Eulachon (Pacific Population)
Thaleichthys pacificus

General Information

Eulachon (also known as candlefish or oolichan) belong to the family Osmeridae or smelts. The scientific name for eulachon is Thaleichthys pacificus, a name derived from the Greek roots thaleia (rich), ichthys (fish) and Pacific (Ocean), which refers to the high oil content found in these little fish.

Eulachons are small, short-lived, anadromous smelts that can be found from the southern Bering Sea to northern California, approximately in the area corresponding to the coastal temperate rain forest. Within BC, they have been documented spawning in 33 rivers, but may only use 14-15 on a sustained basis. Of these, the major river systems where eulachon return to spawn are the Fraser, Skeena, Nass, and Klinaklini.

Eulachon are so high in oil content that they can be dried, fitted with a wick through the mouth and used as a candle. The oil is unique among fish oils in that it is a solid at room temperatures with the consistency of soft butter and a golden hue. As well as a source of fresh food, eulachon lipids may be extracted for 'grease' production. Eulachon grease continues to be an important part of the First Nations diet. The trails used to reach the traditional fisheries and to carry the rendered oil back for trade were known as the "grease trails".

Around BC, eulachon may be found on the offshore shelf about Dixon Entrance, Hecate Strait, Queen Charlotte Sound, and the West Coast of Vancouver Island, generally at depths of 80-200 m.

For reasons unknown, eulachon abundance have shown a declining trend in many rivers throughout their distribution in recent years. There was a sudden drop in returns to several rivers in 1994, most notably in the Fraser and Columbia. Eulachon have virtually disappeared in California and in the last two years they have not been seen in several BC rivers. Rivers which experienced virtually no returns in 2000 were: Stikine, Unuk, Skeena, Kitimat, Kemano, Kitlope, Bella Coola, Kimsquit, Owikeeno, and Kingcome Rivers. Concurrently, there has been a recent increase in the abundance of eulachons in marine waters, off BC and parts of Alaska. While this is an encouraging sign, previous observations of high eulachon abundance in marine waters were not followed by any apparent increases in spawning biomass in freshwater rivers.

Factors hypothesized to have detrimental effects on eulachon returns can be broken down into "in-river" and "marine" effects. In-river effects may include: habitat loss, pollution, directed fisheries, logging, and marine mammal predation. Marine effects may include: oceanographic changes due to global warming or other factors, bycatch from commercial fisheries, changes in food abundance or distribution, and predation.

Key Legislation

Key legislation governing activities in these fisheries includes the following:

  • Fisheries Act
  • Pacific Fishery Regulations, 1993
  • Fishery (General) Regulations
  • Aboriginal Communal Fishing Licence Regulations
  • The British Columbia Sport fishing Regulations (1996)
  • Oceans Act
  • Pacific Fishery Management Area Regulations

For further information, please visit the Key Legislation page.

Integrated Fisheries Management Plan

Fishery Information

First Nations Fishery

Eulachons are of continuing importance to First Nations who harvest them for food, social and ceremonial purposes. Eulachons are eaten fresh, or often smoked, dried, salted or made into grease. Eulachon grease is an important First Nations food source, it is widely bartered among communities and is given as gifts in potlatch ceremonies.

The making of eulachon grease is a labour intensive process. The general Kwakiutl method of grease extraction was described by MacNair (1971): after the eulachon were caught, they were allowed to decompose in canoes, chests, or pits for one to two weeks. The fish were then put into hot water and heated for half an hour after which the entire mixture was stirred and the fish "bounced" on large forks to release oil from the fish and the resulting oil was skimmed off the surface of the water. It was strained, cooled, and heated again until it turned clear and then stored. Other methods by various groups included pressing the fish to extract the remaining oil after boiling or heating, and heating the fish-water mixture with hot stones. Historically, the grease was often stored in containers made from bull kelp or in wooden boxes.

