Deepwater Redfish (Northern population)

Sebastes mentella

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

Deepwater Redfish (Sebastes mentella) are bright red groundfish with spiny-rays, are characterized by a bony protrusion on their lower jaw (known as a “beak”), have large eyes, and bony spines that cover their gills. They reach sexual maturity very late (10-15 years of age), and abundant generations are observed only every 5 to 12 years. Redfish are distinguished from other fish by their slow growth and long lifespan; they can grow up to 60 cm in length and live up to 75 years.

Habitat

The Deepwater Redfish is found on both sides of the Atlantic Ocean. In Canadian waters, its range extends from the Grand Banks to Baffin Bay, and includes the Gulf of St. Lawrence, the Laurentian Channel, and the Labrador Sea. There are two Deepwater Redfish populations in Canadian waters: the Northern population and the Gulf of St. Lawrence and Laurentian Channel population. The Northern population includes the Grand Banks, the Labrador Shelf, Davis Strait and Baffin Bay (Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization Areas 0 and 2+3KLNO).

Larvae occur in surface waters down to about 30m, where they feed on copepods and fish eggs, while adults live in cold, deep waters (from 350 to 500 metres) where they feed on shrimp and fish.

Deepwater Redfish, Northern population

This map shows the location of the Northern population of Deepwater Redfish. It is observed in the areas east of Newfoundland and Labrador and Baffin Island.

Threats

The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada has identified directed fisheries and by-catch in fisheries directing for other species as the main threats to the Northern population of Deepwater Redfish.

Further Information

For more information, visit the Species at Risk Registry.

Deepwater Redfish (Northern population)

Illustration of a redfish

Illustration: DFO

Scientific name: Sebastes mentella
SARA Status: No Status
COSEWIC Status: Threatened (2010)
Region: Nunavut, Newfoundland and Labrador

Photo of a school of Redfish

Photo credit: DFO: R. Larocque

Did You Know?

Deepwater Redfish are ovo-viviparous with internal fertilization, meaning that they mate in autumn and the fertilized eggs hatch and remain inside the female's body where they develop into larvae until they are released in the spring/summer period.

Related information

Sébaste atlantique (population du nord)

Sebastes mentella

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le sébaste atlantique (Sebastes mentella) est un poisson de fond de couleur rouge vif à rayons épineux. Il est caractérisé par la protrusion osseuse de sa mâchoire inférieure (appelée « bec »), ses gros yeux et les épines osseuses qui recouvrent ses branchies. Il atteint la maturité sexuelle très tardivement (entre 10 et 15 ans) et l'on observe des générations abondantes que tous les 5 à 12 ans. Le sébaste se distingue des autres poissons par sa croissance lente et sa longue durée de vie. Il peut atteindre jusqu'à 60 cm de longueur et vivre jusqu'à 75 ans.

Habitat

Le sébaste atlantique peuple les deux côtés de l'océan Atlantique. Dans les eaux canadiennes, son aire de répartition s'étend des Grands Bancs jusqu'à la baie de Baffin et elle englobe le golfe du Saint-Laurent, le chenal Laurentien et la mer du Labrador. Il y a deux populations de sébastes atlantiques dans les eaux canadiennes : la population du nord et la population du golfe du Saint-Laurent et du chenal Laurentien. La population du nord se répartit entre les Grands Bancs, le plateau continental du Labrador, le détroit de Davis et la baie de Baffin (divisions 0 et 2+3KLNO de l'Organisation des pêches de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest [OPANO]).

Les larves se trouvent dans les eaux de surface jusqu'à 30 m de profondeur où elles se nourrissent de copépodes et d'œufs de poissons. Les adultes vivent dans les eaux froides à des profondeurs entre 350 m et 500 m où ils se nourrissent de crevettes et de poissons.

Sébaste atlantique, population du Nord

Cette carte présente la localisation du sébaste atlantique de la population du Nord. Il se retrouve dans les zones à l'est de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et de l'île de Baffin.

Menaces

Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC ) a déterminé que la pêche dirigée et les prises accessoires dans les pêches visant d'autres espèces étaient les principales menaces pour la population du nord de sébaste atlantique.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez le Registre public des espèces en péril à l'adresse www.registrelep.gc.ca.

Sébaste atlantique (population du nord)

Illustration d’un sébaste

Illustration : MPO

Nom scientifique : Sebastes mentella
Statut selon la LEP : Aucun statut
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Espèce menacée (2010)
Région : Nunavut, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Photo d’un banc de sébastes

Crédit photo : MPO : R. Larocque

Le saviez-vous?

Le sébaste atlantique est ovovivipare avec une fécondation interne, ce qui signifie que les sébastes s'accouplant à l'automne, les œufs fécondés éclosent et restent à l'intérieur du corps de la femelle dans lequel ils évoluent jusqu'à l'état de larves qui sont expulsées au printemps ou à l'été.

Renseignements connexes