Northern Bottlenose Whale (Scotian Shelf population)

Hyperoodon ampullatus

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Northern Bottlenose Whale is a medium-sized whale. Adults typically measure seven to nine metres in length. Distinctive characteristics of the species include:

  • A large bulbous forehead and prominent beak
  • Grey or brown colouring
  • A small dorsal fin approximately two-thirds of the way down the back

Adult males can be distinguished from females or juvenile males by the following characteristics:

  • Adult males have larger, flatter foreheads that tend to get whiter with age
  • Adult males may have a single pair of erupted teeth in the lower jaw

Habitat

The Scotian Shelf population of Northern Bottlenose Whales inhabits deep waters (>500 metres) along the continental slope off of Nova Scotia and southeastern Newfoundland. The majority of sightings to date have been in three adjacent submarine canyons on the Eastern Scotian Shelf: the Gully, Shortland Canyon, and Haldimand Canyon. In 2010, these canyons were identified as critical habitat for the population under the Species at Risk Act (SARA).

The Scotian Shelf population of Northern Bottlenose Whales is genetically distinct from the more northerly Baffin Bay-Davis Strait-Labrador Sea population, which was assessed by COSEWIC as Special Concern in 2011.

  • Calves are smaller and have darker coloured foreheads (photo credit: Whitehead Lab)

    Calves are smaller and have darker coloured foreheads (photo credit: Whitehead Lab)

  • Females and young males have rounded foreheads (photo credit: H. Moors-Murphy)

    Females and young males have rounded foreheads (photo credit: H. Moors-Murphy)

  • The forehead of males gets flatter and whiter with age (photo credit: H. Moors-Murphy)

    The forehead of males gets flatter and whiter with age (photo credit: H. Moors-Murphy)

Threats

The Scotian Shelf population of Northern Bottlenose Whales is small, with an estimated 143 animals. Current threats to the population include (in no particular order) entanglement, oil and gas activities, acoustic disturbance, contaminants, changes in food supply, and vessel strikes. Anthropogenic (human-caused) noise is of particular concern since Northern Bottlenose Whales rely on sound to carry out their life functions, including foraging, socializing, and navigation. The deep-diving behaviour of these whales may make them especially vulnerable to physiological impacts from acoustic disturbance.

Further Information

A recovery strategy for the Scotian Shelf population was published on the Species at Risk Public Registry in May 2010, and a report on the progress of recovery strategy implementation is now available. The final version of the action plan, which includes detailed recovery measures to address threats and knowledge gaps, has been published on the Species at Risk Public Registry.

The Gully was designated a Marine Protected Area under the Oceans Act in 2004. The Scotian Shelf population of Northern Bottlenose Whales has likely benefitted from the high level of protection afforded to this core habitat area.

DFO and its partners, including academic scientists, the private sector, and other government departments, have been researching and monitoring this population for many years. This work has led to a better understanding of Northern Bottlenose Whale vocalizations, behaviour, habitat use, and population dynamics. For example, acoustic data was collected from 2012 to 2014 at three sites located within and between the three canyons. These data will help establish baseline information about Northern Bottlenose Whale presence and vocalizations. These data will also help determine ambient noise levels in their critical habitat areas. In addition, photo-identification has allowed scientists to track individuals and accurately determine the population size and trend.

To learn more about the Gully ecosystem and Northern Bottlenose Whales: The Gully Marine Protected Area: A Diversity of Life and a Sanctuary for Whales.

For more information on marine mammals and species at risk, visit Species at Risk Public Registry.

To report Northern Bottlenose Whale sightings, please contact DFO:

In the Maritimes:

Phone (toll-free): 1-844-800-8568
Email: XMARWhaleSightings@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Twitter: @DFO_MAR

In Newfoundland and Labrador:

Phone: 1-709-772-2295
Email: whalesighting@dfo-mpo.gc.ca or telljack@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Twitter: @DFO_NL or @drjwlawson

To report Northern Bottlenose Whale incidents (e.g. dead, entangled, or injured animals), please call one of the following toll-free hotlines as soon as possible:

In the Maritimes:

1-866-567-6277 (Marine Animal Response Society)

In Newfoundland and Labrador:

1-888-895-3003 (Tangly Whales)

DFO Research Scientist, Dr. Hilary Moors-Murphy, studies and monitors whales in Eastern Canada. She uses rare video footage and photos to show you how to identify Northern Bottlenose Whales on the water and report your sighting.

