Northern Bottlenose Whale (Davis Strait-Baffin Bay-Labrador Sea)

Hyperoodon ampullatus

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

Northern Bottlenose Whales are beaked whales that resemble dolphins. They are, however, significantly larger than most dolphin species. They grow 7–9 m in length, with the males usually one metre longer than the females. Their colour ranges from chocolate brown to light gray. Females and immature males have smaller, bulbous foreheads while mature males have larger, squared-off foreheads.

Northern Bottlenose Whales have a life expectancy of at least 37 years. Males mature at 7–9 years old and females at 8–13 years old. Females typically give birth to one calf every 2 years. They eat various deepwater fish and squid, with a preference for squid of the Gonatus genus.

Habitat

There are two populations of Northern Bottlenose Whales found within Canadian Waters: the Scotian Shelf population and the Davis Strait-Baffin Bay-Labrador Sea population. These two populations are genetically distinct from each other. The Scotian Shelf animals are smaller in size, and may breed later in the year. The Davis Strait-Baffin Bay-Labrador Sea population is found from Labrador, through the Davis Strait and in the southern portion of Baffin Bay. They prefer depths greater than 500 metres, along the continental slope, and are rarely seen nearshore. They are known to aggregate near deep-water fishing vessels off Labrador and western Davis Strait, where some have learned to feed off discarded fish.

Threats

The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) report indicates that the principal threats to the Northern Bottlenose Whale in the Davis Strait-Baffin Bay-Labrador Sea population are entanglement in fishing gear (the primary known threat) and ocean noise. The extent of harm from these threats is unknown.

Further Information

For more information, visit the Species at Risk Registry.

  • Calves are smaller and have darker coloured foreheads (photo credit: Whitehead Lab)

    Calves are smaller and have darker coloured foreheads (photo credit: Whitehead Lab)

  • Females and young males have rounded foreheads (photo credit: H. Moors-Murphy)

    Females and young males have rounded foreheads (photo credit: H. Moors-Murphy)

  • The forehead of males gets flatter and whiter with age (photo credit: H. Moors-Murphy)

    The forehead of males gets flatter and whiter with age (photo credit: H. Moors-Murphy)

Northern Bottlenose Whale (Davis Strait-Baffin Bay-Labrador Sea)

Illustration of a Northern Bottlenose Whale viewed from the side.  Their colour ranges from chocolate brown to light gray and they have a pronounced forehead and beak.

Illustration of a Northern Bottlenose Whale viewed from the side. Their colour ranges from chocolate brown to light gray and they have a pronounced forehead and beak.

Scientific name: Hyperoodon ampullatus
SARA Status: Under consideration
COSEWIC Status: Special Concern
Regions: Nunavut and Newfoundland and Labrador

Region: Nunavut and Newfoundland and Labrador

Canadian boundary of the Davis Strait-Baffin Bay-Labrador Sea population of Northern Bottlenose Whale.  The extent of the map is 50 degrees North to 70 degrees North latitude and from 70 degree West to 52 degrees West longitude.   The Northern Bottlenose Whale is found in deep waters (greater than 500 m) of the North Atlantic off of the coasts of Newfoundland and Labrador and north into Baffin Bay.  Distribution is not mapped beyond the Exclusive Economic Zone of Canada.  The map is based on the COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Northern Bottlenose Whale (Hyperoodon ampullatus) in Canada (2011).

Canadian boundary of the Davis Strait-Baffin Bay-Labrador Sea population of Northern Bottlenose Whale. The extent of the map is 50 degrees North to 70 degrees North latitude and from 70 degree West to 52 degrees West longitude. The Northern Bottlenose Whale is found in deep waters (greater than 500 m) of the North Atlantic off of the coasts of Newfoundland and Labrador and north into Baffin Bay. Distribution is not mapped beyond the Exclusive Economic Zone of Canada. The map is based on the COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Northern Bottlenose Whale (Hyperoodon ampullatus) in Canada (2011).

Did You Know?

Northern Bottlenose Whales are known for their tendency to approach ships and are one of the best divers of all the whales. They have been known to reach depths of 800 m and can stay submerged for up to 70 minutes.

Related information

Date modified:

Baleine à bec commune (détroit de Davis, baie de Baffin et mer du Labrador)

Hyperoodon ampullatus

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Les baleines à bec communes sont des baleines à bec qui ressemblent à des dauphins. Elles sont cependant beaucoup plus grosses que la plupart des espèces de dauphins. Elles peuvent atteindre de 7 à 9 m de longueur, et les mâles ont habituellement un mètre de plus que les femelles. Leur couleur varie de brun chocolat à gris clair. Les femelles et les mâles immatures ont un petit front bulbeux, tandis que les mâles matures ont un front plus grand et carré.

