Manila Clam

Photo: manila clam. Photo: Graham Gillespie.
Latin Name

Venerupis philippinarum

Group Name

Molluscs

Taxonomy details

Habitat

Manila clams are native to Japan, accidentally introduced to Canadian waters during the 1920s or 1930s. They now range from the central coast of British Columbia (particularly beaches in the bays and estuaries in Georgia Strait and the west coast of Vancouver Island) to California. They make shallow burrows in the sand, gravel or mud in the mid-intertidal zone. However, because they do not migrate after they have settled in a beach and they do not burrow deeply, they can experience increased mortality during the winter when they are exposed to frost and cold winds.

Species Description

Manila clams (Venerupis philippinarum) are oval in profile, narrower at the anterior end. Colouration ranges from off-white to yellow, brown or grey; they often display strips of red, blue or black when small. The inside of the shells is white or yellow with a purple stain on the posterior margin. They have concentric rings (which can be used to determine age) and radial lines on the surface of the shells. Manila clams have separate sexes, and are broadcast spawners. They can grow to 75 centimetres and live up to 14 years.

Manila clams were introduced in BC during the 1930s in oyster seed from Japan. They quickly spread throughout the Strait of Georgia and were accidentally introduced on the west coast of Vancouver Island. Manila clams that exist around Bella Bella are believed to have been carried into the area as pelagic larvae from Quatsino Sound.

Manila clams are found from the central coast of BC to California. They are found in the upper half of the intertidal zone in BC in mixed substrates of mud, sand and gravel. These clams live in shallow transitory burrows in the substrate. No significant subtidal populations of Manila clams have been found in BC.

Species Biology

Manila Clam

Manila clams have separate sexes and are broadcast spawners, synchronously releasing gametes into the water column, where fertilization occurs. Maturation occurs between 20-25 mm in length, or approximately 1-3 years of age and spawning occurs from June to September in the Strait of Georgia. Temperatures of 12-13°C are required for gonadal development, and temperatures of 15°C are required for spawning.

Fecundity increases with size, with estimates ranging from 188,000 eggs/female at first maturity to 2,350,000 eggs/female at 40 mm TL (Total Length). Larvae are planktonic for 3 or 4 weeks before settling in suitable habitat. Adult populations are closed: once settled on one beach, these clams cannot move to another.

Although there may be some movement of Manilas on a beach, distinct growth rates on upper and lower portions of a beach indicate that these movements are relatively limited. Recruitment, the introduction of adults into a population, is highly variable due primarily to environmental conditions. Recruitment is sporadic in the Central Coast.

Interpretation and counts of annual rings on the shell surface are used to estimate age. Maximum size of 75 mm TL (Total Length) is achieved after 8-10 years, and maximum age in B.C. is 16 years. Age at recruitment to legal size (38 mm TL) varies from beach to beach and between areas on a single beach. Growth is greatly affected by tidal elevation and substrate characteristics, and growth can vary as much between different areas of the same beach as between different beaches. Under optimal conditions, Manila clams can reach legal size (38 mm total length) in approximately 3-4 years in the Georgia Strait, 4 years on the west coast of Vancouver Island, and 3-4.5 years in the Central Coast.

Manila clams are filter feeders, and thus can accumulate fecal contaminants (bacteria and viruses that can cause disease) which originate in fecal materials from human, wildlife or agricultural sources. Water quality in shellfish growing areas is monitored by Environment Canada, and beaches suffering elevated levels of fecal contamination are restricted from both commercial and recreational harvests.

Manila clams can also accumulate algal toxins, including those causing paralytic shellfish poisoning (PSP). The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) uses mussel stations to monitor PSP levels, and areas showing increased levels of toxic algae are closed to harvest until algal blooms decline and toxin levels in shellstock samples are safe for human consumption.

Fishery

Photo: Four Manila clams. Photo: Graham Gillespie.

Commercial clam landings since the 1950's were dominated by butter clams until a shift in market preference in the 1980's increased demand for steamer clams (Manila and native littleneck clams). The market shift was primarily driven by demand for Manila clams, which are an attractive clam that separates easily from the shell after cooking. Most Manila clams are sold as live product to restaurants in the States.

Clam harvesters fish during low tides, using rakes or scrapers to turn Manila clams out of the substrate and collect them by hand.Landings of Manila clams are primarily from the South Coast of British Columbia, because there are few Manila populations in the North Coast and water quality monitoring programs were discontinued in most northern areas in the 1960's.

