Lingcod

Latin Name

Ophiodon elongatus

Group Name

Groundfish

Taxonomy details

Habitat

Native to the northeastern Pacific, lingcod occur from Alaska's Kodiak Island down to Baha California, with a particularly large concentration near the coast of British Columbia off Vancouver Island and the Queen Charlotte Islands, and in the Strait of Georgia, Hecate Strait and Queen Charlotte Sound. Lingcod prefer rocky areas, living on the bottom of the ocean from intertidal depths to about 100 metres.

Species Description

Lingcod are not a true cod. They have an elongated body with a long dorsal fin, and are generally a mottled brown, but can be grey, green or reddish-brown-even bluish. Their colouration gets lighter on their underside. Scales cover their body except for their head. Highly predatory, lingcod also have a very large mouth filled with sharp teeth. They can grow to more than a metre in length and weigh more than 30 kilograms, with females growing significantly larger than males (which rarely exceed 90 centimetres). Males live to about 14 years and females live to about 20 years.

Lingcod Life History

Lingcod (Ophiodon elongatus) are unique to the west coast of North America, with the centre of abundance off the coast of British Columbia. They are found on the bottom with most individuals occupying rocky areas at depths of 10-100 m. Tagging studies have shown that lingcod are a largely non-migratory species, with colonization and recruitment occurring in localized areas only.

Starting in October, lingcod migrate to nearshore spawning grounds. The males migrate first, and establish nest sites in strong current areas in rock crevices or on ledges. Spawning takes place between December and March, and females leave the nest site immediately after depositing eggs. Males actively defend the nest from predators until the eggs hatch in early March through late April. The photo to the right shows a nest-guarding male protecting his egg mass (photo by J. King).

The larvae are pelagic until late May or early June when they settle to the bottom as juveniles. Initially they inhabit eel grass beds, and eventually move to flat sandy areas that are not typical habitat of older lingcod. They eventually settle in habitats of similar relief and substrate as older lingcod, but remain at shallower depths for several years. (Photo: M. Surry)

Females and males mature at age 3-5 years (61-75 cm) and age 2 years (45 cm), respectively. Adult males can be distinguished externally from females by the presence of a small, conical papilla behind the anal vent. Up to age 2 males and females grow at similar rates, with both reaching an average length of 45 cm. After age 2, females grow faster than males, with the growth of males tapering off at about age 8, and females continuing to grow until about age 12-14. Lingcod live up to a maximum of about 14 years for males and 20 years for females, reaching a maximum size of approximately 90 cm and 120 cm, respectively.

Lingcod are voracious predators, feeding on invertebrates and many species of fish, including herring (Clupea pallasi) and Pacific hake (Merluccius productus). The above photo shows a lingcod that has been dissected to show a rockfish (Sebastes sp.) in the stomach (photo by S. Sviatko). Lingcod that survive the larval stages have few predators themselves, and are vulnerable mainly to marine mammals such as sea lions and harbour seals.

photo: male lingcod defending nest (photo by J. King)

Male lingcod defending nest (photo by J. King)

photo: lingcod eggs (photo: M. Surry)

Lingcod eggs (photo: M. Surry)

caption
photo: lingcod dissected with rockfish in stomach (photo: S. Sviatko)

Lingcod dissected with rockfish in stomach (photo: S. Sviatko)

Lingcod Fishery

Lingcod (Ophiodon elongatus) have a long history of exploration as a food fish, starting with First Nations as early as 5,000 years ago, and it is known that they were fished by early settlers in the inshore waters around Victoria by the mid-1800's. (Photo: J. King)

photo: lingcod (photo: J. King)

Lingcod (photo: J. King)

The commercial fishery for lingcod in Canada began around 1860. The early fishery depended on handlining, or jigging, with live bait from small or medium sized vessels, and supplied local markets in Victoria on Vancouver Island. Prior to the development of the trawl fishery, lingcod were the main source of fresh fish available throughout the year, and between the turn of the century and the 1940s they were ranked fourth in economic importance behind salmon, herring, and sardines (pilchards).

Trawling was first conducted in Canadian waters around 1909 but operations remained small and close to the coast until the 1930s. By the early 1940s most areas off the British Columbia coast were being exploited by the trawl fishery, and trawl production now dominates the commercial fishery for lingcod in all areas outside the Strait of Georgia. Historically both Canada and the U.S. participated in the trawl fishery off the west coast of Canada, with the U.S. fishery contributing 40-60% of the total trawl catch in British Columbia. The U.S. fishery off British Columbia was prohibited in 1978 with the establishment of extended jurisdiction to the 200-mile limit in 1977.