For groups with access, eulachon grease formed a staple part of the First Nations diet. It was used in many traditional foods, to preserve fruit, as medicine and even to lubricate tools. Eulachon grease is composed mainly of oleic, stearic, and palmitic acids. It added a good dose of vitamins A, D, K, and E to the First Nations diet. The fish when eaten whole was also a source of calcium, iron, and zinc protein.

High value was placed on eulachon grease. When traded, 25 gallons or one box of eulachon grease was worth the equivalent of four blankets or two beaver skins or two boxes of dried halibut. Fifty gallons of eulachon grease could be traded for a canoe. (Hinrichsen, 1998)

The Department negotiates approximately 74 agreements annually with 145 First Nations in British Columbia and the Yukon. First Nations access to fish for food, social and ceremonial purposes are managed through a communal licence. (for additional information on communal licences, see the internet site.

Aboriginal communal licences specify the locations and method permitted for use by First Nations for food, social and ceremonial harvests. Eulachons are harvested when they return to freshwater to spawn. Timing of fisheries on the coast is area dependent, with the Skeena and Nass spawners returning in early March and to the Fraser River in April/May. Fishing methods will vary by First Nations and river system, but may include beach seine, gillnet, conical nets and dipnets.

Limited information is available on the extent of First Nations' harvest of eulachons for food, social and ceremonial purposes. Catch monitoring programs are currently being developed in collaboration with some Aboriginal organizations.

Table 1. First Nations' Nass River Catches (Eulachon Research Council May 4 & 9 2000 Meeting Notes)
Year Catch (preliminary) Peak
1997 106 tonnes March 20 
1998 296 tonnes March 13
1999 238 tonnes March 15
2000 168 tonnes March 17

The Department regularly consults with individual First Nations on a bilateral basis on their fisheries for food, social and ceremonial purposes, as well as on activities that might impact on their fisheries (e.g. proposed commercial, recreational fisheries, by-catch issues or fishery closures). It is the objective of the Department to enter into Fisheries Agreements with First Nations that will set out fishing arrangements including area of the fishery, harvest levels, gear to be used and the First Nations involvement in the management of their fishery. The Department also consults with groups of First Nations that share common fishing areas or in some cases, share common interests. Examples of the latter include watershed-based committees such as the Fraser River Aboriginal Fisheries Forum, and the province-wide BC Aboriginal Fisheries Commission. To date, there has not been an agreed-upon process to consult on a multi-lateral basis between First Nations, commercial and recreational fishers.

Recreational Fishery

Attention:

There is currently no recreational harvesting of eulachon due to conservation concerns.

Commercial Fishery

Eulachon have been commercially harvested on the Fraser River since the 1870's. The only other large commercial fishery of eulachon in BC has been on the Nass River, which ended in the 1940's. In the early 1940's, First Nations asked the Minister of Fisheries not to grant licences to any non-aboriginal individuals or companies to harvest eulachon from anywhere in BC except for the Fraser River. Fraser River eulachon were not used for grease production, perhaps due to lower oil content or quality or lack of interest from First Nations groups living in the area. From 1903 to 1912, the Fraser River eulachon fishery was the fifth largest commercial fishery in BC. (Stacy, 1995).

Historically, anyone with a Category 'C' licence or a limited entry vessel-based category of licence was eligible to fish eulachon. These fish are harvested when they return to the lower Fraser River to spawn between late March and early May.

Figure 1: Fraser River Commercial Eulachon Harvest 1941-1996

Figure 1: Fraser River Commercial Eulachon Harvest 1941-1996

Up to 1995, the fishery was passively managed with an open time from March 15 to May 31 for commercial drift gillnets with a one day per week closure. In 1995, due to concerns raised by First Nations and commercial fishers that eulachon stocks were at very low levels of abundance, an active management regime and stock assessment program was initiated. The fishery was restricted to three days per week in an attempt to provide a "spawning window" which would allow some fish to swim unimpeded by nets to their spawning areas.

In 1996, the number of vessels landing eulachon increased to 71 and the catch dramatically increased to at least 63t (preliminary estimate). This increase was due to a number of factors, including: speculation over licensing changes, diminished opportunities in other fisheries, changes to the unemployment insurance program and an increase in the availability of eulachon.

