their development and become mature mussels themselves.

Rayed Bean

Photo: Shawn Staton

Related information

La villeuse haricot

Villosa fabalis (I.Lea, 1838)

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Cette espèce a été désignée comme une espèce en voie de disparition par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC). Elle est inscrite sur la liste des espèces en péril de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) du gouvernement fédéral et a obtenu la protection en vertu de la LEP en juin 2004. Une protection supplémentaire est accordée par le biais de la Loi sur les pêches du gouvernement fédéral. En vertu de la LEP, un programme de rétablissement doit être élaboré pour cette espèce.

Description générale

La villeuse haricot (Villosa fabalis) présente les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • La coquille est très petite (jusqu’à environ 40 mm), épaisse et d’une forme quelque peu elliptique;
  • La paroi de la coquille mi-antérieure a une épaisseur de 2,5 mm;
  • Les femelles ont tendance à être plus bombées et à avoir une partie postérieure plus arrondie que les males;
  • L’extérieur de la coquille est normalement vert clair ou foncé et arbore de nombreux rayons verts plus foncés et sinueux;
  • L’intérieur de la coquille est blanc argenté et irisé;
  • Sommet étroit (partie en relief sur le dessus de la coquille), légèrement élevé au-dessus de la ligne de charnière et non profound;
  • Fine sculpture de sommet arborant cinq bourrelets doubles; et
  • Les dents de la charnière sont fortes, les dents triangulaires ont un bord dentelé et les dents allongées sont plus courtes.

Répartition

On retrouvait jadis la villeuse haricot dans 11 États américains et dans la province de l’Ontario. Au Canada, on a signalé sa présence dans le bassin ouest du lac Érié, la rivière Detroit et les rivières Sydenham et Thames dans le bassin de drainage du lac Sainte-Claire. Or, l’espèce se limite maintenant au tronçon médian de la rivière Sydenham.

Habitat et cycle biologique

La villeuse haricot se trouve habituellement dans les zones de rapides des têtes de rivières et des petits tributaires, ou à proximité de celles-ci. Elle s’enfouit profondément dans le sable ou le gravier parmi les racines de la végétation aquatique, généralement dans les zones à faible débit.

La villeuse haricot est une espèce sexuellement dimorphe dont la durée de vie est modérément longue, c’est-à-dire au moins 10 ans. On croit que le frai a lieu à la fin de l’été et que les glochidies (larves) sont libérées au printemps suivant.

Hôte

Les poissons hôtes de cette espèce au Canada sont le dard vert (Etheostoma blennioides), le chabot tacheté (Cottus bairdi), le dard arc-en-ciel (Etheostema caeruleum) et l’achigan à grande bouche (Micropterus salmoides).

Régime alimentaire

Comme toutes les mulettes, la villeuse haricot se nourrit surtout de bactéries et d’algues.

Menaces

La villeuse haricot est sensible à la pollution provenant des sources municipales, industrielles et agricoles. De plus, l’envasement, la perturbation des habitats et les bassins de retenue des rivières ont probablement détruit une grande partie de l’habitat pour cette espèce au cours du dernier siècle. Plus récemment la moule zébrée (Dreissena polymorph) a dévasté certaines populations de villeuse haricot dans les Grands lacs. L’accès à des espèces hôtes convenables peut également menacer cette espèce.

Espèces semblables

Villeuse irisée (Villosa iris); Ptychobranche réniforme (Ptychobranchus fasciolaris) (jeunes individus); Elliptio doigt-de-dame (Elliptio dilatata) (juvéniles)

Source des textes : West et coll. 2000

Pour un complément d'information, consultez le Profil du Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

La villeuse haricot

Villeuse haricot (Villosa fabalis - I.Lea, 1838)

Villosa fabalis (I.Lea, 1838)
Photo de E. Pip (University of Winnipeg)

Nom scientifique : Villosa fabalis
Statut selon la LEP : En voie de disparition (juin 2003)
Statut selon COSEPAC : En voie de disparition (mai 2000; avril 2010)
Région : Ontario

Répartition de la villeuse haricot telle que décrite dans le paragraphe suivant

Répartition de la villeuse haricot

Le saviez-vous?

On retrouvait jadis la villeuse haricot dans 11 États américains et dans la province de l’Ontario. Au Canada, on a signalé sa présence dans le bassin ouest du lac Érié, la rivière Detroit et les rivières Sydenham et Thames dans le bassin de drainage du lac Sainte-Claire. Or, l’espèce se limite maintenant au tronçon médian de la rivière Sydenham. Plus récemment la moule zébrée (Dreissena polymorpha) a dévasté certaines populations de villeuse haricot dans les Grands lacs.

La moule femelle conserve les oeufs dans ses branchies jusqu'au stade larvaire. Les larves, qu’on appelle glochidie, sont relâchées dans l’eau par la femelle, et doivent tout de suite se fixer sur un poisson hôte. Pendant leur séjour sur ce poisson, elles complètent leur métamorphose et atteignent leur maturité.

Villeuse haricot

Photo : Shawn Staton

Renseignements connexes