Image: Canadian and U.S. Lingcod Commerical Catch in the Canadian Zone 1889-1998

Canadian and U.S. Lingcod Commerical Catch in the Canadian Zone 1889-1998

Catches averaged around 300 t until about 1909, but rose steadily to a high of 5300 t in 1944. As the trawl fishery became established in the 1940s, the area of exploitation was extended to include the entire BC coast. Trawl catches rose steadily while handline catches gradually declined. In the 1950s and 60s coastwide total catch averaged 4000 t, reaching a record high of 6400 t in 1968, the largest catch on record. Coast wide catches declined sharply through the 1970s, but rose again soon after extended jurisdiction in 1977, reaching another record high of about 5600 t 1985. Coastwide catches were high in the early 1990s but have declined in recent years. The introduction in 1996 of on-board vessel observers, bycatch limits for halibut, and the provision that all catches of quota species, including discards, would be counted against individual vessel quotas, substantially changed the groundfish trawl fishery in BC, and has resulted in reduced targeting on lingcod.

Lingcod catch in the Strait of Georgia has been dominated by the hook and line fishery, with minor contributions by the trawl, longline, and recreational fishery. Catches in all sectors have decreased progressively since the 1950s, and by the late 1980s, both commercial and recreational catches in all areas of the Strait of Georgia had declined to low levels. Lingcod stocks in the Strait of Georgia are considered to be at a low level of abundance, and since the early 1990's, commercial fishing for lingcod has been prohibited in all areas of the Strait of Georgia.

Offshore lingcod are exploited primarily by the trawl fishery. The largest proportion of the catch is from the south west coast of Vancouver Island, with large catches also taken from Queen Charlotte Sound. Lingcod are also caught on the north west coast of Vancouver Island, in Hecate Strait, and on the north west coast of the Haida Gwaii. Offshore lingcod stocks are thought to be at a moderate level of abundance.

Age determination of Lingcod

In 1977, Dr. Dick Beamish and Doris Chilton of the Pacific Biological Station published an article showing that cross sections of the 4th to 8th fin rays from the second dorsal fin provided a method for estimating the age of lingcod. This method has since been validated by a mark-recapture study in which lingcod received an injection of oxytetracycline (OTC). Other methods of aging, such as those using scales and otoliths, were found to underestimate ages for older fish.

Ages are determined from fins in much the same manner as for other aging structures: sections of varying thickness are examined under a microscope, and the annuli, or rings, that are formed for each year of growth are counted and used to estimate the age. The cross sections must be made at right angles to the length of the fin ray, and it is therefore important that fins be dried flat, with the cut surface at right angles to the fin rays. In addition, the distance that the section is cut from the fin-ray base is important, and for this reason, all fins should be collected with the base intact.

One problem associated with using fin rays to age older fish, is that the fin-ray center may be resorbed, resulting in the loss of the first two annuli. It is therefore necessary to determine an average width for the first two annuli by examining the fins from juvenile fish. This measurement can then be used to estimate the position of the third annulus on older fish.

Cross-section of lingcod fin ray from a five year old fish (Photo: Fish Aging Unit)

Cross-section of lingcod fin ray from a five year old fish (Photo: Fish Aging Unit)

Samplers collect a section of the 2nd dorsal fin (rays 4-8) that includes the fin-ray base. (Drawing: M. Surry)

Samplers collect a section of the 2nd dorsal fin (rays 4-8) that includes the fin-ray base. (Drawing: M. Surry)

Lingcod Nesting

An interesting history trait of lingcod is their reproductive behaviour. In the fall, males begin to set up territories on rocky substrate. Spawning occurs in December through March, with the majority occurring from mid-January to mid-February. The females move into a spawning area at night to deposit their eggs (up to 490 000 for a 120 cm female). The eggs are deposited in crevices or under rocks, and become a firm, solid, cohesive mass. The male lingcod remains with the egg masses (also called nests) and actively guards them from predation. In one instance, a male lingcod was observed to use its mouth to pick up a sea star that was feeding on eggs. The lingcod carried the predator 2 m away from the nest site before releasing it. Male lingcod are known to be very aggressive when guarding a nest, and biting or chasing of divers, along with bodily protection of the nest is common. Nests will not survive predation if a male is removed from a nest. For this reason, winter closures for lingcod fishing have been put in place in some areas to protect nest guarding males. The males will guard the nest until the eggs hatch (about 5-11 weeks later), and often remain associated with a nest site after the nest disappears.