Landings of Manila clams and mixed steamers (which are presumed to be primarily Manila clams) increased dramatically in the early 1980's, averaging 1,654 t between 1980 and 2000, as opposed to 189 t from 1951 to 1979. Manila clam landings decreased after 1988, primarily as a result of more restrictive management measures. In recent years, openings have been reduced in most areas to only a few days per year. Regardless of reduced opportunity, landings increased to 1,327 t in 1994, and have fluctuated between approximately 1,100 and 1,500 t since then. However, these statistics include depuration landings since 1994, representing the revival of operations on some beaches that had been lost to contamination, and landings from the Central Coast since 1992.

Licensed commercial clam diggers are required to designate one of six clam areas they wish to fish each year and then compete for available clams during short intense openings. In 1998, the intertidal clam fishery underwent licence limitations, resulting in a reduction from approximately 2,500 licensed diggers in 1988 to 1,160 eligible participants.

Several collaborative pilot projects that provide First Nations with communal commercial harvest opportunities on beaches fronting reserves are underway in the Strait of Georgia and on the west coast of Vancouver Island.

There are no limits on the number of recreational harvesters, but recreational harvests are assumed to be minor relative to commercial harvest levels. Since 1995, recreational fishers wishing to harvest clams are required to purchase a Tidal Water Sport Fishing Licence. Recreational and First Nations food, social and ceremonial harvests are open year-round, except for time and area closures due to fecal contamination or Paralytic Shellfish Poison (PSP).

Intertidal clam fisheries have been closed in the north coast region since 1963. These closures are the result of concerns regarding water quality and paralytic shellfish poison (PSP), which, in the absence of monitoring programs, create potential human health risks. A pilot commercial communal fishery occurs near Bella Bella, with special water quality and product monitoring programs.

Area 7 Fishery

Exploratory surveys in the early 1980's first found Manila clams in the area around Bella Bella, and a pilot communal commercial fishery was established in Area 7 in 1992, with special water and product quality monitoring programs.

The eiltsuk Tribal Council administers 50 Aboriginal Commercial Licences for the Area 7 fishery. The fishery is co-managed by DFO and the Heiltsuk Fisheries Program. The Heiltsuk conduct annual assessment surveys on index beaches in each of the Subareas fished, and Subarea catch ceilings are developed pre-season to insure that fishing effort is not concentrated in a few Subareas close to Waglisla. Logbooks and a dockside validation program track landings in-season.

The Area 7 fishery is conducted in the winter, usually between November and April. Clams are harvested during low tides, using rakes or scrapers to turn Manila clams out of the substrate and collect them by hand. Clams are wet stored on beaches in designated areas, and delivered to Waglisla on pre-determined dates. The clams are purchased and transported to processing facilities in the South Coast.

The fishery was managed under a Total Allowable Catch (TAC) of 113.6 t until 1999, when the TAC was reduced to 68.2 t after a review of the fishery. Littleneck and butter clams, which had also been under 114.1 t TACs, were removed from the commercial fishery due to low interest from the diggers (mainly concerns regarding price) and to set these species aside for food, social and ceremonial use.

Palourde japonaise; asari

Photo : palourde japonaise. Photo : Graham Gillespie.
Nom latin

Venerupis philippinarum

Nom du groupe

mollusques

Information taxonomique (en anglais seulement)

Habitat

La palourde japonaise, ou asari, est une espèce indigène du Japon. Elle a été accidentellement introduite en eaux canadiennes dans les années 1920 ou 1930. Son aire de répartition s'étend maintenant depuis la côte centrale de la Colombie-Britannique (en particulier les plages des baies et estuaires du détroit de Georgia et la côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver) jusqu'en Californie. La palourde japonaise s'enfouit peu profondément dans le sable, le gravier ou la vase dans la partie mitoyenne de la zone intertidale. Toutefois, comme elle ne migre pas après s'être établie sur une plage et qu'elle s'enfouit à de faibles profondeurs, elle peut connaître une mortalité accrue en hiver lorsqu'elle est exposée au gel et aux vents froids.

Description de l'espèce

Les valves de la palourde japonaise sont de forme ovale. Le bout antérieur est plus étroit. Leur coloration va du blanc cassé au jaune, au brun ou au gris. Les valves des petits individus portent souvent des bandes rouges, bleues ou noires. L'intérieur des valves est blanc ou jaune, et la marge postérieure est teintée de pourpre. Des cercles concentriques (qui permettent de déterminer l'âge des individus) et des lignes radiales décorent la surface des valves. Les sexes sont séparés et les éléments reproducteurs sont libérés directement dans le milieu extérieur. La palourde japonaise peut atteindre 75 centimètres de longueur et vivre 14 ans.

