Eastern Pondmussel

Ligumia nasuta

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Eastern Pondmussel (Ligumia nasuta) was once among the most common species of freshwater mussels in the lower Great Lakes of Ontario. It is a medium-sized mussel (average length is 7 cm) and a member of the family Unionidae. It has the following features:

  • shell is thin, but strong, narrow and long;
  • shell colour ranges from yellowish- or greenish-black (juveniles) to dark brown or black (adults);
  • inside of the shell (nacre) can be purple, pink or silvery white;
  • raised part (beak) is located in the back quarter of the shell and is low and slightly raised above the hinge line;
  • back (posterior) ridge is well-developed, distinct and angled near the beak; back end has a distinct blunt point;
  • front (anterior) end is rounded; bottom edge of the shell (ventral margin) is broadly curved;
  • females have a swelling along the back bottom edge that is lacking in males; and
  • shell surface is rough with concentric wrinkles and visible growth lines.

Habitat

The Eastern Pondmussel, as its name suggests, is found only in eastern North America. In the United States, the range of the Eastern Pondmussel is limited to the lower Great Lakes through New York to New Hampshire and in coastal rivers to South Carolina. In Canada, this mussel species has only ever been found in Ontario. It is believed that this mussel has been lost from more than 90 per cent of its historical Canadian range in the Great Lakes and their larger connecting channels. Remaining populations are small, declining and limited to the St. Clair River delta, Lyn Creek (near Brockville) and Long Point Bay (Lake Erie), though recently, several small populations have been found within the coastal wetland habitats bordering Lake Ontario.

The preferred habitat of the Eastern Pondmussel is nearshore, sheltered areas of lakes or slow-moving streams and rivers in substrates of fine sand and mud at depths up to 4.5 m. Spawning likely occurs in late summer and the glochidia (larvae) are released the following spring. Like most other freshwater mussels, the glochidia are parasitic on fish. In this case, the female Eastern Pondmussel attracts a host fish with special tissues on her body called “mantle lures” that look like food, such as fish, leeches or amphipods (shrimp-like crustaceans). When a fish strikes at the lure, the female mussel releases glochidia into its mouth. The glochidia then attach to the host fish as they flow through its gills. Here they will remain until they reach their juvenile, free-living stage and drop off into the substrate below. Adult mussels are essentially sessile and may move only a few meters along the substrate.

The known host fishes for this species in Canada are the Brook Stickleback (Culaea inconstans), Pumpkinseed (Lepomis gibbosus) and Yellow Perch (Perca flavescens).

Like all species of freshwater mussels, the Eastern Pondmussel filters its food from the water. Bacteria and algae are its primary food sources.

Threats

The most serious threat to the Eastern Pondmussel continues to be the introduction of the invasive Zebra Mussel (Dreissena polymorpha). Since the mid-1980s, more than 90 per cent of the area once occupied by the Eastern Pondmussel has become infested with Zebra Mussels, which attach to and smother native mussels or outcompete them for food and habitat. Habitat loss and degradation from human activities, including water pollution, increasing siltation and nutrient loading, also threaten remaining Eastern Pondmussel populations found in Ontario.

Further Information

For more information, visit the SARA Registry.

Text Sources: COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Eastern Pondmussel in Canada, 2007; DFO. Recovery Potential Assessment of Eastern Pondmussel, Fawnsfoot, Mapleleaf and Rainbow in Canada; DFO CSAS. Sci. Advis. Rep. 2010/073; Metcalfe-Smith et al. Photo Field Guide to the Freshwater Mussels of Ontario, 2005.

Eastern Pondmussel

Eastern Pondmussel

Eastern Pondmussel

Scientific name: Ligumia nasuta
SARA Status: Endangered
COSEWIC Status: Endangered
Region: Ontario

Map showing distribution of Eastern Pondmussel in Canada as described in the following paragraphs

Map showing distribution of Eastern Pondmussel in Canada.

Did You Know?

Freshwater mussels are molluscs, soft-bodied animals without a skeleton (invertebrates), that live on the bottom of streams, rivers, lakes and ponds. They use a muscular foot to burrow and crawl and have a pair of hinged shells. Mussels are filter feeders — nature's water purifiers — and are food for other wildlife like fishes, otters, mink, muskrats and some birds. They are also among the most endangered creatures in the world.

The interior and exterior of an Eastern Pondmussel shell

The interior and exterior of an Eastern Pondmussel shell
Photo credit: Environment Canada

Related information

Ligumie pointue

Ligumia nasuta

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

La ligumie pointue (Ligumia nasuta) a déjà été l'une des espèces de moules d'eau douce les plus communes dans les Grands Lacs inférieurs en Ontario. Cette moule de taille moyenne (longueur moyenne de 7 cm) fait partie de la famille des unionidés. Elle présente les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • sa coquille est mince mais solide, étroite et longue;
  • la couleur de la coquille va de noir jaunâtre ou noir verdâtre (juvéniles) à brun foncé ou noire (adultes);
  • l'intérieur de la coquille (la nacre) est mauve, rosé ou blanc argenté;
  • le sommet (bec) de la moule est situé sur le quart antérieur de la coquille, vers le bas, un peu plus haut que la ligne de charnière;
  • la crête postérieure est bien accusée, distinctive et anguleuse près du sommet; l'extrémité postérieure forme une pointe émoussée distinctive;
  • l'extrémité antérieure est arrondie; le bord inférieur de la coquille (marge ventrale) est largement courbé;
  • la coquille de la femelle est renflée le long du bord inférieur dorsal; ce renflement est absent chez les mâles;
  • la surface de la coquille est rugueuse avec des plis concentriques et des bourrelets de croissance bien accusés.

