Leatherback Sea Turtle (Atlantic population)

Dermochelys coriacea

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Leatherback Sea Turtle is 1 of 7 species of marine turtles in the world. It evolved around 100 million years ago and co-existed with the dinosaurs. The species is named for its characteristic leathery shell, which differs from the bony shells of the other 6 marine turtle species. The shell is shaped like a teardrop with 7 distinct dorsal ridges tapering at the tail. Leatherback Sea Turtles are bluish-black in colour with scattered white blotches and have very large paddle-shaped front flippers. The underside of the turtle, or plastron, is mostly pinkish-white. Each adult has a uniquely patterned “pink spot” on the top of the head, which is believed to play a role in prompting migration by responding to seasonal changes in daylight. The adult Leatherback Sea Turtles that frequent Atlantic Canadian waters have an average curved carapace (shell) length of approximately 1.5 metres and an average weight of approximately 400 kg.

The throat and esophagus in a Leatherback Sea Turtle are covered with spines, which are believed to be an adaptation to assist in swallowing slippery jellyfish prey.

Habitat

Leatherback Sea Turtles are found in the temperate, subtropical and tropical waters of the Atlantic, Pacific and Indian Oceans. They are migratory animals, with adults travelling up to 18,000 km each year between their tropical or subtropical nesting beaches and temperate feeding areas. Atlantic Canada hosts one of the highest densities of foraging Leatherback Sea Turtles in the North Atlantic during the summer, in large part due to a predictable abundance of jellyfish prey. When in Canada, Leatherbacks can be found in coastal, shelf and offshore waters. They spend the majority of their time within the photic zone (the sunlit depths) when foraging; however, the species is capable of diving to much greater depths, mostly within 300 metres of the surface. Infrequent deeper dives of up to 1.2 km have also been recorded.

Leatherback Sea Turtles do not come on shore in Canada. They only ever come ashore to nest on warm tropical and subtropical beaches. An adult female can lay between 60 and 90 eggs at a time and may nest up to 10 times a season. Viable eggs begin to hatch following a 2-month incubation period. Due to a variety of factors, including predation, a very small percentage of hatchlings survive their first year.

Leatherback Sea Turtles also occur in the waters off British Columbia. The Pacific population is listed as Endangered under SARA.

Threats

Anthropogenic threats to Leatherback Sea Turtles include (in no particular order):

  • entanglement;
  • vessel collisions;
  • marine pollution;
  • acoustic disturbance;
  • climate change;
  • poaching;
  • coastal development; and
  • artificial light.

The threat of highest concern in Atlantic Canadian waters is entanglement in fishing gear, which can cause lethal or sub-lethal injuries to a turtle. Entanglement can also compromise a turtle’s ability to swim, resulting in drowning. Poaching, coastal development, and artificial light are not threats in Canadian waters.

Female Leatherback Sea Turtle nesting on a beach in Trinidad and Tobago. Credit: Canadian Sea Turtle Network.

Female Leatherback Sea Turtle nesting on a beach in Trinidad and Tobago
Credit: Canadian Sea Turtle Network.

Spiny throat and esophagus of a Leatherback Sea Turtle. Credit: Canadian Sea Turtle Network

Spiny throat and esophagus of a Leatherback Sea Turtle
Credit: Canadian Sea Turtle Network

Further information

The final Recovery Strategy for Leatherback Turtle (Dermochelys coriacea) in Atlantic Canada was published on the Species at Risk Public Registry in February 2007 and the Report on the Progress of Recovery Strategy Implementation is also available.

DFO works closely with the Canadian Sea Turtle Network and other partners to study the Leatherback Sea Turtle and mitigate known threats. For example, deploying satellite tags on turtles, in Canada and on southern nesting beaches, has been instrumental to our understanding of migratory and foraging behaviours.

To learn more about the scientific research being conducted on the Atlantic population of Leatherback Sea Turtles, watch CBC’s Trek of the Titans.

Work is ongoing to better understand interactions between Leatherback Sea Turtles and fishing gear in Atlantic Canada. Creative solutions to minimize the risk of such encounters are being explored with the fishing industry.

To report a Leatherback Sea Turtle sighting, please contact:

Canadian Sea Turtle Network
1-888-729-4667 (toll-free)
info@seaturtle.ca
http://seaturtle.ca

To report a Leatherback Sea Turtle incident (e.g. a dead, entangled or injured animal), please call a toll-free hotline as soon as possible:

In the Maritimes
1-888-729-4667 (Canadian Sea Turtle Network)
In Gulf Region
1-800-565-1633 (Canadian Coast Guard)
In Newfoundland and Labrador
1-888-895-3003 (Whale Release and Strandings-Newfoundland and Labrador)
In Québec
1-877-722-5346 (Réseau québécois d'urgences pour les mammifères marins)

Visit the Bedford Institute of Oceanography in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia to see a life-sized model of a Leatherback Sea Turtle on display.

For more information on the Leatherback Sea Turtle and other species at risk, visit the Species at Risk Public Registry.