Les palourdes japonaises (Venerupis philippinarum) ont été introduites en C.-B. durant les années 1930 par le biais d’embryons d'huître du Japon. Elles se sont rapidement répandues dans l'ensemble du détroit de Géorgie et ont été introduites de façon accidentelle sur la côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver. On croit que les palourdes japonaises qui existent près de Bella Bella ont été introduites dans le secteur sous forme de larves pélagiques provenant du détroit de Quatsino.

On trouve des palourdes japonaises de la côte centrale de la C.-B. jusqu’en Californie. En C.-B., elles se retrouvent dans la partie supérieure de la zone intertidale, dans des substrats mixtes composés de boue, de sable et de gravier. Ces palourdes habitent dans des cavités transitoires peu profondes dans le substrat. On n’a pas trouvé de populations sublittorales importantes en C.-B.

Biologie de l’espèce

Palourde japonaise

La palourde japonaise a des sexes séparés et émet ses produits sexuels dans la colonne d’eau, des gamètes sont simultanément libérées dans la colonne de l'eau où la fécondation se produit. La palourde japonaise atteint la maturité lorsque sa taille est entre 20-25 mm de long, ou à l’âge d’environ 1-3 ans, et le frai se déroule entre juin et septembre dans le détroit de Géorgie. Une température de 12-13°C est nécessaire pour le développement gonadique et une température de 15°C pour le frai.

La fécondité augmente avec la taille, avec des estimations de 188 000 œufs/femelle à la première maturité jusqu’à 2 350 000 œufs/femelle à 40 mm LT (longueur totale). Les larves sont planctoniques durant les 3 ou 4 premières semaines après quoi elles s’établissent dans un habitat adéquat. Les populations adultes sont fermées: une fois établies sur une plage, ces palourdes ne peuvent plus changer de plage.

Bien qu'il puisse y avoir un certain déplacement de palourdes japonaises sur une plage, un taux de croissance distinct sur les parties supérieure et inférieure de la plage indique que ces déplacements sont relativement restreints. Le recrutement, l'introduction d’adultes dans une population, est fortement variable dû principalement aux conditions environnementales. Le recrutement est sporadique sur la Côte centrale.

L'interprétation et les comptes des anneaux annuels sur la surface de la coquille sont utilisés pour estimer l'âge. Une taille maximale de 75 mm LT (longueur totale) est atteinte après 8-10 ans, et l’âge maximal en C.-B. est de 16 ans. L'âge à laquelle elles atteignent la taille légale pour le recrutement (38 mm LT) varie selon les plages et les secteurs d’une même plage. La croissance est grandement affectée par la hauteur de marée et les caractéristiques du substrat et la croissance peut varier autant entre différents secteurs d’une même plage qu'entre différentes plages. Dans des conditions optimales, les palourdes japonaises peuvent atteindre la taille légale (38 mm LT) à l’âge d’environ 3-4 ans dans le détroit de Géorgie, 4 ans sur la côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver, et 3-4.5 ans sur la côte centrale.

La palourde japonaise est un mollusque filtreur et peut donc accumuler des contaminants fécaux (bactéries et virus qui peuvent rendre malade) qui proviennent de matériaux fécaux humains, de la faune ou de sources agricoles. La qualité de l'eau dans les régions productrices de mollusques et crustacés est surveillée par Environnement Canada, et la récolte commerciale et récréative est interdite sur les plages ayant des niveaux élevés de contamination fécale.

Les palourdes japonaises peuvent également accumuler les toxines algales, y compris la toxine paralysante des mollusques (TPM). L’Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) utilise des stations de moule pour surveiller les niveaux de TPM et les zones ayant des niveaux élevés d’algue toxique sont fermées à la récolte jusqu'à ce que la concentration diminue et que les niveaux de toxine dans les échantillons de mollusques et crustacés soient propres à la consommation humaine.

Pêche

Photo : Quatre palourdes japonaises. Photo : Graham Gillespie.

La palourde jaune constituait la majeure partie des débarquements commerciaux depuis les années 1950 jusqu'à ce qu'une variation dans la préférence du marché dans les années 1980 augmente la demande pour les coques (palourde japonaise et palourde du Pacifique indigène). Le virage du marché a été causé principalement par la demande pour la palourde japonaise, une palourde attrayante qui se sépare facilement de la coquille après la cuisson. La plupart des palourdes japonaises sont vendues en tant que produit frais aux restaurants américains.

La palourde est récoltée en basse mer, à l'aide de râteaux ou de racleurs servant à enlever les palourdes japonaises du substrat pour ensuite être collectées à la main. Les débarquements de palourdes japonaises proviennent principalement de la côte sud de la Colombie- Britannique, parce qu'il y a peu de populations de palourdes japonaises sur la côte nord et les programmes de surveillance de la qualité de l'eau ont été discontinués dans la plupart des secteurs du nord durant les années 1960.