Habitat

La ligumie pointue est présente uniquement dans l'est de l'Amérique du Nord. Aux États-Unis, l'espèce n'est présente que dans les Grands Lacs inférieurs et jusqu'à l'État de New York et le New Hampshire et dans les cours d'eau côtiers jusqu'en Caroline du Sud. Au Canada, cette espèce de moule n'a été observée qu'en Ontario. La ligumie pointue semble avoir disparu dans plus de 90 % de son aire de répartition historique canadienne dans les Grands Lacs et leurs principales voies interlacustres. Les populations restantes sont petites, déclinantes et restreintes au delta de la rivière Sainte-Claire, au ruisseau Lyn (près de Brockville) et à la baie Long Point (lac Érié); toutefois, récemment, plusieurs petites populations ont été découvertes dans les habitats humides côtiers du lac Ontario.

L'habitat de prédilection de la ligumie pointue se trouve dans les zones côtières protégées des lacs et de cours d'eau lents, sur des substrats de sable fin et de boue, à des profondeurs pouvant atteindre 4,5 m. Tout porte à croire que le frai se produit à la fin de l'été et que les glochidies (larves) sont libérées le printemps suivant. Comme c'est le cas pour la plupart des autres moules d'eau douce, les glochidies de la ligumie pointue mènent une vie parasitaire sur les poissons. La ligumie pointue femelle attire un poisson-hôte au moyen d'un leurre particulier sur son manteau, qui ressemble à de la nourriture, comme de petits poissons, des sangsues ou des amphipodes (crustacés ressemblant à des crevettes). Quand un poisson attaque le leurre, la femelle relâche les glochidies dans sa bouche. Les glochidies se fixent ensuite au poisson-hôte lorsqu'elles passent dans ses branchies. Elles y demeurent jusqu'à ce qu'elles deviennent des juvéniles autonomes, après quoi elles se détachent pour tomber sur le substrat. Les moules adultes sont essentiellement sessiles et leurs déplacements se limitent à quelques mètres parcourus le long du substrat.

On a identifié trois espèces d'hôtes de la ligumie pointue au Canada : le fouille-roche zébré (Culaea inconstans), le crapet-soleil (Lepomis gibbosus) et la perchaude (Perca flavescens).

Comme toutes les espèces de moules d'eau douce, la ligumie pointue filtre la nourriture présente dans l'eau et se nourrit surtout de bactéries et d'algues.

Menaces

La principale menace pour la ligumie pointue demeure l'introduction de l'envahissante moule zébrée (Dreissena polymorpha). Depuis le milieu des années 1980, plus de 90 % des zones occupées auparavant par la ligumie pointue ont subi une infestation par les moules zébrées. Ces dernières se fixent aux moules indigènes et les étouffent, ou elles accaparent la nourriture et l'habitat. La perte et la dégradation de l'habitat à la suite d'activités anthropiques, y compris la pollution de l'eau, l'augmentation de l'envasement et la charge accrue en éléments nutritifs, menacent également les populations restantes de ligumie pointue en Ontario.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour un complément d'information, consultez le site Web du Registre de la LEP.

Sources du texte : Évaluation et rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la ligumie pointue au Canada, 2007; MPO. Évaluation du potentiel de rétablissement de la ligumie pointue, de la troncille pied-de-faon, de la mulette feuille d'érable et de la villeuse irisée au Canada. Secr. can. de consult. sci. du MPO, Avis sci. 2010/073; Metcalfe-Smith et al. Photo Field Guide to the Freshwater Mussels of Ontario, 2005.

Ligumie pointue

Ligumie pointue

Ligumie pointue

Nom scientifique : Ligumia nasuta
Statut selon la LEP : En voie de disparition
Statut selon COSEPAC : En voie de disparition
Région : Ontario

Carte montrant la répartition de la ligumie pointue au Canada telle que decrite dans les paragraphes suivants

Carte montrant la répartition de la ligumie pointue au Canada.

Le saviez-vous?

Les moules d'eau douce sont des mollusques au corps mou sans squelette, donc des invertébrés, qui vivent au fond des ruisseaux, des rivières, des lacs et des étangs. Elles utilisent leur pied musculeux pour creuser et nager et elles sont dotées d'une paire de coquilles articulées. Ce sont des organismes filtreurs, c'est-à-dire des purificateurs d'eau naturelle, qui servent de nourriture à d'autres espèces de la faune comme les poissons, les loutres, les visons, les rats musqués et certains oiseaux. Les moules d'eau douce sont aussi l'une des espèces les plus menacées de disparition sur terre.

L’intérieur et l’extérieur de la coquille d’une ligumie pointue

L’intérieur et l’extérieur de la coquille d’une ligumie pointue
Crédit photo : Environnement Canada

Renseignements connexes