Leatherback Sea Turtle (Atlantic population)

Leatherback sea turtle crawling up the beach to complete the nesting process. Copyright Shutterstock

Leatherback sea turtle crawling up the beach to complete the nesting process.
© Shutterstock

Scientific name: Dermochelys coriacea
Taxonomy: Reptile (marine)
SARA Status: Endangered
COSEWIC Status: Endangered
Region: Atlantic Ocean

Help protect sea turtles!

You can help protect sea turtles by using less plastic. Sea turtles may mistake plastic waste for food. They may also get tangled up in various kinds of plastic, such as six-pack rings from pop cans or packing straps, which may cause injuries or make it hard for them to swim or feed.

Ways you can help:

  • Refuse single-use plastics, like straws and bags
  • Remember your reusable shopping bags
  • Pack your lunch in reusable containers
  • Use refillable water bottles
  • Recycle plastic whenever possible
  • Never litter - garbage can be carried by wind and water to the ocean
Leatherback Sea Turtle swimming near the surface of the ocean. Credit: Canadian Sea Turtle Network.

Leatherback Sea Turtle swimming near the surface of the ocean
Credit: Canadian Sea Turtle Network.

Diagram of an adult Leatherback Sea Turtle showing its distinguishing features. Credit: Paul Vecsei, Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Diagram of an adult Leatherback Sea Turtle showing its distinguishing features
Credit: Paul Vecsei, Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Did You Know?

Leatherbacks can maintain core body temperatures up to 18°C warmer than the surrounding water, enabling them to survive in water that is much too cold for other marine turtles. This apparent thermoregulatory ability, which is characteristic of birds and mammals, perplexed scientists. It is thought that the large size of Leatherback Sea Turtles, coupled with several physiological and behavioural adaptations, permit them to regulate their body temperature.

Related information

Tortue luth (population de l’Atlantique)

Dermochelys coriacea

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

La tortue luth est l’une des sept espèces de tortues de mer dans le monde. Elle évolue depuis près de 100 millions d’années et a coexisté avec les dinosaures. L’espèce est nommée ainsi (le nom en anglais est « leatherback », qui se traduirait par « dos de cuir ») en raison de sa carapace ayant l’aspect du cuir qui est différente des carapaces osseuses des six autres espèces de tortues de mer. La carapace a la forme d’une goutte et présente sept carènes dorsales allant en s’amenuisant jusqu’à la queue. La tortue luth est de couleur bleu nuit avec des taches blanches dispersées et a de très grosses nageoires en forme de pagaie. La partie ventrale de la tortue, appelée plastron, est principalement d’un blanc rosâtre. Chaque adulte présente une tache rose unique sur le dessus de la tête, laquelle jouerait un rôle dans le déclenchement de la migration en réagissant aux changements saisonniers à la lumière du jour. Les tortues luth adultes qui fréquentent les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique ont une longueur de carapace courbée moyenne d’environ 1,5 m et un poids moyen d’environ 400 kg.

La gorge et l’œsophage de la tortue luth sont recouverts d’épines, ce qui serait une adaptation facilitant la déglutition de méduses glissantes.

Habitat

On trouve les tortues luth dans les eaux tempérées, subtropicales et tropicales des océans Atlantique, Pacifique et Indien. Ce sont des animaux migrateurs, les adultes voyageant jusqu’à 18 000 kilomètres chaque année entre leurs plages de nidification tropicales ou subtropicales et les zones d’alimentation tempérées. Le Canada atlantique abrite l’une des plus fortes densités de tortues luth en quête de nourriture dans l’Atlantique Nord au cours de l’été, en grande partie en raison d’une abondance prévisible de méduses. Quand elles sont au Canada, on peut trouver les tortues luth dans les eaux côtières, de plateau et de mer ouverte. Elles passent la majeure partie de leur temps dans la zone photique (la couche d’eau éclairée par le soleil) lorsqu’elles s’alimentent; toutefois, l’espèce est capable de plonger à des profondeurs beaucoup plus importantes, principalement à moins de 300 mètres de la surface. On a également enregistré des plongées plus profondes jusqu’à 1,2 km.

Les tortues luth ne viennent pas à terre au Canada. Elles viennent seulement à terre pour nicher sur les plages tropicales et subtropicales chaudes. Une femelle adulte peut pondre entre 60 et 90 œufs à la fois et peut nicher jusqu’à 10 fois en une saison. Les œufs viables commencent à éclore après une période d’incubation de deux mois. En raison de divers facteurs, dont la prédation, un très faible pourcentage de nouveau-nés survivent à leur première année.

La tortue luth est également présente dans les eaux au large de la Colombie-Britannique. La population du Pacifique est inscrite comme espèce en voie de disparition en vertu de la LEP.

Menaces

Les menaces anthropiques pesant sur les tortues luth comprennent (sans ordre particulier) :

  • l’empêtrement
  • les collisions avec des navires
  • la pollution marine
  • les perturbations acoustiques
  • le changement climatique
  • le braconnage
  • l’aménagement du littoral
  • la lumière artificielle

La menace la plus préoccupante dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique est l’empêtrement dans les engins de pêche qui peut causer des blessures létales ou sublétales à une tortue. L’empêtrement peut aussi nuire à la capacité de nager de la tortue, entraînant la noyade. Le braconnage, l’aménagement du littoral et la lumière artificielle ne sont pas des menaces dans les eaux canadiennes.

