Hotwater Physa

Physella wrighti

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Hotwater Physa is a tiny freshwater snail with a high-spired shell that ranges between 3.25 - 9.1 mm in length, about the size of your smallest fingernail. The shell is blackish-grey in color and the surface is somewhat shiny, but not glossy. The shell has an ear-shaped opening and coils to the left. This species uses a pulmonary (lung) cavity to breathe, and is ectothermic, meaning individuals depend on the external environment to regulate their temperature. Hotwater Physa live to about one year of age.

Habitat

The Liard River Hot Springs Provincial Park in northeastern British Columbia is the only place in the world where researchers have found the Hotwater Physa. As its name implies, this mollusc is adapted to live in water bodies of the Liard River hotsprings complex, which range in temperature from 23 to 40 °C. The Hotwater Physa can usually be found just above and below the surface of the water on mats of Chara (a type of alga), woody debris, or sediment. They can only survive in areas of little to no water flow.

Threats

Because they are found in only one location in Canada, Hotwater Physa are extremely vulnerable to anything that could affect their habitat. Potential threats to Hotwater Physa include: changes to the hotsprings' flow regime as a result of human activities, including weir maintenance; recreational activities; drilling activities for oil and gas exploration, and hydroelectric development; introduction of harmful substances; physical habitat destruction or alteration; introduced species; and collecting.

Further Information

In addition to the continued effort to standardize and improve survey methods for evaluating the Hotwater Physa population, several monitoring activities have been carried out. Public outreach activities include improved signage and a television feature on the Liard River Hot Springs. Morphological and genetic studies have also been performed to distinguish the Hotwater Physa from similar species. Finally, maintenance at the hotsprings facility has reduced its footprint on Hotwater Physa habitat. A Recovery Strategy was published in 2007, in collaboration with the Province of British Columbia, and an Action Plan is currently under development.

This species is protected under the federal Species at Risk Act (SARA). More information about SARA, including how it protects individual species, is available on the Species at Risk Public Registry.

Hotwater Physa

Hotwater Physa

Hotwater Physa

Scientific Name: Physella wrighti
SARA Status: Endangered
COSEWIC Status: Endangered
Region: Northern British Columbia

Did You Know?

Hotwater Physa are hermaphrodites, meaning they have the reproductive organs associated with both male and female sexes.

Related Information

La physe d'eau chaude

Physella wrighti

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

La physe d'eau chaude est un minuscule escargot d'eau douce. La coquille, en forme de spirale, mesure de 3,25 à 9,1 mm (environ la taille de l'ongle de votre petit doigt). Elle est de couleur grise noirâtre et sa surface est quelque peu brillante, mais pas luisante. Son ouverture est en forme d'oreille et comprend une ouverture à gauche. Cette espèce utilise une cavité pulmonaire (poumon) pour respirer, est hétérotherme, ce qui signifie que les individus dépendent de l'environnement externe pour réguler leur température. La physe d'eau chaude vit environ un an.

Habitat

Le complexe de sources thermales de la rivière Liard est le seul endroit dans le monde où les chercheurs ont trouvé la physe d'eau chaude. Comme son nom l'indique, ce mollusque est adapté à la vie dans les eaux chaudes des sources thermales, dont la température se maintient entre 23 et 40 °C tout au long de l'année. La physe d'eau chaude se trouve habituellement sur des substrats tant submergés qu'émergés, notamment les mattes de chara (une algue), sur des débris de bois et à la surface des sédiments. Elle ne peut survivre que dans les zones où le débit d'eau est faible ou nul.

Menaces

Du fait qu’on ne la trouve qu’à un seul endroit au Canada, la physe d’eau chaude est extrêmement vulnérable à tout ce qui pourrait nuire à son habitat. Les menaces potentielles à la physe d’eau chaude sont : les changements de débit des sources thermales découlant de l’activité humaine, incluant l’entretien des déversoirs, les activités récréatives, le forage d’exploitation pétrolière et gazière et le développement hydroélectrique; l’introduction de substances nocives; la destruction ou la modification de l’habitat, l’introduction d’autres espèces et la collecte.

Renseignements supplémentaires

En plus des efforts continus de normalisation et d'amélioration des méthodes de relevé permettant d'évaluer la population de physes d'eau chaude, plusieurs activités de surveillance ont été effectuées. Les activités de sensibilisation du public comprennent l'installation d'affiches et un reportage sur les sources thermales de la rivière Liard. Des études génétiques et morphologiques ont été entreprises afin de distinguer la physe d'eau chaude des autres espèces similaires. Enfin, des travaux d'entretien à l'installation thermale ont permis d'en réduire l'empreinte sur la population de physes d'eau chaude. Une stratégie de rétablissement a été publiée en 2007, en collaboration avec la Colombie-Britannique et un plan d'action est en cours d'élaboration.

Cette espèce est protégée en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) fédérale. De plus amples renseignements sur la LEP, y compris comment elle protège chaque espèce, sont disponibles dans le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Pour savoir si cette espèce est protégée par des lois provinciales, consultez le site Web de la province.

La physe d'eau chaude

La physe d'eau chaude

La physe d'eau chaude

Nom scientifique : Physella wrighti
Désignation LEP : En voie de disparition
Désignation COSEPAC : En voie de disparition
Région : Nord de la Colombie-Britannique

Le saviez-vous?

La physe d'eau chaude est hermaphrodite, c'est-à-dire qu'elle possède les gonades mâles et femelles.

Renseignements connexes