Wavy-rayed Lampmussel

Lampsilis fasciola

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Wavy-rayed Lampmussel (Lampsilis fasciola) is one of five species of the genus Lampsilis that occur in Canada and has the following characteristics:

  • yellow or yellowish-green in colour with numerous thin wavy rays;
  • rays may be narrow and individual, or thin and coalesced into wide rays, but are always wavy with numerous interruptions;
  • inside of shell (nacre) may be white or bluish-white;
  • shells are rounded at both ends, while top and bottom are nearly parallel;
  • shells are usually less than 75 mm long, but may reach 90-100 mm in length;
  • smooth shell surface, except for concentric wrinkles and growth rests;
  • the beak (raised part at the top of the shell) is elevated and beak cavities are moderately excavated; and
  • triangular teeth at the front edge of the hinge are short and divergent, and there are two in each half of the shell.

Habitat

The Wavy-rayed Lampmussel has historically been found in 13 U.S. states and the lower Great Lakes drainage of Ontario. Currently in Ontario, they are found in the Lake St. Clair delta and the St. Clair River, and four other watersheds: the Ausable, Grand, Maitland, and Thames rivers and associated tributaries. Recent population estimates suggest that the Wavy-rayed Lampmussel populations are gradually improving in southern Ontario, with the exception of the Lake St. Clair population.

The Wavy-rayed Lampmussel lives mainly in gravel or sand bottoms of riffle areas in clear, medium-sized streams. As it usually burrows into the substrate, it may be particularly sensitive to siltation. The Wavy-rayed Lampmussel is a moderately long-lived, sexually-dimorphic species with a lifespan of at least 10 years, but rarely more than 20 years. Spawning likely occurs in late summer and the glochidia (larvae) are released the following May-August. In females of the genus Lampsilis, the edge of the mantle has evolved into a minnow-shaped lure that is used to attract potential fish hosts when glochidia are ready to be released. Two hosts for this species have been identified in Ontario: the Smallmouth Bass (Micropterus dolomieu) and the Largemouth Bass (Micropterus salmoides).

Like all species of freshwater mussels, the Wavy-rayed Lampmussel filters its food from the water. Bacteria and algae are its primary food sources.

Threats

The dominant threats to most Wavy-rayed Lampmussel populations are declining habitat quality and overall habitat loss resulting from poor water quality. Similar to most freshwater mussels, the Wavy-rayed Lampmussel is extremely sensitive to a number of chemical contaminants, including copper, ammonia and chloride, particularly during their glochidial and juvenile life phases. An estimated 15 per cent of the Wavy-rayed Lampmussel's historic habitat is also overlapped by the invasive Zebra Mussel (Dreissena polymorpha), primarily in the St. Clair River and delta. Due to the Zebra Mussels' ability to attach themselves directly to hard surfaces (such as other freshwater mussels), Zebra Mussels directly impair the Wavy-rayed Lampmussels' ability to feed, respire, reproduce and move.

Further Information

Wavy-rayed Lampmussels, once considered an endangered species under the Species at Risk Act, have been found in such promising numbers that their status was reassessed in 2010 to be considered for downlisting.

Wavy-rayed Lampmussels are bottom-dwellers found in Ontario's lakes and rivers. They initially survive by attaching to bass gills and feeding on their nutrients for the first few weeks – with no ill effects to the bass. The Lampmussel uses a visual lure to attract bass, so clear water is essential to its survival. And their survival has benefits to the aquatic ecosystem as a whole.

Lampmussels have an important impact on the ecosystem in a number of ways. To begin with, they are biological filters that help to clean the water. A single mussel can filter up to 40 litres of water per day. They also ensure the physical stability of the river bottom, prevent erosion, and provide important habitat for other species. Lampmussels are also great indicators of aquatic health, because, as particularly sensitive creatures, they are usually one of the first to disappear from an unhealthy ecosystem. So their increased number is definitely something to be happy about.

Buoyed by greater funding thanks to the original species at risk designation, researchers were able to further investigate and understand Wavy-rayed Lampmussel populations, and were thrilled to find greater numbers. DFO researchers in Ontario's Grand River partnered with a local bass tournament in 2006 and were amazed to find that as many as 45 percent of Smallmouth Bass brought in by anglers were carrying immature mussels.

