Northern Wolffish

Anarhichas denticulatus

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Northern Wolffish (Anarhichas denticulatus) is a large marine fish from a family that was given the name “wolffish” because of their protruding front teeth and powerful jaws. Its head is small (relative to the body) with a small mouth and blunt snout, small eyes and a long, stout body with small pectoral fins (no pelvic fins), as compared with the other two wolffish species found in the Northwest Atlantic Ocean. It has a more uniform body colour than the other two wolffish species, ranging from charcoal-black to dark chocolate. The Northern Wolffish can grow to 180 cm in length.

Habitat

The Northern Wolffish occurs from Iceland and the Faroe Islands to the waters of Norway and the Barents Sea. In the northwestern Atlantic and Canadian Arctic, its range extends from Baffin Bay to the Gulf of Maine and includes the Labrador and northeast Newfoundland Shelves, the Grand Banks, the Flemish Cap, the Gulf of St. Lawrence, and the Scotian Shelf. This species is most abundant in the deep waters of the continental shelf, off northeastern Newfoundland and on the Labrador Shelf and to a lesser extent along the shelf edge of the Grand Bank. It is only occasionally observed in the Gulf of St. Lawrence, on the Scotian Shelf, in the Gulf of Maine, the Bay of Fundy, Baffin Bay and Davis Strait. There are also four confirmed records from the western Arctic.

Northern Wolffish is a benthopelagic fish ─ spending most of its time slowly swimming and feeding on moving creatures, mostly pelagic and benthic fish, just above the ocean floor. It prefers colder water temperatures, between 2.5 and 4.5˚C, and is usually found at depths between 500 and 1000 m. The highest concentrations of Northern Wolffish are on sand and shell hash bottom types.

wolfish

Figure 1. Map displaying the approximate distribution of the Northern Wolffish (adapted from the 2012 Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) assessment on the Northern Wolffish Anarhichas denticulatus in Canada).

Map displaying the distribution of the Northern Wolffish. The extent of the map is 40 to 70 degrees North latitude. Northern Wolffish are found in the waters off of Nova Scotia, in the Gulf of St. Lawrence, around the island of Newfoundland, up the Labrador coast to Baffin Island. The map is adapted from the 2012 Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) assessment on the Northern Wolffish Anarhichas denticulatus in Canada).

Threats

The main threat to Northern Wolffish is bycatch in fisheries targeting other species. Climate change could also affect the distribution and abundance of Northern Wolffish.

Further Information

The Northern Wolffish is listed as Threatened under the Species at Risk Act. A Recovery Strategy was published for Northern Wolffish in 2008, with the main goal being to increase population levels and distribution of Northern Wolffish such that long-term viability of the population is achieved. Some means to accomplish this are: to improve the knowledge of Northern Wolffish biology and life history, to identify, conserve and protect their habitat, to mitigate human impacts on their habitat and survival, to promote their growth and recovery, and to develop and deliver educational programs to promote their conservation and recovery.

For more information, visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry Profile.

Northern Wolffish

Illustration of a redfish

Illustration of a Northern Wolffish viewed from the side. The Northern Wolffish is brownish grey in colour. Its head is small (relative to the body) with a small mouth and blunt snout, small eyes and a long, stout body with small pectoral fins. The fin along the back (the dorsal fin) extends from the head all the way to the tail fin and the fin on the bottom of the fish (the anal fin) extends from the middle of the belly all the way to the tail fin. The tail fin is small relative to the body.

Scientific Name: Anarhichas denticulatus
SARA Status: Threatened (2003)
COSEWIC Status: Threatened (May 2001; November 2012)
Regions: Newfoundland and Labrador, Nunavut, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island

Did You Know?

Slim, sharp teeth that curve backwards towards the throat allow Northern Wolffish to eat shrimp, krill, pelagic and benthic fish, and gelatinous zooplankton such as sea gooseberries.

Related information

Loup à tête large

Anarhichas denticulatus

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le loup à tête large (Anarhichas denticulatus) est un grand poisson marin d'une famille nommée « loup de mer » en raison de ses dents saillantes et de ses puissantes mâchoires. Sa tête est petite (par rapport au corps), il a une petite bouche, un museau arrondi et de petits yeux. Son corps allongé et robuste est doté de petites nageoires pectorales et il est dépourvu de nageoires pelviennes. La couleur de son corps est plus uniforme que les deux autres espèces de loups de mer vivant dans l'ouest de l'Atlantique Nord, allant de noir anthracite à chocolat foncé. Le loup à tête large peut mesurer jusqu'à 180 cm de long.

