Clubbed Tunicate

Styela clava

If you think you have discovered an aquatic invasive species, you should:

  1. note the exact location (GPS coordinates) and the observation date
  2. take photos
  3. take note of identifying features
  4. report it as an aquatic invasive species, depending on where you are
  5. find out more about aquatic invasive species

Identifying features

  • Body firm and wrinkled with little bumps, shaped like a water-filled wineskin. Presence of a solid stalk. Leathery texture;
  • Measures up to 18 cm, the stalk accounting for one third of its length;
  • Colour brown;
  • Solitary, but may grow in very dense clumps.

Similar species (native)

Among native species, sea potatoes and sea peaches are other tunicates, but they are solitary or found in small groups. The sea potato is shaped like a rattle and has a stalk that can reach 13 cm. The sea peach's body is firm and rounded and its skin is rough.

The Clubbed tunicate is an invasive solitary tunicate from the Western Pacific. It is one of the worst invasive alien species in the world. Copyright DFO, St. Andrews Biological Station.

The Clubbed tunicate is an invasive solitary tunicate from the Western Pacific. It is one of the worst invasive alien species in the world. © DFO, St. Andrews Biological Station.

Stalked Tunicate (Styela montereyensis)

On the west coast, Clubbed Tunicate can be confused with Stalked Tunicate but the latter can be distinguished by its regular longitudinal grooves and one recurved siphon.

Where it has been found

Clubbed Tunicate

Clubbed Tunicate

Has been present in Pacific Canadian waters since at least 1994 when specimens were collected at Nanaimo, Vancouver Island. In British-Columbia, this species has been reported from the Strait of Georgia, specifically: Nanaimo, French Creek Marina, Nanoose Bay, Maple Bay, Baynes Sound, Okeover Inlet, Cortes Island, West Redonda, Quadra Island, Deep Bay Marina and the wharf at the Institute for Ocean Sciences in Sidney.

In Atlantic Canada, Clubbed Tunicate has been reported in the Gulf of St. Lawrence since 1997 and has generally remained restricted to waters surrounding Prince Edward Island (PEI). Since 2012, the clubbed tunicate has been confirmed from Lunenburg, Bedford Basin, and Chedabucto Bay on the southern shore of Nova Scotia

Habitat

Clubbed Tunicate typically occurs between 15-25m depth but has already been recorded at 40m. When located in some microhabitats (e.g., under rocks) or sheltered habitats with low wave action (eg., inlets, bays, harbours and marinas), Clubbed Tunicate can resist tidal immersion. This species can be found attached to a range of artificial substrates, including pier pilings, jetty walls, concrete structures, submerged ropes, buoys, floating docks, and vessel hulls.

Ecological and economic impacts

This species’ ability to settle on a range of artificial surfaces causes dense fouling of fishing gear, moorings, and ropes and is difficult and time-consuming to remove. In Prince Edward Island, mussel lines and floating docks have been weighed down by heavy growth of Clubbed Tunicate, making them difficult to remove from the water. The tremendous density and abundance of this species in PEI is considered a serious threat to the long-term economic viability of the shellfish industry.

Clubbed Tunicate distribution in the Gulf Region

Clubbed Tunicate distribution in the Gulf Region
Click image to enlarge

High Resolution Map PDF (1.84mb)

Origins and mode of arrival

Native of Western Pacific Ocean.

East coast

It is believed that Clubbed Tunicate has been introduced to the Atlantic coast of North America by commercial shipping and then spread through a number of potential vectors, including aquaculture activities, fisheries gear fouling, commercial shipping and recreational boating.

West coast

It has been hypothesized that Clubbed Tunicate was introduced to Pacific North America with Japanese oyster shipments or hull fouling in the mid-20th century and then dispersed through intra-regional vectors such as aquaculture activities or hull fouling on commercial or recreational watercraft.

Government action

Scientific research

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is conducting biofouling monitoring on the Atlantic and Pacific Coasts to detect for spread of this tunicate species.

For further information

References

Date modified:

Ascidie plissée

Styela clava

Pensez-vous avoir découvert une espèce aquatique envahissante ?

  1. Ne rejetez pas ces espèces dans l’eau.
  2. Notez l’endroit précis (coordonnées GPS) et la date d’observation.
  3. Prenez des photos.
  4. Familiarisez-vous avec leurs caractéristiques.
  5. Signalez la présence d’une espèce envahissante selon l’endroit où vous vous situez.
  6. Ce que vous pouvez faire pour minimiser les risques de propagation.