Transcript

Narrator: "Fisheries and Oceans Canada presents: Identifying and Reporting Northern Bottlenose Whales. DFO Research Scientist, Dr. Hilary Moors-Murphy, studies and monitors whales in Eastern Canada. She offers the following information on Northern Bottlenose Whales and how to identify them on the water. And Hilary hopes you will help monitor these whales and report all sightings."

Dr. Hilary Moors-Murphy: "Northern Bottlenose Whales off the eastern Coast of Nova Scotia and southern coast of Newfoundland are endangered. Though they resemble Bottlenose Dolphins, Northern Bottlenose Whales are in fact large toothed whales, belonging to the family Ziphidae, or the beaked whales. Adults are 8-10 meters long or up to 30 feet. They have prominent, bottle-shaped beaks. Their color ranges from light to dark grey to brown. They also have rounded dorsal fins about two-thirds of the way down their backs. Their blow is small and bushy. Northern Bottlenose Whale calves, or babies, tend to be darker in color. The females and younger males have rounded foreheads. Older males have flat white foreheads and their foreheads get whiter with age. When Northern Bottlenose Whales surface, their forehead and blow are seen first and then their dorsal fin. They rarely raise their flukes, or tail, when diving. Like other beaked whales, Northern Bottlenose Whales do not have a notch in the middle of their tail flukes. Northern Bottlenose Whales tend to be found in deep water areas. Submarine canyon habitats off the Eastern Coast of Nova Scotia are especially important to Northern Bottlenose Whales. These whales are frequently found in the Gully, Shortland and Haldimand canyons of the Eastern Scotian Shelf; however, they may also appear in other areas off the coasts of Nova Scotia and Newfoundland.

"Please help DFO monitor Northern Bottlenose Whales and report all sightings. Remember to provide important details about your sighting, including the number and type of whales seen, the date and time, and the location, such as your latitude and longitude. When possible, please share your photos and videos as well. To report Northern Bottlenose Whale sightings, please call 1-844-800-8568 or email XMARWhaleSightings@dfo-mpo.gc.ca. If you see entangled, injured or dead Bottlenose Whales, please contact the Marine Animal Response Society as soon as possible at 1-866-567-6277 or VHF Channel 16 or email marineanimalresponse@gmail.com."

Northern Bottlenose Whale (Scotian Shelf population)

Northern Bottlenose Whale

Illustration credit: Dorothea Kappler

Scientific name: Hyperoodon ampullatus
SARA Status:  Endangered
COSEWIC Status:  Endangered
Regions: Atlantic Ocean

Northern Bottlenose Whale Call - Gully MPA (on the Eastern Scotian Shelf)

Northern Bottlenose Whales produce echolocation pulses to both navigate and feed. These short sounds are high frequency clicks that last less than a second. They are produced at a frequency between 20-60 kHz. Toothed whales like Northern Bottlenose Whales produce clicks and listen for the returning echoes to locate objects in the water. In the case of Northern Bottlenose Whales, they are searching for Gonatus (or armhook) squid, their preferred prey. These clicks were recorded in the Gully Marine Protected Area. This large submarine canyon is located offshore of Nova Scotia where Northern Bottlenose Whales live year-round. The Gully has been designated critical habitat for Endangered Northern Bottlenose Whales.

see description below

Distribution of Northern Bottlenose Whales in Canadian waters. Source: COSEWIC.