Habitat

Le loup à tête large est présent de l'Islande et des îles Féroé jusqu'à la Norvège et la mer de Barents. Dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Atlantique et l'Arctique canadien, son aire de répartition s'étend de la baie de Baffin jusqu'au golfe du Maine, et comprend les plateaux continentaux du Labrador et du Nord-Est de Terre-Neuve, les Grands Bancs de Terre-Neuve, le bonnet Flamand, le golfe du Saint-Laurent et le plateau néo-écossais. Cette espèce est plus abondante dans les eaux profondes du plateau continental, au large du nord-est de Terre-Neuve et sur le plateau continental du Labrador et dans une moindre concentration le long du bord du plateau des Grands Bancs. On ne l'aperçoit que rarement dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, sur le plateau néo-écossais, dans le golfe du Maine, la baie de Fundy, la baie de Baffin et le détroit de Davis. Quatre observations ont également été confirmées dans l'Ouest de l'Arctique.

Le loup à tête large est un poisson benthopélagique qui passe la plupart de son temps à nager lentement et à s'alimenter d'organismes en mouvement se trouvant juste au-dessus du plancher océanique, la plupart étant des poissons pélagiques et benthiques. Il préfère les eaux plus froides, (entre 2,5 et 4,5 ˚C) et se trouve souvent à des profondeurs entre 500 et 1 000 mètres. On trouve les concentrations les plus fortes de loups à tête large sur des types de fonds sableux et de coquillages.

wolfish

Figure 1. Carte de la répartition approximative du loup à tête large (adaptée de l’évaluation du Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) sur le loup à tête large Anarhichas denticulatus au Canada de 2012.

Carte de la répartition du loup à tête large. La carte s’étend du 40e degré au 70e degré de latitude Nord. Le loup à tête large est présent dans les eaux au large de la Nouvelle-Écosse, dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, autour de l’île de Terre-Neuve, le long de la côte du Labrador jusqu’à l’île de Baffin. Cette carte est adaptée de l’évaluation du Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) sur le loup à tête large Anarhichas denticulatus au Canada, 2012.

Menaces

La principale menace qui pèse sur le loup à tête large constitue les prises accessoires dans les pêches visant d'autres espèces. Le changement climatique pourrait également avoir une incidence sur la répartition et l'abondance du loup à tête large.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Le loup à tête large est inscrit en tant qu'espèce menacée en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. sur Un programme de rétablissement a été publié pour le loup à tête large en 2008 avec comme objectif principal celui d'augmenter les niveaux de population et la répartition du loup à tête large de sorte à atteindre une viabilité à long terme de la population. Parmi les moyens pour y parvenir, il y a l'amélioration des connaissances de la biologie et du cycle biologique du loup atlantique; des façons de déterminer, conserver et de protéger son habitat, ainsi que des façons d'atténuer les répercussions humaines sur son habitat et sa survie; des façons de promouvoir la croissance et le rétablissement de la population; et l'élaboration et le lancement de programmes éducatifs afin de promouvoir sa conservation et son rétablissement.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez le Profil du Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Loup atlantique

Illustration of a redfish

Illustration d’un loup à tête large vu de profil. Le loup à tête large est de couleur gris brunâtre. Il a une petite tête (par rapport à son corps), une petite bouche, un museau arrondi et de petits yeux. Son corps allongé et robuste est doté de petites nageoires pectorales. Sa nageoire dorsale (sur le dos) s’étend de la tête à la nageoire caudale (à la fin de sa queue) et sa nageoire anale (sur le ventre) s’étend du milieu du ventre jusqu’à la nageoire caudale. Sa nageoire caudale est petite par rapport à son corps.

Nom scientifique : Anarhichas denticulatus
Statut selon la LEP : Menacée (2003)
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Menacée (mai 2001; novembre 2012)
Régions: Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, Nunavut, Québec, Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse, Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Le saviez-vous?

Les fines dents pointues du loup à tête large qui se courbent vers sa gorge lui permettent de s'alimenter de crevettes, de krill, de poissons pélagiques et benthiques, et de zooplancton gélatineux comme les  groseilles de mer.

Renseignements connexes