Les débarquements de palourdes japonaises et de coques mélangées (qui sont présumés être principalement des palourdes japonaises) ont fortement augmenté au début des années 1980, atteignant une moyenne de 1 654 t entre 1980 et 2000, par opposition à 189 t de 1951 à 1979. Les débarquements de palourdes japonaises ont diminué après 1988, principalement en raison d’une gestion plus restrictive. Ces dernières années, le nombre d’ouvertures a été réduit dans la plupart des secteurs à seulement quelques jours par année. Malgré la réduction d’opportunité, les débarquements ont augmenté jusqu'à 1 327 t en 1994, et ont fluctué entre environ 1100 et 1500 t depuis lors. Cependant, ces statistiques incluent les débarquements de dépuration depuis 1994, représentant la reprise d’activité sur quelques plages qui avaient été perdues à la contamination, et, depuis 1992, les débarquements de la côte centrale.

À tous les ans, les ramasseurs de palourdes commerciaux autorisés doivent indiquer un de six secteurs de palourde qu'ils souhaitent pêcher pour ensuite faire concurrence pour les palourdes disponibles durant des périodes d’ouverture intenses et courtes. En 1998, la pêche intertidale à la palourde a subi des limitations de permis, résultant en une réduction d'environ 2 500 ramasseurs de palourdes autorisés en 1988 à 1 160 participants éligibles.

Plusieurs projets pilotes de collaboration qui fournissent aux Premières Nations des opportunités de récolte communale et commerciale sur les plages des réserves sont en cours dans le détroit de Géorgie et sur la côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver.

Il n'y a pas de limite sur le nombre de pêcheurs récréatifs, mais on assume que cette récolte n’est pas très importante relative à la récolte commerciale. Depuis 1995, on requiert que les pêcheurs récréatifs voulant récolter des palourdes achètent un permis de pêche récréative en eaux maréales. La récolte récréative ainsi que celle des Premières nations à des fins alimentaires, sociales et rituelles sont ouvertes toute l’année, à l’exception des périodes de fermeture et des fermetures de secteur en raison de la contamination fécale ou de la toxine paralysante des mollusques (TPM).

La pêche intertidale à la palourde dans la région de la côte nord est fermée depuis 1963. Ces fermetures résultent des inquiétudes concernant la qualité de l'eau et la toxine paralysante des mollusques (TPM), qui, en l’absence de programme de contrôle, créent des risques potentiels pour la santé humaine. Une pêche communale commerciale pilote existe près de Bella Bella, avec des programmes spéciaux de surveillance automatique de la qualité de l'eau et des produits.

Secteur de pêche 7

Les palourdes japonaises ont été trouvées pour la première fois lors de relevés exploratoires au début des années 1980 dans le secteur de Bella Bella, et une pêche commerciale communale pilote a été établie dans le secteur 7 en 1992, avec des programmes spéciaux de surveillance de la qualité de l'eau et des produits.

Le Conseil tribal Heiltsuk régit 50 permis de pêche commerciale des Autochtones pour la pêche du secteur 7. La pêche est gérée conjointement par le MPO et le programme des pêches des Heiltsuk. Les Heiltsuk effectuent des études d’évaluation annuelles sur les plages témoins dans chacun des sous-secteurs de pêche, et des limites de prise par sous-secteur sont établies avant la saison pour assurer que l’effort de pêche n'est pas concentré dans quelques sous-secteurs près de Waglisla. Les registres de pêche et un programme de validation à quai suivent de près les débarquements durant la saison de pêche.

La pêche du secteur 7 est effectuée en hiver, habituellement entre novembre et avril. La palourde est récoltée en basse mer, à l'aide de râteaux ou de racleurs pour extraire les palourdes japonaises du substrat et elles sont ensuite collectées à la main. Les palourdes sont gardées en entreposage humide sur les plages dans des secteurs désignés, et expédiés à Waglisla aux dates fixées à l’avance. Les palourdes sont achetées et transportées aux usines de transformation sur la côte sud.

La gestion de la pêche s’est fait selon un total autorisé des captures (TAC) de 113.6 t jusqu'en 1999, lorsque le TAC a été réduit à 68.2 t après un examen de la pêche. Les palourdes du Pacifique et les palourdes jaunes, qui avaient également été assujetties à un TAC de 114.1 t, ont été retirées de la pêche commerciale en raison du manque d’intérêt par les ramasseurs (surtout à cause du prix) et pour les réserver pour la pêche à des fins alimentaires, sociales et rituelles.