For further information, visit the SARA Registry Website.

Wavy-rayed Lampmussel

Wavy-rayed Lampmussels (Lampsilis fasciola)

Lampsilis fasciola (Rafinesque, 1820)
Male (left) | Female (right)

Photos by National Water Research Institute

Scientific Name: Lampsilis fasciola
SARA Status: Special Concern (March 2013)
COSEWIC Status: Special Concern (April 2010)
Region: Ontario

Distribution of the Wavy-rayed Lampmussel as described in the following paragraphs

Map showing distribution of Wavy-rayed Lampmussel in Canada.

Did You Know?

Freshwater mussels are molluscs, soft-bodied animals without a skeleton (invertebrates) that live on the bottom of streams, rivers, lakes and ponds. They use a muscular foot to burrow and crawl and have a pair of hinged shells. Mussels are filter feeders — nature's water purifiers — and are food for other wildlife, like fishes, otters, mink, muskrats and some birds. They are also among the most endangered creatures in the world.

Wavy-rayed Lampmussel

Photo: Shawn Staton, DFO

Related information

Lampsile fasciolée

Lampsilis fasciola

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

La lampsile fasciolée (Lampsilis fasciola) est l'une des cinq espèces du genre Lampsilis que l'on trouve au Canada, et elle présente les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • une coquille jaune ou vert-jaunâtre, marquée de nombreux rayons fins et sinueux;
  • ces rayons peuvent être étroits et séparés ou se rejoindre pour former de larges bandes, mais ils sont toujours sinueux et discontinus;
  • l'intérieur de la coquille (nacre) est blanc ou blanc-bleuâtre;
  • la coquille est arrondie aux deux extrémités tandis que les bords supérieur et inférieur sont presque parallèles;
  • la coquille mesure habituellement moins de 75 mm de longueur, mais elle peut atteindre de 90 à 100 mm;
  • la coquille a une surface lisse, à part les plis concentriques et les bourrelets de croissance;
  • le bec (partie en relief sur le dessus de la coquille) est élevé et les cavités ombonales sont modérément profondes;
  • les dents triangulaires au bord avant de la charnière sont courtes et divergentes, et il y en a deux dans chaque moitié de la coquille.

Habitat

La lampsile fasciolée était autrefois présente dans 13 États américains et dans le bassin inférieur des Grands Lacs en Ontario. À l'heure actuelle, on ne trouve l'espèce que dans le delta du lac Sainte-Claire et la rivière Sainte-Claire, et dans quatre autres bassins hydrographiques : les rivières Ausable, Grand, Maitland et Thames, et leurs affluents. Selon les estimations récentes de la population, les populations de lampsile fasciolée croissent progressivement dans le sud de l'Ontario, à l'exception de celle du lac Sainte-Claire.

La lampsile fasciolée habite surtout les zones de rapides des cours d'eau limpides de taille moyenne dont le fond est constitué de sable ou de gravier. Comme d'ordinaire elle s'enfouit dans le substrat, elle peut être particulièrement sensible à l'envasement. La lampsile fasciolée est une espèce sexuellement dimorphe dont la durée de vie est modérément longue, c'est-à-dire au moins 10 ans, mais rarement plus de 20 ans. Tout porte à croire que le frai se produit à la fin de l'été et que les glochidies (larves) sont libérées l'été suivant, de mai à août. Chez les femelles du genre Lampsilis, le bord du manteau a évolué de façon à constituer un leurre à ménés qui sert à attirer les poissons-hôtes potentiels lorsque les glochidies sont prêtes à être libérées. On a identifié deux hôtes pour cette espèce en Ontario: l'achigan à petite bouche (Micropterus dolomieu) et l'achigan à grande bouche (Micropterus salmoides).

Comme toutes les espèces de moule d'eau douce, la lampsile fasciolée filtre la nourriture présente dans l'eau et se nourrit surtout de bactéries et d'algues.

