Mapleleaf (Saskatchewan - Nelson Population)

Quadrula quadrula

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Mapleleaf (Quadrula quadrula) is a medium-sized freshwater mussel. This mussel is found in both Manitoba and Ontario, and is named for its somewhat square shape, which resembles a maple leaf. It has the following features:

  • thick, square, yellowish-green (juvenile) or mostly brown (adult) shell;
  • two rows of raised nodules form a v-shape along the outside of the shell;
  • inside of the shell (nacre) is pearly white;
  • raised part at the top of the shell (beak) is small and slightly raised above the hinge line;
  • heavy hinge teeth;
  • well-defined growth lines in young mussels, crowded and difficult-to-discern growth lines in adults; and
  • adults can grow to 12 cm in length.

Habitat

The majority of Mapleleaf are found in the United States, with a range that includes Texas to Alabama, the Great Lakes drainage basin in Minnesota and Wisconsin to New York, and the Red River drainage basin in Minnesota and North Dakota.

In Canada, Mapleleaf populations are separated into two distinct groups, called “designated units” (DUs), based on genetic and geographic differences: the Saskatchewan-Nelson populations (DU1) and the Great Lakes-Western St. Lawrence populations (DU2). Saskatchewan-Nelson populations are located in Manitoba along the Red River and the lower reaches of its tributaries, the Assiniboine River and Lake Winnipeg. The Great Lakes-Western St. Lawrence populations are found in the Great Lakes-St. Lawrence watershed in Ontario and appear to be confined to the Sydenham, Ausable, Grand, Thames, Bayfield and Welland rivers, as well as the mouth of 20 Mile Creek at Lake Ontario in Jordan Harbour.

In Manitoba, this mussel is in decline and appears to be limited to the Red, Assiniboine, Roseau and Bloodvein rivers.

In Canada, the Mapleleaf is usually found in medium-to-large rivers with slow-to-moderate currents and firmly packed sand, coarse gravel or clay/mud bottoms (substrates). It is a long-lived species; mussels from the Manitoba populations have lived up to 64 years of age, but the average age is 22 years. The “brooding period” is short: spawning likely occurs in late spring and the larvae (glochidia) are released by early summer. Like most other freshwater mussels, the Mapleleaf glochidia are parasitic on fish. In this case, the female Mapleleaf releases packets of glochidia that look similar to the food of their host fish. When the fish takes a bite, the glochidia are released into its mouth and flow through its gills. Here they will remain until they reach their juvenile, free-living stage and drop off onto the substrate below. Adult mussels are essentially sessile and may move only a few metres per year along the river or lake bottom. In Canada, the Channel Catfish (Ictalurus punctatus) is the most likely host fish.Like all species of freshwater mussels, the Mapleleaf filters its food from the water. Bacteria and algae are its primary food sources.

Threats

Mapleleaf populations in Canada are threatened by invasive species, habitat loss and degradation, and siltation (more sediment in the water), which can bury, smother and starve filter-feeding mussels. In Manitoba, deteriorating water quality due to non-point source pollution and possible invasion of Zebra Mussels (Dreissena polymorpha) are major concerns.

Further Information

For more information, visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry Profile.

Text Sources: COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Mapleleaf Mussel Quadrula quadrula (Saskatchewan-Nelson population and Great Lakes-Western St. Lawrence population), 2006; Metcalfe-Smith et al. Photo Field Guide to the Freshwater Mussels of Ontario, 2005.

Mapleleaf (Saskatchewan - Nelson Population)

Mapleleaf

Mapleleaf

Scientific Name: Quadrula quadrula
SARA Status: Endangered
COSEWIC Status: Threatened
Region: Manitoba

Map showing distribution of Mapleleaf, Saskatchewan-Nelson populations in Canada as described in the following paragraphs

Map showing distribution of Mapleleaf, Saskatchewan-Nelson populations, in Canada.

Related information

Mapleleaf mussels

Photo credit: Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Did You Know?

Freshwater mussels are molluscs, soft-bodied animals without a skeleton (invertebrates) that live on the bottom of streams, rivers, lakes and ponds. They use a muscular foot to burrow and crawl and have a pair of hinged shells. Mussels are filter feeders — nature’s water purifiers — and are food for other wildlife, like fishes, otters, mink, muskrats and some birds. They are also among the most endangered creatures in the world.

Feuille d’érable (population de la Saskatchewan-Nelson)

Quadrula quadrula

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

La mulette feuille d’érable (Quadrula quadrula) est une moule d’eau douce de taille moyenne. Cette moule se trouve au Manitoba et en Ontario et est nommée ainsi en raison de sa forme plutôt carrée, rappelant celle d’une feuille d’érable. Elle présente les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • Sa coquille épaisse et de forme carrée est de couleur vert-jaunâtre (juvénile) ou surtout brune (adulte);
  • Deux rangées de nodosités en relief forment un « V » à l’extérieur de sa coquille;
  • L’intérieur de sa coquille (la nacre) est blanc perle;
  • La partie en relief sur le dessus de sa coquille (le bec) est petite et légèrement élevée au-dessus de la ligne de charnière;
  • Les dents de la charnière sont fortes;
  • Les anneaux de croissance sont bien définis sur les moules juvéniles, mais regroupées et difficiles à discerner sur les moules adultes;
  • Les adultes peuvent atteindre une longueur de 12 cm.