Tortue luth femelle nichant sur une plage à Trinité-et-Tobago. Photo : Canadian Sea Turtle Network.

Tortue luth femelle nichant sur une plage à Trinité-et-Tobago
Photo : Canadian Sea Turtle Network.

Gorge et œsophage d’une tortue luth. Photo : Canadian Sea Turtle Network

Gorge et œsophage d’une tortue luth
Photo : Canadian Sea Turtle Network

Renseignements supplémentaires

La version définitive du Programme de rétablissement de la tortue luth (Dermochelys coriacea) au Canada atlantique a été publiée dans le Registre public des espèces en péril en février 2007 et le Rapport sur les progrès de la mise en œuvre du programme de rétablissement est également disponible.

Le MPO travaille en étroite collaboration avec le Canadian Sea Turtle Network et d’autres partenaires pour étudier la tortue luth et atténuer les menaces connues. Par exemple, le déploiement d’émetteurs satellites sur les tortues, au Canada et sur les plages de nidification du sud, a joué un rôle déterminant pour notre compréhension des comportements migratoires et de recherche de nourriture.

Pour en savoir plus sur la recherche scientifique menée sur la population de tortues luth de l’Atlantique, regardez l’émission de la CBC intitulée Trek of the Titans.

Des travaux sont en cours pour mieux comprendre les interactions entre les tortues luth et les engins de pêche au Canada atlantique. Des solutions créatives pour réduire au minimum le risque de ces rencontres ont été examinées avec l’industrie de la pêche.

Pour signaler une observation de tortue luth, veuillez communiquer avec :

Canadian Sea Turtle Network
1-888-729-4667 (numéro sans frais)
info@seaturtle.ca
http://seaturtle.ca

Pour signaler un incident concernant une tortue luth (p. ex. un animal mort, enchevêtré ou blessé), appelez l’une ligne téléphonique d’urgence sans frais dès que possible :

Dans les Maritimes
1-888-729-4667 (Canadian Sea Turtle Network)
Dans la Région du Golfe
1-800-565-1633 (Garde côtière canadienne)
À Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
1-888-895-3003 (Whale Release and Strandings – Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)
Au Québec
1-877-722-5346 (Réseau québécois d’urgences pour les mammifères marins)

Visitez l’Institut océanographique de Bedford à Dartmouth, en Nouvelle-Écosse, afin de voir un modèle grandeur nature d’une tortue luth qui est exposée.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la tortue luth et les autres espèces en péril, veuillez consulter le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Tortue luth (population de l’Atlantique)

La tortue luth en rampant sur la plage pour compléter le processus de nidification. Copyright Shutterstock

La tortue luth en rampant sur la plage pour compléter le processus de nidification.
© Shutterstock

Nom scientifique : Dermochelys coriacea
Taxonomie : Reptiles (marins)
Statut selon la LEP : En voie de disparition
Statut selon le COSEPAC : En voie de disparition
Région : Océan Atlantique

Aidez à protéger les tortues de mer!

Les tortues de mer peuvent prendre les déchets de plastique pour de la nourriture. Elles peuvent aussi rester coincées dans divers types de plastique, comme des porte-canettes ou des sangles d’emballage, qui peuvent leur causer des blessures ou les empêcher de nager ou de se nourrir.

Comment vous pouvez aider :

  • N’utilisez pas d’objets en plastique non réutilisables, comme les pailles et les sacs.
  • N’oubliez pas d’apporter vos sacs à provisions réutilisables.
  • Apportez votre dîner dans des contenants réutilisables.
  • Utilisez des bouteilles d’eau réutilisables.
  • Recyclez le plastique dans la mesure du possible.
  • Ne laissez pas traîner des ordures - elles peuvent être emportées par le vent.
Tortue luth nageant près de la surface de l’océan. Photo : Canadian Sea Turtle Network.

Tortue luth nageant près de la surface de l’océan
Photo : Canadian Sea Turtle Network.

Schéma d’une tortue luth adulte illustrant ses caractéristiques distinctives. Illustration : Paul Vecsei, Pêches et Océans Canada.

Schéma d’une tortue luth adulte illustrant ses caractéristiques distinctives.
Illustration : Paul Vecsei, Pêches et Océans Canada.

Le saviez-vous?

La tortue luth peut maintenir sa température corporelle à plus de 18 oC au-dessus de la température de l’eau où elle séjourne, ce qui lui permet de survivre dans des eaux beaucoup trop froides pour les autres tortues de mer. Cette capacité thermorégulatrice apparente, caractéristique des oiseaux et des mammifères, a rendu perplexes les scientifiques. On pense que la grande taille des tortues luth, associée à plusieurs adaptations physiologiques et comportementales, leur permet de réguler leur température corporelle.

Renseignements connexes