Research Documents

illustration: lingcod

These stock assessment research documents can be downloaded from the Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat (CSAS) website (links below).

Publications

Morue-lingue

Morue-lingue
Nom latin

Ophiodon elongatus

Nom du groupe

poisson de fond

Information taxonomique (en anglais seulement)

Habitat

Espèce indigène du Pacifique Nord-Est, la morue-lingue se retrouve depuis les îles Kodiak, en Alaska, jusqu'en Basse-Californie. Elle est surtout abondante est la côte de la Colombie-Britannique, au large de l'île de Vancouver et des îles de la Reine-Charlotte, ainsi que dans les détroits de Georgia, d'Hécate et de la Reine-Charlotte. La morue-lingue préfère les fonds rocheux, de la zone intertidale jusqu'à des profondeurs d'environ 100 mètres.

Description de l'espèce

La morue-lingue n'est pas une vraie morue. Son corps allongé, généralement brun moucheté, mais parfois gris, vert ou brun rougeâtre, et même bleuâtre, est surmonté d'une longue nageoire dorsale. Le ventre est clair. Des écailles couvrent le corps, sauf la tête. Prédateur vorace, la morue-lingue est dotée d'une très grande bouche armée de dents acérées. Elle peut atteindre plus d'un mètre de longueur et peser plus de 30 kilogrammes, les femelles atteignant une taille plus grande que les mâles (qui dépassent rarement 90 centimètres). Les mâles ont une espérance de vie d'environ 14 ans et les femelles, d'environ 20 ans.

Cycle Biologique de Morue-Lingue

La morue-lingue (Ophiodon elongatus) est unique à la côte ouest d'Amérique du Nord. La centre d'abondance est à la côte du Colombie-Britannique. On la trouve au fond, avec la plupart des individus occupant des zones rocheuses aux profondeurs de 10 à 100 m. Les études d'étiquetage ont révélé que la morue-lingue est une espèce surtout sédentaire, et la colonisation et le recrutement se produisent seulement dans les secteurs localisés.

Les morues-lingues émigrent à des frayères côtières, commençant en octobre. Les mâles émigrent avant que les femelles, et établirent les nids dans des crevasses ou sur des vires rocheuses en zones avec les courants forts. Ils frayent en décembre à mars, et les femelles départent immédiatement après pondre. Les mâles défendent activement le nid des prédateurs jusqu'aux œufs feraient éclore au début de mars au fin d'avril. Le photo à droite présente un morue-lingue mâle qui protège un amas d'œufs.

Les larves sont pélagiques jusqu'au fin de mai ou au début de juin, et à ce temps, elles peuplent le fond comme les juvéniles. On trouve les juvéniles dans les zones plates qui ne sont pas les habitats typiques des adultes. Éventuellement, les juvéniles peuplent les habitats des topographies et des substrats semblables aux adultes, mais elles demeurent à des profondeurs plus faibles pendant plusieurs années.

Les femelles et les mâles se font mûrir à l'âge 3-5 ans (61-75 cm) et à l'âge 2 ans (45 cm), respectivement. Les mâles adultes peuvent être distingués des femelles par la présence d'une papille petite et conique derrière du passage anal. Jusqu'à l'âge 2, les mâles et les femelles se développent à des vitesses semblables, et les deux atteignent une longueur moyenne de 45 cm. Après l'âge 2, les femelles se développent plus rapidement que les mâles. La croissance des mâles diminue environ à l'âge 8, mais la croissance des femelles continue jusqu'à l'âge 12-14. L'âge maximum des morues-lingues est 14 ans pour les mâles et 20 ans pour les femelles, et la longueur maximum est environ 90 cm pour les mâles et 120 cm pour les femelles.