This map shows the distribution of two designatable units of Northern Bottlenose Whales in Atlantic Canadian waters. The distribution of the Scotian Shelf population includes the deep waters along the continental shelf break and slope out to the Exclusive Economic Zone boundary and beyond, extending from the US-Canada border to the Grand Banks off Newfoundland and Labrador. The distribution of the Baffin Bay-Davis Strait-Labrador Sea population includes the deep waters off northern Newfoundland and Labrador into the Davis Strait.

see description below

This map shows the Critical Habitat identified for the Scotian Shelf Northern Bottlenose whale. The critical habitat includes three adjacent submarine canyon areas: 1) Zone 1 of the Gully Marine Protected Area; 2) Shortland Canyon; and 3) Haldimand Canyon. Each critical habitat area is bounded by a specific set of coordinates. The canyons are located offshore of Nova Scotia along the continental shelf break.

Did You Know?

Northern Bottlenose Whales are among the deepest-diving mammal species in the world, with dive depths often exceeding 1000 metres. The deepest dive recorded for the species was over 2300 metres.

Related information

Baleine à bec commune (population du plateau néo-écossais)

Hyperoodon ampullatus

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

La baleine à bec commune est une baleine de taille moyenne. Les adultes mesurent habituellement entre sept et neuf mètres de longueur. Les caractéristiques distinctives de l'espèce comprennent les suivantes :

  • Un grand front bulbeux et un bec proéminent;
  • Gris ou brun;
  • Une petite nageoire dorsale située environ aux deux tiers du dos.

Les mâles adultes se distinguent des femelles et des mâles juvéniles par les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • Les mâles adultes ont un front plus grand et plus plat qui a tendance à devenir de plus en plus blanc au fil du temps;
  • Les mâles adultes peuvent avoir une seule paire de dents à éruption complétée sur la mâchoire inférieure.

Habitat

La population de baleines à bec communes du plateau néo-écossais vit dans les eaux profondes (plus de 500 mètres) le long du talus au large de la Nouvelle-Écosse et du sud-est de Terre-Neuve. À ce jour, la majorité des observations ont été faites dans trois canyons sous-marins adjacents dans l'est du plateau néo-écossais : le Gully et les canyons Shortland et Haldimand. En 2010, ces canyons ont été définis comme étant un habitat essentiel pour la population en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP).

La population de baleines à bec communes du plateau néo-écossais est génétiquement distincte de la population du détroit de Davis, de la baie de Baffin et de la mer du Labrador, qui se trouve plus au nord; en 2011, le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a désigné cette dernière population comme préoccupante.

  • Les baleineaux sont plus petits et leur front est plus foncé (mention de source : Laboratoire Whitehead)

    Les baleineaux sont plus petits et leur front est plus foncé (mention de source : Laboratoire Whitehead)

  • Les femelles et les jeunes mâles ont un front arrondi (mention de source : H. Moors-Murphy)

    Les femelles et les jeunes mâles ont un front arrondi (mention de source : H. Moors-Murphy)

  • Le front des mâles devient plus plat et plus blanc au fil du temps (mention de source : H. Moors-Murphy)

    Le front des mâles devient plus plat et plus blanc au fil du temps (mention de source : H. Moors-Murphy)

Menaces

La population de baleines à bec communes du plateau néo-écossais est petite; on estime qu'elle comprend 143 individus. Les menaces pesant actuellement sur la population comprennent (sans ordre d'importance) les enchevêtrements, les activités pétrolières et gazières, les perturbations acoustiques, les contaminants, les changements dans la disponibilité de la nourriture et les collisions avec les navires. Le bruit anthropique (d'origine humaine) est une menace particulièrement préoccupante étant donné que la baleine à bec commune se fie sur les sons pour accomplir ses fonctions biologiques, y compris la quête de nourriture, la socialisation et les déplacements. Le comportement de plongée en eau profonde de cette baleine la rend particulièrement vulnérable aux répercussions physiologiques causées par les perturbations acoustiques.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Un programme de rétablissement pour la population du plateau néo-écossais a été publié dans le Registre public des espèces en péril en mai 2010 et un rapport sur les progrès de la mise en œuvre du programme de rétablissement est maintenant disponible. La version finale du plan d'action, qui comprend les mesures de rétablissement détaillées pour traiter les menaces et les lacunes dans les connaissances est présentement affiché sur le Registre public des espèces en péril.

