Paddlefish

Polyodon spathula

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

This species has been identified as Extirpated by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC). It is listed under the federal Species at Risk Act (SARA) and is afforded protection under the SARA as of June 2004. Additional protection is afforded through the federal Fisheries Act. Under the SARA, a recovery strategy must be developed for this species.

General Description

The Paddlefish (Polyodon spathula) is a member of the Paddlefish family (Polyodontidae), one of the most primitive groups of fishes in North America. Similar to its close relatives, the Sturgeons, it has been fished for its eggs, which are processed into caviar. The Paddlefish has the following characteristics:

  • Long, spatula-like snout that is longer than the remainder of the head;
  • Large, toothless mouth;
  • Generally, 50 to 125 cm and 1 to 9 kg but known to grow up to 2 m long and weigh over 70 kg;
  • Skin is smooth and scaleless; and
  • Bluish grey or bluish olive on dorsal surfaces and lighter, silvery colour on ventral surfaces.

Distribution

The present range of the Paddlefish is the Mississippi River system from Montana to Louisiana, and some smaller rivers draining into the Gulf of Mexico. In Canada, Paddlefish were last reported about 90 years ago when they were thought to have occurred in Lake Huron near Sarnia, the Spanish River, Georgian Bay, and in Lake Helen on the Nipigon River.

Habitat and Life History

Based on information from the Mississippi River population, Paddlefish are highly migratory and live in slow-moving sections of large rivers and lakes, but migrate to large, fast-flowing rivers for spawning.

Paddlefish have a lifespan of at least 30 years. Individuals are slow to develop and males can take up to seven years to reach sexual maturity while females can take 10 to 12 years. Females can lay 150,000 eggs or more, but they may only spawn every two to seven years.

Diet

Paddlefish are primarily invertebrate filter-feeders.

Threats

The Paddlefish has declined across its entire range, due largely to loss of breeding habitat and overfishing. Some characteristics of its life history, such as length of time to reach sexual maturity, make it susceptible to decline and slow to recover. Other threats include pollution, channelization and dam construction, which have blocked access to suitable spawning sites, causing fragmentation of populations.

Similar Species

None

Text Sources: COSEWIC Status Report 2000.

For more information, visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry Profile.

Paddlefish

Paddlefish (Polyodon spathula) (© Joseph R.Tomelleri)

Polyodon spathula
© Joseph R.Tomelleri

Scientific name: Polyodon spathula
SARA Status: Extirpated (June 2003)
COSEWIC Status: Extirpated (May 2000)
Region: Ontario

Paddlefish Distribution: Historical Records as described in the following paragraph

Paddlefish Distribution: Historical Records

Did You Know?

In Canada, Paddlefish were last reported about 90 years ago when they were thought to have occurred in Lake Huron near Sarnia, the Spanish River, Georgian Bay, and in Lake Helen on the Nipigon River.

Related Information

Spatulaire

Polyodon spathula

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Cette espèce a été désignée comme une espèce disparue du pays par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC). Elle est inscrite sur la liste des espèces en péril de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) du gouvernement fédéral et a obtenu la protection en vertu de la LEP en juin 2004. Une protection supplémentaire est accordée par le biais de la Loi sur les pêches du gouvernement fédéral. En vertu de la LEP, un programme de rétablissement doit être élaboré pour cette espèce.

Description générale

Le spatulaire (Polyodon spathula) est un membre de la famille des spatulaires (Polyodontidae), un desgroupes de poissons les plus primitifs en Amérique du Nord. De la même façon que pour son procheparent, l’esturgeon, on le pêche pour ses oeufs, qui sont transformés en caviar. Le spatulaire présente lescaractéristiques suivantes :

  • Museau en forme de spatule, plus long que le reste de la tête, avec large bouche édentée;
  • Mesure généralement de 50 à 125 cm et pèse de 1 à 9 kg, mais certains individus atteignent une longueur de 2 m et un poids de plus de 70 kg;
  • La peau est lisse et sans écailles; et
  • Surfaces dorsales gris bleuté ou olive bleuté et surfaces ventrales de couleur argentée plus claire.

Répartition

L’aire de répartition actuelle du spatulaire est le bassin de la rivière Mississippi qui s’étend du Montana jusqu’à la Louisiane, et quelques petites rivières qui s’écoulent dans le golfe du Mexique. Au Canada, la présence du spatulaire a été signalée pour la dernière fois il y a environ 90 ans, alors qu’on croit l’avoir aperçu dans le lac Huron près de Sarnia, la rivière Spanish, la baie Georgienne et le lac Helen près de la rivière Nipigon.

Habitat et cycle biologique

D’après l’information concernant la population de la rivière Mississippi, le spatulaire est une espèce très migratrice qui habite les sections au courant lent des grandes rivières et des lacs, mais qui migre vers les grandes rivières au courant rapide pour frayer. Le spatulaire a une espérance de vie d’au moins 30 ans. Les individus se développent lentement et les mâles peuvent mettre jusqu’à sept ans pour atteindre la maturité sexuelle, tandis que les femelles y mettent de 10 à 12 ans. Les femelles peuvent pondre 150 000 oeufs ou plus, mais elles ne peuvent frayer que tous les deux à sept ans.

Régime alimentaire

Le spatulaire est principalement un poisson filtreur invertébré.

Menaces

On a observé le déclin du spatulaire dans toute son aire de répartition, en grande partie à cause de la perte d’habitat de reproduction et de la surpêche. Certaines caractéristiques de son cycle biologique, telles que le temps mis à atteindre la maturité sexuelle, font en sorte qu’il est susceptible au déclin et lent à se rétablir. Parmi les autres menaces, mentionnons la pollution, la canalisation et la construction de barrages qui ont bloqué l’accès à des lieux de frai convenables, causant ainsi la fragmentation des populations.

Espèces semblables

Aucune

Sources des textes : Rapport de situation du COSEPAC 2000.

Pour un complément d'information, consultez le Profil du Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Spatulaire

Spatulaire (Polyodon spathula) (© Joseph R.Tomelleri)

Polyodon spathula
© Joseph R.Tomelleri

Nom scientifique : Polyodon spathula
Statut selon COSEPAC: Disparue du pays (mai 2000)
Statut selon la LEP : Disparue du pays (juin 2003)
Région : Ontario

Répartition du spatulaire telle que décrite dans la paragraphe suivant

Répartition du spatulaire telle que décrite

Le saviez-vous?

Au Canada, la présence du spatulaire a été signalée pour la dernière fois il y a environ 90 ans, alors qu’on croit l’avoir aperçu dans le lac Huron près de Sarnia, la rivière Spanish, la baie Georgienne et le lac Helen près de la rivière Nipigon.

Information connexe