Les morues-lingues sont les prédateurs voraces, fourrageant sur les invertébrés et plusieurs espèces de poisson, incluant le hareng (Clupea pallasi) et le merlu du Pacifique (Merluccius productus). Le photo présente un morue-lingue disséqué avec un sébaste (Sebastes sp.) dans l'estomac. Les morues-lingues qui survivent l'état larvaire ont eux-mêmes peu des prédateurs, et sont vulnérables surtout aux mammifères marins comme les lions de mer et les phoques communs.

photo: morue-lingue

Morue-lingue (photo par J. King)

photo: les larves

Les larves

photo: papille sur le mâle

Papille sur le mâle

photo: morue lingue disséquéavec un sébaste dans l'estomac

Morue lingue disséquéavec un sébaste dans l'estomac (photo par S. Sviatko)

La Pêche de la Morue-lingue

La morue-lingue (Ophiodon elongatus) a une histoire longue d'exploitation pour alimenter, commençant avec les Premières nations déjà en 5000 ans. Par le milieu du 19ème siècle, les premiers colons pêchaient la morue-lingue dans les eaux côtières près de Victoria.

photo: morue-lingue

Morue-lingue

La pêche commerciale pour la morue-lingue a commencé autour de 1860. Au début, la pêche était à la ligne à main ou à la turlutte, avec des navires petits ou moyens et utilisant l'appât vivant, et elle a fourni les marchés locaux à Victoria à l'île de Vancouver. Avant le développement de la pêche au chalut, la morue-lingue était la source principale de poisson fraîche disponible durant toute l'année, et entre le début du siècle et les 1940, la morue-lingue était la quatrième en importance économique derrière que le saumon, le hareng, et la sardine.

La pêche au chalut a commencé dans les eaux canadiennes autour de 1909, mais les opérations sont restées petites et près de la côte jusqu'aux 1930. Par le début des 1940, plusieurs des régions de la côte de Colombie-Britannique étaient exploitées par la pêche au chalut, et à ce moment la pêche au chalut domine la pêche commerciale de la morue-lingue dans toutes les régions hors du détroite de Géorgie. Historiquement, les États-Unis ont participé en pêche au chalut à la côte ouest du Canada, et ont contribué environ 40-60% de la prise totale au chalut en Colombie-Britannique. La pêche des États-Unis à la côte du Colombie-Britannique était interdite en 1978, avec l'établissement de l'extension de la compétence en matière de pêches à 200 milles en 1977.

graphique: les prise de morue-lingue commerciales canadiennes et américaines dans la Zone Canadienne, 1889-1998

Les prise de morue-lingue commerciales canadiennes et américaines dans la Zone Canadienne, 1889-1998

Les prises moyennes étaient environ 300 t jusqu'autour de 1909, mais elles ont augmenté à un prise record de 5300 t en 1944. À mesure que la pêche au chalut est devenue établie dans les 1940, la région d'exploitation s'est étendue pour inclure la côte entière du Colombie-Britannique. Les prises au chalut ont augmenté régulièrement, alors que les prise à la ligne à main ont diminué. Dans les 1950 et les 1960, la prise moyenne totale à l'échelle de la côte était 4000 t, et elle atteint un record de 6400 t en 1968, la prise la plus grande qu'on ait jamais vu. Les prises côtières ont diminué rapidement pendant les 1970, mais elles ont augmenté après l'extension de la compétence en 1977, atteignant un autre record environ 5600 t en 1985. Les prises à l'échelle de la côte étaient hautes au début des 1990, mais elles ont diminué dans les années récentes. L'introduction en 1996 des observateurs de la pêche, des limites des prises accessoires de flétan du Pacifique, et la provision que toutes les prise des espèces des quotas, incluant les rejetés, seraient comptées contre les quotas individuelles des navires, a changé en grande partie la pêche à poisson du fond au chalut, et a abouti à diminuer le ciblage de la morue-lingue.

Les prises de la morue-lingue dans le détroite de Géorgie étaient dominées par la pêche à la main, avec les contributions petites par la pêche au chalut et à la palengre, et par la pêche récréative. Commençant en les 1950, les prises dans tous ces secteurs ont diminué régulièrement, et par la fin des 1980, les prises commerciales et récréatives étaient très basses. Nous estimons que les stocks de morue-lingue dans le détroit de Géorgie sont à un niveau d'abondance bas, et la pêche à la morue-lingue commerciale dans le détroit de Géorgie est interdite depuis le début des 1990.

La morue-lingue hauturière est exploitée en grande partie par la pêche au chalut. La plupart des prises sont de la côte sud-ouest de l'île de Vancouver, mais les prises larges sont aussi du détroit de la Reine-Charlotte. La morue-lingue est prise aussi de la côte nord-ouest de l'île de Vancouver, du détroit d'Hecate, et de la côte ouest des îles de la Reine-Charlotte. Nous estimons que les stocks hauturiers sont à un niveau d'abondance modéré.