En 2004, le Gully a été désigné comme zone de protection marine en vertu de la Loi sur les océans. La population de baleines à bec communes du plateau néo-écossais a probablement bénéficié du niveau élevé de protection accordé à cette zone d'habitat essentiel.

Depuis plusieurs années, Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) et ses partenaires, y compris des scientifiques du milieu universitaire, le secteur privé et d'autres ministères, mènent des recherches sur cette population et la surveillent. Ces travaux ont mené à une meilleure compréhension des vocalisations, du comportement, de l'utilisation de l'habitat et de la dynamique des populations de la baleine à bec commune. Par exemple, de 2012 à 2014, des données acoustiques ont été recueillies à trois sites situés dans les trois canyons et entre ceux-ci. Ces données permettront d'établir des renseignements de base sur la présence et les vocalisations de la baleine à bec commune. Ces données aideront aussi à déterminer les niveaux de bruit ambiant dans les zones d'habitat essentiel. De plus, l'identification photographique a permis aux scientifiques de suivre les individus et de déterminer avec exactitude la taille et les tendances de la population.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur l'écosystème du Gully et la baleine à bec commune : La zone de protection marine du Gully : diversité de la vie et refuge pour les baleines.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les mammifères marins et les espèces en péril, consultez les sites suivants Registre public des espèces en péril.

Pour signaler les observations de baleines à bec communes, veuillez communiquer avec le MPO :

Dans les Maritimes :

Téléphone (numéro sans frais) : 1-844-800-8568
Courriel : XMARWhaleSightings@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Twitter : @MPO_MAR

À Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador :

Téléphone : 1-709-772-2295
Courriel : whalesighting@dfo-mpo.gc.ca ou telljack@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Twitter : @MPO_TNL ou @drjwlawson

Pour signaler un incident avec une baleine à bec commune (p. ex. animal mort, enchevêtré ou blessé), appelez l'une des lignes téléphoniques d'urgence sans frais suivantes dès que possible :

Dans les Maritimes :

1-866-567-6277 (Marine Animal Response Society)

À Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador :

1-888-895-3003 (Tangly Whales)

Une chercheuse de Pêches et Océans Canada, Mme Hilary Moors-Murphy, étudie et surveille les baleines dans l'est du Canada. Elle utilise de rares photos et séquences vidéo pour vous montrer comment identifier les baleines à bec communes à la surface de l'eau et signaler vos observations.

Transcription

Narratrice : « Pêches et Océans Canada présente : Savoir identifier la baleine à bec commune et en signaler l'observation. Une chercheuse de Pêches et Océans Canada, Mme Hilary Moors-Murphy, étudie et surveille les baleines dans l'est du Canada. Elle présente les renseignements suivants sur la baleine à bec commune et la manière de l'identifier en mer. Elle espère que vous participerez à la surveillance de ces baleines et que vous signalerez vos observations.