The commercial eulachon fishery was closed in 1997 due to the inability to control effort and participation and to ensure conservation objectives were met. Licence limitation was put into effect in 1998 and a separate category of licence for eulachon (ZU) introduced. Due to stock abundance concerns the fishery was not opened in 1998, 1999 or 2000.

The commercial eulachon fishery sells to the fresh fish market for food. Some of the catch is sold as bait for recreational sturgeon fishing. Based on fish slip records for the period 1980 to 1995, the number of active vessels ranged between 8 and 45 and catches were between 6t and 49t with an average of 20t. The total value of the fishery has ranged between $9,000 and $64,000.

Table 2. Summary of Fraser River (Area 29) commercial eulachon fishery value, effort, participation, & catch for 1970 to 1996.
Year # Fishers Value ($) Effort (days) Catch (tonnes)
1970 - - - -
1971 - - - 34.519
1972 - - - 53.162
1973 - - - 53.071
1974 - - - 75.297
1975 - - - 27.669
1976 - - - 36.741
1977 - - - 32.205
1978 - - - 38.610
1979 - - - 22.353
1980 - - - 24.385
1981 - - - 21.204
1982 - 9,150 66 8.261
1983 35 11,863 145  10.504
1984 28 19,577 120 15.733
1985 42 40,391 99 29.229
1986  30 48,596 223  49.416
1987 22 20,859 239 19.117
1988 30 36,449 204  39.441
1989 24 18,052 219 18.791
1990 23 22,081 151 19.945
1991 26 16,788 204 12.293
1992 27 32,566 280  19.609
1993 25 18,001 210 8.979
1994 8 10,514 61 5.915
1995 45 64,152 372 25.792
1996 35 (71*) 59,438 275 29.463 (65.745*)
Five year averages        
1985-89 30 32,869 197  31.199
1990-94 22 19,990 181 13.348
10 year average        
1985-94 26 26,430 189 22.274
Source: DFO sales slip data        
* log book/hail data        

Science projects

CSAS Documents and Stock Status Reports

2015

2012

2011

2007

2006

2005

2003

2002

2000

1999

Other online publications

Eulachon Links

Eulakane (populations du Pacifique)
Thaleichthys pacificus

General Information

L'eulakane (également appelé poisson-chandelle) fait partie de la famille des Osmeridae (éperlans). Son nom scientifique, Thaleichthys pacificus, qui est dérivé du grec thaleia (riche) et ichthys (poisson), évoque la forte teneur en huile propre à ce petit poisson.

L'eulakane est un poisson de petite taille, de type anadrome, qui vit relativement peu longtemps et qu'on trouve dans les eaux bordant la zone de forêt pluviale tempérée comprise entre le sud de la mer de Béring et le nord de la Californie. En Colombie-Britannique, on a observé la présence d'eulakanes géniteurs dans 33 rivières, mais seulement une quinzaine d'entre elles offrent un habitat propice et viable pour la reproduction de l'espèce (bassins du Fraser, de la Skenna, de la Nass et de la Klinaklini).

L'eulakane est un poisson si riche en huile qu'il peut servir de chandelle à l'état séché. Son huile a ceci de particulier qu'elle prend la consistance du beurre et une couleur dorée à température ambiante. Outre son intérêt alimentaire, ce poisson a toujours constitué une importante source de graisse pour les Premières nations du Pacifique Nord-Ouest. À telle enseigne que les sentiers qui donnaient accès aux pêcheries d'eulakane traditionnelles étaient désignés « sentiers de la graisse ».

En Colombie-Britannique, on trouve généralement des populations d'eulakanes à une profondeur de 80 à 200 m, dans les zones de l'entrée Dixon, du détroit d'Hecate, des îles de la Reine-Charlotte et de la côte Ouest de l'île de Vancouver.