Caractéristiques d’identification

  • Corps ferme, plissé avec de petites bosses, en forme d’outre remplie d’eau. Présence d’un pied solide. Texture de cuir;
  • Mesure jusqu’à 18 cm, le pied représentant un tiers de sa longueur;
  • Couleur brune;
  • Solitaire, mais peut pousser en touffes très denses.

Espèces similaires (indigènes)

Parmi les espèces indigènes, mentionnons la patate de mer et la pêche de mer; ce sont également des tuniciers, mais ils sont individuels ou en petits groupes. La patate de mer a la forme d'un hochet et possède un long pied (tige) qui atteint 13 cm. Quant à la pêche de mer, son corps est plutôt arrondi, ferme et rugueux.

L'ascidie plissée est un tunicier solitaire envahissant. Une des pires espèces envahissantes au monde, elle est originaire du Pacifique Ouest.

L'ascidie plissée est un tunicier solitaire envahissant. Une des pires espèces envahissantes au monde, elle est originaire du Pacifique Ouest.

AVC/UPEI Shellfish Health

À quel(s) endroit(s) cette espèce a-t-elle été retrouvée

Ascidie plissée

Ascidie plissée

Cette espèce est présente sur la côte ouest depuis 1994, lorsque des spécimens furent récoltés à Nanaimo, sur l’île de Vancouver. En Colombie-Britannique, cette espèce a été signalée dans le détroit de Georgia, précisément : Nanaimo, marina de French Creek, baie Nanoose, baie Maple, baie Baynes, inlet Okeover, île Cortes, West Redonda, île Quadra, marina de Deep Bay et quai de l’Institut des sciences de la mer, à Sidney.

Elle est présente dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, depuis 1997 et sa répartition est demeurée généralement restreinte aux eaux entourant l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Depuis 2012, la présence de l’Ascidie plissée a été confirmée à Lunenburg, dans bassin de Bedford et sur la côte au sud de la Nouvelle-Écosse, plus précisément dans la baie de Chedabucto.

Habitat

L’Ascidie plissée, une biosalissure marine, est une espèce qui se retrouve généralement entre 15m et 25m de profondeur, mais qui a déjà été observé à 40m. Lorsqu’elle se retrouve dans certains microhabitats (ex. : sous une roche) ou dans des zones où l’effet des vagues est généralement faible (baies, bras de mer, ports et marinas), elle peut résister à l’effet des marées. Cette espèce se retrouve généralement attachée aux roches, aux zostères, aux algues, aux animaux ou sur des structures artificielles telles que les coques de bateaux, les bouées, les cordages, les ancrages, les pontons flottants, les installations aquacoles et les pieux des quais.

Impacts écologiques et économiques

La capacité de l’Ascidie plissée à se fier sur une variété de surfaces artificielles entraine un encrassement important d’équipement de pêche, d’amarres et de cordages, dont le nettoyage nécessite passablement de temps. À l’Île du Prince Édouard les filières de moules et les pontons flottants ont été passablement alourdis par la croissance de colonies d’Ascidie plissée les rendant difficile à sortir de l’eau. L’abondance ainsi que la densité élevée de l’Ascidie plissée à l’Île du Prince Édouard font de cette espèce une menace sérieuse à la viabilité à long terme de l’industrie de l'aquaculture des mollusques et des crustacés.

Répartition de l’Ascidie Plissée dans la région du Golfe

Répartition de l’Ascidie Plissée dans la région du Golfe
Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

Origine et mode d’arrivée au pays

Originaire du Pacifique Ouest

Côte Est

L’Ascidie plissée aurait été introduite sur la côte Est de l’Amérique du Nord par le biais du transport maritime et aurait été dispersée, par la suite, par plusieurs petits vecteurs potentiels, tels que des activités d’aquaculture, du matériel de pêche contaminé, le transport maritime et l’utilisation d’embarcations de plaisance.

Côte Ouest

L’Ascidie plissée aurait fort probablement été introduite sur la côte ouest de l’Amérique du Nord au milieu du 20e siècle par le transport d’huitres japonaises ou suite à la venue de bateaux dont la coque était encrassée par le tunicier.

Actions du gouvernement

Recherche scientifique

Pêches et Océans Canada effectue un suivi des biosalissures marines sur les côtes Atlantiques et Pacifique de manière à détecter la propagation de cette espèce de tunicier.

Pour plus d’information

Références

Date de modification :