Fin Whale (Atlantic)

Balaenoptera physalus

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The fin whale is the second largest whale in the world, after the blue whale. It ranges in size from 20 to 27 metres and weighs from 60 to 80 tonnes. It reaches maturity at 25 years of age and can live up to 100 years. Females reproduce at two to three year intervals. The fin whale can be distinguished by the asymmetrical pigmentation on its lower jaw, which is dark on the left and light on the right. Fin whale population size estimates in the North Atlantic vary between 5,000 and 11,000 individuals.

Habitat

Fin whales are found in all oceans of the world, with the exception of the Arctic. There are two fin whale populations in Canada, one in the Atlantic and one in the Pacific. Fin whales generally travel alone or in small groups. They can be observed near the coast as well as far offshore. They feed on krill and small fish such as herring and capelin, which they filter out of the water using baleen. During summer, they can be found in areas of krill concentration, such as oceanic fronts off Newfoundland, cold water upwellings near Tadoussac (Quebec) and turbulence areas in the Bay of Fundy.

Threats

Commercial whaling considerably reduced the Atlantic fin whale population. There is no reliable population estimate prior to commercial whaling. But between 1903 and 1945, at least 13,337 fin whales were hunted in Atlantic Canadian waters. Several factors threaten the Atlantic fin whale population. The most important threat is noise pollution, caused by shipping, seismic exploration, military sonar and industrial development. Other important threats are changes in food availability, toxic spills, whaling – still occurring in Greenland and Iceland – and diseases. Some less important threats which need to be monitored include ship strikes, entanglements in fishing gear, marine life observation activities and harmful algal blooms.

Further Information

The Atlantic fin whale is listed as a species of special concern under the Species at Risk Act. A management plan was drafted for this population and is now posted on the Species at Risk Public Registry for a 60-day comment period.

Several organisations, including the Mingan Island Cetacean Study and the Groupe de recherche et d'éducation sur les mammifères marins and even researchers from Saint-Pierre et Miquelon collaborate with Fisheries and Oceans Canada to carry out several studies to improve our knowledge of the biology and ecology of fin whales in Atlantic Canadian waters. Additionally, in collaboration with conservation groups and non-governmental organizations, the Department supports marine mammal – including fin whale – response networks in all maritime regions of Canada.

Visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry Profile.

Fin Whale (Atlantic)

Fin Whale (Atlantic)

Photo: V. Lesage, DFO

Scientific name: Balaenoptera physalus
SARA Status: Special Concern (July 2006)
COSEWIC Status: Special Concern (May 2005)
Region: Atlantic

Fin whale (Atlantic) distribution as described in the following paragraph

Distribution of the Fin whale (Atlantic).

Did You Know?

The fin whale is nicknamed the greyhound of the sea because its streamlined body makes it a fast swimmer – up to 40 km/h.

Photo credit: Gary Taylor. Source: DFO, Newfoundland and Labrador Region.

Photo credit: Gary Taylor
Source: DFO, Newfoundland and Labrador Region.

Related Information

Rorqual commun (Atlantique)

Balaenoptera physalus

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le rorqual commun est la deuxième plus grande baleine du monde, après le rorqual bleu. Il atteint une taille de 20 à 27 m et un poids de 60 à 80 tonnes. Il devient mature à 25 ans et peut vivre jusqu’à 100 ans. Les femelles mettent bas tous les deux ou trois ans. Le rorqual commun se caractérise par la pigmentation asymétrique de sa mâchoire inférieure : foncée à gauche, claire à droite. Les estimations de la taille de la population de rorquals communs dans l’Atlantique Nord varient entre 5 000 et 11 000 individus.

Habitat

Les rorquals communs se retrouvent dans tous les océans du monde à l’exception de l’Arctique. Au Canada, il y a deux populations de rorquals communs, une dans le Pacifique et une dans l’Atlantique. Le rorqual commun voyage habituellement seul ou en petits groupes. On peut l’apercevoir autant le long des côtes que loin au large. Il se nourrit de krill et de petits poissons comme le hareng et le capelan, qu’il retire de l’eau grâce à ses fanons, à la manière d’un filtre. L’été, on le retrouve dans les zones de concentration de krill et de poissons telles que les fronts océaniques au large de Terre-Neuve, les remontées d’eau froide près de Tadoussac (Québec) et les zones de turbulence dans la baie de Fundy.

Menaces

La chasse commerciale à la baleine a réduit considérablement la taille de la population de rorqual commun en Atlantique. Il n’existe aucune estimation fiable de la taille de la population avant l’avènement de la chasse à grande échelle, mais on sait que de 1903 à 1945, au moins 13 337 rorquals communs ont été récoltés dans les eaux du Canada atlantique. Les rorquals communs sont aujourd’hui confrontés à plusieurs menaces, dont la principale est la pollution sonore causée par la navigation, l’exploration sismique, le sonar militaire et le développement industriel. D’autres menaces importantes sont les changements dans la disponibilité des proies, les déversements toxiques, la chasse – encore d’actualité au Groenland et en Islande – et les épidémies. À ceci viennent s’ajouter des menaces moins inquiétantes, mais à surveiller : les collisions avec les navires, les empêtrements dans les engins de pêche, le dérangement causé par les activités d’observation des mammifères marins et la floraison d’algues toxiques.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Le rorqual commun de l'Atlantique est inscrit en tant qu'espèce préoccupante en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Un plan de gestion a été élaboré pour cette population et est présentement affiché sur le Registre public des espèces en péril pour une période de commentaire de 60 jours.

Plusieurs organismes, dont la Station de recherche des îles Mingan le Groupe de recherche et d'éducation sur les mammifères marins et même des chercheurs de Saint-Pierre et Miquelon collaborent avec Pêches et Océans Canada pour mener des travaux de recherche afin d'améliorer nos connaissances sur divers aspects de la biologie et de l'écologie des rorquals communs dans les eaux canadiennes de l'Atlantique. De plus, en collaboration avec des groupes voués à la conservation et des organisations non gouvernementales, le Ministère soutient des réseaux d'intervention auprès des mammifères marins, dont le rorqual commun, dans toutes les régions maritimes du Canada.

Visitez le Profil du Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Rorqual commun (Atlantique)

Rorqual commun (Atlantique)

Photo : V. Lesage, Pêches et Océans Canada

Nom scientifique : Balaenoptera physalus
Statut selon la LEP : Préoccupant (juillet 2006)
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Préoccupant (mai 2005)
Région : Atlantique

Distribution du rorqual commun (Atlantique) telle que décrite dans le paragraphe suivant

Distribution du rorqual commun (Atlantique).

Le saviez-vous?

On appelle le rorqual commun « le lévrier des mers » parce qu’il est capable de nager très rapidement – jusqu’à 40km/h – grâce à son corps hydrodynamique.

Crédit photo: Gary Taylor. Source: MPO, Région du Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Crédit photo: Gary Taylor
Source: MPO, Région du Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Information connexe