Pour des raisons inconnues, on observe depuis quelques années un déclin des populations d'eulakane dans plusieurs rivières situées à l'intérieur de l'aire de distribution de l'espèce, notamment dans les bassins du Fraser et du Columbia, où l'on a enregistré une chute soudaine des effectifs en 1994. L'eulakane a pratiquement disparu des eaux de la Californie, et depuis deux ans, plusieurs cours d'eau de la Colombie-Britannique semblent être destinés à connaître le même sort, notamment la Stikine, l'Unik, la Skeena, la Kitimat, la Demano, la Kitlope, la Bella Colla, la Kimsquit, l'Owikeeno et la Kingcome, où l'on n'a recensé pratiquement aucune remonte d'eulakanes en 2000. Par contre, on a récemment observé une augmentation des populations en mer au large de la Colombie-Britannique et de certaines parties de l'Alaska. C'est un signe encourageant, mais on sait d'expérience qu'une abondance élevée en mer ne s'accompagne pas nécessairement d'une augmentation correspondante de la biomasse génitrice en eau douce.

On pense que les facteurs susceptibles de porter atteinte aux remontes d'eulakane sont de deux ordres :

  1. facteurs « fluviatiles » (déperdition d'habitats, pollution, pêches monospécifiques, exploitations forestières et actions prédatrices des mammifères marins);
  2. facteurs « marins » (perturbations océaniques induites par le réchauffement de la planète et par d'autres facteurs, captures accidentelles de pêche commerciale, aléas de la biomasse nutritive, actions des prédateurs, etc.).

Lois et règlements

Voici les lois et les règlements qui régissent l'activité de pêche portant sur l'eulakane :

  • Loi sur les pêches
  • Règlement de pêche du Pacifique, 1993
  • Règlements généraux de pêche
  • Règlements concernant la délivrance des permis de pêche autochtone communautaires
  • Règlements sur la pêche sportive en Colombie-Britannique (1996)
  • Loi sur les océans
  • Règlements sur les secteurs de gestion des pêches du Pacifique

Pour obtenir plus d'information, veuillez consulter la page des lois clés.

Plan de gestion intégrée des pêches

Information sur les pêches

Pêche autochtone

Pour les Autochtones, l'eulakane a toujours eu une importante valeur alimentaire, sociale et cérémonielle. C'est un poisson qui se mange frais, fumé, séché ou salé et qui est une intéressante source de graisse. Outre sa fonction alimentaire, il sert au troc et aux échanges de cadeaux lors des potlaches.

La fabrication de la graisse d'eulakane exige beaucoup de travail. Voici la méthode qui était employée par les Kwakiutl, telle qu'elle a été décrite par MacNair (1971) : les eulakanes destinés à l'extraction de la graisse sont laissés à décomposer pendant une ou deux semaines dans des canoës, des coffres ou des fosses. Le poisson est ensuite mis dans de l'eau bouillante pendant une demi-heure, puis brassé avec de grandes cuillers pour qu'il rende toute son huile, laquelle est récupérée par séparation. L'huile est ensuite filtrée, refroidie et chauffée de nouveau pour être clarifiée avant d'être entreposée. Il existait d'autres procédés de fabrication, qui consistaient à extraire l'huile en pressant les poissons préalablement bouillis ou chauffés au moyen de pierres chaudes. La graisse obtenue était souvent entreposée dans des contenants faits d'algues brunes ou dans des boîtes en bois.

Pour les groupes autochtones qui avaient accès à cette ressource, la graisse d'eulakane constituait un produit de première nécessité. Elle entrait dans la composition de nombreux mets traditionnels et servait à préserver les fruits, à confectionner des produits médicaux, à lubrifier des outils, etc. La graisse d'eulakane est constituée essentiellement d'acides oléiques, stéariques et palmitiques. Elle constitue un apport intéressant en vitamines A, D, K et E dans la diète autochtone. La chair du poisson est par ailleurs une bonne source de calcium, de fer et de zinc.