Habitat

La plupart des mulettes feuille d’érable se trouvent aux États-Unis, dont l’aire de répartition s’étend du Texas à l’Alabama, du bassin versant des Grands Lacs au Minnesota et du Wisconsin jusqu’à l’état de New York ainsi que dans le bassin versant de la rivière Rouge au Minnesota et au Dakota du Nord.

Au Canada, les populations de mulettes sont séparées en deux groupes distincts, ou « unités désignables » (UD), selon des différences génétiques et géographiques : la population de la Saskatchewan – Nelson (UD1) et la population des Grands Lacs – Ouest du Saint-Laurent (UD2). La population de la Saskatchewan – Nelson vit le long de la rivière Rouge et dans les cours inférieurs de ses affluents, la rivière Assiniboine et le lac Winnipeg. La population des Grands Lacs – Ouest du Saint-Laurent se trouve dans le bassin hydrographique des Grands Lacs et du fleuve Saint-Laurent en Ontario et semble confinée dans les rivières Sydenham, Ausable, Grand, Thames, Bayfield et Welland ainsi que dans l’embouchure du ruisseau Twenty Mile et du lac Ontario à Jordan Harbour.

Au Manitoba, les populations de la mulette connaissent un déclin et semblent être confinées dans les rivières Rouge, Assiniboine, Roseau et Bloodvein.

Au Canada, la mulette feuille d’érable vit généralement dans les rivières de taille moyenne à grande, aux courants faibles à modérés et aux fonds constitués de sable et de gravier grossier bien compactés ou argileux/vaseux (substrats). Cette espèce peut vivre longtemps; certaines mulettes du Manitoba ont vécu jusqu’à 64 ans, toutefois l’âge moyen est de 22 ans. La « période d’éclosion » est courte : le frai se produit vraisemblablement à la fin du printemps et les larves (les glochidies) sont libérées au début de l’été. À l’instar des autres moules d’eau douce, les glochidies de la mulette feuille d’érable mènent une vie parasitaire sur les poissons. En effet, la femelle libère des groupes de glochidies dans une substance qui ressemblent à la nourriture du poisson hôte. Lorsque le poisson prend une bouchée, les glochidies se libèrent dans sa bouche et passe par ses branchies. Elles y demeurent jusqu’à ce qu’elles deviennent des juvéniles autonomes, après quoi elles se détachent pour tomber sur le substrat. Les mulettes adultes sont essentiellement sessiles; elles se déplacent de quelques mètres par année sur le fond des rivières ou des lacs. Au Canada, le poisson hôte de la mulette est vraisemblablement la barbue de rivière (Ictalurus punctatus). Comme toutes les espèces de moules d’eau douce, la mulette feuille d’érable filtre la nourriture présente dans l’eau et se nourrit surtout de bactéries et d’algues.

Menaces

Les populations de mulettes au Canada sont menacées par les espèces envahissantes, la perte et la dégradation de l’habitat ainsi que l’envasement (concentration de sédiments dans l’eau), qui peut enfouir, étouffer et priver de nourriture les moules filtreuses. Au Manitoba, la détérioration de la qualité de l’eau causée par une source de pollution non ponctuelle et l’invasion potentielle des moules zébrées (Dreissena polymorpha) sont des préoccupations majeures.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour un complément d’information, consultez le Profil du Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Sources du texte : Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la mulette feuille d’érable Quadrula quadrula (Population de la Saskatchewan - Nelson et Population des Grands Lacs - Ouest du Saint-Laurent), 2006; Metcalfe-Smith et al. Photo Field Guide to the Freshwater Mussels of Ontario, 2005.

Feuille d’érable (population de la Saskatchewan-Nelson)

Feuille d'érable

Feuille d’érable

Nom scientifique : Quadrula quadrula
Statut selon la LEP : En voie de disparition
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Menacée
Région : Ontario et Québec

Carte montrant la répartition de la mulette feuille-d’érable, les populations des Grands Lacs – Ouest du Saint-Laurent, au Canada, telle que décrite dans les paragraphes suivants

Carte montrant la répartition de la mulette feuille-d’érable, les populations des Grands Lacs – Ouest du Saint-Laurent, au Canada.

Renseignements connexes

Mulettes feuille-d’érable

Crédit photo : Pêche et Océans Canada

Le saviez-vous?

Les moules d’eau douce sont des mollusques au corps mou sans squelette, donc des invertébrés, qui vivent au fond des ruisseaux, des rivières, des lacs et des étangs. Elles utilisent leur pied musculeux pour creuser et nager et elles sont dotées d’une paire de coquilles articulées. Ce sont des organismes filtreurs, c’est-à-dire des purificateurs d’eau naturelle, qui servent de nourriture à d’autres espèces de la faune comme les poissons, les loutres, les visons, les rats musqués et certains oiseaux. Les moules d’eau douce sont aussi l’une des espèces les plus menacées de disparition sur terre.