Menaces

Les principales menaces qui pèsent sur la majorité des populations de lampsile fasciolée sont la diminution de la qualité de l'habitat et la perte d'habitats en général découlant de la mauvaise qualité de l'eau. À l'instar de la plupart des moules d'eau douces, la lampsile fasciolée est extrêmement sensible à plusieurs contaminants chimiques, comme le cuivre, l'ammoniac et le chlorure, qui nuisent surtout aux glochidies et aux juvéniles. On estime qu'une proportion de 15 pour cent de l'habitat historique de la lampsile fasciolée chevauche celui de l'envahissante moule zébrée (Dreissena polymorpha), surtout dans le delta du lac Sainte-Claire et la rivière Sainte-Claire. En raison de sa capacité à se fixer directement sur les surfaces dures (par exemple sur les autres moules d'eau douce), la moule zébrée empêche la lampsile fasciolée de se nourrir, de respirer, de se reproduire et de se déplacer.

Renseignements supplémentaires

La lampsile fasciolée, jadis considérée comme une espèce en voie de disparition en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, a été aperçue en nombres si prometteurs qu'on a réévalué sa situation en 2010 en vue d'un changement à une catégorie de moindre risque.

La lampsile fasciolée est un organisme des grandes profondeurs que l'on retrouve dans les lacs et les rivières de l'Ontario. Elle survit à l'origine en se fixant aux branchies de l'achigan et en se nourrissant de ses substances nutritives pendant les premières semaines – sans aucune conséquence désastreuse pour le poisson. La lampsile se sert d'un appât visuel pour attirer l'achigan; l'eau claire est donc essentielle à sa survie, qui profite à l'ensemble de l'écosystème aquatique.

Les lampsiles ont une incidence importante sur l'écosystème, à bien des égards. Pour commencer, ce sont des filtres biologiques qui aident à épurer l'eau. Une seule moule peut filtrer jusqu'à 40 litres d'eau par jour. Ensuite, elles assurent la stabilité physique du fond des rivières, elles empêchent l'érosion et elles fournissent un important habitat à d'autres espèces. Enfin, les lampsiles sont un excellent indicateur de la santé aquatique; en effet, comme ce sont des créatures particulièrement vulnérables, elles sont habituellement parmi les premières à disparaître d'un écosystème insalubre. Leur nombre accru est donc certainement une bonne raison de se réjouir.

Soutenus par un plus grand financement grâce à la désignation initiale d'espèce en péril, les chercheurs ont été en mesure d'étudier plus à fond et de mieux comprendre les populations de lampsiles fasciolées, et ont été ravis de les trouver en nombres plus importants. Des chercheurs du MPO à la rivière Grand de l'Ontario se sont associés à un tournoi de pêche à l'achigan en 2006 et ont été étonnés de constater que 45 % des achigans à petite bouche rapportés par les pêcheurs transportaient des moules immatures.

Pour un complément d'information, consultez le site Web du Registre de la LEP.

Lampsile fasciolée

lampsile fasciolée (Lampsilis fasciola)

Lampsilis fasciola (Rafinesque, 1820)
Mâle (gauche) | Femelle (droite)

Photos de l'Institut national de recherche sur les eaux, Environnement Canada

Nom scientifique : Lampsilis fasciola
Statut selon la LEP : Préoccupante (mars 2013)
Statut selon COSEPAC : Préoccupante (avril 2010)
Région : Ontario

Répartition de la lampsile fasciolée telle que décrite dans les paragraphes suivants

Carte montrant la répartition de la lampsile fasciolée au Canada.

Le saviez-vous?

Les moules d'eau douce sont des mollusques au corps mou sans squelette, donc des invertébrés, qui vivent au fond des ruisseaux, des rivières, des lacs et des étangs. Elles utilisent leur pied musculeux pour creuser et nager et elles sont dotées d'une paire de coquilles articulées. Ce sont des organismes filtreurs, c'est-à-dire des purificateurs d'eau naturelle, qui servent de nourriture à d'autres espèces de la faune comme les poissons, les loutres, les visons, les rats musqués et certains oiseaux. Les moules d'eau douce sont aussi l'une des espèces les plus menacées de disparition sur terre.

Lampsile fasciolée

Photo : Shawn Staton, MPO

Renseignements connexes