Les baleines à bec communes de la côte est de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de la côte sud de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador sont en voie de disparition. Bien qu'elle ressemble au grand dauphin, la baleine à bec commune fait en réalité partie des grands cétacés à dents, qui appartiennent à la famille des Ziphiidés, aussi appelés baleines à bec. Les adultes mesurent de 8 à 10 mètres, soit jusqu'à 30 pieds. Elles ont un bec proéminent en forme de bouteille. Leur couleur va du gris pâle au gris foncé, et parfois au brun. Elles ont également une nageoire dorsale arrondie au bas de leur dos, aux deux tiers environ. Elles font un petit souffle diffus. Les bébés, que l'on appelle baleineaux, sont en général plus foncés. Les femelles et les jeunes mâles ont un front arrondi. Les mâles plus âgés ont un front blanc et plat et qui s'éclaircit avec le temps. Lorsque la baleine à bec commune fait surface, on aperçoit d'abord son front et son souffle, puis leur nageoire dorsale. Quand elle plonge, il est rare qu'elle lève sa nageoire caudale. Comme les autres baleines à bec, la baleine à bec commune n'a pas d'entaille au milieu de sa nageoire caudale. La baleine à bec commune a tendance à se trouver dans les zones d'eaux profondes. Les habitats de canyons sous-marins au large de la côte est de la Nouvelle-Écosse sont particulièrement importants pour l'espèce. Ces baleines sont fréquemment observées dans le Gully et les canyons Shortland et Haldimand de l'est du plateau néo-écossais. Mais elles fréquentent aussi d'autres zones au large de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Aidez le MPO à surveiller les baleines à bec communes et n'oubliez pas de signaler vos observations. Il vous faudra donner des détails comme le nombre et le type de baleine observée, la date et l'heure de l'observation, ainsi que les coordonnées de l'endroit où vous vous trouviez. Si possible, envoyez-nous vos photos et vos vidéos. Pour signaler une observation de baleine à bec commune, veuillez composer le 1-844-800-8568 ou envoyer un courriel à : XMARwhalesightings@dfo-mpo.gc.ca. Si vous voyez une baleine à bec prise dans un filet, blessée ou morte, veuillez communiquer dès que possible avec la Marine Animal Response Society au 1-866-567-6277, ou par la bande radio VHF 16, ou par courriel à marineanimalresponse@gmail.com. »

Baleine à bec commune (population du plateau néo-écossais)

baleine à bec commune

Mention de source : Dorothea Kappler

Nom scientifique : Hyperoodon ampullatus
Statut selon la LEP : Espèce en voie de disparition
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Espèce en voie de disparition
Regions: Océan Atlantique

Appel d'une baleine à bec commune - La ZPM du Gully (dans l'est du plateau néo-écossais)

Les baleines à bec communes produisent des impulsions d'écholocalisation pour naviguer et se nourrir. Ces sons courts sont des clics à haute fréquence qui durent moins d'une seconde. Ils sont produits à une fréquence entre 20 et 60 kHz. Les odontocètes comme les baleines à bec communes produisent des clics et écoutent les échos qui reviennent pour trouver des objets dans l'eau. Dans le cas des baleines à bec communes, ils sont à la recherche de calmars du genre Gonatus, leurs proies préférées. Ces clics ont été enregistrés dans la zone de protection marine du Gully. Ce grand canyon sous-marin est situé au large des côtes de la Nouvelle-Écosse, où les baleines à bec communes vivent toute l'année. Le Gully a été désigné habitat essentiel pour les baleines à bec communes en voie de disparition.

voir description ci-dessous

Aire de répartition de la baleine à bec commune dans les eaux canadiennes. Source : Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC).

Cette carte présente l'aire de répartition de deux unités désignables de la baleine à bec commune dans les eaux canadiennes de l'Atlantique. L'aire de répartition de la population du plateau néo-écossais comprend les eaux profondes le long du rebord de la plate-forme continentale et le talus jusqu'à la limite de la zone économique exclusive et au-delà, et elle s'étend de la frontière canado-américaine jusqu'aux Grands Bancs au large de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. L'aire de répartition de la population de la baie de Baffin, du détroit de Davis et de la mer du Labrador comprend les eaux profondes au large du nord de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et dans le détroit de Davis.

voir description ci-dessous

Cette carte présente l'habitat essentiel désigné de la baleine à bec commune du plateau néo-écossais. L'habitat essentiel comprend trois zones de canyons sous-marins adjacents : 1) la zone 1 de la zone de protection marine du Gully; 2) le canyon Shortland; et 3) le canyon Haldimand. Chaque zone de l'habitat essentiel est délimitée par un ensemble précis de coordonnées. Les canyons sont situés au large de la Nouvelle-Écosse, le long du rebord de la plate-forme continentale.

Le saviez-vous?

La baleine à bec commune compte parmi les espèces de mammifères qui plongent le plus profondément au monde, avec des plongées dépassant souvent 1 000 mètres. La plus profonde plongée enregistrée pour l'espèce était de plus de 2 300 mètres.

Renseignements connexes