La graisse d'eulakane avait une haute valeur marchande : une boîte de 25 gallons valait 4 couvertures ou deux peaux de castors, ou encore deux boîtes de flétan séché. Et cinquante gallons de graisse d'eulakane pouvaient valoir un canoë (Hinrichsen, 1998).

Le Ministère négocie annuellement environ 74 ententes avec 145 Premières nations de la Colombie-Britannique et du Yukon. L'accès des Autochtones aux sources de poissons pour la pêche alimentaire, sociale et cérémonielle est régi par un système de permis communautaires. (Pour toute autre information concernant les permis communautaires, voir le site web correspondant.)

Les permis de pêche autochtone communautaires précisent les endroits et les méthodes de pêche autorisés pour assurer les besoins alimentaires, sociaux et cérémoniels des Premières nations qui en sont titulaires. L'eulakane est pêché au moment de sa remonte en eau douce jusqu'aux aires de frai. Le moment de la pêche varie selon l'endroit : début mars pour la Skeena et la Nass, et avril-mai pour le fleuve Fraser. Les méthodes de pêche varient selon les groupes autochtones et les cours d'eau concernés, mais elles se limitent généralement à la senne de plage, au filet maillant, au filet conique et à l'épuisette.

On a relativement peu d'informations sur l'envergure de la pêche autochtone à l'eulakane pour fins alimentaires, sociales et cérémonielles. Des programmes de surveillance des prises sont actuellement en cours d'élaboration, de concert avec diverses organisations autochtones.

Tableau 1. Captures autochtones réalisées sur la Nass (Eulachon Research Council, compte rendu des rencontres du 4 et du 9 mai 2000)
Année Captures annuelles (préliminaire) Date de pointte
1997 106 tonnes 20 mars
1998 296 tonnes 13 mars
1999 238 tonnes 15 mars
2000 168 tonnes 17 mars

Le Ministère consulte chaque Première nation concernée sur ses activités de pêche à but alimentaire, social et cérémoniel, et sur les activités susceptibles d'influer sur ses pêcheries (activités de pêche commerciales proposées, activités de pêche récréative, problème des captures accessoires, fermetures de pêche, etc.). Il veut conclure des ententes de pêche autochtone qui préciseront les conditions dans lesquelles pourra se pratiquer l'activité de pêche (zones pêchées, tonnage capturé, engins autorisés, participation de la Première nation à la gestion de la pêcherie, etc.). Le Ministère consulte également les groupes autochtones qui partagent des zones de pêche ou, dans certains cas, des intérêts de pêche (comités axés sur un bassin particulier, comme le Forum sur les pêches autochtones du Fraser et la Commission pan-provinciale des pêches autochtones de la Colombie-Britannique). À ce jour, aucun processus multilatéral n'a pu être retenu pour la consultation entre les Premières nations et les pêcheurs commerciaux et récréatifs.

Pêche récréative

Attention :

En raison d'inquiétudes relevant de la conservation, la pêche au poisson-chandelle est actuellement interdite.

Activités de pêche commerciale

L'eulakane est pêché commercialement dans le Fraser depuis les années 1870. Il se pêchait jadis dans la Nass, mais cette activité a cessé dans les années 1940, sous la pression des Premières nations qui voulaient que le Ministère s'abstienne d'accorder des permis de pêche à l'eulakane aux pêcheurs non autochtones (individus et entreprises), et ce pour toute la Colombie-Britannique, hormis le secteur du Fraser. L'eulakane du Fraser n'était d'ailleurs pas utilisé pour la production de graisse, probablement en raison du peu de valeur (quantitative et qualitative) que représentait son huile ou du manque d'intérêt des Premières nations riveraines du Fraser pour cette matière. Entre 1903 et 1912, la pêche à l'eulakane du Fraser était la cinquième en importance parmi les activités de pêche commerciale de la Colombie-Britannique (Stacy, 1995).

D'une manière générale, quiconque est muni d'un permis de catégorie « C » ou d'un permis à accès limité (pêche en bateau) peut pratiquer la pêche à l'eulakane. Cette espèce est pêchée dans le secteur du bas Fraser, lors de sa remonte vers les frayères (fin mars-début mai).

