Grass Pickerel

Esox americanus vermiculatus

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Grass Pickerel (Esox americanus vermiculatus) is a subspecies of the Redfin Pickerel and a small member of the Pike family (Esocidae). In addition to the distinguishing family features (large mouth; many teeth; forked tail; and posterior dorsal and anal fins), the Grass Pickerel has the following characteristics:

  • Long, relatively shallow body that is cylindrical in shape;
  • Colouration is variable but usually green to brown with 12 to 24 irregular, vertical, narrow, dark bars, and a mid-dorsal brown stripe;
  • Juveniles have a prominent pale lateral band that disappears with maturation;
  • Dusty yellow-green lower fins;
  • Protracted snout, concave in profile;
  • Fully scaled cheeks and opercula (hard bony flap protecting the gills); and
  • Usually less than 300 mm in total length; maximum total length and weight are 381 mm and 500 g respectively.

Habitat

Predominantly located in the U.S., the Grass Pickerel is largely restricted to the west of the Appalachian Mountains, in the Great Lakes and the Mississippi River basin. In Canada, its range is disjunct and is represented by several populations in southwestern Quebec and southern Ontario. It has been found in the St. Lawrence River, as well as in shallow bays and tributaries of eastern and southwestern Lake Ontario, inland watercourses of the Niagara region, and along the north shore of Lake Erie. Populations occur in Lake St. Clair and some of its tributaries. It is also found in several tributaries and waterbodies in the lower Lake Huron watershed.

In Quebec, before 2014, the last Grass Pickerel captures were reported in 1988.  According to historical observations, the species was found in three separate areas separated by natural and man-made obstacles (i.e. rapids, dams and weirs): in Lake Saint François; 2) in the main channel of the St. Lawrence River near Coteau-du-Lac; and 3) in Lake Saint-Louis and its tributaries. In 2014, during surveys funded by Fisheries and Oceans Canada thirty Grass Pickerel were caught in six tributaries of the south shore of Lake Saint-François.

The habitat of the Grass Pickerel is characterized by warm, slow-moving streams, ponds and shallow bays of larger lakes, with clear to tea-coloured water, and abundant aquatic vegetation. Bottom substrate is usually mud, but it has also been found over rock and gravel. Adults reach sexual maturity by two years of age. Associated with overland flooding, spawning occurs in the spring in water temperatures of 4° to 12ºC; however, there is evidence of late summer to winter spawning as well. Eggs are dispersed and adhere to aquatic vegetation. No nest is built and neither eggs nor young are provided parental care. Adult lifespan is seven years or less.

Threats

Grass Pickerel in Canada is at the northern extent of its range. Principal threats to its future survival in Canada are habitat destruction and degradation. Grass Pickerel appear to have specific habitat requirements, and their long-term viability may be threatened by continued development and human encroachment at some locations. Of particular concern has been the loss of wetland habitat through rural land use practices, including agricultural and other development activities. Additional potential threats identified for populations in Ontario and Quebec include drainage, damage/destruction of riparian or aquatic vegetation, sediment and nutrient loading, contaminants input, exotic species, interspecific interactions, climate change, fishing pressure, water level fluctuations (beyond natural seasonal variability), disease and barriers to movement.

Further Information

A management plan for the Grass Pickerel was published in 2012. It provides a summary of current knowledge, identifies threats to the species and its habitat and recommends measures to maintain and improve Grass Pickerel populations.

If you accidentally capture a Grass Pickerel in Quebec, it is very important to advise the Centre de données sur le patrimoine naturel du Québec of your catch, and to release the fish back into the water in a manner that maximizes its chances of survival.

Visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry Profile.

Grass Pickerel

Grass Pickerel (Esox americanus vermiculatus) (© J.R. Tomelleri)

Esox americanus vermiculatus
© J.R. Tomelleri

Scientific Name: Esox americanus vermiculatus
SARA Status: Special Concern
COSEWIC Status: Special Concern
Region: Ontario and Quebec

Grass Pickerel distribution in Canada

Grass Pickerel distribution in Canada from 1899 to 2011.

Did You Know?

The Grass Pickerel is often mistaken for the young of Northern Pike and, less often, the Muskellunge.

A management plan for the Grass Pickerel was published in June 2011. It provides a summary of current knowledge, identifies threats to the species and its habitat and recommends measures to maintain and improve Grass Pickerel populations.

Credit: Konrad Schmidt

Related information

Brochet vermiculé

Esox americanus vermiculatus

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le brochet vermiculé (Esox americanus vermiculatus) est une sous-espèce du brochet d’Amérique et un membre de la famille des ésocidés. Outre les traits marquants de la famille des brochets (grande bouche, nombreuses dents, queue fourchue et emplacement postérieur des nageoires dorsale et anale), le brochet vermiculé présente les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • Corps long, relativement étroit, de forme cylindrique à subcylindrique;
  • Corps de couleur variable, mais il est généralement de vert à brun et présente de 12 à 24 barres foncées, étroites, irrégulières et verticales ainsi qu’une rayure médio-dorsale brune;
  • Les juvéniles possèdent une bande latérale proéminente de couleur pâle qui disparaît au fur et à mesure de leur croissance;
  • Nageoires inférieures de couleur jaune-vert;
  • Museau allongé présentant un profil concave;
  • Joues et opercules entièrement recouvertes d’écailles (branchies protégées par des plaques osseuses);
  • Habituellement d’une longueur inférieure à 300 mm; la longueur totale maximum est de 381 mm et le poids est de 500 g.