Détermination de l'âge de la morue-lingue

En 1977, Dr. Dick Beamish et Doris Chilton de la Station Biologique du Pacifique a publié un article où ils montrent que les coupes transversales des rayons 4-8 de la deuxième nageoire dorsale fournissent une méthode pour estimer l'âge de la morue-lingue. Cette méthode était validée par une étude de marquage-recapture dans lequel des morues-lingues sont reçues une injection de oxytetracycline (OTC). On a trouvé que des autres méthodes d'estimer l'âge, comme lesquelles qui utilisent les écailles et les otolithes (os de l'oreille), aboutissent à des sous-estimations des âges pour les poissons plus anciens.

On coupe les rayons 4-8 de la deuxième nageoire dorsale et les mettre dans une enveloppe pour sécher à l'air, laissant le bout coupé des rayons à la côte ouverte de l'enveloppe. On détermine des âges des nageoires en la même façon que les méthodes qui utilisent des autres structures : on examine les coupes d'épaisseur variable sous un microscope, et compte les anneaux de croissance annuelle pour estimer l'âge. Il est nécessaire que les coupes soient en retour d'équerre à la longueur des rayons, donc il est nécessaire que les rayons sèchent plats, avec la surface coupée en retour d'équerre aux rayons. Aussi, la distance entre la coupe et la base du rayon est importante, donc il est nécessaire de collecter toutes les nageoires avec les bases complètes.

Quand on utilise les rayons nageoires pour estimer l'âge des poissons plus anciens, quelque fois on trouve que le centre du rayon s'est résorbé, et les premiers deux anneaux ont disparus. Donc, il faut qu'on examine les nageoires des juvéniles et détermine la largeur moyenne des premiers deux anneaux. Cette mesure peut être utiliser pour estimer la position de l'anneau troisième pour les poissons plus anciens.

photo: Une coupe d'une nageoire d'une morue-lingue à cinq ans (Photo: Laboratoire d'étude du vieillissement)

Une coupe d'une nageoire d'une morue-lingue à cinq ans (Photo: Laboratoire d'étude du vieillissement)

dessin: Les échantillonneurs collectent une partie de la deuxième nageoire dorsale (rayons 4 à 8) qui inclure la base de la nageoire. (Dessin par M. Surry)

Les échantillonneurs collectent une partie de la deuxième nageoire dorsale (rayons 4 à 8) qui inclure la base de la nageoire. (Dessin par M. Surry)

Nidification de la morue-lingue

Un trait intéressant du cycle biologique de la morue-lingue est leur comportement reproducteur. En automne, les mâles établissent leurs nids sur des substrats rocheux. Le frai se produit entre décembre et mars. Les femelles se rendent à un endroit de frai pendant la nuit pour déposer leurs oeufs (jusqu'à 490000 pour une femelle de 120 cm). Les œufs sont déposés dans des crevasses ou sous des roches et deviennent une masse ferme, solide et cohésive. Les mâles restent avec les masses d'œufs (aussi appelé nids) et les défendent agressivement contre les prédateurs. On a déjà observé une morue-lingue mâle utilisant sa bouche pour attraper une étoile de mer qui mangeait des oeufs. La morue-lingue transporta le prédateur à 2 m de l'emplacement du nid avant de le libérer. La morue-lingue mâle peut être agressive lorsqu’il défend son nid et il est commun de le voir mordre ou chasser les plongeurs, ainsi que de le voir protéger son nid avec son corps. Si le mâle est enlevé, le nid ne survivra pas la prédation. Pour cette raison, des fermetures d’hiver de la pêche à la morue-lingue ont été mises en place dans certains secteurs pour protéger les mâles qui défendent les nids. Les mâles restent avec le nid jusqu'à l’éclosion des œufs (de 5-11 semaines plus tard) et restent souvent associés au site de nidification après la disparition du nid.

Documents Recherches

Les documents recherches sont disponibles du Comité d'Examen des Évaluations Scientifiques du Pacifique ( CEESP), ou on peut les télécharger au-dessus de Secrétariat Canadien de Consultation Scientifique (SCCS). Les résumés sont en français. Les documents complet sont en anglais en format Adobe Acrobat (*.pdf). Pour voir des fichiers Adobe Acrobat, il se peut qu'on ait besoin de télécharger le logiciel gratuit Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Publications