Figure 1: Fraser River Commercial Eulachon Harvest 1941-1996

Figure 1: Fraser River Commercial Eulachon Harvest 1941-1996

Jusqu'en 1995, la pêche à l'eulakane était gérée « passivement » selon un régime autorisant la pêche commerciale de l'espèce à l'aide de filets maillants durant la période comprise entre le 15 mars et le 31 mai, sous réserve d'un jour d'interdiction par semaine. En 1995, par suite des préoccupations formulées par les pêcheurs autochtones et les pêcheurs commerciaux concernant le faible taux d'abondance des stocks, on décida de mettre en place un régime de gestion plus vigoureux et un programme d'évaluation des stocks. C'est ainsi que la pêche à l'eulakane fut limitée à trois jours/semaine afin de réserver un « créneau de reproduction » suffisant pour permettre à un nombre adéquat de géniteurs d'échapper aux filets et de remonter jusqu'aux frayères.

En 1996, le nombre de bateaux pêchant l'eulakane passa à 71 et les débarquements atteignirent près de 63 tonnes (chiffres préliminaires). Cette augmentation était attribuable à plusieurs facteurs : spéculation due aux changements du régime des permis, réduction des autres activités de pêche, modifications apportées au régime d'assurance-emploi et augmentation des effectifs d'eulakane exploitables.

La pêche commerciale de l'eulakane fut fermée en 1997 en raison de l'impossibilité de contrôler adéquatement la pression halieutique et de la nécessité d'assurer l'atteinte des objectifs de conservation établis. Des restrictions de permis furent imposées en 1998 et une catégorie distincte de permis fut créée pour la pêche à l'eulakane. En raison des inquiétudes suscitées par la faible abondance des stocks, on décida de ne pas ouvrir la pêche à l'eulakane au cours des années 1998, 1999 et 2000.

Les captures commerciales d'eulakane sont généralement vendues sur le marché du poisson frais, mais une partie est écoulée comme produit d'appâtage pour la pêche récréative à l'esturgeon. Selon les bordereaux de pêche remplis entre 1980 et 1995, le nombre de bateaux en activité se situait entre 8 et 45 et les débarquements se chiffraient entre 6 tonnes et 49 tonnes, pour une moyenne de 20 tonnes et une valeur totale de 9 000 à 64 000 $.

Figure 1 : Pêche commerciale de l'eulakane dans le secteur du Fraser 1941-1996
Année #pêcheurs Valeur ($) Effort (jours) Captures (tonnes)
1970 - - - -
1971 - - - 34.519
1972 - - - 53.162
1973 - - - 53.071
1974 - - - 75.297
1975 - - - 27.669
1976 - - - 36.741
1977 - - - 32.205
1978 - - - 38.610
1979 - - - 22.353
1980 - - - 24.385
1981 - - - 21.204
1982 - 9,150 66 8.261
1983 35 11,863 145  10.504
1984 28 19,577 120 15.733
1985 42 40,391 99 29.229
1986  30 48,596 223  49.416
1987 22 20,859 239 19.117
1988 30 36,449 204  39.441
1989 24 18,052 219 18.791
1990 23 22,081 151 19.945
1991 26 16,788 204 12.293
1992 27 32,566 280  19.609
1993 25 18,001 210 8.979
1994 8 10,514 61 5.915
1995 45 64,152 372 25.792
1996 35 (71*) 59,438 275 29.463 (65.745*)
Moyennes sur 5 ans        
1985-89 30 32,869 197  31.199
1990-94 22 19,990 181 13.348
Moyenne sur 10 ans        
1985-94 26 26,430 189 22.274
Source : bordereaux de ventes MPO        
* registres de bord/captures        

Projets

Comptes-rendus du SCCS et rapports sur l'état des stocks

2015

2012

2011

2007

2006

2005

2003

2002

2000

1999

D'autres publications en ligne

D'autres liens eulakane