Giant Threespine Stickleback

Gasterosteus aculeatus

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Giant Threespine Stickleback is a freshwater fish, likely descended from the marine Threespine Stickleback (Gasterosteus aculeatus). Freshwater Threespine Sticklebacks typically have three dorsal spines, an anal spine, two pelvic spines and bony plates on the sides of their bodies. Key features of the Giant Threespine Stickleback's appearance include its unusually large size (~80-85 mm length), a streamlined body, a greater number of gill rakers and bony plates on the sides of its body, longer pelvic spines, and black colouration with silver shading and dark flank bars. Breeding colouration of these fish is unusually dark compared to the more typical red breeding colouration observed in other stickleback species.

Habitat

The Giant Threespine Stickleback occurs only within Mayer and Drizzle lakes on Graham Island, Haida Gwaii, British Columbia. In general, the species likely requires: sustained productivity in open water and near-shore habitats, including natural near-shore vegetation; absence of invasive species; and gently sloping sand/gravel beaches. Mayer and Drizzle lakes are shallow, acidic, and darkly stained water bodies located in lowlands consisting primarily of Sphagnum spp. bogs and coniferous forest.

Mayer Lake has three inlets (Cott, Woodpile, and Gold Creeks) and an outlet (Mayer River) flowing to the Pacific Ocean. Near-shore habitat typically consists of gently sloping sand or pebbles with patchy vegetation. Drizzle Lake has an inlet stream, and an outlet stream, which drains to the Pacific Ocean. The lake-bottom typically consists of sand and gravel, with some pebbles occurring closer to shore. Calcium levels are particularly low, and aquatic vegetation is sparse in Drizzle Lake. The Giant Threespine Stickleback spends spring and summer in near-shore areas for spawning, and moves to deeper waters in winter.

Threats

The key threat to the Giant Threespine Stickleback is the introduction of invasive species. Other threats include changes in predation regimes (e.g. from Coastal Cutthroat Trout and/or the Common Loon), human disturbance (e.g. forestry operations), and potentially, habitat changes caused by introduced beavers.

Further Information

The Giant Threespine Stickleback is being considered for listing under the federal Species at Risk Act (SARA) as Special Concern.

To find out if this species is protected by provincial laws, consult the Province of British Columbia's website.

Visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry Profile.

Giant Threespine Stickleback

Giant Threespine Stickleback

Photo credit: Dr. T. E. Reimchen

Scientific Name: Gasterosteus aculeatus
SARA Status: Special Concern
COSEWIC Status: Special Concern
Region: British Columbia

Did You Know?

Giant Threespine Sticklebacks in Mayer Lake can reach over 100 mm in length—this is the largest known size of Threespine Stickleback throughout its northern distribution.

Related information

Épinoche à trois épines géante

Gasterosteus aculeatus

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

L'épinoche à trois épines géante est un poisson d'eau douce, probablement descendant de l'épinoche à trois épines marine (Gasterosteus aculeatus). L'épinoche à trois épines d'eau douce a généralement trois épines dorsales, une épine anale, deux épines pelviennes et des plaques osseuses sur les côtés de son corps. Les principales caractéristiques de l'épinoche à trois épines géante comprennent sa taille inhabituellement grande (entre 80 et 85 mm de longueur), un corps hydrodynamique, un plus grand nombre de branchiospines et de plaques osseuses sur les côtés du corps, de plus longues épines pelviennes, et une coloration noire avec ombrage argenté et des barres foncées sur les flancs. La livrée de frai de ces poissons est anormalement foncée par rapport à la livrée de frai rouge plus typique observée chez d'autres espèces d'épinoches.

Habitat

L'épinoche à trois épines géante n'est présente que dans les lacs Mayer et Drizzle, sur l'île Graham, à Haida Gwaii, en Colombie-Britannique. En général, l'espèce semble avoir besoin des éléments suivants : une productivité soutenue dans les habitats littoraux et en eaux libres, y compris de la végétation riveraine naturelle, l'absence d'espèces envahissantes, et des plages de sable et de gravier en pente douce. Les lacs Mayer et Drizzle sont des plans d'eau peu profonds, acides et fortement colorés situés dans les basses terres et composés principalement de tourbières de Sphagnum spp. et de forêts de conifères.

Le lac Mayer présente trois arrivées d'eau (ruisseaux Cott, Pilot, et Gold) et une décharge (rivière Mayer Gold) qui se jette dans l'océan Pacifique. L'habitat côtier est généralement composé de sable ou de galets formant une pente douce, avec une végétation éparse. Le lac Drizzle compte un tributaire et un émissaire qui se déverse dans l'océan Pacifique. Le fond du lac est surtout composé de sable et de gravier, avec quelques cailloux plus près du rivage. Les niveaux de calcium sont particulièrement faibles et la végétation aquatique est éparse dans ce lac. L'épinoche à trois épines géante passe le printemps et l'été dans les zones côtières pour le frai, et se déplace vers des eaux plus profondes en hiver.

Menaces

La principale menace pour l'épinoche à trois épines géante est l'introduction d'espèces envahissantes. Les autres menaces comprennent les changements dans les régimes de prédation (p. ex., par la truite fardée côtière ou le plongeon huard), les perturbations d'origine anthropique (p. ex., activités forestières) et les possibles modifications de l'habitat causées par les castors.

Renseignements supplémentaires

On envisage l'inscription de l'épinoche à trois épines géante en tant qu'espèce préoccupante en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP).

Pour savoir si cette espèce est protégée par des lois provinciales, consultez le site Web de la Colombie-Britannique.

Visitez le Profil du Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Épinoche à trois épines géante

L'épinoche à  trois épines géante

Crédit photo : Dr. T. E. Reimchen

Nom scientifique : Gasterosteus aculeatus
Statut selon la LEP : Préoccupante
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Préoccupante
Région : Colombie-Britannique

Le saviez-vous?

L'épinoche à trois épines géante du lac Mayer peut atteindre plus de 100 mm de longueur — il s'agit de la plus grande taille connue de l'épinoche à trois épines dans toute son aire de répartition dans le Nord.

Renseignements connexes