Habitat

L’aire de répartition principale du brochet vermiculé se limite à l’ouest des Appalaches, dans le réseau des Grands Lacs et du fleuve Mississippi. Au Canada, son aire de répartition est discontinue et est représentée par plusieurs populations dans le sud-ouest du Québec et dans le sud de l’Ontario. L’espèce a été observée dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent, ainsi que dans les baies peu profondes et les affluents des parties est et sud-ouest du lac Ontario, de même que sur la rive nord du lac Érié. Des populations se trouvent dans le lac Sainte-Claire et dans certains de ses affluents, ainsi que dans plusieurs affluents du bassin versant du lac Huron.

Au Québec, avant 2014, les dernières captures de brochet vermiculé dataient de 1988. Selon les mentions historiques,  on retrouvait l'espèce dans trois secteurs séparés par des obstacles naturels et d'origine humaine (rapides, barrages et déversoirs): 1) dans le lac Saint-François; 2- dans le tronçon fluvial près de Coteau-du-Lac; et 3) dans le lac Saint-Louis et ses affluents. En 2014, des inventaires financés par Pêches et Océans Canada ont permis de capturer une trentaine de brochets vermiculés dans six tributaires de la rive sud du lac Saint-François.

Le brochet vermiculé est associé à des habitats tels des ruisseau à débit lent, des marais et des baies peu profondes de grands lacs, où l’eau est chaude, de couleur claire ou thé et où la végétation aquatique est abondante. Le substrat se compose habituellement de vase, mais l’espèce a aussi été retrouvée où le substrat était composé de roches et de gravier. Les adultes arrivent à la maturité sexuelle à l’âge de deux ans. La fraie a lieu principalement au printemps dans des cours d’eau dont la température se situe entre 8° et 12ºC; des données indiquent cependant qu’elle a également lieu de la fin de l’été jusqu’à l’hiver. Les oeufs sont démersaux et collent à la végétation. Aucun nid n’est construit et les œufs et les jeunes ne reçoivent pas de soins parentaux. La longévité est de sept ans ou moins.

Menaces

Au Canada, le brochet vermiculé se trouve à l’extrême nord de son aire de répartition. La perte et la dégradation de l’habitat sont les menaces principales à la survie des populations de brochet vermiculé au Canada. Le brochet vermiculé semble avoir des exigences spécifiques en matière d’habitat, et sa viabilité à long terme pourraient être affectée négativement par le développement et l’empiètement humain constants dans certains des milieux où il se trouve. La perte d’habitat en milieu humide liée aux activités agricoles et autres activités de développement est particulièrement préoccupante. Les autres menaces potentielles à la survie des populations de l’Ontario et du Québec incluent : le drainage, la détérioration et la destruction de la végétation aquatique et riveraine, l’apport en sédiments et en éléments nutritifs, l’apport en contaminants, les espèces exotiques, les interactions interspécifiques, les changements climatiques, la pression exercée par la pêche, les fluctuations du niveau de l’eau (au-delà des variations saisonnières), les maladies et les obstacles aux déplacements.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Un plan de gestion pour le brochet vermiculé a été publié en 2012. Il fait le bilan des connaissances, identifie les menaces à l'espèce et à son habitat et propose des mesures afin de maintenir et d'accroître les populations de brochet vermiculé.

Si vous capturez accidentellement un brochet vermiculé au Québec, il est très important de déclarer votre capture sur le site du Centre de données sur le patrimoine naturel du Québec et de remettre votre prise à l'eau de façon à maximiser les chances de survies du poisson.

Visitez le Profil du Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Brochet vermiculé

Brochet vermiculé (Esox americanus vermiculatus) (© J.R. Tomelleri)

Esox americanus vermiculatus
© J.R. Tomelleri

Nom scientifique : Esox americanus vermiculatus
Statut selon la LEP : Préoccupant
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Préoccupant
Région : Ontario, Québec

Répartition du brochet vermiculé au Canada

Aire de répartition du brochet vermiculé au Canada de 1899 à 2011.

Le saviez-vous?

On confond souvent le brochet vermiculé avec le jeune grand brochet (Esox lucius) ou, moins fréquemment, avec le jeune maskinongé (E. masquinongy).

Un plan de gestion pour le brochet vermiculé a été publié en 2012. Il fait le bilan des connaissances, identifie les menaces à l'espèce et à son habitat et propose des mesures afin de maintenir et d'accroître les populations de brochet vermiculé.

Crédit : Konrad Schmidt

Renseignements connexes