Les baleines à bec communes ont une espérance de vie d'au moins 37 ans. Les mâles atteignent la maturité lorsqu'ils ont de 7 à 9 ans, et les femelles, de 8 à 13 ans. Les femelles donnent naissance à un baleineau tous les deux ans. Elles se nourrissent de divers poissons de fond et calmars, avec une préférence pour les calmars Gonatus.

Habitat

Deux populations de baleines à bec communes vivent dans les eaux canadiennes : la population de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise et la population du détroit de Davis, de la baie de Baffin et de la mer du Labrador. Ces deux populations sont génétiquement distinctes. Les animaux de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise sont de plus petite taille et peuvent se reproduire plus tard dans l'année. La population du détroit de Davis, de la baie de Baffin et de la mer du Labrador est présente à partir du Labrador, dans le détroit de Davis et dans la partie sud de la baie de Baffin. Ces baleines préfèrent les profondeurs supérieures à 500 m, le long du talus continental, et elles sont rarement observées près des côtes. Elles se rassemblent près des navires de pêche en eau profonde au large du Labrador et à l'ouest du détroit de Davis, où certaines ont appris à se nourrir des poissons rejetés.

Menaces

Le rapport du Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) indique que les principales menaces pesant sur la baleine à bec commune dans la population du détroit de Davis, de la baie de Baffin et de la mer du Labrador sont l'enchevêtrement dans les engins de pêche (la principale menace connue) et la pollution sonore dans les océans. L'étendue des préjudices découlant de ces menaces est inconnue.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez le Registre public des espèces en péril.

  • Les baleineaux sont plus petits et leur front est plus foncé (mention de source : Laboratoire Whitehead)

    Les baleineaux sont plus petits et leur front est plus foncé (mention de source : Laboratoire Whitehead)

  • Les femelles et les jeunes mâles ont un front arrondi (mention de source : H. Moors-Murphy)

    Les femelles et les jeunes mâles ont un front arrondi (mention de source : H. Moors-Murphy)

  • Le front des mâles devient plus plat et plus blanc au fil du temps (mention de source : H. Moors-Murphy)

    Le front des mâles devient plus plat et plus blanc au fil du temps (mention de source : H. Moors-Murphy)

Baleine à bec commune (détroit de Davis, baie de Baffin et mer du Labrador)

Illustration d'une baleine à bec commune vue de profil. Sa couleur varie de brun chocolat à gris clair et elle a un front et un bec prononcés.

Illustration d'une baleine à bec commune vue de profil. Sa couleur varie de brun chocolat à gris clair et elle a un front et un bec prononcés.

Nom scientifique : Hyperoodon ampullatus
Statut selon la LEP : À l'étude
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Espèce préoccupante
Régions : Nunavut et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Région : Nunavut et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Limite canadienne de la population du détroit de Davis, de la baie de Baffin et de la mer du Labrador de la baleine à bec commune. L'étendue de la carte est de 50 degrés nord à 70 degrés de latitude nord et de 70 degrés ouest à 52 degrés de longitude ouest. La baleine à bec commune se trouve dans les eaux profondes (plus de 500 m) de l'Atlantique Nord, au large des côtes de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador et au nord dans la baie de Baffin. La distribution n'est pas cartographiée au-delà de la zone économique exclusive du Canada. La carte est fondée sur l'évaluation et le rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la baleine à bec commune (Hyperoodon ampullatus) au Canada (2011).

Limite canadienne de la population du détroit de Davis, de la baie de Baffin et de la mer du Labrador de la baleine à bec commune. L'étendue de la carte est de 50 degrés nord à 70 degrés de latitude nord et de 70 degrés ouest à 52 degrés de longitude ouest. La baleine à bec commune se trouve dans les eaux profondes (plus de 500 m) de l'Atlantique Nord, au large des côtes de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador et au nord dans la baie de Baffin. La distribution n'est pas cartographiée au-delà de la zone économique exclusive du Canada. La carte est fondée sur l'évaluation et le rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la baleine à bec commune (Hyperoodon ampullatus) au Canada (2011).

Le saviez-vous?

La baleine à bec commune est connue pour sa tendance à s'approcher des bateaux et est une des meilleures plongeuses de toutes les baleines. Elle est reconnue pour atteindre une profondeur de 800 m et peut rester sous l'eau jusqu'à 70 minutes.

Renseignements connexes

Date de modification :